Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.3(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Noelle07 on 5/15/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Noelle07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'll start off by saying i have only used this once because I got a tiny sample with my last sephora purchase. Being that I got it for free, I didn't have a choice in colors so they sent the light/medium. It is a little bit too dark for me, since I am very fair, but i expected that. It sort of has a bit of an orange tint. My skin issues are eczema and very break out prone skin. My breakouts have been under control recently because I have been using Retin-a, but that in turn, makes my eczema and dryness not so great. I was having a particularly dry day so I decided to try this stuff out figuring it would be moisturizing. On the parts where my skin is dry (forehead and neck) it does make those patches look a bit orange. BUT this could once again be because of the too dark shade for my face. However, where I am not dry (my cheeks, nose), it looks great! my pores are minimized and I look dewy all day without being oily. I did use Ulta brand mineral veil over it though, so without that it may be oily. I wish they would tell you what some of the ingredients are though, I am not very versed in chemistry so I have no idea what Polymethylsilsesquioxane is. I am not 100% sure I would buy this again, because it doesn't seem to be very much better than my neutrogena healthy skin in terms of finish and stay. And the price (42$) is a bit much. I have bought MUFE HD which is the same price, however, that product was basically the same thing as my neutrogena, minus any spf. So that turned me off to spending a lot on foundation. I think I may get another sample in the correct color next time Im in sephora though and then take it from there. This makeup would probably be best for people who don't have many skin issues though. It isn't going to cover blemishes, and it will probably not do much justice for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hanns93 on 4/5/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Hanns93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- Made with high quality argon oil, (fantastic for your skin)
- It's WITHOUT: Parabens, Sulfates, Synthetic Fragrances,
Phthalates, GMOs, Triclosan.
- It's completely HD! A very subtle finish.
- No need to struggle finding a shade, it adjusts to your own color.
- This stuff seriously clears acne. For real.
- All natural and organic ingredients. Clear conscience!

Cons:
- Not the cheapest product.
- No SPF :(
- Probably not as much product as some are used to. You'll will have to
repurchase more often.
- Not very full coverage.

I'm not sure why this is getting so many bad reviews. You HAVE to keep in mind, that this is NOT a foundation for coverage. so many people are complaining about it, but the great thing about this foundation is that its practically skincare too. So eventually you wont HAVE to wear heavy foundation. I got so many complements about my skin after using this for just over a week!



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 3/15/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the powder version of this in Light/Medium. It provides lighter but decent coverage (I usually wear it with a tinted moisturizer underneath, but it's passable on its own on good days). The package is a pretty rose gold metallic compact, with the application sponge separated from the actual powder to keep it clean.


Positives: Easy to use with nice coverage, natural satiny finish, good ingredients, didn't break me out.


Negatives: High price point, definitely oxidized, no oil control (in winter even), is very softly milled so powder flies everywhere and pan is hit really soon. Seriously, it usually takes me a year to finish a pressed foundation, but I'm almost totally done with this 2 months after purchase. That + the high price + oxidation are the real buzzkills. It's a nice product, but I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 3/11/2013 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm combo acne prone skin. I don't know if its the time of year but this foundation really made my skin look dry and lifeless and very matt and emphasized any flakies I had. Perhaps this will be better in the summer when I'm more on the oily side. The color was a good match, didn't turn orange and didn't break me out (althout only using it 2 weeks). I going to return this and stick with avene and nars TM for the winter time. May re-visit this in the summertime.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ChasiSdope on 2/27/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by ChasiSdope

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The foundation takes a few long minutes to actually settle in which makes it difficult for me to adjust the amount that I needed. I didn't do well with Argan Oil products. It didn't work for my dry sensitive skin. I broke out and it activated my eczema which took several weeks to turn back to normal after using Aquaphor. Needless, to say I will not purchase Argan Oil products and I wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 2010Parislover on 2/27/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by 2010Parislover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Like the others, I wanted to like this foundation. The shade matched my skin perfectly but emphasized my pores which I would prefer to avoid. I also agree with another who said it reminded her of a tinted moisurizer/BB cream. This product will be returned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samsaysmeow on 2/25/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by samsaysmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was suggested this foundation at my local Sephora when Laura Mercier's Oil-Free Supreme didn't do justice for me. I wanted something with a lighter, more easy to spread consistency, and something that looked natural and felt light. I'm on day three of the sample I received and I can't decide how I feel about it. I want to like it, because it is natural and supposed to be good for your skin. I do like how it feels on my face, and I think it's nice how it changes to match my skin tone. However, it's not as full a coverage as I would like, and it tends to look greasy after a few hours, even though my skin isn't extremely oily. It also tends to look orange-ish even though I'm wearing the lightest shade. I'll continue wearing it until I finish the sample, but I don't think I'm gonna fork out the 40-something bucks for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kcebreiro on 2/22/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by kcebreiro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product since it has natural and organic ingredients but it made me break out. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Okay maybe my worst enemy. It also didn''t cover well at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aurorales on 2/5/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Aurorales

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HG foundation for me. I love it! And this is coming from a 43 year old woman who has never found a foundation that was just right.
The color (light/medium) is perfect. It really did magically turn into my perfect color.
In the past I have never (no joke), never found a perfect color match. And since I have been wearing foundation since I was 16, let me tell you, I have gone through every color and brand imaginable. Cheap....expensive....drugstore.......dept. store.....natural.....powder.....air brush.....you name it, I've tried it.
The finish is medium. Not too heavy, not too light. Doesn't settle into my pores or my wrinkles. Beautiful, slightly dewy, perfect color, coverage.

HG material for sure. Finally!!!!!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emily_3383 on 1/21/2013 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Emily_3383

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For reference I am NC30. I love JM products but this not so much. Im not sure what im doing wrong but i find this really hard to spread. I find it also really drying and it clings to my dry patches and this is someone who uses a clarisonic. I had better luck with CG Naturaluxe. Im super disappointed that this didnt work out for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products