MAC • Satin - Shroom • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(915 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 12/22/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is a great eyeshadow. I love the formula and finish but the shade was all wrong on me when used as a highlighter. It looks too light and almost ashy (NC 35-40 here.) I think this looks great on fairer skinned ladies. :o)
If my review helped you, click yes below!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ningurl on 11/20/2012 4:36:00 PM more reviews by ningurl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On my THIRD (gasp!) pan of this I love it so much. Its a nice soft white with a satin finish. I use it to just brighten up my eyelid area as I dont like a heavy makeup look for the day. I sometimes use it as a highlighter on my cheeks and inner corner of my eyes for that airyfairy look. I'm an NC20-25 and its just the perfect color to make me look 'fresh'. Maybe one of these days I'll get my MAC pro card and take advantage of the 40% make up artists discounts, but until then, I'll just keep buying the pan refil and save the few bucks.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 11/16/2012 9:40:00 AM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful pearly silver-beige. It is so beautiful alone for those who like subtle eyes and I've seen it used as a highlighter for the eyes and face. It goes really well with my pale skin and lightens my lids so my eyes seem bigger and more awake.
.
This is by far my favorite eyeshadow (tied with sephora california girl) though I docked a star because it could be a bit more opaque

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gen12 on 11/16/2012 9:17:00 AM more reviews by Gen12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy this eyeshadow I like using it as a cheek highlighter it looks gorgeous it's not too shimmery which I like I would definitely be buying this again once I run out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 10/23/2012 11:05:00 PM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this eye shadow. It was what sent me into the store and it was my first MAC purchase ever. I read about it on a blog and decided to give it a try. It really is flattering and absolutely gorgeous on the inner corner of the lid. I also use it as a highlighter around my brow bone and upper cheek area. I sought it out to help brighten up some of my BB "greige" shadows and I find it is the perfect thing to make colours like Cement and Tan really pop. I purchsed Era, Wedge, and Espresso to fill up a quad and they look great together. I've had a hard time getting away from pale neutrals, but I'm working on it and I've found Shroom to be a real help when I over do something and need to tone it down. It is especially helpful as a wash over dark matte colours. It can turn something muddy or bruised looking into something softer and more flattering when you don't have time for a makeup change. Great all around and I highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 10/10/2012 7:16:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first MAC e/s. Right off the bat it was very hard and difficult to use. I expected a softer e/s. The color is subtle and beatiful, but the color payoff sucks. Since then I have found other MAC highlighters I prefer (like vex).

HUGE EDIT: I'm am so fickle lol I recently went on a no-buy and started re-discovering products in my stash. This is one of the gems that I have resurrected. I wear it as a under brow highlight and inner corner highlight every damn day!! It goes with every eye look it's incredible. Best of all, it's not too obvious it just provides a beautiful sheen that you can pick up in the light. I will rebuy when I run out. can't wait to try it as a cheek highliter! This no-buy has made me love all the products I used to hate it's crazy! (NC20 for ref.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/17/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i was given this by a friend, i use it as a highlighter on my brown bone, cupids bow, cheek bones, nose, inner eye corners, etc, and i love it! it's better than any highlighter i've ever used, and i probably will repurchase unless i find a better highlighter. it is very subtle compared to other highlighting tools i've used, it doesn't seem to last very long (def not all day), but it gives a very pretty subtle shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* totoro on 8/6/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by totoro

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Another classic I've used for years. When I first tried this at the Mac counter many moons ago, I thought it was too "frosty" for me; I put the word in quotes because it's not frosty at all. I have no idea why it seemed shimmery, given that it's the satin finish, which contains only a very subtle and fine sheen.
I also found it utterly horrid because I thought it washed me out. Until trying it again a few years later because of some great reviews, that's how I remember it. Maybe it was in the way I applied it. This color can be tricky, and any shadow application needs to consider the color and texture of the shadow, in much the same way you'd handle water color differently from oil paints, and so on.
As such, Shroom can look simply beautiful or unpleasantly stark, depending on how its applied and what combination of colors are around it. It can work as a soft wash of color for paler skinned people, but can look chalky if applied too heavily all over (even though the texture itself isn't chalky, if that makes sense). It's kind of stark without being white, and I think that's what washes some people out if they're not careful. Some reviewers describe it as having a lot of yellow undertones. I don't see any prominent yellow, blue or red undertones, but rather a balanced blend of undertones, making it a true neutral. I see taupe undertones that, in keeping with its name, resemble the color of a mushroom. Mac's website describes it as a "soft beige with shimmer".
I love to wear Shroom on my lids and on the inner corner of my eyes. It provides a natural and delicate glow if used this way. I sometimes pair it with Soba in the contour/crease and outer corner. Combined with a soft black pencil eyeliner and a couple of layers of mascara, it makes a simple, natural, and lovely eye look for everyday.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadorange on 6/18/2012 3:59:00 PM more reviews by sadorange

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Don't get me wrong, Shroom is very flattering when used as a brow highlight. However, the pigmentation is very disappointing. While it is blendable at the very least, it feels very 'hard' and does not pack much pigment. I don't know if I just got a bad pan, but for the price point, I think Wet N Wild would be more impressionable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xcarbonx on 5/19/2012 2:49:00 PM more reviews by xcarbonx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is my absolute favourite eyeshadows from MAC and one of the only ones, along with brule, that I've ever had to repurchase. I'm half way done with my second pan of this and I love it.

It's a beautiful light cream/slightly yellowish colour. It is shimmery, which I'm not usually a fan of, but the shimmer is so finely milled and isn't chunky at all.

I use it as a lid colour, a brow highlight and a cheek highlight. It's so universal and would look great on any skin tone. I'd definately recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products