Goody • Spin Pin • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.4(352 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 demam1101 on 12/22/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by demam1101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought these today and LOVE them! I'm a single mother, work in an office, and don't usually spend a lot of time on my hair in the mornings. spending a minimal amount of time on my hair AND it looking good is just a bonus. Got them at Walgreen, regular price was 7, only paid 2.99 for them, so I was a happy woman!! AND, I have layers, of course it's not perfect, but it's a cute bun that stays up without pulling on my head and got them for a great price which was a huge bonus!!! :) I would definitely buy them again, and hopefully will catch them on sale because I feel the $7 normal price would be difficult to swallow being a single mom on a budget and all...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatanYah on 12/22/2012 9:45:00 AM more reviews by NatanYah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Goody Spin Pin keeps my hair off my shoulders, but it gets tangled when I try to twist it out if my hair is not completely straight. This is a problem as I usually wear my hair wavy until it grows back out. The point of me buying it was to protect my hair from breaking but with the tangling I feel like I'm snapping my hair off anyway.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 11/21/2012 1:17:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Hmmm... I like them... but I don't... but I do...
They are easy to work with, and sometimes you get a great effortless bun. Sometimes.
But other times, the pins either don't stay secured, or they keep overlapping eachother when I try to put them in AND get all my hair in there, or they just don't get all my hair in (fine, mid-length, and I use two of these big pins, so shouldn't be a problem, should it?).
To be honest I'm not sure I can be bothered with these, since with an elastic band I get a perfect bun 100% of the time. Sure it can pull your hair a bit, but I'm sure metal bits in your hair aren't that good for it either. Especially since I've noticed that in order to get good results, you have to really tightly secure them in.
I also find them rather expensive - 7 for a pack?!?? - although you can, if you're lucky, find 1 packs of this in Primark.
All in all, they can be fun to use, but don't always give the results I want. So I remain undecided.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 colettemeek on 11/19/2012 1:26:00 AM more reviews by colettemeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

love them. stay hidden in my bun and work as advertised.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 10/29/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Read about this in the New York Times (10/24/2012), double-checked what MUA had to say, and then happily went to Target. Figured out how to use the spiral on my 2nd try, which is an astoundingly fast learning curve (for me).


I have rather thick hair falling a few inches below my shoulders. These two spiral pins hold my bun into place quite securely. Yesterday I went all Minnie Mouse, or Princess Leia, depending on your demographic, and tried for two mini-buns, with one pin apiece. That was rather less successful, as the buns loosened a little over the course of an hour. But they loosened CHARMINGLY. Cute messy buns, you know?


I like these. I think they're overpriced - what, $7 for two little diddly metal bits - and I'm not looking forward to inevitably losing and then having to replace 'em. But:


- they're fun to put in (husband looked mildly alarmed as I appeared to screw metal into my head)
- they're novel; I know they've been around for a couple years now, but no friends/family have been wearing them as yet (AND I DO TOO HAVE SOME TRENDY FRIENDS, LIKE AT LEAST ONE)
- they're functional ... they hold the bun!
- they don't appear to pull out hair ... over time, I know a few stray hairs would get caught around my elastic bands. So far, I haven't noticed pulling any out as I remove these pins.
- they're practically invisible (rather less so after I got a haircut- with the smaller bun, it's a little harder to keep in place, while the pins are a little more noticeable now. Still, I like these more than elastics)


I like 'em very much. Have been recommending them to friends and assorted sister-in-laws. However, given my general lack of fashion-how-to-ness, no one has listened to me as yet. Boo. I am a prophet without an audience. Also, not quite a prophet, since these were featured in the frickin' NYT. Oh well.


I like 'em.


Edit: I agree with another commenter's observation that screwing the pins together is a good way to store them (although that way you either find both or none).

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 10/28/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Works as advertised. With these pins, I was able to make a low bun out of my below-shoulder-length 4a (read: super coily!) hair. If I ever lost these I'd definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tracie1300 on 10/28/2012 9:02:00 PM more reviews by tracie1300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have thick fine hair that tends to slide out of any kind of simple updo. I am also careful not to use clips and barrettes that might break my hair. I decided to give the Spin Pin a try after reading reviews on MUA. I was pleasantly surprised. Just one Spin Pin holds my hair securely in place and I feel good that its not damaging my hair. My favorite thing about this is that when I lie flat on my back I can't really feel the pin buried in my hair. So I've stumbled upon a easy solution for putting my hair up for yoga, ponytails seem to always get in my way. Thanks MUAers for another great tip!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/24/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These things are cooooolll! I wish they were a little cheaper, or you got more, but if you don't lose them, two will do. I was worried about hair loss and these are a nice easy fix for a bun or updo that you used to need tons of pins for. The only downside is that they obviously can't replace pins or clips for brushing hair back against your head, but for updos they are amazing! Really holds when most things don't. The downside is if they contort at all, it's hell to get them out! Or if they intertwine with one another. Ug, be careful! DON'T let them distort, if you do, DON'T use them! They will twist in your hair funny, like the sides of the spirals will pinch in and lock your hair inside and you can't just uncork it, because it's twisted around all funny. Be careful of that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 9/27/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

awesome..i am clueless when it comes to my hair. These are simple and allow me to have a classic bun in no time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 9/27/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

These cute little things work very well and have spectacular hold! Quick, easy. Not as messy and easy to lose and misplace as bobby pins. I'm growing out a pixie cut and my hair is at awkward lengths, so the spin pins don't hold in all my hair, but it works very well and looks cute and put together. I have thick, wavy hair, and I bought the Dark color. If you live your life with your hair in a bun, I would recommend these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Goody products

More Hair Styling Tools products