Burt's Bees • Nourishing Lip Balm with Mango Butter • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(117 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Smiley0821 on 2/11/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Smiley0821

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

love it very moisturizing love the mango smell

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caroline7502 on 2/10/2013 11:35:00 AM more reviews by caroline7502

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am such a lip balm junkie...haha. I love this one! It's the most moisturizing BB's lip balm. It lasts the longest (before needing another application), smells the best, and provides the most long term benefit for my lips. When used exclusively, my lips look and feel really great. =)


This is my backup cheap (ish) balm to my rather expensive HG (Karite lips vanilla lip balm).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MonJes on 1/31/2013 10:16:00 AM more reviews by MonJes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

ive been using this product for 1,5 months. ive always loved burts bees and i purchases this one because of the smell aand texture. most lip balms 'exfoliate' my lips, so they usually leave my lips chapped instead of moisturising it. but this one doesnt leave my lips chapped, and it glides on smoothly on my lips, easy to apply. i still have to reapply once in a while, but it doesnt seem a prob for me. great value of price, and its 100% natural! probably thats why this doesnt ruin my lips like other lip balms do. i can say im obsessed, gonna get some back ups soon. yes def will repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sunstar29 on 1/24/2013 10:30:00 AM more reviews by sunstar29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a lip balm hoarder and I've been trying this product out for about 6 months (usually when there is no other lip balm in my bag haha). I love the smell of this product and how smoothly it glides on, and I also like that it's all natural. But... this lip balm is not moisturizing on me at all. It has the consistancy of a lip butter and I feel like it sits on top of my lips instead of sinking in, and it doesn't really add moisture to my lips even in humid summer months when I don't need significant moisturization. At most, I feel like this forms a barrier to maybe prevent more moisture from escaping, but it doesn't add any back.

Because it doesn't sink in, it also has a pretty mediocre wear time. I expect my lip balm to come off when I eat or drink something, but there is usually sort of residue left that helps my lips feel moisturized because the product has sunk into my skin. This is just gone, and my lips feel exactly like they did before I applied the product.

I'd really only recommend this to people who love the smell of mango. This does basically nothing for your lips, even the CO Bigelow glosses that aren't even supposed to be lip balms and have drying peppermint oil moisturize my lips better than this balm does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babylips235 on 1/20/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by babylips235

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I really like the honey one, but this not so much, I was really looking foward to this one because I thought it would have more scent & flavor, it did but not much flavor and the scent smelled like a rasberry pomergrante wendy's salad, & BUrts bees is amazing! It works great but it gets very cold in the winter here & when I put it on it seems like it freezez with my lips and dry's up once it hits the cold and wind, and then I try putting on more and it doesn't help, but it's perfect for summer.....just not mango.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 1/9/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

For a basic, everyday lip balm, this lip balm doesn't disappoint.
One thing I love about Burt's Bees is that they're an organic brand, so there are never any artificial ingredients. You're probably thinking that its heavenly mango scent is added fragrance or some other fake ingredient, but it's not--it's from the mango butter, of course! One word: LOVE.
Okay, well, actually, I have to admit that sometimes the scent makes me sick and somewhat nauseous, but at other times I just want to inhale the mango-y goodness forever!
The number of other butters in the ingredients are contributors to the nice sheen this lip balm gives. So when I want a hint of moisturizing natural-looking shine, I just apply this.
The wear time isn't great--just a mere 2-3 hours--but that's the average wear time for lip balm, anyway.
The reason why I lowered the rating to a 4 is because its moisturizing aspects aren't exactly the best out there (Vaseline still wins this category), so if you have truly chapped, sucked-the-moisture-out-of-my-lips lips, then this lip balm isn't for you. But if you're like me and you just need a little moisture, then this is great!
Would I repurchase? Yes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mailovelife on 1/9/2013 7:23:00 PM more reviews by mailovelife

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Bought this after my dad stole my beeswax one. I actually love this quite a lot, the texture is smooth and soft, and is very light weight and goes on smoothly. It smells fantastic, very fruity and tropical. It lasts pretty long, but I love applying it - it's addicting! It's about 4 dollars, which for me isn't that bad. The packaging is the classic tube with the swivel at the bottom. The lid goes on with a nice and secure snap, so there's no worrying about the lid coming off (like the Nivea tube ones)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tinabear on 1/3/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Tinabear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the flavour of this balm - very fruity.
The texture is also lovely and it goes on very smoothly
nourishes my lips well.
The only downside to this balm is the fact that my lips feel dry after a couple of hours but I guess that's most lip balms for you.
I've yet to find one that hydrates my lips all day.

A lovely little lip balm but for the price I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CuteMo on 12/29/2012 1:10:00 PM more reviews by CuteMo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

In general I've been disappointed in Burts Bees products, but my cat stole my HG balm (Dr. Bronner's and/or Rocky Mountain Soap) and I needed a new one ASAP. It smells nice, goes on smoothly, but that's it. It's too thin for my liking, and it doesn't feel like it's protecting my lips at all. I think this will be my last purchase from this company.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meganxoxo1996 on 12/19/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by meganxoxo1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMGZ i absolutely love this lip balm! I bought the pomegranate one first, and then this one. i love that one too, but for me this one is more moisturizing. the smell is also nicer, its sooo yummy! tastes good too. it is so smooth and moisturizing and im that person with super chapped lips that literally applies chapstick like every half an hour but with this one i only apply like every 5 to 6 hours! AMAZING! my HG lip balm :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products