MAC Pro Longwear Concealer

4.1

1106 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Tribehenin, Magnesium Sulfate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Methicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Laureth-7, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid [may contain] (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


on 6/22/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm iffy about this concealer. First off, straight out of the bottle this concealer is dry on the skin. It will crease if you use it under your eyes and it can flake up easily on my skin, especially if it's used on "textured" skin like scars. To fix this problem I pumped the concealer out of the original bottle into a circular container and added jojoba oil to it. This made the the concealer less dry and a little better. HOWEVER because of the horrible pump bottle that wastes product and is ridiculously difficult/impossible for me to remove, there is an inevitable loss of product. The horrible packaging and the amount of fiddling I have to do in order to make this concealer work isn't worth it at its price point. I won't repurchase again after I finish it.

For people who are looking for their shade: I am NC30 in this. NC35 oxidizes too dark. For rough equivalents for my shade, NARS Radiant Concealer in Ginger Medium 2 is just *slightly* dark on me and Bobbi Brown Foundation Stick in 4.25 Natural Tan matches me.



on 6/19/2015 6:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this concealer for years. It gives medium coverage so it's good for every day use and has never made me break out in spots even though I occassionally suffer from acne.

PROS:
-The coverage of this product is good enough for any form of blemishes so I can actually use it as a replacement for foundation (as long as I use primer and setting powder).
-Huge variations of shades available. I use NC30 for my dark circles and NC35 for the rest of my face
-Very easy to apply by fingers or brush
-Doesn't crease and blends pretty well

CONS:
-The packaging is annoying. One pump gives WAY too much concealer so I always pretty much end up wasting a lot of the product every day.
-Very expensive


on 6/18/2015 9:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this concealer for the first time just this week. I will say it is one of the better concealers I have tried, but it still dries kind of "clumpy" I should say. After wearing it all day long, it doesn't stay all that well, and it feels dry, and looks dry too. The texture is a bit runny straight out of the bottle, so I'm not sure why it does this. It actually covers my dark circles well, I just wish that it blended a bit better. Not sure it was worth the money paid. I will keep trying to work with it though, because it does cover well. It is difficult to find a happy medium with concealers, I just thought I would point out the "bugs" that may need adjusting.


on 6/18/2015 8:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have used this for a few years now, but always think that I might find something better. I have tried other MAC concealers as well as Maybelline, NYX, Revlon, Loreal, Bobbi Brown, Amazing, Exuviance, BO-ING, Sonia, Kashuk, Pixie, Physicians's Formula, and the so-called fabulous NARS. I have not however relented to the $70 Cle De Peau. The MAC pro longwear is the very best that I have found. It blends well with finger or brush and stays put without creasing. The glass container is very breakable and as others have said too much is dispensed at a time. All ploys, I am sure MAC uses to get my money. I still love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2015 4:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Well, another overrated product of Mac. Yet I should say I have too much darkness problem and relatively dry eye area. I bought it believing on it's full coverage promise because I really need quite full coverage under my purple eye circle. Still, if I had problem-free eye area It dries eye area too much even it creates small cracks and you can see how this product dries the area while looking at yourself on the mirror so it is improving the appearance of fine lines. It is said that If I apply an intensive eye cream and an apprepriate erase paste under the product and apply a fixer powder on the product, Prolong wear would work perfect. Sorry but nobody wants to support a product with other products with the risk of cakey look and spending more money. There is no sense.
Now I am mixing it to my foundations which is Kim Kardashian style as she is using this concealar with her foundation.


on 6/13/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's a lot of concealer for the price but the annoying pump means you'll waste half of it on the back of your hand! I appreciate the coverage and lasting power of this concealer but it tends to be cakey and drying. I find that applying several layers works best if you sheer each one out with a beauty blender.


on 6/11/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

WOW! This is a HG concealer for me. I used to have bad acne, but it has cleared up a lot since being treated by a dermatologist. I am a MAC lipstick addict so I thought that I would try another product. I have tried a lot of concealers in my day and none of them have worked too well for me. I have a lot of red and pink spots on my cheeks from post-acne marks. I went to the MAC counter and had a MUA match me for the correct shade. I bought it and saved the receipt in case it did not work. I have used it for about a week now and it has made all of the difference in my makeup routine. This concealer covers my red marks while making my oily t-zone more matte. Not only would I recommend this concealer for acne and blemishes, but it also works excellent for an under-eye concealer. I will DEFINITELY be repurchasing.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

*Sigh*
I really wanted to like this concealer, having heard good things about it from other people. After being 'persuaded' into buying it by the employees at the MAC counter, I decided to give it a go. My first complaint is not so much about the products, but about the staff employed by MAC. Every time I've gone in to have my shade matched, their staff have pushed me into buying a product that is not only different from the consistency/texture I wanted, but they always match me to the wrong colours. My second complaint is about the concealer itself; while in terms of coverage it isn't that bad, I found it to be very drying on my skin. It also cakes extremely easily, even if I only use a little it looks cakey and dry - regardless of how much moisturizer I use. This is only made worse by the MAC powders. Also, as others have said; the pump is stiff and difficult to operate, resulting in far too much concealer coming out of it. Overall while I think it might work for some people, it's certainly not for me. I don't think I'll be purchasing again.


on 6/9/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this concealer! I have used my fair share of concealers and I always had a little love-hate relationship with them. Mostly they just didn't stay in put for the whole day, they would cake up or in worst cases they would emphasize any fine lines I have.
But not this one. This concealer stays put...untill you take it off. It's so smooth, looks like real skin, doesn't cake or emphasizes any fine lines. This, folks, is my holy grail. Finally found it! And okay, it's pricier than your regular drugstore brands, but it's definately worth the money (in my opinion).
Only thing I'm not so excited about: the packaging. I feel like the pump packaging wastes product! I feel like I always have too much product with only one pump. But on the other hand, the product goes a long way. I use one pump almost daily and after about 6 months, I still have 1/3 of product left.


on 6/9/2015 4:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

So I needed a better concealer for my super oily skin and Maybelline's ones weren't doing much to stay on.

It was a great improvement overall (well, I guess that is expected), but the WORST thing about this is the @#!%ing pump. It's hygienic but it could seriously be friendlier. What I do is I use both my hands to control the pump, squeezing the pump between two fingers and use my thumb to slowly push down little by little -- it's a huge pain, especially since I didn't actually need to use a whole pump at once. The tube itself is glass, but seems pretty sturdy, as I've dropped it many times onto hardwood floor. I don't know how it is on concrete or tile, and I don't suggest you try it.

Now this concealer has great coverage and is light. It's very pigmented so you don't need a lot, and lasts a long time. I use about half a pump every day since buying it about a year ago, and I still have half left.

It also blends well into the skin and with other concealers too, so you can mix it for a better match. It's liquid in consistency and it dries moderately fast. I see that it becomes a little tacky when the residual concealer dries on my hand which makes it harder to blend and apply, so pump it out little by little and reapply accordingly.

It looks natural too! My friends can't tell if I've used concealer at all, and I have absolutely HORRENDOUS acne scars and redness. All I use is moisturiser, primer, BB cream, and concealer, then powder and spray my face and that's it. Hell, you can even just forgo everything after priming and just use this to have a more natural look or something.

It's best applied with a brush, and covers acne, scars, whatever marks well, so in this area, I find it worth the price. What I do find is that, if you apply on a really dry patch of skin, the concealer starts to look a little powdery and if you put too little, it'll start to catch on little flakes of skin and accentuates the dryness. In this case, especially for those with dry skin, always moisturise and prime beforehand and use setting spray afterwards (I use skindinavia). Though there are those times when pimples start to have skin peeling around it, in that situation, I find that applying liberally is better.

If you have really, REALLY oily skin like me, like if you produce oil on your nose after a 20 walk on a normal day in the sun, it starts to wear off about 5-6 hours without make up spray and a couple more hours longer if you do powder and spray, which is a real bummer, especially if you live in hot and humid places (like Summer in Australia). It starts to look cakey around places that produce the most oil and your pores start to stand out more (this happens on my upper lip area most prominently).

Overall, if you want a good concealer, I think this is definitely worth checking out. The price may be hefty, but this provides great coverage, generally is long lasting on any day, suitable for moderate to oily skin, and one little tube lasts a long while. That is, if you look past the pump and the matching process.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer | First Impression (F.I.F) by Chloe Luckin

Mac Pro Long Wear Concealer and Prep and Prime Highlighter Review by BeautynLifewSue



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top