Cover Girl • Lash Blast Volume Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 realmakeovers on 3/23/2013 7:43:00 AM more reviews by realmakeovers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do not have the waterproof one. However, I will write a review on the LashBlast Volume Blasting non-waterproof. I have short eyelashes that are not that thick. The first time I purchased this was when it was on sale & I had a $2 coupon. I applied 1 coat & about 2 hours later I applied a 2nd coat. I was so surprised that the 2nd application did not clump or flake @ all. I have since purchased several more tubes. This is definitely a keeper!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlyK89 on 3/8/2013 10:18:00 PM more reviews by AlyK89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this about a month ago and have loved it since! I have never used to original, non waterproof so I can't compare the two. This delivers a lot of volume, very black lashes, I never curl my lashes and this even seems to curl them just a bit! I like the rubber brush, although it is rather large and does make it difficult to get the corners if you aren't careful. I have had no problems with this flaking, smudging, running, or transferring to my lid. I wish it lengthened a bit more, but that's not what this advertises, so I'm fine with that.

I LOVE the look & color of the tube but it is sort of slippery and awkward to hold. It does not bother me too much, however.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chevygirl14 on 3/8/2013 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Chevygirl14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE. If you want fat, thick black lashes, this is for you! I have fairly long lashes, but I wanted some volume. I picked this up in the waterproof version, to hold the curl. I wipe off the wand with a Kleenex, (I always do this, no matter what mascara) because if I'm not careful my lashes clump very easily. This mascara is amazing!!! It makes my lashline look really thick as well. It makes my lashes look glossy! And it doesn't give me crispy dry eyelashes an hour later, which I hate. Good job Covergirl :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EL2016 on 2/17/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by EL2016

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This formula is definitely much clumpier than the original non-waterproof lashblast volume. It wasn't very waterproof either because if my eyes got watery, it would come off. Overall, I would recommend the original non-waterproof formula and opt for a waterproof mascara that doesn't clump on top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 2/1/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in brown to try out a trick that I read about either in the latest issue of Allure or online. A "celebrity MUA" claimed that a lot of actresses wear black mascara on their top lashes and brown on their bottom lashes for a soft and eye color-enhancing effect. I'm not really sure if it does all that, and I can't really try it out soon because I use a colored mascara anyway on my top lashes. I don't know how well this would do on my top lashes, and it's a stretch to call this volumizing, but it really lengthens and separates my bottom lashes nicely, so I'll keep it around for that. I'm still coveting the newest Chanel mascara, Le Volume (it will be mine, oh yes, it will be mine), and would not repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keyelement on 1/16/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by keyelement

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I normally use LashBlast Fusion, so I was used to the brush and wanted to see the difference in formula. This formula is MUCH wetter than Fusion - to the point where you have to apply carefully or you'll end up with it on your lids. I don't have to be so careful with Fusion, which is a much drier formula.

I bought the waterproof version, and it was VERY waterproof - I can remove Fusion waterproof with Cetaphil, but need a biphasic remover to get this one off. Despite the difficulty to remove, I still had some faint raccoon eyes by the end of the day. Adding a coat of Fusion water resistant does the trick - I am happy to do this because this mascara holds a curl really well!! I have yet to find something that holds a curl at ALL! Not sure if I'd repurchase. I'm still in an exploratory phase for mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pec on 1/5/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by pec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Applicator:
Rubber bristles. This style of applicator evenly coats your lashes, as well as define & separate enough during application that you don't need to comb afterwards. I haven't used a mascara with a traditional brush wand since I tried rubber bristles, as I find they just clump chunks of lashes together and require lots of combing to separate. However, the applicator on this mascara is so fat that unless you are extremely skilled/careful, you will smudge mascara on your eyelid, waterlines or lashlines. The tip is only very slightly tapered.


Easy to Hold:
No. The grip on the wand is too fat & awkwardly shaped, and is made of a satin finish plastic that is a little slippery. Everytime I use this mascara I grip the wand for dear life out of fear that I'll drop it on the carpet.


Easy to Use:
No. As mentioned above, the wand is difficult to work with because of the fat applicator that isn't tapered enough at the tip and the awkward grip. I find it extremely hard to get right to the root of my lashes (both top and bottom) without accidentally smearing mascara on my lashlines. I can't get to the root of my inner corner lashes at all (for fear of ruining my eyeshadow with a huge blob of mascara), so they end up coated from the mid-lengths only. The stopper in the tube doesn't scrape enough product off the tip, so extra wiping or blotting is required. I can't wear a light, soft or neutral eyeshadow look with this because if I accidentally smear some on my lashline (happens 99% of the time), I need to then smoke out my look by adding a smudged pencil or shadow eyeliner to disguise the boo-boo. I save this mascara for dramatic looks only so if I do make a mistake, it's already hidden by black liquid liner.


Lashes Achieved:
Defined & Volumised. A light application will darken, define & add lots of volume, a few more coats will add defined mega volume. Doesn't add much length.


Buildable:
Yes. You can apply several layers to build up extra definition or volume without clumping or spidery lashes. However, it is too easy to goop too much mascara on the lash tips due to the fat applicator, so you need to be careful.


Holds a Curl:
As it is waterproof, yes.


Flakes/Smudges:
As it is waterproof, no. Though if your lashes get wet (tears, rain or swimming) you will lose the defined look and have clumpy chunks of lashes.


Formula/Consistency:
Perfect - not too wet or dry. You can use the mascara straight away without having to wait a few days or weeks for it to dry out to a manageable consistency. This is the only reason this mascara gets 2 lippies instead of 1.


Recommended:
Mascara experts; someone who regularly wears dramatic/smokey looks and won't be bothered by accidental smearing on lashlines; someone who wants a mascara that can give volume from the very first coat; someone who needs a truly waterproof formula.


Not Recommended:
Those who already have a hard time applying mascara; someone who applies makeup in a rush to get out the door and won't have time to fix mistakes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aimage on 1/5/2013 more reviews by aimage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure if this is the case but did the formula change? The first time I bought this product I absolutely LOVED IT! My eyelashes never looks so good! It looked like I was wearing false eyelashes! I re-bought this product 2 more times after my first and the packaging changed but the formula also seems different? I might be wrong but my newer tube just feels like a standard mascara now. I don't even use it no more because it just doesn't do much...I think I reviewed this product a year or two ago on MakeupAlley but I just wanted to update my feelings on this new tube I have. Anyway I'm disappointed once again...on a hunt to find a new HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paralleluniverse on 12/20/2012 3:33:00 AM more reviews by paralleluniverse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Well, this was my first waterproof mascara! The brush looks very daunting since it's very big - but it actually is very easy to apply as long as you are careful to not get the mascara on your lids. The brush has fibres that provide for non-clumpy lashes no matter how many coats of mascara you put on. And since it's a waterproof formula, it holds a curl extremely well, something I look for in a mascara, especially because of my straight Asian lashes. It also makes your lashes more voluminous. Smudging is minimal, just a tiny bit under the eyes after a few hours. I'll definitely say it's not totally waterproof though; quite a bit of smudging does occur. However, it's a great mascara for the price and I'll repurchase this again especially because it holds a curl like no tomorrow, delivers volume and doesn't clump!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Elemennopi on 12/13/2012 7:52:00 PM more reviews by Elemennopi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I HAVE to use waterproof makeup or else it won't stay on. I apply this in a straight motion, no zig zagging since I like my lashes separated.
Cons:
makes lashes stick together a little bit but can easily be separated with a spoolie
Large brush makes a mess on eyelid & difficult to get in inner corners (putting a business card behind the lashes keeps product from getting all over lid though)
Not very lengthening (not that i expected any, this is a volumizing mascara!)
bulky packaging
product was VERY wet when i bought a new tube, i left the top unscrewed so now it is fine.
need a good makeup remover to remove it (I like Vichy purete thermale waterproof eye makeup remover for sensitive eyes, it claims to protect lashes too. it has oil so i make sure to only put it on the eye area & it doesn't break me out or anything)

Pros:
lasts long
great price considering the quality. sometimes on sale for $5!
very volumizing
very black
no clumps, ever
very waterproof. holds up well through rain & tears. wont hold curl after being very wet though.
stays on all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products