EltaMD UV Clear SPF 46

3.8

110 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 9%, Octinoxate 7.5% Inactive Ingredients: Purified Water, Cyclomethicone, Niacinamide, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Polyisobutene, PEG-7 Trimethylolpropane Coconut Ether, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lactic Acid, Pleth-3 Phosphate, Phenoxyethanol, Butylene Glycol, Lodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane


on 7/19/2013 2:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really did not do my research before buying this sunscreen. Had I known about the low PPD (I have dark spots and just can't bring myself to use a low PPD sunscreen and make my skin worse) then I wouldn't have considered this product at all.

First impressions were ok (for a short while anyway)....the pump bottle is fantastic, this did feel really cooling and light on my face and neck, and most of the whiteness disappeared within a minute or two. However, where I had added an extra layer over my dark spots remained white. I tried to pat this into my skin to make it absorb faster but all that happened was the product balled up or formed flakes. I had no time to wash it off and try again so I just applied my foundation over it. It made my makeup just sit on my skin and look very unnatural. I was so embarrassed just to leave the house looking the way I did. Later on in the day it appeared to have made my makeup separate on my face, so not only was I covered in balled up sunscreen, I had patchy foundation too.

I will be going back to Shiseido's Anessa sunscreen for now until I find something that isn't quite as drying. But this was a horrible experience. I will use up this bottle (too late to return it) on my arms and legs and find a far better sunscreen for my face, neck and chest.



on 6/26/2013 11:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Packaging: Pump is convenient but you never know if you will get all the product out, especially since there is only 50ml in it.

Texture: Since I have a plethora of sunscreens (It's my number 1 skincare product) I would rate this a high on my physical sunscreen list but lower than my favorite brand of chemical brands. It's creamy and goes on well, glides easily except i pat it on (this is how you should put sunscreen on - no rubbing!). Sort of clear but there is still a slight white cast but goes with the sunscreen territory.

Smell: nothing too offensive, only a slight metallic smell from the zinc oxide (9%)

Price: Kind of expensive $30ish? I used a coupon on askderm (best place to buy dermo skin products right now)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2013 1:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Two days of wearing this and I'm done. First of all, I don't understand why people say there is no white cast--I'm fairly light complected and it made me look like a ghost, even when I put my usual BB cream over it. Maybe folks aren't putting on the full recommended amount? (1/4 tsp for the face--this is two full pumps of the Elta MD UV Clear.) Second, it goes on so shiny that I have to use powder, but halfway through the day my skin becomes dry and flaky, which looks just lovely with all the zinc and BB cream and powder--now I'm a flaky ghost. Third, and this the true deal breaker, it makes me break out, so now I'm a flaky pimply ghost. I think I've had it with physical sunscreens, and I'm going back to my HG Anthelios SX for everyday use. If it breaks down during the day, oh well, at least I'm protected for half the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2013 8:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my new favorite ss. I love that it has niacinamide and an airless pump. It's slightly white upon application but that disappears quickly. It's very matte compared to most ss, but not drying at all for me. I also like the Glycolix elite physical ss, but that one is quite whitening so I use Elta for regular days with no big sun exposure and Glycolix on bigger sun (outdoors) days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the only sunscreen I have yet to find that does not break me out. For this reason alone, I love it.

It does contain niacinamide, which not everyone can tolerate; but my skin does well with it. I don't find it drying nor moisturizing. The finish is slightly shiny, but a little powder takes care of that.

Packaging is an awesome airless pump; only con is that I have no idea how much is left.

I am still searching for a waterproof sunscreen for beach days, but this works beautifully as my daily sunscreen for incidental exposure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2013 7:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome sunscreen. Often overlooked because it is not high ppd, but for daily incidental exposure it does enough for me. I had an unexpected day out in the sun, although my shoulders/arms burned, but my face and neck were not affected at all.

my skin is on the drier side and i don't like greasy sunscreens because they tend to break me out. It stays perfectly matte, without drying out my skin. It is a combo physical/ chemical sunscreen, but it does not annoy my skin like other chemical sunscreens. Contains Niacinamide (vitamin B3), is paraben and fragrance free.

Of course i would repurchase and I have! Ive been through 5 or 6 bottles and have a backup waiting

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2013 1:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

*Edited 4/16/13* Spoke too soon. This did in fact irritate my rosacea and I had to discontinue using it. I suspect the niacinamide or maybe even the lactic acid, my skin is so sensitive that it's hard to know for sure sometimes. It's a shame because this is a great SS.


I have finally found my HG SS! I used to use Skinceuticals Physical Fusion which has an awesome finish but being that I'm very dry, I have to wear moisturizer underneath. So I was looking for a SS that was moisturizing enough that I wouldn't need a separate moisturizer and that wasn't super shiny. This happens to do both beautifully! It also wears under makeup like a dream. I use Estee Lauder Invisible foundation and Laura Mercier loose powder over top, my skin looks awesome! I was worried the niacinamide might irritate my rosacea but it hasn't, I've been using for a couple of weeks. I love the airless pump and the fact that is also has Sodium Hyaluronate as well. I'm going to order another bottle soon to be ready for summer. Love this stuff!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2013 3:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Finally! A natural sunscreen that doesn't break me out and doesn't leave me super greasy!

I had previously tried Elta's tinted sunscreen with disastrous results - it worsened existing acne and laid the foundation for some heinous future breakouts but I digress...this particular formula, with niacinamide to minimize redness, has been amazing . It's non-irritating, fragrance-free, and wears reasonably well under makeup. It DOES have a slightly grainy finish and can pill, but it's nowhere near as bad as other mineral sunscreens. The most important thing is that it does NOT break me out, nor does it leave any kind of gray or white cast on my face.

I'll be repurchasing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2013 9:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have combo skin (oily t-zone in the summer), so I have a hard time finding an spf product that does not make my skin look metallic/shiny. This sunscreen is one of the better ones. EDIT: I prefer Clinique City SPF 25, because it is all physical sunscreen.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2013 8:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After my stash of HG and now dc'd Sheseido sunscreen ran out I was having a really tough time finding something comparable to replace it that wouldn't irritate my skin and eyes or cause breakouts. I actually ordered this for my daughter who plays sports, is acne prone and has similar issues with sunscreen. I gave it a try and love it. Its not cheap for sunscreen but how many of us have spent over $20 just for primer? This is a light lotion that has no sunscreen smell and dries to a matte finish. It doesn't irritate my eyes or skin but it provides some serious oil control so I sometimes add one drop of face oil to keep it from being too drying this also gives it a dewier finish. I get zero breakthrough shine when wearing this either alone or under makeup and my t-zone can get pretty oily. Because of this I don't use this with powder. That combination is way too drying and I haven't been able to skip powder since I was 15. This isnt for someone with dry skin issues but could be a big help for the oily and /or acne prone. Sun protection seems pretty good for day to day and this seems a bit easier to remove than some I've used. Glad I found it and even stocked up on a few bottles while it was on sale.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top