New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain • Lips

rated 3.8(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 2/18/2013 8:07:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am surprised at all the good reviews. I have this in Persistent Pink, but mine dried out after 1-2 uses! It was a pretty baby pink, same colour as the tube it comes in, but I can't use it anymore as nothing comes out unless I press very hard for a good few minutes. Did I get a bad batch?!
The couple of times it did work, it was a bit drying but fine with a balm on top. But t did not last at all, not even 1 hour, let alone 16! And that's without eating or drinking.
I'm thinking of getting a new one, see if it works better, since I do love the colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sammimo on 2/17/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by sammimo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this in both Persistent Pink and Berry long time and I LOVE them. they are my go to lip product for long days of class and work. though i doubt it would last sixteen hours but I am able to eat with it on and it only feathers slightly. I usually reapply every four to six hours. I recommend putting a clear gloss or chapstick on top due to its tendency to dry out my lips, soft lips works perfectly ! Overall great product at a great price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 2/16/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found this one sale at CVS for 4.25. Originally it's five dollars, which is the leat expensive lip stain I've seen around the drugstore. Now, I've tried a lot of lipstains (covergirl, revlon, pixie...), but none of them have ever had great color payoff like this one does. All I need is one swipe on my lips, and I'm good to go for the whole day. This is quite longlasting and feels nice and not drying. I believe I have the color champagne stain. It's a nice pink that boarders on a coral shade. I like it for school when I don't feel like looking too made up, or if I'm going out running some erronds or going to the grocery store or somewhere like that. The only reason I gave it four lippies and not five is because I feel like there isn't that much product in the tube and under dark lighting it looks like a deep wine color, which is pretty, but not what I wanted. In natrual light it looks fine, so I stick to wearing it during the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 12/23/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

FYI: I am a Latina woman with very fair olive skin, sensitive, combination type (dry forehead, oily nose & chin, normal cheeks) in early maturity (minor facial lines, redness). Shade refs: LM Creme Silk in Cream Ivory, Bobbi Brown in Warm Ivory, & Revlon Colorstay in Buff


I own this product in the following shades: Forever Freesia (light purplish pink, may have been discontinued); Never Ending Nude (mauve-y nude); and Smooch Proof (blue-red)


I've only used these pretty recently, so I'm not sure how long the product lasts (as in how many uses one gets.) I'm venturing to say that the price (under $5) is pretty good for a lip stain from which one gets at least one full year's use.


I love the effect of these lip stains, particularly the "Never Ending Nude," a lovely natural cool mauve-brown, very much MLBB on me. It's easy to apply and is pretty versatile. It can be worn alone with more minimal/casual makeup. It can also serve as a "base coat" for additional lip color (balm, gloss, lipstick.)


First application is a little cold and wet. It dries down to a weightless stain finish, very natural and attractive. The applicator is pretty good, allows me to follow my mouth's shape.


I've worn it a few times and I have yet to see it wear for 16 hours straight. It doesn't last me through a meal or a beverage. Overall, I'd say it's worth the purchase price for a no-fuss easy lip effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dgz3120 on 12/20/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by dgz3120

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Im confused by the reviews of this same product i just bought a couple of days ago. I thought this stuff was supposed to stain your lips and be smooch proof and last 16 hours. It didnt do anything it promised. It didnt stain my lips, i could lick the color off, and it transferred during a kiss and on tissue. It dried my lips, and wore off within minutes. The only good thing about it was the color, it was deep and rich and lovely. I bought the Berry Long. I was not impressed at all, and will not be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 youtriedjpg on 11/24/2012 1:23:00 PM more reviews by youtriedjpg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was actually kind of disappointed with this product. I was really attracted to it because it was super cheap compared to other lip stains I've seen and the color was gorgeous. But the problem I had with it was that it dried out my lips A LOT. My lips were fine when I left the house but by the time I got back they were super dry and chapped. The color lasted for a little while but after a couple hours it started coming off where my lips were touching each other and it was noticeable when I was talking. If you're planning on wearing this for more than a few hours I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BonjurCutie on 11/12/2012 10:48:00 PM more reviews by BonjurCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My problem with marker lip stains is that I can never get the same amount of color to absorb into my lips. So my lips were never the same shade. I bought this in champaign. That color is gorgeous and it smells delicious but it was just really drying and because the color wouldn't even out on my lips only my bottom lips would retain the color so basically last year I walked around with a redder bottom lip... It's very pigmented and the thing with markers is that you can't smooth the color out so it could spread more lightly. That's why I switched from drugstore brands to $20-30 liquid stains. I found stila in cherry crush which is a similar color to the champaign and because its a gel it's possible to spread the color out before it sets and it applies more evenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deedrajean on 10/15/2012 6:32:00 PM more reviews by deedrajean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've got mine in "Berry Long Time" and i love it ! I am pretty light skinned. And this shade is a very nice deep red berry color, but not too dark.

So i went back and picked up the darkest of these shades and OMG it is beautiful !! like i said i am light skinned and my goodness this looks great. I totally think this would look wonderful on light-dark skinned ladies ! GO OUT AND BUY THIS !! TRUST ME. dont go off and waste your hard earned money on high end lip stains. this is just as good !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smilewinklovearielle on 10/2/2012 10:16:00 PM more reviews by smilewinklovearielle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this lipstain! The color payoff is FANTASTIC! When applied to the lips, it has a bit of a fruity scent to it, and it stays on for quite a while. I would definitely buy this product again. However, the only downside is that it comes off after drinking something or licking your lips. Keep your lips dry, and it's color stays bright.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missn74 on 9/14/2012 3:39:00 PM more reviews by missn74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like the marker packaging because its quick and easy to apply unlike the liquid types which i tend to spill. I like that it smells like fruit scented magic markers. It applies pigmented on the lips so it doesn't take a while for the colors to build up. Always keep the cap tightly closed as it will dry up like any marker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products