MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(828 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 clpds on 1/31/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by clpds

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for about two months and so far I think it's pretty good match for my skin; NC 42. One pump dispenses the perfect amount for my entire face.

My skin is pretty clear, so I think this might be too much coverage for it even though it's a medium coverage. However, it covers up my dark spots nicely though it feels a bit heavy at times. (When applied with a foundation brush.)

When I apply it with a stippling brush, it doesn't feel as a heavy so that's much better! I have not broken out so I'm very, very hapy about that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pattsy on 1/27/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by pattsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not too fond of leaving negative reviews, but this product was such a disappointment for me.

I'll start out by saying I got matched with the wrong shade, NW20, when I'm more NW10-15. When I had it applied in the store it looked great under the lights, and I was in a rush to get a new foundation, so I bought it straight away. As soon as my face hit natural light I realised it wasn't the right one for me. (However, I felt way too awkward to take it back straight away, and I knew I'd bought it in the lightest shade they had available at the time in Australia.) This isn't why I marked it down though.

On me this foundation settles into every little crevice on my face and I end up looking so much older! At first I thought it was because it was matte, but since then I have tried dozens of other matte foundations and nothing leaves my skin looking this old! It also doesn't seem to last long, no matter what primer I wear or don't wear. It gets very patchy by the end of the day, and I don't have the time for touch-ups or reapplications.

Another problem that I found was that it was very pink. Like, extremely pink. It looks ridiculous! And then it oxidises so fast!

Perhaps I just bought a bad bottle, because most of the people I know absolutely rave about this product. I really just can't get it to work though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beapua on 1/27/2014 7:13:00 AM more reviews by beapua

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

What made me buy this in the first place was the low SPF content. I hate how liquid foundations higher than SPF 10 make my face look ghastly white in photos.

Coverage is great only when I prime my face before applying it. I once forgot to apply primer before putting on foundation, and baaam, my pores look more visible. But once I apply primer, my face looks just heavenly! My face is poreless, flawless and all the -less adjectives I could think of lol!

Three pumps of this product is enough for the entire face and neck. That one layer lasts all day long! All I have to do is just reapply a layer of translucent loose powder after more or less 6 hours to mattify my face.

I also love how MAC has a lot of shades. I have acidic skin so my shade is NC 15 [one shade lighter than my actual skin tone], which just looks perfect 30 minutes after applying it.

Been using this product for the last 5 months and I never broke out. Love love love this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 stephaniedubbioso on 1/27/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by stephaniedubbioso

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I reaaaally wanted to love this foundation but it just doesn't work with ANY product I use to prep my skin! I am aware this foundation is water based, so a water based moisturizer or primer is a must, but I find that even when I use the correct base underneath my skin, this foundation never stays put. It separates around my cheeks and nose almost instantly after I apply no matter what my technique; brush, BB or fingers. I also find that when I have product underneath the longevity of this stuff is terrible.

BUT.... when I have absolutely nothing on my skin prior to application this product looks great and lasts longer. Moisturizing/priming my skin beforehand is routine though, so I won't be repurchasing. I love the pump though, that's an asset :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LorettaBellxo on 1/26/2014 2:55:00 PM more reviews by LorettaBellxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is AMAZING! I have oily skin, and by the end of the day, my make up still looks wonderful! If your considering buying it, don't hesitate! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChloeJayne on 1/22/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by ChloeJayne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far, one of my top two foundations! I have always used MAC Studio Fix Fluid (NC20) but lately I'v found that it's really been slipping off my face and wearing off in certain areas so I done some research, read lots of reviews & decided to buy the Pro Longwear (NC20) & all I can say is WOW! I honestly don't feel it to be as heavy as the Studio Fix Fluid and the coverage is absolutely fantastic! I like a full coverage foundation to cover some redness & freckles that I have on my cheecks and this does the job perfectly! it doesn't cake on the skin and the finish looks so natural. As far as long-wearing, this is honestly the best foundation I'v ever had! Usually I apply my foundation (Studio Fix Fluid) at around 7am, just before college and by time I get home (around 3/4) my foundation would be barely visible!!!! But with Pro Longwear, my skin looks absolutely flawless after 10 hours!! When used in conjunction with the Pro Longwear concealer, the skin just looks even more flawless! Cannot recommend this foundation enough! Honestly didn't expect to love it this much!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachel1234 on 1/18/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good long-wearing foundation. It does not dry my skin out as much as Estee Lauder Double Wear, but seems just as longwearing and sweat/humidity/water resistant. It has broad spectrum spf10.

I wear it in the color NC15, which is a very fair, warm-neutral shade - maybe just a touch more yellow than pink, so it leans just slightly to the warm side of neutral. It is creamy and blends easily into my skin using just my fingers. It has never oxidized on me, and the color stays true all day.

I get more compliments on my skin when I wear this foundation than any other foundation, ever. Whenever I wear this I have people complimenting me on my "beautiful skin" ..... which is funny because it's not my skin, it's this foundation - it makes skin look smooth, even and glowy. I use Shiseido loose powder on top to set, and extra oil-control powder just on my t-zone .... and this makeup will last hours before I have to blot or touch up. Really good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 1/15/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I so hate writing negative reviews, but I just don't like this product. I was looking for an alternative to the original Colorstay and this is vey similar, but just doesn't work for me.

For reference, the SA recommended NW20, which was when I was in Vegas last year and I had gotten a bit of sun. Right now I'm probably more NW15, but NW20 is definitely doable. But this foundation shade confuses me. For one thing, I thought the entire idea of the NW/NC concept is to balance your undertones so you would be more neutral; in other words, I thought NW20 would be more neutral/golden to override any redness. But it's actually very pink! I've tried this in all sorts of light but it's just PINK. I thought I was crazy until I swatched it next to almost every liquid foundation I have: Revlon CS Whipped in Nude; ELF Flawless Finish in both Sand & Porcelain; and Pur Minerals Flawless Finish in Light. Pro Longwear was noticeably MUCH pinker than all of them. Is my understanding of MAC's system wrong? Or did I get the only pink bottle of NW20? If I'm wrong, please tell me!

That said, it's not the most unflattering tone. But oh no...it oxidizes. Badly. If I take a cotton pad to my face it comes right off and looks mauve, or rose. Some crazy dark shade of pink. I have combination skin, but now in the winter it barely gets oily. And yet I'm the color of a flamingo.

And then there's the coverage: medium at best, after layering it. The finish is actually nice, and is matte but very natural. Only it does look a cakey. I'm literally holding a mirror 3 feet away from my face and I see "makeup". And does it control oil? No. Not at all. It's winter here, about 15 degrees, and all I did today was pick up a coffee, stop at the pet store, and wander around Target and when I got home my foundation was annihilated. GONE.

So I'm happy for you if this works, and it obviously works for a lot of people; don't let me rain on your parade. But wow, I'm usually pretty easy to please in the foundation department (witness the number of foundations I have and use regularly above) and this was an utter FAIL. Sorry, guys :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotPinkLips101 on 1/14/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by HotPinkLips101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My #1 foundation, i always biy different ones thinking I'll find something better but I always go back to this one, it's full.coverage, im oily so no matter what i always get shiny, but i don't get cakey, i set it with MAC loose mineral powder, and when i get shiny a few hours later i take care of it with prep and prime

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Niki726 on 1/12/2014 3:58:00 PM more reviews by Niki726

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this at the MAC shop at Macy's. It dries super quick so you gotta put it on fast. But if you need to go over any areas you missed or need to touch up, it will cake. The coverage is great, but I like to take my time when putting on foundation and you just can't do it with this because it dries so fast. Studio fix fluid works best for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products