Tom Ford • Black Orchid EDP • Fragrances

rated 4.0(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Lilosette on 10/21/2012 12:15:00 AM more reviews by Lilosette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It's dark and sexy and noirish where saint
and sinner collide in one bottle. The opening starts with white gardenia with it's sweet innocent scent represent the saintly part of the fragrance dries to an
tart and succulent of black current, there
is an nuance of tangerine that is juicy
to the core dries to an velvety texture
of bergamot, and ends the top notes with
nocturnal jasmine with it's quieting aspects and ylang ylang that hangs in the dark night.

As we go down to the middle notes we enter a room of fiery spices but it's
not overwhelming and brings exotica to
the senses there is an deep and diluted
note note of fruits that makes it primal, the lotus is the quietest note
in the perfume but it also makes it powdery and the orchid the star of this
fragrance is the most dark quality of
orchid you can ever get dries the middle
down.

Dry sandalwood starts the drydown with a
esoteric fervor then warms with amber
and earthy patchouli then dark chocolate
with deletable tastes makes it sexual
ends with the mysterious note of incense.

When i wear this it conjures me of a late 1920's metropolis where a fashionable women wearing all black with
fur short cut dress and a close fitting
crochet hat walking though the shadowery
streets with streetlights reflecting her
shadow and the steam from the subway
from the asphalt floor and she comes across a man who's dark good looks slowly pulls her in and kisses her deeply and slowly moves her stocking from her garters and rubs his hands
over her flawless legs.

this is truly sex in a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yc01 on 10/18/2012 7:44:00 AM more reviews by yc01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was in love with this scent when I first tried it on me. People want to smell you when you have it on you. I purchased a full size bottle but unfortunately I noticed that especially men wear it much more beautifully when compared to women. Not only myself, many other women, except very young ladies. I gave it to my husband and he likes to wear it very much. This should be classified as a very unique men's cologne, I think saying it's unisex would not be so true for most of the women.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueelm on 10/7/2012 7:20:00 AM more reviews by blueelm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What an unusual and refreshingly sophisticated scent. I got a sample of this with a sephora order, and am completely mystified by the sweet, creamy vanilla and toothpaste accords here. This has so much patchouli and vetiver underneath the opening notes. I don't think I've ever smelled a fragrance with quite so much patchouli that isn't a single note. It manages to be sweet and herbaceous at once, and almost reminds me of some kind of gilded age cocktail.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nimue2 on 10/5/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by Nimue2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love it! It's warm and inviting and seductive and very cozy. And I had to come back to add that I got a 1.7 oz EDP with a tube of body lotion at CCO for $80...quite a bargain, considering the EDP alone usually runs for $105 (I think) at Sephora!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CJCJ on 9/29/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by CJCJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Stunk horribly on me. I don't know what this is supposed to smell like, to be honest, because the scent was so vile that I had to scrub it off. I gave it 1 hour..... developed a headache in that time from the scent. Based on the reviews and descriptions, I thought I would love it!!

Do try this before you buy it. So glad I did.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWayne on 7/23/2012 4:45:00 PM more reviews by JaneWayne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I started off with a sample of this, given to me by an impatient fragrance SA at Nordstrom. Well, she did not get my sale but Nordstrom.com did! This reminds me of something, and I cannot put my finger on it. Dark fruits (as someone else said) smoothly make their presence upon application, but it is NOT screechy at all. I have not looked at the notes but I detect a smokey vanilla, and maybe some patchouli. This is incredibly blended. The bottle is fantastic with its black, art deco design. I keep reading that this is better suited to winter, but I am all about breaking rules...I am pretty much like the honey badger in that respect. In conclusion...dark, smokey, mysterious, and sexy!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Canadianpetite on 7/21/2012 3:11:00 AM more reviews by Canadianpetite

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Between this and Violet Blonde, I chose the latter because it smells more feminine even though both (to me) have the same sillage and strong character. I sprayed this on the crook of my arm (hidden by long sleeves) as I was leaving the mall to pick up my hubby from work (about 2 blocks away). When he got into the car, he immediately rolled down the window and said "whew! perfume!". Not just strong sillage, but the top notes are have big presence. It took about half-hour before the notes softened up to offend everyone around me. On the top notes, I detect strong white florals (jasmine and ylang-ylang and perhaps some tuber?) and bergamot - screaming to compete with one another. In the middle notes, all notes seem more subdued and are joined with spices. The drydown is my favourite when it sweetens on my skin and I find my nose to my wrist quite often to get that scen-sual high. This will be on my buy list because the drydown is that good to me that I am willing to wait out the strong, strong (almost scary) opening. Lasts 9-10hrs on me. 4/5

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 7/12/2012 3:49:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i love this fragrance. it is a strong scent. i dont think it can be pulled off by everyone. it is unique and fashion forward. it is floral but dark and there is an aquatic quality to it. to my nose this translates as freshness. it is a heavy skin scent that does not smell stale. on the occasions i have smelled this on another person, it interrupts my thinking. the first time i had to stop to find out what this person was wearing. it is amazing. you have to have a distinctive air about you for this to suit you. it is bold, refined and expensive smelling but sexy and unnerving as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 6/12/2012 8:54:00 PM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Definately a try before you buy fragrance. On my skin this is a very grown up fruity oriental. Black fruits indeed reign supreme with a masculine base of vetiver, which I love. I agree with the pp that this is most certainly unisex and you can make it even more delicious by mixing it with Tobacco Vanille. It reminds me of Mauboussin without the Smokey note. Black Orchid is going to remain a winter favourite for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ceciafb on 5/19/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by ceciafb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

HORRIBLE on me. So excited to try it and thought it smelt interesting in the store..got the smallest bottle as it's quite expensive...so glad I did! This smells almost petrol-y on me! So so strong, masculine - could definitely work on a man. I want to like it so bad seeing as everyone else does but it also smells so old! At 20 I'd like to think I'm old enough to wear adult smells having moved on from anna sui etc but I feel ridiculous wearing this...I think it could smell really sexy on the right person (e.g. a man..?) but you'd have to have the persona/attitude to go with it (an interesting feature for a perfume!) I personally feel like it doesn't suit me at all but then I guess I'm more of a lancome hypnose/hugo boss deep red kinda gal...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products