Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.3(96 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 3/11/2013 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm combo acne prone skin. I don't know if its the time of year but this foundation really made my skin look dry and lifeless and very matt and emphasized any flakies I had. Perhaps this will be better in the summer when I'm more on the oily side. The color was a good match, didn't turn orange and didn't break me out (althout only using it 2 weeks). I going to return this and stick with avene and nars TM for the winter time. May re-visit this in the summertime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ChasiSdope on 2/27/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by ChasiSdope

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The foundation takes a few long minutes to actually settle in which makes it difficult for me to adjust the amount that I needed. I didn't do well with Argan Oil products. It didn't work for my dry sensitive skin. I broke out and it activated my eczema which took several weeks to turn back to normal after using Aquaphor. Needless, to say I will not purchase Argan Oil products and I wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 2010Parislover on 2/27/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by 2010Parislover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Like the others, I wanted to like this foundation. The shade matched my skin perfectly but emphasized my pores which I would prefer to avoid. I also agree with another who said it reminded her of a tinted moisurizer/BB cream. This product will be returned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samsaysmeow on 2/25/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by samsaysmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was suggested this foundation at my local Sephora when Laura Mercier's Oil-Free Supreme didn't do justice for me. I wanted something with a lighter, more easy to spread consistency, and something that looked natural and felt light. I'm on day three of the sample I received and I can't decide how I feel about it. I want to like it, because it is natural and supposed to be good for your skin. I do like how it feels on my face, and I think it's nice how it changes to match my skin tone. However, it's not as full a coverage as I would like, and it tends to look greasy after a few hours, even though my skin isn't extremely oily. It also tends to look orange-ish even though I'm wearing the lightest shade. I'll continue wearing it until I finish the sample, but I don't think I'm gonna fork out the 40-something bucks for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kcebreiro on 2/22/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by kcebreiro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product since it has natural and organic ingredients but it made me break out. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Okay maybe my worst enemy. It also didn''t cover well at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aurorales on 2/5/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Aurorales

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HG foundation for me. I love it! And this is coming from a 43 year old woman who has never found a foundation that was just right.
The color (light/medium) is perfect. It really did magically turn into my perfect color.
In the past I have never (no joke), never found a perfect color match. And since I have been wearing foundation since I was 16, let me tell you, I have gone through every color and brand imaginable. Cheap....expensive....drugstore.......dept. store.....natural.....powder.....air brush.....you name it, I've tried it.
The finish is medium. Not too heavy, not too light. Doesn't settle into my pores or my wrinkles. Beautiful, slightly dewy, perfect color, coverage.

HG material for sure. Finally!!!!!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emily_3383 on 1/21/2013 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Emily_3383

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For reference I am NC30. I love JM products but this not so much. Im not sure what im doing wrong but i find this really hard to spread. I find it also really drying and it clings to my dry patches and this is someone who uses a clarisonic. I had better luck with CG Naturaluxe. Im super disappointed that this didnt work out for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Katie19851 on 1/11/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by Katie19851

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Im loving this for a light foundation and its good for your skin. A little goes a longggg wayyyy. and looks amazing with the luminator mixed in it! I dont even need a brush to blend this in fingers work just fine and its good for my quick get ready in the am for work days!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrittGlass32510 on 1/6/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by BrittGlass32510

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Another Josie Maran product that I WANTED to love, but not so much! It goes on white, a little goes a long way. But it's just wayyyyyy too difficult to spread and offers very little coverage. People who like tinted moisturizers/sheer coverage and a dewy finish may really enjoy this product. But if you have combo/oily skin, I'd say it's a DON'T!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chsokkappa on 1/1/2013 11:04:00 PM more reviews by chsokkappa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I absolutely love this foundation. I bought it on a whim yesterday and am trying it out for the first time today. I applied it with my elf flat top powder brush and I only needed half a pump for it to cover and make my face look flawless. And this foundation lasts all day with a primer, although you might want to use a primer to make sure the foundation goes on smoothly and evenly.
I don't know why some people think that this foundation is super low coverage because this literally makes my skin look flawless, I obviously can't cover up a few spots of acne or acne scars but I guess it could be because most of my skin is normally clear and I really only need a minimal amount of foundation. But all I really needed was half a pump and a little bit of concealer cover up the spots.

Also, this gives a really natural finish. I would say more towards the matte side for me but it definitely looks natural, yet flawless. The color match is amazing!! I am NC30 and I got light/medium. Color was absolutely spot on. The only thing is that you really need to blend it well because if you use something other than a flat top brush like I did, for example fingers, normal foundation brush, sponge, BEWARE of streaks, you're going to have to blend REALLY well!

Other than that, I would suggest not rubbing it in with your fingers because for some reason when I tried that, my skin felt a little irritated when I did so, but it felt fine with a brush.

I'll give this 4 stars because it cost me $42 and I cringed when I bought this because I'm usually the type to buy drugstore makeup. Although, if all goes well, I think I will repurchase because this does have skin benefits and since I'm young, if I keep on using it, foundation won't keep on damaging my skin like some other ones I've used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products