Paula's Choice • Almost the Real Thing-Self Tanning Gel • Self Tanners

rated 3.9(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 steveo on 11/9/2007 8:57:00 PM more reviews by steveo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is awesome stuff...simply the best self-tanner I've ever used. I always get a brown, NOT orange glow from it, and it really looks like I've been out in the sun! I have never gotten a streak either. It glides on easily, and dries quickly. I love it....and it doesn't smell as much as others I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msommerlund on 11/6/2007 12:46:00 PM more reviews by msommerlund

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great self tanner. It gives me a very natural medium tan. The smell is much less offensive than other self tanners, and it doesn't break out my skin. I don't tan in the sun, so I use self tanner all summer long. This self tanner is a little expensive to use that often, so I don't buy it that often. If not for the price, this would be HG for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kooyay82 on 6/5/2007 5:39:00 PM more reviews by kooyay82

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It was OK. Easy to apply, but I just didn't get good color from it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aquamaniac on 3/9/2007 9:20:00 PM more reviews by aquamaniac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my very favorite self tanners. I prefer gels like this, as foams/mousses/sprays dry too fast to blend completely. it feels a little heavy when putting on my face, but I haven't had any breakouts from it. And of course I don't like the smell - but all self-tanners are that why. It's just the nature of the active ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poldanser on 2/14/2007 1:23:00 AM more reviews by poldanser

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love the colour this gel gives...a nice healthy glow! this is great for face...as it give a nice golden glow i dont have to change my foundation drastically. although would probably need 2 to 3 applications to give a more "tanned" look. i dont mind the slight caramel smell ;)). i have used it under another darker self tanner like st. tropez.give a nice tanned in the beach look.but i am pale asian, so any change of colour is noticeable. i like it though. would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KerryGold on 12/8/2006 11:09:00 PM more reviews by KerryGold

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only used this on my legs and feet so far. Make sure legs are clean and exfoliated. I epilate any hair away either beforehand or straight after step 4 below, which doesn't interfere with the development of the tan, but if you shave your legs then always do it beforehand. I achieve perfectly good, subtle results using my years-old easy streak-free method for legs. You need just over an hour spare to do this, and the method is: (1) apply all over legs and feet any old how then wash hands thoroughly, (2) leave on legs for 60 mins, (3) in shower, add cleanser to a bath puff or whatever and scrub away at areas where fake tan tends to cling and look darker - knees, lower and upper heel area, all around ankle area, sides of feet, toes, (4) dry off. Voila! A natural-looking light tan will develop over the next few hours - during the day or overnight - and it won't be streaky.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* selmasoo on 10/21/2006 10:35:00 PM more reviews by selmasoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite self-tanner. It is gel-based,(which I prefer),dries quickly
and although it says "fragrance-free", and may have a bit of an odor, it's not overpowering like most others are. The color that it leaves is a beautiful light tan..no orange at all! I also like the fact that it is tinted so you'll know where you've applied it. Would most definitely recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* josiecat on 8/17/2006 7:31:00 PM more reviews by josiecat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this on my face. It's completely non-greasy, fragrance-free, and never breaks me out. I usually use HT Island Glow on the rest of my body, but I needed something oil-free and fragrance- free for my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tulipsplash on 2/4/2006 2:53:00 PM more reviews by tulipsplash

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

If you like self-tanners, I believe this to be a very good product and reasonably priced. However, I must say that it does have a tendency to streak, possibly because its a gel and is absorbed so quickly, before you have time to adequately and evenly cover an area. I voted that I would not buy this product, nor any other self-tanner again, because I hate the inevitable smell they leave behind. Nevertheless, I would recommend this product to anyone who is a fan of self-tanners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Salome32 on 1/29/2006 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Salome32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently found out that a have a light form of rosacea. After I examine the ingredients of my skin care products, a threw away a lot. I tried a sample of this produkt and it goes well with my skin. Like almost all of the produkts of Paula's Choice! I got a slighty light brown tan, just as if I had a sunny day! Beautiful and certainly not artificial. If I have to mention a little disadventage: it takes some time to draw in, but I can live with it. I read about the smell..what smell?? I think it smells like cream/nothing and I am oke with it, because parfum only irritates my skin. Surely buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Self Tanners products