NARS • Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.4(354 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Steph7 on 4/6/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by Steph7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Super product worth investing in! Shadows never last on my oily lids and this primer is a miracle! It's hard to overlook more tempting products when make up shopping such as lipsticks, blushers etc, but primers are basic make up kit essentials!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 4/1/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Truly excellent product, I'm very impressed. I have oily skin and fairly oily lids, so wearing shadow without primer is seriously disastrous for me.

I've tried the Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, and now I'm about to finish up my Nars Pro Prime. (Next on the list is to try a drugstore primer!) I honestly find all of them to be excellent products, and I have to be honest- I don't see a massive difference between them. All of them extend the wear of your shadow *tremendously*, and make the pigments appear more vivid and vibrant. I really like the applicator of the NARS primer, makes it a bit easier to spread under your lower lashline for those of us who like to use shadow there.

Highly recommended! My only complaint is that NARS should be giving us more product for the pricetag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* badkitty82 on 3/23/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by badkitty82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was very skeptical to this product as I'm such a huge fan of Primer Potion from Urban Decay. This was a trial size version of the product that came with a eyeshadow palette from NARS. It is a small white matte rubber tube with a doe foot applicator. The primer is much lighter and smoother, like silicone or lotion, than Urban Decay Primer Potion and Benefit Stay Don't Stray. The two latter dries down quite fast but Pro-prime does not. I did have some problems blending eye shadows right after applying the primer, but when it is applied it stays on for hours! I tried one eye with the primer and one without, and there was a huge difference in lasting power. I tried one eye lid with NARS primer and one with Benefit Stay Don't Stray and NARS was the winner, hands down. So even though I had some trouble with blending straight after applying, the staying power is so good I might even never go back to Primer Potion, yikes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jjbug82 on 3/23/2014 11:02:00 AM more reviews by jjbug82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have oily eyelids and live in tropical weather - which spells a good combo to get eye shadow creasing, doesn't it? well NARS eyeshadow base breaks the spell - i tried it for 3 months and so far, be it cream/powder shadows, gel/kohl liners, etc, everything stays put for more than 8 hours until I take them off with remover. it is really impressive, in my opinion it's even better than Urban Decay primer (to be fair, it is also pretty good, it only creases at the end of the day). it feels slightly oily when applied, but it seems to make the blending of eyeshadows smoother for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CatLadyInTheHat on 3/20/2014 2:15:00 AM more reviews by CatLadyInTheHat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This primer is great. My lids get oily throughout the day, and I always used to get creases. I'm so glad I discovered primer. This stuff makes even cheap eyeshadows show up better and stay on much longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 3/10/2014 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is my new HG! Prior to purchasing NARS's offering, I was a staunch user of Too Faced 'Shadow Insurance' for years. However the last couple of months I noticed it wasn't working on my eyes as well as it used to... there were patches on my eyelids where my eyeshadow had completely come off! My eyelids are extremely oily. So I decided to purchase NARS's version, and I really love it, since using it my eyeshadow stays on all day and night with absolutely no creasing or colour wearing off. Even though it's clear, the doe-foot applicator lets you cover your entire eyelid with the primer, then I just take my fingers and blend it everywhere. Honestly no matter what the weather is like, or even if I've been exercising, my eyeshadow never comes off! I will 100% repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Danix978 on 3/5/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Danix978

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this eye primer. This is my HG product. I'm on my third tube of this. Love how smooth and velvety the product is. Highly recommended this eye primer. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 3/5/2014 2:41:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the shiz-nit!!! Hands down, best eyeshadow primer I have used to this day. (I've tried urban decay primer potion, too faced shadow insurance, Laura mercier eye basics and prestige primed eye primer).

This product comes in a tube with nars' rubberized matte packaging. Applicator is a doe foot wand. Formula is white and silicon-y. It glides on sooo smooth. Even when you apply eyeshadow right after, you can blend your eyeshadows without any problems.

A little goes a long way. I only use one swipe for each eye. I applied my eye makeup around 930am, worked an 8 hour shift (I work in a restaurant so I do sweat and I do also have oily lids/skin), went to the gym, did my usual 1.5 hours of cardio with running and bicycling..... And my eye makeup is still intact with no creasing!!!!

It is a pricey product but I definitely would invest money in my face and eye primers because longevity is what I look for in my makeup routine. Definitely would repurchase! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 2/17/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Its OK. I wouldn't consider it my HG because if I use it every single day my lids become irritated. But for those times that I do use it it definitely keeps my shadows from creasing and fading. Definitely will not repurchase as I don't use it on a daily basis.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morgs126 on 2/15/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by morgs126

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL PRODUCT!
I've been using this eye primer for almost a year now and don't understand how I lived without it previously. My oily eye lids no longer suffer with eyeshadow creases or eyeshadow just melting away and disappearing from my face. The beauty of this product is that once it's on underneath your eyeshadow, not even sweat will budge your eyeshadow, it's literally that good of a product.

You don't need much of the product, just a tiny dab on each eyelid, then give it a rub in and you're good to go. This means the product will last you a while as well!

I can't fault the product, however I can question the packaging. I love the design of NARS packaging, but with this product I can see people having issues with not being able to see how much product is left, and questioning if the doe foot applicator is the most hygienic design.

Price wise I'm a bit iffy on. I'm Australian, so instead of paying $25 for this product, I forked out $39 at Mecca Maxima. If I lived in the US
I wouldn't be iffy on the price at all as $25 seems completely reasonable for a high end product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Primer products