NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream • Lips

rated 4.0(163 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 sophiedecay on 1/3/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by sophiedecay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Has a smooth, matte texture. Not too drying on the lips. Has a wide variety of colours and good for everyday. Not bad for the price :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snaket0ngue on 12/28/2013 10:47:00 PM more reviews by snaket0ngue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

These are amazing drugstore lip creams. While they are incredibly drying, that's to be expected with anything matte. However, moisturizing your lips before or applying a thin layer of balm over it solves the dryness without losing the matte finish. I only have Monte Carlo, but it is an absolutely GORGEOUS red for darker skin tones. It makes your teeth look three shades whiter and does not budge once it has set into place. I've gone through lunches AND dinners and this has still been on! But, they remove easily with makeup remover. They are incredibly creamy as well, so in order to build up the color, you have to wait for layers to dry before applying another layer, or else it kind of just smears around. However, they are really pigmented so you may find yourself only needing one layer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rubymm on 12/28/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Rubymm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't love the colour Amsterdam I really doesn't suit me at all but I think Monte Carlo will! I also don't like the way it feels on my lips but if i had a good colour I would put up with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kenji2221 on 12/28/2013 1:03:00 PM more reviews by kenji2221

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased NYX's matte lip cream last week and finally got to put it to use last night! I had seen these around for over a year but never really swatched them or gave them a shot until I saw one of my favorite YTers wearing this. Since I'm a huge fan of nudes, I picked up Stockholm. It is the PERFECT nude. Not too light, not too dark, not too pink . . . just a great neutral shade for my NC42 skin. I paired it with VS's lip liner in brown sable and it made for a great date night lip. Natural but still sexy/ pouty. Lasting power was ok. It rubbed off on my wine glass a little bit but since it was a natural shade no one could really notice. Texture was very soft and creamy, which made application a breeze. Love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelylucy88 on 12/28/2013 12:48:00 PM more reviews by lovelylucy88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i l o v e these!! everything about them , the color selection, the formula, how they get matte after they set on my skin, everything. lol i like how they get matte after but they dont make my lips look too dry even though i have dry lips right now. Price-wise these are ok $5 at target not that bad. I want to get all the colors available

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NinaSun on 12/1/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by NinaSun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

These matte lip creams are amazing! They are comparable to the matte lip creams from Stila and LimeCrime in terms of color payoff and longevity. They also smell really nice and don't dry out the lips, which is great. I have the colors in Milan, Stockholm, Abu Dhabi, Monte Carlo, and Antwerp. The only thing that I dislike about these products is the initial texture of when you are applying it to your lips - it feels almost a little oily and doesn't really have that soft, butter-like "paste" texture that Stila and Limecrime's matte lipsticks have. Regardless, I still love these and think they're highly underrated - amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KelseyRiana on 11/26/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by KelseyRiana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like the shade that I purchased called Istanbul. It is a beautiful nude pink colour that goes very well with my pale skin! I like the texture of this product, however it does bleed and it has gotten on my teeth a couple times so I find myself licking my teeth while wearing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Niza9 on 11/22/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Niza9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. My favorite color is San Paulo. It is a beautiful deeper pink and I really enjoy it. The consistency of the product is very nice. Creamy and feels very smooth. I would definately recommend these lip creams to everyone. I like wearing a thin layer of lip balm underneath just to smooth it out nicely and it looks great. I would repurchase this color and I would love to try some of the others!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jwinter00 on 11/17/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by jwinter00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I haaaAaaaAATE this stuff. Like words cannot describe how much I detest this product. I bought the NYX Mortal Instruments kit thing and the soft matte lip cream in Istanbul I believe the shade was, came with it. Maybe I dislike it so much because I'm not a lip gloss kind of person but I read somewhere that these were supposed to be somewhat of a dupe for the Velvetines by Lime Crime but oh honey, no they are not.
If you have any kind of dryness or ridges in your lips, don't even think about trying this, it will not work for you. I don't know if it's just me, but it seems like it just sits there on top of the lips, it doesn't soak in at all, it just kind of looks like you're wearing a thick pink coat of stuff on your mouth. Then if you leave it on long enough, it bleeds everywhere and gets all over everything and just...ugh. I tossed it out literally the day I got it. I wouldn't even think about giving it to anyone it's so horrible.
The only upside to the product is that the packaging is very high quality, the handle has a really nice feel to it and the applicator is very sturdy. The smell is also quite nice, reminiscent of vanilla.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Arifishface on 11/17/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by Arifishface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this on my hand first (thank god) about a week ago and it gave it a dry, scaly, patch almost resembling ringworm that is still taking sometime to heal. This may have been the sample I tried or the fact I used on an area it isn't intended for but I just wanted other users to know my experience

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products