Estee Lauder • Double Wear Maximum Cover Camouflage Makeup For Face & Body • Foundations

rated 4.2(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Karinnne on 11/7/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Karinnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have done a lot of research to find the perfect foundation, and I finally found it. There are certainly bad reviews for this foundation and the reason is because they don't know how to use it. You can't just put this on your face real fast and run out the door there is a certain way you need to put this foundation on in order for it to work for you. It took me a while to really learn how to use it and these are my steps.... 1) moisturizer 2) primer (tarte clean slate 12 hr) or any primer of your choice. 3) Mac fix+ 4) put Very little foundation and blend with your beauty blender. This gives me full coverage and it doesn't look cakey because you use very little since you don't need a lot. This doesn't make me break out either. After 6 months I have completed my search for a foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chitowngrl75 on 10/29/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Chitowngrl75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation on the days I want full coverage!!! You need so little to cover everything!! I have acne scars and I don't need concealer. I use a damp beauty blender to apply this and it looks lovely!! I use it especially on the days I work 12 hours. So this is on for 15 hours that day!! I've even returned the concealers I've recently bought cuz I use this as my concealer for spots instead. I have sooo many foundations it's ridiculous!! For full coverage I have KVDs lock it and lancome's 24 hr. This beats them both!!!

Update 11/12/13: Still loving this foundation!! Lately for daily makeup, I've been mixing it w/Dior's Hydralife BB cream and OMG beautiful results!!!! It still covers all my post acne marks and scarring!!! I just ordered another bottle from Macy's as backup just in case they discontinue it. My KVD and Lancome 24 hr are not getting any attention from me now. LOL!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RebekahDigney on 10/16/2013 3:35:00 AM more reviews by RebekahDigney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I Just bought this product, after I saw all the reviews. And I must say it glides on beautifully and you really need next to nothing for a full coverage application.Im Nc20 in mac foundation and I got this is the colour "creamy vanilla". I personally found that its lasting power is fairly average, this could be due to my combination and slightly oily skin, although it was set with a primer and a setting powder. Due to the SPF unfortunately its a no go for photo's but really beautiful and flawless with no cakiness that other foundations give after a few hours. I much prefer it over my garnier bb cream or my mac pro long wear throughout the day. The price in Australia is $50 which is hefty for a small amount of product, however I will repurchase purely because its flawless.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xjessxdunnx on 10/9/2013 6:06:00 PM more reviews by xjessxdunnx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

i thrive on trying to find the most coverage foundation I can.... im not a make up artist I don't use brushes im a normal girl who wants a bloody good foundation I don't care about sheerness I don't like my skin I need something to cover my health problems with my skin that I have... and before your thinking no its not acne! I read a hell of a lot of reviews before considering to buy this foundation and one day I went town and though bugger it I absolutely hate face to face interaction with make up counter chicks she was nice enough but no offence I cant be bothered I had a dark foundation on that day and I hate anyone touching my face especially my jaw line and neck and she couldn't see a match she said a light shade I said no I cant wear light as ill have a tanned body and a white face and I hate it... so I didn't take her advice and got a deep tan shade or something sorry cannot be bothered to get up and have a look at the shade im a load of good! anyhows that evening I went on a random trip to Birmingham with all my shopping in hand no clothes just my shopping thank god I had bought that foundation I was please when I first applied a little light for me! see told you I should of gone darker good job I did go darker than what she said! anyways because it was so expensive I didn't want to use all the time so I used it excited when going to work one day and I have never had a foundation rub off so much as this does I touch it and its on my finger hours later but its still on my face I think I used too much or something... so over all its a great coverage would defo buy again don't use all the time due to price but I like it in my make up bag!!! thank you estee lauder!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GentleReader on 9/28/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by GentleReader

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For full coverage, this is my favorite foundation, hands down. I have very sensitive, acne-prone combo skin that breaks out within hours of wearing a silicone-based foundation. The fact that this product is mercifully free of cones is what made me curious about it to begin with, and I am so glad I tried it out! I can get a completely flawless, air-brushed complexion with this, without paying for it in a crop of those annoying acne papules......

It is the most full coverage product I've ever found. Redness, sunspots, PIH, etc. disappear under this. Being so opaque, application is really key to achieving a natural, non-cakey look--I apply a few tiny dots to the center of my face and then blend outward with a damp BB sponge or foundation brush (I've actually been using Sephora's Pro blending brush #134 for this, with good results). One thin, well-buffed layer is usually enough coverage, but if I have any residual redness or spot correcting to do, I apply a tiny bit more just to those areas. I do use a separate undereye concealer, but for my face, this product is foundation and concealer in one.

Oil control is moderate to good. I live in a warm, humid climate and if I don't set this it will start to look shiny after about 4-5 hours. But if I set it well and am mostly staying indoors, it lasts 10-12 hours, easily. Because it's so full-coverage, I typically only use this for nights out, or as a spot concealer on top of my CC cream for daytime wear. If wearing all over your face, you really need to moisturize prior to application or the pigment will cling to dry/flaky patches.

I have neutral fair skin (somewhere around NC 17) and the shade Creamy Ivory Light is a good match. However, EL is apparently introducing more shades with a wider array of undertones, and right now my color is impossible to find either locally or online :( So for now, I'm relying on the kindness of a Dillard's SA who gave me a sample. But as soon as the new shades are debuted, I'll be at the EL counter getting a shade match and hopefully a full tube to call my own!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Coke01 on 9/28/2013 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Coke01

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This my first review. I have used this product off and on for 4 years. I now use it daily. For reference I am 59 with somewhat senstive skin, a red nose, broken capilaries on my cheeks, dark circle under my eyes, but smooth skin with very minor wrinkling around my eyes.

I put it on the back of my hand first to warm it up. Less than a pea may even be too much, you can always go back for more. I start by applying a light layer on my nose, cheeks and circles. Then I go back and apply full face. If my cheeks are especially red I will then tap on any remaining product on to my cheeks. I almost always apply with fingertips as I find it gives this product a better finish.

I do use this foundation in several different ways that are very effective too. If my face is not too red I mix a small amount of ELDW with my Dr. Jart BB cream. This combo helps with slip and as others have said because of the limited color selection warms up the DW for me. I have also mixed it with MAC and Chanel foundations that I have but prefer the results with the BB.

Another reviewer also commented on the possible need for bronzer. I am very fair and bronzer does not work for me. But I do use MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium. I place a light dusting on my cheeks, top of forehead and under my chin.

This foundation can be very mask like if you start with too much. There is not alot of play time, which works for me because if I want to add another layer I am not just moving around what I have already put on.

My face will stay flawless from 7AM to 7PM without any touch ups. I can only speak to my skin but my face does need to be moisturized or I will develop dry patches during the day. You can see how well the product stays in place when you "try" to wash it off of the back of your hand, it takes work. I find it is easily removed from my face with cleansing oil. I always clean my face with oil and a microfiber cloth and this is highly effective.

I would highly recommend this product. It's not for everyone. But it can also be a great concealer, spot cover or mixed with moisturizer to thin out the product.

Edited to correct brand of BB cream

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clpersonal on 9/28/2013 11:23:00 AM more reviews by clpersonal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I bought this recently and have been using it for the past week and i love it so far! Although the color selection is really limited, if you can find a shade that matches you're lucky!! This provides even better coverage than Revlon Colorstay and is does not cling on to dry patches as much as Revlon CS. I like this more than Revlon CS except the price. Oil control is also better than Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nikitax on 9/11/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by nikitax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I swear I wanted to love this foundation because it really provides full coverage(covered my redness perfectly) it has a creamy consistency , and it blends like heaven. However, it will cling to dry pacthes and make your pores look incredibly H-U-G-E!!! I had to use Dr. Brandt -pores no more- , and it got better but still my face looked awful.


Please be aware that it contains bismuth oxychloride which is known to be a skin irritant to many. Definitely a no-no for people with rosacea.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jesscarrollxx on 9/6/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by Jesscarrollxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Best foundation I have EVER used!!!! I have used most "high end" foundations and nothing gives as much coverage and long wear as this foundation! I would only recommend this product if you really do have bad skin and do have imperfections to cover. Otherwise you may just want to try the standard double wear. Also one thing I didn't like about this product is it only comes in 7 shades unlike the normal double wear. Which comes in 20+ shades. I managed to find the perfect shade for me (creamy vanilla) but there are people that will struggle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melissaur on 8/22/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Melissaur

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading all of the great reviews on this product, I HAD to try it. I went to the EL counter and the woman who helped me was wonderful, she let me know that the color selection was limited, but they are going to release more colors very soon (good news for those who reviewed and said not enough color choices!) I found a perfect match though with Creamy Vanilla. It covered up my acne scars and redness PERFECTLY! This is a VERY full coverage foundation. She let me know that it is important to be moisturized well because it does cling to dry patches if you have drier skin. I have oily skin so I don't really have that problem. So this is my first day of wearing it with my regular skincare routine all done beforehand (cleanser and moisturizer with SPF), and I am loving it so far. A little bit really does go a long way. I put the tiniest amount on the back of my hand and applied it with a foundation brush. It goes on like paint, but it doesn't feel heavy. I agree with the other reviewers that you should also put on some bronzer/blush because it evens out your face so much, you need to add some dimension back. It's been about 2 hours and I am still perfectly matte. I will update as the day goes on, but I have high hopes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Foundations products