Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(624 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Nolita78 on 7/26/2013 5:07:00 AM more reviews by Nolita78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been conflicted for awhile on how to review this mineral foundation. But this, definitely, is one of the best foundations out there. My skin is sensitive, oily, easily clogged, and acne-blemish prone. If only you guys could see the thick folder that my dermatologist has on me in her office. There were just sooo many acne medications that I had to go though before I finally found the right ones that worked my skin, a really extended period of trial and error of trying different meds. Sometimes this meds would dry me out, sometimes they would even give me these really strange breakouts... Throughout all these meds, Jane Iredale's Pure Pressed Base had been there for me, to give that coverage that my skin badly needed.

Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base (Mineral Foundation) will give you a very natural medium coverage. Throughout the day, it will become even more natural-looking on your face, while still retaining your coverage. Even at the hottest, most humid day ever, the foundation will not have that melting-off-your-face look to it. The foundation, however, does a lousy job in controlling oil. It does an awful job in covering my pores too. If you have very visible pores, there is no hiding them with this foundation.

Now, you will ask me why on earth will I give this product 4 lippies. This mineral foundation gives a very natural-looking coverage, which I really like. And most importantly, I am giving this product a high rating because of how amazingly safe this product is, even when my skin was at its most sensitive state (ie. after intense facial meds and treatments). It didn't aggravate my acne, it didn't clog my pores, and it didn't break me out either. In fact, the foundation had really helped with my whiteheads. All I had to do was take my concealer brush, and apply a slightly thicker layer of this foundation on my whiteheads. I would highly recommend this product then, to those who have highly super-sensitive facial skin, and would like to have a natural coverage on your skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cricricri11 on 7/25/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by cricricri11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin breaks out with any foundation. The only one i could use in the past was Bare Minerals. I have very oily parts and very dry ones (usually the results of old pimples).
I like this foundation better than the BM. It covers a little more and lasts a little longer. Only two troubles : the price and the fact that after a few hours it sits on the dry parts and make them look darker.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyByBrianna on 7/5/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by BeautyByBrianna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ill keep this short and simple Price: 50 - 60$ (Canadian) Purchased: hair salon ( this is not a drugstore brand and can't be found at sephora ) Information: Has SPF 20, water resistant (only up to 40 minutes) it is a foundation concealer and powder all in one PROS: Packaging is nice and durable, large shade selection ( 24 shades ), light weight, light to medium coverage, can be used as a setting powder or a foundation (using the "hydration spray" by Jane iredale) CONS: really expensive!!! ( plus I use them up quickly ) Overall: I've been using his product for 2 years now and still going, this is my absolute favourite. It's great for all seasons, especially summer. If you have the money I definitely recommend to try it out. Totally worth every penny! BeautyByBrianna <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 5/23/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

(Worth to keep in mind: Usually EVERYTHING clogs my pores, but during the latest weeks I've been using clarisonic, and I don't know if that prevents this product/any new products from clogging pores. So this MIGHT have clogged my pores in a "normal" situation, cause I usually breakout by everything!!! I'll have to try that out, but I haven't done that yet.)


I was looking for something with high coverage, maybe a little mattifying and something that my extremely acne-prone, sensitive skin can tolerate. In the morning I want to be able to cover my imperfections quick and with full coverage. I have skin in NC/NW 15, I usually use Linen and Fairly Light neutral in Everyday Minerals matte, and Blondie in Lily Lolo. I have A LOT of acne scars and hyperpigmentation (after bc-pills) to cover!


Shades: Bisque is a light but more yellow shade that possibly could cancel out my redness a little. This was the best shade.

Coverage is really poor for my needs, my hyperpigmentation and scars need FULL coverage!! With this the coverage is gone by lunchtime cause it has "melt off" my oily face.... So I had to reapply regularly, and add my old EDM foundation to be able to cover...

Yes, staying power is poor cause of my oily skin but I'm used to that problem.

This let's the oils break through within just one hour or two, but again - I have really oily skin. Still the surface does not look awful and ugly with enlarged pores, like many mineral powders leaves the skin...I guess this is so finely mixed with different ingredients that helps with that. It's not as mattifying as Lily Lolo, but still refines the surface in another way...

One more good thing is that you can use it around the eyes, without too much creaseing; EDM does not have the spf, and can crease under the eyes. Lily Lolo is too dry for the eye area. Even if this doesn't cover my blue areas around the eyes it's a good everyday "base" before/after eye shadow or other concealer, cause of the spf. I have A LOT of hyperpigmentation around my eyes....

1 week of use and no breakouts. But again, does the clarisonic prevent them or can I actually stand it? :)

I also like the spf 20!!!!

Final verdict: as a "base powder" this is really nice and good with spf and light coverage. Expensive though. Still would repurchase for summer months! Even if I would have liked full coverage!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Denisedd on 5/18/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Denisedd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great coverage as a foundation and setting powder. Love! Feels nice and light as well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shetem on 5/7/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by shetem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin which breaks out with a lot of makeup foundations. When I tried this foundation it didn't irritate my skin and it covered all my imperfections. It didn't get cakey or make my fine lines more noticeable. My sister didnt even think i was wearing makeup! There are a lot of color options which is great. I need a full coverage foundation and I apply about 2-3 layers and it still doesn't look like a mask. I do use the hydrating spray with it as well as a separate primer and it comes out beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 phoenixstar1976 on 5/5/2013 8:27:00 PM more reviews by phoenixstar1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So disappointed with this!! I was looking to replace my BE mineral foundation, as it has started irritating my sensitive skin. I thought this would be similar, but of higher quality. This would probably be good for very oily skin. I have dry skin, and even with a GOOD moisturizer on, this immediately turns my face into a horrendous matte powdery mess-yuck! It looks terrible, dry and totally unnatural. Not all mineral foundations are created equal, and more expensive doesn't always mean better!!
On a side note, I also got the Pom-mist spray and not a fan of this either. The smell is overwhelming, and when you spray it on your makeup, the mist is not fine enough and your makeup RUNS down your face! Sprayed on my hand it's sticky. I know it's a different product, but meant to be used together. Not impressed. These were my first JI purchase, and these have scared me away...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msjohns888 on 4/29/2013 12:01:00 AM more reviews by msjohns888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Expensive, but a little goes a long ways. I have horrible skin but people complement me when I'm wearing just this and a concealer. I've had my powder all winter and I'm only sad that I'm too tan to wear it now and need a summer color. The color is my exact match senna (I'm an nc20 in the winter). Lovely, just lovely. I would also highly recommend the Jane Iredale BB cream, superior coverage but so natural. Better than Laura Mercier and that's saying a lot because Laura Mercier is a longtime favorite line of mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babooner on 4/25/2013 12:12:00 PM more reviews by babooner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Looooooooove this foundation. It feels very light, not noticeable at all. Wearing it, you sort of glow softly, without looking like you've been at a highlighter, and you will never get an odd make up line at your chin, no matter how much you brush on. As a mineral foundation, it's also a physical sunscreen (around SPF 15 I believe, but it really depends on how much you apply) which makes me a happy puppy because I don't feel as guilty about not reapplying throughout the day.

I find that this make up is so much more long-wearing than liquid foundations. It doesn't disappear from areas by the end of the day or transfer onto everything. The packaging (gold coloured metal with embossed logo) looks expensive and has a decent heft to it.

I'm in between Golden Glow (medium with warm undertone) and Latte (darker medium with brown undertone) and go with Latte. I feel that Golden Glow does make you look brighter/warmer, but going a shade down ensures you get better coverage. Apparently it doesn't matter of there isn't a shade which matches you exactly as the light diffusing properties will fix that up. I do note, however, that if you apply a lot of foundation and/or have a very pale chest, the colour difference between face and body is noticeable, but not necessarily ugly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Migs007 on 4/21/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Migs007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

BEST minerals out there. This is the best mineral foundation and it does not contain bismuth, which causes that crazy reflective quality (in a bad, bad way) that enlarges pores and causes breakouts! This is the only one I have found that doesn't have it. The color selection is awesome, but definitely go in for a match. It lasts forever too. I think it would easily last a year or more. The immediate output is a lot, but it ends up being super cost effective.

I have combination skin- literally, dry, oily, & sensitive. I've found the products that work for me without drying me out and leave me balanced. I had to try a lot in order to get to the best routin. I have enlarged pores just below and on each side of my nose, between my cheeks and my nose. I have found most minerals don't work for me because of the enlarged pores, although I have wanted to use them because they are so natural. I have tried them all, this one is the *best*. The finish is outstanding. I first apply my vitamin C, then my hyalyronic acid (although this is sticky and would probably go on even better w/o this), then I apply my neutrogena healthy skin, then my elta spf 46 for sensitive/acne prone skin (note that I do not have acne, just super sensitive skin and I don't have acne because I really make sure the products I use do not cause acne, otherwise I would end up with a blemish, not a lot, but I would have 1 or 2 always going if I didn't take good care of my skin. After I let that all settle a bit, I spritz some water onto my face (whatever brand you like is fine) then, I apply using my real techniques stippling brush. This is the BEST applicator for this product.

While this is not my HG, it is what I use because it's the closest mineral product I've found.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products