NARS • Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.4(349 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 3/10/2014 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is my new HG! Prior to purchasing NARS's offering, I was a staunch user of Too Faced 'Shadow Insurance' for years. However the last couple of months I noticed it wasn't working on my eyes as well as it used to... there were patches on my eyelids where my eyeshadow had completely come off! My eyelids are extremely oily. So I decided to purchase NARS's version, and I really love it, since using it my eyeshadow stays on all day and night with absolutely no creasing or colour wearing off. Even though it's clear, the doe-foot applicator lets you cover your entire eyelid with the primer, then I just take my fingers and blend it everywhere. Honestly no matter what the weather is like, or even if I've been exercising, my eyeshadow never comes off! I will 100% repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Danix978 on 3/5/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Danix978

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this eye primer. This is my HG product. I'm on my third tube of this. Love how smooth and velvety the product is. Highly recommended this eye primer. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 3/5/2014 2:41:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the shiz-nit!!! Hands down, best eyeshadow primer I have used to this day. (I've tried urban decay primer potion, too faced shadow insurance, Laura mercier eye basics and prestige primed eye primer).

This product comes in a tube with nars' rubberized matte packaging. Applicator is a doe foot wand. Formula is white and silicon-y. It glides on sooo smooth. Even when you apply eyeshadow right after, you can blend your eyeshadows without any problems.

A little goes a long way. I only use one swipe for each eye. I applied my eye makeup around 930am, worked an 8 hour shift (I work in a restaurant so I do sweat and I do also have oily lids/skin), went to the gym, did my usual 1.5 hours of cardio with running and bicycling..... And my eye makeup is still intact with no creasing!!!!

It is a pricey product but I definitely would invest money in my face and eye primers because longevity is what I look for in my makeup routine. Definitely would repurchase! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 2/17/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Its OK. I wouldn't consider it my HG because if I use it every single day my lids become irritated. But for those times that I do use it it definitely keeps my shadows from creasing and fading. Definitely will not repurchase as I don't use it on a daily basis.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morgs126 on 2/15/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by morgs126

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL PRODUCT!
I've been using this eye primer for almost a year now and don't understand how I lived without it previously. My oily eye lids no longer suffer with eyeshadow creases or eyeshadow just melting away and disappearing from my face. The beauty of this product is that once it's on underneath your eyeshadow, not even sweat will budge your eyeshadow, it's literally that good of a product.

You don't need much of the product, just a tiny dab on each eyelid, then give it a rub in and you're good to go. This means the product will last you a while as well!

I can't fault the product, however I can question the packaging. I love the design of NARS packaging, but with this product I can see people having issues with not being able to see how much product is left, and questioning if the doe foot applicator is the most hygienic design.

Price wise I'm a bit iffy on. I'm Australian, so instead of paying $25 for this product, I forked out $39 at Mecca Maxima. If I lived in the US
I wouldn't be iffy on the price at all as $25 seems completely reasonable for a high end product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prowl2000 on 2/14/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by prowl2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I was torn between giving this primer a 3.5 or 4 lippies. The first thing I don't like about it is the container because there is no way for me to know when it will be running out. The second drawback is it leaves a white cast on the lid if you don't glide it carefully enough on your lid. Some would think it is not a problem because you will cover it up with shadows anyway. But it still can leave a white trace, a gloppy one at that, if you don't pay attention or if you have creases on your lids.

Updates: after using it for a month and getting used to its thick and gloppy white consistency, I found that it works better than UDPP in 2 respects: it is easier to blend the shadows and the shadows last longer (with no smudge as it clams) than the UDPP. I guess I will have to stick with this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emanij99 on 2/11/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by emanij99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer. I've used this primer with cheap eye shadow and it prevents it from creasing! Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xpudding on 2/10/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by xpudding

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence about this primer. This is going to sound bizarre, but I have really oily eyelids but also get really bad eczema on my eyelids. This primer feels silky on application and settles into this lovely powdery texture. It helps my shadow last without creasing for most of the day, but I do find that if I'm going from day to night, eye shadow creases in the evening without a reapplication. Unfortunately, if I use this on a regular basis (rather than only on special occasions, which is what I've started doing) it exacerbates my eczema.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emvie on 2/5/2014 8:09:00 AM more reviews by emvie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of those products that is a life changer. I have oily eyelids and it doesn't take long when I wear eyeshadow for there to be a crease. Every time I use this, my eyeshadow stays intact until I take it off! It's amazing! Even if I accidentally rub my eye, my eyeshadow stays on. Fantastic product :) The only, very very slight downside, is that it's a little more difficult to blend eyeshadows when applying. And I question the sanitary aspect of it being a a lipgloss-like container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ElectricBlack on 2/4/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by ElectricBlack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after seeing Lisa Eldridge use it a lot on her videos and she swears by it. I however wanted a different use for it. I currently am using a combination of MAC Studio Finish Concealer (Shades 35+42) and Giorgio Armani Color Corrector (Orange)...to conceal my dark circles and naso labial folds. These two are not holy grail material but I have been using these two combination for years and have gone through many concealers and I stick by them for now. Anyway, the problem I have is I usually end up with concealers fading close to my tear ducts and also slight creasing in some areas that I end up lookin like I have more makeup than I actually wear and have a dark ring on my lash lines. I love my makeup looking natural fresh and the whole no makeup makeup look. So I resorted to using NARS primer in hopes that itd reduce the fading and creasing... after all if it can do that to a very mobile eye lid why not the less mobile under eye area. Long story short... it did absolutely nothing for creasing and fading. The packaging is lip gloss like and it can be a bit unhygienic Id much prefer it a squeeze tube where I dont end up digging for products when its still pretty brand new. There doesnt seem to be much inside a tube of it. Its a bit pricey for what I use it for. I yet have to ask my sister to try it for its intended purpose of eye shadows but for now... Im not too keem in repurchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Primer products