Paula's Choice Almost the Real Thing-Self Tanning Gel

4.0

75 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclomethicone (skin-conditioning agent/silicone), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (water- binding agents), Dihydroxyacetone (self-tanning agent), Dimethicone Copolyol (skin-conditioning agent/silicone), Diazolidinyl Urea (preservative), Caramel (natural coloring agent), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Methylparaben, Propylparaben (preservatives).


on 11/6/2007 12:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great self tanner. It gives me a very natural medium tan. The smell is much less offensive than other self tanners, and it doesn't break out my skin. I don't tan in the sun, so I use self tanner all summer long. This self tanner is a little expensive to use that often, so I don't buy it that often. If not for the price, this would be HG for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/5/2007 5:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It was OK. Easy to apply, but I just didn't get good color from it!!


on 3/9/2007 9:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of my very favorite self tanners. I prefer gels like this, as foams/mousses/sprays dry too fast to blend completely. it feels a little heavy when putting on my face, but I haven't had any breakouts from it. And of course I don't like the smell - but all self-tanners are that why. It's just the nature of the active ingredients.


on 2/14/2007 1:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love the colour this gel gives...a nice healthy glow! this is great for face...as it give a nice golden glow i dont have to change my foundation drastically. although would probably need 2 to 3 applications to give a more "tanned" look. i dont mind the slight caramel smell ;)). i have used it under another darker self tanner like st. tropez.give a nice tanned in the beach look.but i am pale asian, so any change of colour is noticeable. i like it though. would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2006 11:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've only used this on my legs and feet so far. Make sure legs are clean and exfoliated. I epilate any hair away either beforehand or straight after step 4 below, which doesn't interfere with the development of the tan, but if you shave your legs then always do it beforehand. I achieve perfectly good, subtle results using my years-old easy streak-free method for legs. You need just over an hour spare to do this, and the method is: (1) apply all over legs and feet any old how then wash hands thoroughly, (2) leave on legs for 60 mins, (3) in shower, add cleanser to a bath puff or whatever and scrub away at areas where fake tan tends to cling and look darker - knees, lower and upper heel area, all around ankle area, sides of feet, toes, (4) dry off. Voila! A natural-looking light tan will develop over the next few hours - during the day or overnight - and it won't be streaky.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2006 10:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite self-tanner. It is gel-based,(which I prefer),dries quickly
and although it says "fragrance-free", and may have a bit of an odor, it's not overpowering like most others are. The color that it leaves is a beautiful light tan..no orange at all! I also like the fact that it is tinted so you'll know where you've applied it. Would most definitely recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2006 7:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this on my face. It's completely non-greasy, fragrance-free, and never breaks me out. I usually use HT Island Glow on the rest of my body, but I needed something oil-free and fragrance- free for my face.


on 2/4/2006 2:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you like self-tanners, I believe this to be a very good product and reasonably priced. However, I must say that it does have a tendency to streak, possibly because its a gel and is absorbed so quickly, before you have time to adequately and evenly cover an area. I voted that I would not buy this product, nor any other self-tanner again, because I hate the inevitable smell they leave behind. Nevertheless, I would recommend this product to anyone who is a fan of self-tanners.


on 1/29/2006 7:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I recently found out that a have a light form of rosacea. After I examine the ingredients of my skin care products, a threw away a lot. I tried a sample of this produkt and it goes well with my skin. Like almost all of the produkts of Paula's Choice! I got a slighty light brown tan, just as if I had a sunny day! Beautiful and certainly not artificial. If I have to mention a little disadventage: it takes some time to draw in, but I can live with it. I read about the smell..what smell?? I think it smells like cream/nothing and I am oke with it, because parfum only irritates my skin. Surely buy it again!


on 7/10/2005 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I only use this product on my face. I haven't used it on the body yet. I bought it because I am very acne prone and it has not made me break out at all and it has a pretty good color. I will continue to purchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top