MAC • Marine Life [DISCONTINUED] • Highlighters

rated 4.3(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 6/12/2010 11:33:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm happy to say that Marine Life worked out for me. I must admit that I wanted it as soon as I first saw the promo pics, it's just so pretty! I was afraid that the coral and gold overspray would be too much (hello, Torrid, you did NOT work out for me at all). Indeed the gold overspray is a bit much, but it comes off ridiculously fast, even for someone like me who uses everything very very lightly. I'm very cool toned and coral blushes don't seem to agree with me, but Marine Life does because of the pink half. I swirl together both colours, and the result is very pretty on me. I've left some of the gold intact, so I can dip into it for a tiny tiny bit if I feel like it. Pigmentation is about average - I think it's more a blush than a highlighter, and thankfully for me it's not so pigmented that it's unworkable. After all the months I spent yearning for it, I'm glad the little seahorse loves me back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 godsgirl619 on 6/10/2010 5:00:00 PM more reviews by godsgirl619

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I usually despise hype around any product but I understand why so many ladies are gaga over Marine Life. Of course the packaging is super cute and made me miss Cali! But the color is really pretty and I can't think of anything I have thatl looks clost to the color. I would recommend using a light hand. I apply it with a 187 and it gives such a cute pinch cheek coloring. Kind of hard to explain but worth it if you find it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 6/7/2010 10:40:00 PM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I can see the hype here.............It truly is a gorgeus highlighter/blush.
You can use this over any blush for an extra glow or as an all over highlighter. I fell in love with this so much that I wanted another one but as you all know it was sold out everywhere in a matter of hours.
I ended up going on Ebay and paying $50, which was worth every penny because such beautiful highlighter is hard to find a duplicate of.
Im actually wearing it in my profile pic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 halostatic on 6/7/2010 5:42:00 PM more reviews by halostatic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm glad I got a chance to pick this up! Not only for the pretty, shimmery seahorse but also once the over spray is gone, it is actually a lovely powder.

I couldn't see this working as a highlight powder on me because I am very fair but as others have said as a blush it is fantastic.

I use MAC's 187 brush to apply this onto the apples of my cheeks and it gives me a nice glow.

For me, it was definitely worth my money but for others it might not be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cassidyjean117 on 6/7/2010 5:21:00 PM more reviews by cassidyjean117

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I managed to score one of these from a great swapper on here. Its absolutely amazing but I'm not so sure it should be considered a highlighter. Its more of a blush which looks great blended or wearing either color individually. The only disappointment was that the shimmer comes off with the first use (why I gave it a four instead of a five) I like shimmer a lot and it was sort of depressing that it went away with a couple uses. Still a great buy though and I would recommend anyone who can to pick one up to do so. I would definitely repurchase this if I have the chance to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachaell on 6/6/2010 7:44:00 PM more reviews by Rachaell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok i really felt compelled to review this product because of all of the hype surrounding it and I just want to put the ones at ease that didn't get to purchase marine life b/c of the limited quanities. I consider myself a HUGE mac fan. I own the previously coveted ripe peach ombre and have to say it is MUCH more natural looking than this. Seriously, ML is OK, but it is more of an intense orange-red than RP. Marine life says "look at me, I'm wearing blush today". I only got it b/c the MUA said it was gonna sell-out fast, blah, blah, blah. I went back to get hipness from the same collection, which is what I originally wanted. It is SO MUCH MORE wearable and you dont have to think so hard when applying it in order to avoid the clown look. Hipness is more of a natural pink coral flush that can be built up little by little. So please dont lose any sleep over ML. Again, it's pretty but I definitely don't consider it a must-have. Im NC45 for reference.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minni4bebe on 6/5/2010 8:36:00 PM more reviews by minni4bebe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The colors are pretty. I have to be careful not to apply to much because it is extremely pigmented. I'm glad the gold is only an overspray bc it looked awful on my skin. You get two colors and alot of product so the price doesnt bother me. Overall, a nice produt

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetkandi87 on 6/4/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by sweetkandi87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so happy i spent the money to get this! I bought this last week before I went to work, and I was lucky with my timing because there were only two left at the Macy's counter, and the MAC store was sold out. I love this powder. I use it as a blush because it is so pigmented, I am NW25 and it looks great! It was sooo beautiful before I used it. I pondered if I even should use it, but I had to! lol. Im bummed the gold shimmer only lasts a couple times, but when its gone, it is the most prettiest pinky-coral shade. I would buy this again if it was ever re-released. So pretty! Some people say its over-hyped, but I think its talked about and praised about for a reason....its Gorgeous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* B3AUTyxEX0TiC on 6/4/2010 7:41:00 PM more reviews by B3AUTyxEX0TiC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I really didn't understand all the hype about this product. Looks just like another highlight powder with pretty designs. But I finally got to test this in person and I loved it so I bought one. TBH, it's my first highlight powder. I usually don't buy them. The golden seahorse is a VERY thin layer. One swatch and you already see the pink underneath. I love the darker pink on the top. I think I can use this as a blush since I am NC42 but the bottom pink color, maybe as a highlighter since it's frost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissKisara on 6/4/2010 1:11:00 AM more reviews by MissKisara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Even though I had no intention of buying this highlighter, I was quickly sucked in. After all, I figured that it was just another product that was overhyped. How wrong I was! Once the girls at the MAC counter tried this stuff on me I was in love! I'm NC20 and the pretty coral shade really perked up my look! It's absolutely beautiful and really summery! I really like the way it looks when paired with the lustre drops. The sea horse motif is also adorable. The other thing I love is that this product is larger than any other blush I own (even though it's supposed to be a highlighter). The only sad thing is that this product sold out so quickly that there is no way to buy another one :(. Oh well! I love this product and I'm happy that I managed to snag one :D.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products