New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain (All) • Lips

rated 3.9(112 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 princesssmarci on 6/8/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by princesssmarci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BUY!!! I am relatively new to the lip stain world, and this was such a complete let down. It went on very uneven, and extremely light. I had to do about 4 coats to get it anywhere close to the color I wanted, and the worst part......... IT DISAPPEARED IN LESS THAN AN HOUSE. Long lasting? Pffft. Don't waste the $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xohavehopexo on 5/21/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by xohavehopexo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I own this product in Endless Spice #495 and Berry Long Time #498. This lipstain lasts forever, and I love it. One problem? It makes my lips drier than the Sahara Desert. My advice? Make sure to load up of lip balm before applying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schoolgirl101 on 5/2/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by schoolgirl101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have these In Persistent Pink, Never Ending Nude, and my newest purchase Orange On the Go. I have repurchased Persistent Pink and Never Ending Nude. I love these lip stains. I'm not a huge fan of wearing true pinks on my lips because of the way the color ends up looking on my yellow skin tone, but Persistent Pink is a very flattering shade on my lips. Never Ending Nude ends up looking a little bit more berry on me, which I still like. I love wearing orange/corals, so Orange On the Go was a must for me. The product was great, did not dry up on me, and lasted a decent amount (not 16 hours but long enough for me to be pleased) with little transfer.

I'm not too picky with lipstains however. If you're looking for something that is going to last the entire day on you, this product probably won't be for you. It can be drying (I don't have much of a problem because I usually keep my lips constantly moisturized. Give these a try. They're under $5, so it won't break the bank.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rachelinannarbor on 4/30/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by rachelinannarbor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It works pretty well, but I find that I prefer wands to markers for applying the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lavroxanna on 3/15/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by lavroxanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OK so I bought 2 of these in Forever Fuschia (496) and Persistent Pink (490) maybe about a year ago, when there were really good reviews for this product. After using them, I think that the color does at least show up on your lips, but this product is VERY DRYING. My lips felt so dry that I took off this product almost immediately after application. Even after applying a layer of chapstick underneath the lipstains, my lips still felt relatively dry. They also don't last for 16 hours (thankfully) and I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 korrok on 2/28/2013 4:36:00 AM more reviews by korrok

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a bit baffled by all the great reviews on this product! I found it awful. The colours they sell are great - I'll give them that - and I made the mistake of just going out and picking up three, at 4 euro each. They come in marker form and while they swatch beautifully on your hand, they applied really patchily to my lips, despite having buffed them and tried to get them in as smooth as possible a condition before trying. The colour looked uneven and a bit sad, particularly with the lighter shades. Unstoppable Red worked out the best for evening out the colour after 3 coats. The largest problem is that applying this stain, I could literally watch my lips shrivel and dry up after a single coat. It is INCREDIBLY drying, and it feels a little burny. Slathering lip balm on after application only helps a little. The stain remains fairly transferrable.

Overall I cannot recommend these at all. If you want to give them a try, don't make the mistake I did and buy a few colours (or all the ones you like - they do look pretty!) . Buy one and see if it works for you first. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 2/18/2013 8:07:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am surprised at all the good reviews. I have this in Persistent Pink, but mine dried out after 1-2 uses! It was a pretty baby pink, same colour as the tube it comes in, but I can't use it anymore as nothing comes out unless I press very hard for a good few minutes. Did I get a bad batch?!
The couple of times it did work, it was a bit drying but fine with a balm on top. But t did not last at all, not even 1 hour, let alone 16! And that's without eating or drinking.
I'm thinking of getting a new one, see if it works better, since I do love the colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sammimo on 2/17/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by sammimo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this in both Persistent Pink and Berry long time and I LOVE them. they are my go to lip product for long days of class and work. though i doubt it would last sixteen hours but I am able to eat with it on and it only feathers slightly. I usually reapply every four to six hours. I recommend putting a clear gloss or chapstick on top due to its tendency to dry out my lips, soft lips works perfectly ! Overall great product at a great price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 2/16/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found this one sale at CVS for 4.25. Originally it's five dollars, which is the leat expensive lip stain I've seen around the drugstore. Now, I've tried a lot of lipstains (covergirl, revlon, pixie...), but none of them have ever had great color payoff like this one does. All I need is one swipe on my lips, and I'm good to go for the whole day. This is quite longlasting and feels nice and not drying. I believe I have the color champagne stain. It's a nice pink that boarders on a coral shade. I like it for school when I don't feel like looking too made up, or if I'm going out running some erronds or going to the grocery store or somewhere like that. The only reason I gave it four lippies and not five is because I feel like there isn't that much product in the tube and under dark lighting it looks like a deep wine color, which is pretty, but not what I wanted. In natrual light it looks fine, so I stick to wearing it during the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 12/23/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

FYI: I am a Latina woman with very fair olive skin, sensitive, combination type (dry forehead, oily nose & chin, normal cheeks) in early maturity (minor facial lines, redness). Shade refs: LM Creme Silk in Cream Ivory, Bobbi Brown in Warm Ivory, & Revlon Colorstay in Buff


I own this product in the following shades: Forever Freesia (light purplish pink, may have been discontinued); Never Ending Nude (mauve-y nude); and Smooch Proof (blue-red)


I've only used these pretty recently, so I'm not sure how long the product lasts (as in how many uses one gets.) I'm venturing to say that the price (under $5) is pretty good for a lip stain from which one gets at least one full year's use.


I love the effect of these lip stains, particularly the "Never Ending Nude," a lovely natural cool mauve-brown, very much MLBB on me. It's easy to apply and is pretty versatile. It can be worn alone with more minimal/casual makeup. It can also serve as a "base coat" for additional lip color (balm, gloss, lipstick.)


First application is a little cold and wet. It dries down to a weightless stain finish, very natural and attractive. The applicator is pretty good, allows me to follow my mouth's shape.


I've worn it a few times and I have yet to see it wear for 16 hours straight. It doesn't last me through a meal or a beverage. Overall, I'd say it's worth the purchase price for a no-fuss easy lip effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products