EltaMD UV Clear SPF 46

3.8

114 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 9%, Octinoxate 7.5% Inactive Ingredients: Purified Water, Cyclomethicone, Niacinamide, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Polyisobutene, PEG-7 Trimethylolpropane Coconut Ether, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lactic Acid, Pleth-3 Phosphate, Phenoxyethanol, Butylene Glycol, Lodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane


on 9/29/2013 12:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

At first I thought I liked this because it definitely is better than some other sunscreens I've tried, but I've gradually realized I don't actually like it very much.

First of all, this does leave a white-cast on me and I am pretty pale to begin with.

Second, it stings my skin, some times more than others, and I wouldn't really consider my skin sensitive. I'm talking about times when I didn't have any acne on my face, no open lesions or cracked skin or anything like that.

Third, I don't like the way it feels on my skin. If I accidentally rub my face or scratch an itch or something, it will basically pill up. It's basically like a film on top of my face that never really feels like it sinks in or sets. It doesn't exactly feel GREASY, but it's similar.

Fourth, I avoid putting this anywhere near my eyes because, even if I keep it pretty far away from my eyes, it still somehow ends up getting in them. And oh boy does that sting!

That said, it hasn't caused me any breakouts and it does keep me from getting burned. It may suit your skin more than it suits mine, but I personally do not like it. I do like the airless pump it comes in, though. I wish more products came in that sort of packaging because it makes it so much easier to get all the product out.

Thankfully, I have found a sunscreen I LOVE to replace this. It's the CoTZ face sunscreen. The one I have has a slight tint in it, which might show up on me in the winter, but they also make one without the tint. It's silicone based so it's sooooo smooth and blends in so well. I can't imagine I would get any white cast from it even if I had the non-tinted version because it blends in so incredibly well. I also like that it is physical sunscreen only, not physical AND chemical like the UV Clear. I think the chemical sunscreen may be what bothers my skin. If you have tried the Monistat Chafing Gel as a primer, the CoTZ feels very similar to it because they're both silicone based. As a result, the CoTZ also works great under makeup.

I would like to try the EltaMD UV Physical because it is cheaper than the CoTZ, but the CoTZ isn't too expensive either. $20 for 1.5 oz at ULTA, so it's similar to the UV Clear. The UV Physical, on the other hand, comes with 3 oz for ~$27-30. Not a huge difference, so while I intend to buy the UV Physical next, unless it is as good or better than CoTZ, I will switch back to CoTZ. Especially since I can get it at ULTA, which is convenient.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 8/24/2013 3:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Sunscreens give me rashes. So it's a continuing battle in my head over which I would rather have: a more or less permanent rash, since I want to use sunscreen every day, or the risk of sun damage somewhere down the line.

So all I really need to say here is that this one sunscreen, out of all the ones I've tried, does not give me a rash. Therefore I actually use it consistently.

A trick I've found to make sure that you don't get that disgusting "I'm wearing sunblock" feeling, and also to make sure that you don't wind up with a pearly sheen, is to wash your face and then apply the product while your face is still damp, in place of a moisturizer. It sinks in completely. You'll never know it's there.


on 8/8/2013 5:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Something in this really didn't agree with my skin. By the end of the day i was really irritated and broken out in some spots, i dont know what could have caused it as all the ingredients seem fine for my skin. It was really greasy too, as if i have put a very heavy moisturizer on, i just got incredibly dewy as the day went on
Wouldn't purchase the full size


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Whilst ridiculously expensive, it works beautifully on my combo-oily skin. Dries matte and without a white cast. It's a physical sunscreen that's high in zinc oxide, which has also been good at keeping my acne prone skin at bay. I wish it were cheaper, because for proper coverage, you need 1/4 tsp for your face. That's a lot of $$$. It does layer beautifully under my makeup and is emollient enough to double up as a moisturizer for me. Those with dry skin may need a separate moisturizer.


Remember to remove completely at night or you'll be entering clog city.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2013 2:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really did not do my research before buying this sunscreen. Had I known about the low PPD (I have dark spots and just can't bring myself to use a low PPD sunscreen and make my skin worse) then I wouldn't have considered this product at all.

First impressions were ok (for a short while anyway)....the pump bottle is fantastic, this did feel really cooling and light on my face and neck, and most of the whiteness disappeared within a minute or two. However, where I had added an extra layer over my dark spots remained white. I tried to pat this into my skin to make it absorb faster but all that happened was the product balled up or formed flakes. I had no time to wash it off and try again so I just applied my foundation over it. It made my makeup just sit on my skin and look very unnatural. I was so embarrassed just to leave the house looking the way I did. Later on in the day it appeared to have made my makeup separate on my face, so not only was I covered in balled up sunscreen, I had patchy foundation too.

I will be going back to Shiseido's Anessa sunscreen for now until I find something that isn't quite as drying. But this was a horrible experience. I will use up this bottle (too late to return it) on my arms and legs and find a far better sunscreen for my face, neck and chest.


on 6/26/2013 11:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Packaging: Pump is convenient but you never know if you will get all the product out, especially since there is only 50ml in it.

Texture: Since I have a plethora of sunscreens (It's my number 1 skincare product) I would rate this a high on my physical sunscreen list but lower than my favorite brand of chemical brands. It's creamy and goes on well, glides easily except i pat it on (this is how you should put sunscreen on - no rubbing!). Sort of clear but there is still a slight white cast but goes with the sunscreen territory.

Smell: nothing too offensive, only a slight metallic smell from the zinc oxide (9%)

Price: Kind of expensive $30ish? I used a coupon on askderm (best place to buy dermo skin products right now)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2013 1:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Two days of wearing this and I'm done. First of all, I don't understand why people say there is no white cast--I'm fairly light complected and it made me look like a ghost, even when I put my usual BB cream over it. Maybe folks aren't putting on the full recommended amount? (1/4 tsp for the face--this is two full pumps of the Elta MD UV Clear.) Second, it goes on so shiny that I have to use powder, but halfway through the day my skin becomes dry and flaky, which looks just lovely with all the zinc and BB cream and powder--now I'm a flaky ghost. Third, and this the true deal breaker, it makes me break out, so now I'm a flaky pimply ghost. I think I've had it with physical sunscreens, and I'm going back to my HG Anthelios SX for everyday use. If it breaks down during the day, oh well, at least I'm protected for half the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2013 8:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my new favorite ss. I love that it has niacinamide and an airless pump. It's slightly white upon application but that disappears quickly. It's very matte compared to most ss, but not drying at all for me. I also like the Glycolix elite physical ss, but that one is quite whitening so I use Elta for regular days with no big sun exposure and Glycolix on bigger sun (outdoors) days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the only sunscreen I have yet to find that does not break me out. For this reason alone, I love it.

It does contain niacinamide, which not everyone can tolerate; but my skin does well with it. I don't find it drying nor moisturizing. The finish is slightly shiny, but a little powder takes care of that.

Packaging is an awesome airless pump; only con is that I have no idea how much is left.

I am still searching for a waterproof sunscreen for beach days, but this works beautifully as my daily sunscreen for incidental exposure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2013 7:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome sunscreen. Often overlooked because it is not high ppd, but for daily incidental exposure it does enough for me. I had an unexpected day out in the sun, although my shoulders/arms burned, but my face and neck were not affected at all.

my skin is on the drier side and i don't like greasy sunscreens because they tend to break me out. It stays perfectly matte, without drying out my skin. It is a combo physical/ chemical sunscreen, but it does not annoy my skin like other chemical sunscreens. Contains Niacinamide (vitamin B3), is paraben and fragrance free.

Of course i would repurchase and I have! Ive been through 5 or 6 bottles and have a backup waiting

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top