Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama • Mascara

rated 3.4(376 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 8/29/2013 4:58:00 AM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

THE GOOD: Inky, dramatic looking formula...cute packaging

THE BAD: Its got that dumb bendy brush that Mega Plush has as well >.>

THE UGLY: This formula was phenomenal the first time I used it, after that it became very dry very quickly. This dryness makes it extremely difficult to, in any way, perfectly comb this formula through the lashes. The result is tons of clumpiness, and very flakey and crumbly lashes. Not hot at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebrides on 8/26/2013 8:49:00 PM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't written a review for every mascara I use, but it's time to give praise to this one. Just recently I bought 2 new mascaras, highly reviewed here, and both were epic fails. I decided to try this old standby and I realized it was head and shoulders above any of the new wannabes with all their promises. Maybelline has far too many types of mascara and I tried all of the Falsies line, of course. This one is surely the best. My reasons:
- The formula is thick, and there is a lot in the tube
- The coverage is excellent, and lengthens and thickens just as it says - dramatically. But still suitable for daytime use, because my lashes are light and sparse and I need the drama.
- The brush, though curved which normally I hate, is only gently curved and not hard to use. The design does create a curl.

The negatives:
- You have to wipe a lot of product off the brush before applying, as it doesn't seem to have a cuff to catch and wipe the brush. But this is far better and more reliable than a mascara which wipes the brush totally dry, defeating the purpose of mascara.

There are no other negatives as far as I am concerned. I am so sick of mascaras that promise the world and deliver nothing. This one does work and I am going back to it on a daily basis until I can afford to try some high end dept. store brands. All my other drug store reliables have failed me right from the brand new tube, or dried up too soon. I know this one is at least 6 months old yet it is still wet and thick and goes on beautifully.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maclover26 on 8/23/2013 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Maclover26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Omg this is the best mascara ever I looovvvveeeed it I can't tell you how many tubes I have bought of this stuff, it's amaze balls. I curl my lashes and add a couple coats of this and I always get asked wow what mascara are you wearing or your eye lashes look long today I love itttt! And for £8 it's a bargin :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cazlikesmakeup on 8/17/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by cazlikesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this mascara is my absolute favourite! i love how it makes my lashes look- i have crap lashes; they grow straight down, they're a medium length and a medium thickness. my eyelashes look barely noticable without mascara. but this makes them stand out and i find that the curl actually stays after i curl my lashes. i don't know if this is because of the brush or the formula. and speaking of the brush, it coats all my lashes at once which is handy. as is with every mascara, you have to be careful with application in order for the mascara not to clump the hairs together. all in all this product does the job for me. i think if you had better lashes than me, this mascara would make your eyelashes look amazing !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yogigirl6187 on 8/7/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by Yogigirl6187

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this mascara. I recently have tried a few new mascaras and this is the best one I have found. It lengthens and volumizes my lashes while separating them. This stuff is amazing and not hard to take off. It does not clump, flake, etc. It's just perfect. I barely have to apply much to get a dramatic look. I love the curved brush which helps me curl the ends of my lashes for a flared out look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peipiephi on 8/5/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by peipiephi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely terrible; everything you DO NOT want in a mascara in a bottle. It clumps on my lashes, gives absolutely no length to them, and then makes my lashes drop terribly after about 10 minutes. It's way too wet and even after setting it aside for several months, it's still too wet to do anything nice. I probably shouldn't have picked up the "Black Drama" version, but whatever; I'm sticking to my trusty Covergirl mascaras from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 martel92 on 8/1/2013 2:41:00 PM more reviews by martel92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this mascara only once or twice because it is sooooo clumpy! I also was not a fan of the brush. I found it made it difficult to apply to the lower lashes. I understand that it is supposed to provide a false eyelash look but it just looks really cheap once applied. Definitely will not be purchasing this one again and will be sticking with the rocket instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandahart on 7/17/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by amandahart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Packaging: The packaging for me was pretty decent. Before I bought it, it was the packaging which attracted me to it. It has a bit of shimmer in the purple colour of the bottle.

First Impressions: When I first opened the mascara bottle, I noticed that the formula was pretty wet. The brush is a nice shape (kind of like a spoon shape). If you are expecting the brush to be gi-normous, you will be pretty disappointed.

On my eyelashes: My eyelashes are at a decent thickness and an average length (for a SE Asian), and the first thing I noticed when I applied this on was probably how spidery my eyelashes looked (spidery in a good way).

When I pre-curl my eyelashes and then apply this mascara, the curls would just limp and fall back straight, so if this happens to you a lot, then I would probably recommend the waterproof version (if there is any) as it would have more wax in the content and wouldn't have a really wet formula.

This mascara also flakes throughout the day, so regular checkups are necessary. If there is a problem with clumping, I would usually use my finger as like a brush to brush out the clumps because the brush is sometimes ineffective.

Don't buy this mascara if you wear glasses that are pushed up close to your eyes, because your lashes will get stiff and harden and start brushing against the glass. Make sure your mascara is dry before you out on glasses.

If I ran out, I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 etternax on 7/8/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by etternax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

OK mascara all around but the lengthening fibres in the mascara substance itself are annoying and could get into the eyes if any got into the upper waterline while applying. I have naturally thick long lashes and need something to lengthen, define, and curl a bit more. I am not after a volumizing mascara. This one is volumizing (drama), the wand is good for curling but the colour is very black and is hard to remove without staining.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 7/3/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tried the regular formula after a disastrous experience with the waterproof formula removing my natural lashes whilst removing it at the end of the day. When I apply this to my top lashes, it, for some reason, smudges on the my lower lash line--i could not imagine applying it to my lower lashes. it makes my lashes look great, but I cannot handle the smudging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products