MAC • Matte - Omega • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 7/25/2012 3:05:00 AM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very unassuming color in the pan. It's a boring looking basic that is soooo useful if you are pale and cool toned. I use it for my eyebrows (I have red hair so it works for not just blonds). I like it in the crease for blending when UD naked and MAC wedge or kid are too dark and too warm (Malt is also great for this). I feel like MAC matte finishes are hit or miss and this one is a hit (Malt is a bit of a miss). It's not quite as buttery as a matte2 but close. I can also use it to contour my face. It's a perfect contour color on me. It's not an exciting color to buy, but is soooo useful and has such a nice texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Camillian74 on 7/2/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Camillian74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Omega is my favorite MAC shadow color--it is the most versitile. I can use it to contour my cheekbones, shadow my eyes, and shape my brows. Amazing color, not too warm, but not too ashy. Highly recommend for anyone with a beige-tan skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupdivajunkie on 6/19/2012 3:20:00 PM more reviews by makeupdivajunkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG crease color on my pale NC15 skin. I absolutely love this shade. I have also used it as a eyebrow color. It is the perfect neutral taupe brown. I would purchase this over and over again. It is my go to color for days I just want to look polished and not have to think too much about what makeup I am wearing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deanna2 on 6/19/2012 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Deanna2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite MAC eyeshadow. It is a matte light taupe and it strikes a nice balance between light brown and gray. I like to use this as a base for other colors or for just wash of color on days when I don't want to fuss with a complicated eye design. I also use it as a brow color, which works great on my dark brown brows. My only wish is that the formula was a Matte 2. Don't get me wrong; the formula isn't bad on this. But I just love the buttery texture and blending ease of the Matte2s.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 agfazzone on 6/8/2012 10:19:00 AM more reviews by agfazzone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Omega is THE shade for blonde/light brunette brows! I had always used pencils and it looked fine but I wanted my brows to look more natural and not so drawn on. So I saw someone apply Omega to her brows with an angled brush online and it looked amazing! I went out, got some for myself and it's perfect! I have neutral/golden light brunette hair at the moment, and Omega looks just as good as when I was very blonde a few months ago. It comes out a lot darker than it looks in the pan, and you can build it if you need darker brows. It's a cool-neutral shade that will work for many different skin and hair shades. I highly recommend it and will be buying again. I don't use it as a shadow since it's on my brows 24/7. MAC shadows are great quality and stay on well, especially if you use a primer underneath.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XFilesLover on 4/22/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by XFilesLover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was really excited when my friend gave me this for my birthday. The colours were so beautiful and I knew MAC products had a good reputation. It held out on it's promises, it went on smooth, it was shimmery (But not too shimmery) and had beautiful results. I was very happy with this.

Sadly all MAC products are expensave. The only reason i wouldent buy this again is because of the price. It was too expensae for how long it lasted. But it's a beautiful eyeshadow and if your willing to pay that much for it I would recomend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crankykiki on 4/22/2012 6:22:00 PM more reviews by crankykiki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I wish I could put this review under the eyebrow section because that is what I am using it for. I saw a few people using this for eyebrows so I went to the Mac counter and asked them to apply it for me. I ended up buying it and when I got home I thought it was a little on the orangey side, but I kept building up the color and I have now found my most favorite eyebrow product ever! It is a very neutral color and doesn't leave those pesky gummed up spots on the sparse parts of my brows (sorry, but that's the only way I know how to describe it). I really recommend this one because it's a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyH on 4/18/2012 1:27:00 AM more reviews by LaceyH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i would describe this as a cool-toned light/medium taupe. but there are so many pics of it here online that you dont really need me to tell you that ;) i will say, the pic above, where Omega is in the lower left of the quad, is acurate 100%.
this is actually my first, and so far ONLY, MAC eyeshadow. i just cant be bothered to regularly buy shadows that are, what, $14 a pop? but for this color, i really couldnt find a dupe. all the other taupe/ light brown colors i looked at and tried were too warm for my purposes. i wanted this as an all-over contour color, as well as a brow filler color, AND a shadow color. my skin is around NC15, even lighter on parts that dont get any sun and dont have past sun damage. my hair is lightest ash brown at the roots, with strawberry blonde natural highlights here and there. i henna my hair regularly to add a more red color to it. my brows are naturally quite dark on the inner part, but blone (so you cant even really see them) on the outer parts. so i bleach the darker parts to match, and then fill in all of my brows. i wish i liked this more as a brow filler, but it really is for the VERY fair browed ladies for brow filler. i can use this as brow filler right after i bleach my brows, but if they've at all grown in darker again then this is too light.

but that's ok, b/c its the PERFECT contour color! its there enough to actually SHOW a contour, but doesnt look too ovious at all. i use it below cheekbones, as well as on temples, sides of nose bridge, and very top of forehead. it blends well, and is decently pigmented. with what i use it for, i wouldnt want it to be any more pigmented.

as far as using at as a eyeshadow, it's nice for days when i dont want much on my eyes, and also as a transition color.

when i run out i will repurchase, unless i've magically found some cheaper dupe.

i should note, i tried the supposed NYX dupe, and it was slightly shimmery (this is matte), and it was really hard to get any on the brush :(

UPDATE: 7/30/12
still loving this! i'm still using it as a contour color (under my cheekbones, and on the bridge of my nose/inner eye socket area, as well as a tad bit under my lower lip to create the illusion if fuller lips). also, i've found that if i dont use quite so much in the outer part of my brows, it works just great as a brow filler! if i wet my brush and use a while lot then it looks too obvious, but a wet brush with just a little looks really natural. so if this wasnt working for you at 1st as a brow filler, you might want to give it another go! as of today, i would still 100% re-buy :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilblue10 on 3/20/2012 10:31:00 PM more reviews by lilblue10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this as a transition color in the crease to soften dark eyeshadows. The only big disappointment I have is that the color is soooo much darker than it looks in the pan, I ordered it online and was shocked when I swatched it. It's still a great color. Pigmentation is okay, its pretty soft and blend well. I would buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 3/20/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Omega is a very versatile eye shadow. It is extremely natural and for the most part has neutral tones to it with a few slight cool tones as well. I like to wear it in the crease with shroom on the lid. It really gives a nice subtle shadow to your eyes. It isn't an exciting color but it can work not only as an eye shadow but for the brows as well. I have light brown hair so I sometimes use it on my eye brows if I mix it with a darker brown and it looks natural. I guess if you have blond hair it would look really good by itself for brows. This eye shadow blends really well and I have even used it as a slight contour on the sides of my nose without it looking strange. Omega is just a great shade to have on hand...it isn't a wow color but it is still special and I'm glad I bought it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products