EltaMD • UV Clear SPF 46 • Sunscreen

rated 3.8(108 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 aporia on 6/21/2013 1:33:00 AM more reviews by aporia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Two days of wearing this and I'm done. First of all, I don't understand why people say there is no white cast--I'm fairly light complected and it made me look like a ghost, even when I put my usual BB cream over it. Maybe folks aren't putting on the full recommended amount? (1/4 tsp for the face--this is two full pumps of the Elta MD UV Clear.) Second, it goes on so shiny that I have to use powder, but halfway through the day my skin becomes dry and flaky, which looks just lovely with all the zinc and BB cream and powder--now I'm a flaky ghost. Third, and this the true deal breaker, it makes me break out, so now I'm a flaky pimply ghost. I think I've had it with physical sunscreens, and I'm going back to my HG Anthelios SX for everyday use. If it breaks down during the day, oh well, at least I'm protected for half the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowymtn on 6/17/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by snowymtn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my new favorite ss. I love that it has niacinamide and an airless pump. It's slightly white upon application but that disappears quickly. It's very matte compared to most ss, but not drying at all for me. I also like the Glycolix elite physical ss, but that one is quite whitening so I use Elta for regular days with no big sun exposure and Glycolix on bigger sun (outdoors) days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mom2Free on 5/15/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only sunscreen I have yet to find that does not break me out. For this reason alone, I love it.

It does contain niacinamide, which not everyone can tolerate; but my skin does well with it. I don't find it drying nor moisturizing. The finish is slightly shiny, but a little powder takes care of that.

Packaging is an awesome airless pump; only con is that I have no idea how much is left.

I am still searching for a waterproof sunscreen for beach days, but this works beautifully as my daily sunscreen for incidental exposure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 4/26/2013 7:32:00 AM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Awesome sunscreen. Often overlooked because it is not high ppd, but for daily incidental exposure it does enough for me. I had an unexpected day out in the sun, although my shoulders/arms burned, but my face and neck were not affected at all.

my skin is on the drier side and i don't like greasy sunscreens because they tend to break me out. It stays perfectly matte, without drying out my skin. It is a combo physical/ chemical sunscreen, but it does not annoy my skin like other chemical sunscreens. Contains Niacinamide (vitamin B3), is paraben and fragrance free.

Of course i would repurchase and I have! Ive been through 5 or 6 bottles and have a backup waiting

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 4/11/2013 1:17:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

*Edited 4/16/13* Spoke too soon. This did in fact irritate my rosacea and I had to discontinue using it. I suspect the niacinamide or maybe even the lactic acid, my skin is so sensitive that it's hard to know for sure sometimes. It's a shame because this is a great SS.


I have finally found my HG SS! I used to use Skinceuticals Physical Fusion which has an awesome finish but being that I'm very dry, I have to wear moisturizer underneath. So I was looking for a SS that was moisturizing enough that I wouldn't need a separate moisturizer and that wasn't super shiny. This happens to do both beautifully! It also wears under makeup like a dream. I use Estee Lauder Invisible foundation and Laura Mercier loose powder over top, my skin looks awesome! I was worried the niacinamide might irritate my rosacea but it hasn't, I've been using for a couple of weeks. I love the airless pump and the fact that is also has Sodium Hyaluronate as well. I'm going to order another bottle soon to be ready for summer. Love this stuff!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bludvls849 on 3/15/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by bludvls849

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! A natural sunscreen that doesn't break me out and doesn't leave me super greasy!

I had previously tried Elta's tinted sunscreen with disastrous results - it worsened existing acne and laid the foundation for some heinous future breakouts but I digress...this particular formula, with niacinamide to minimize redness, has been amazing . It's non-irritating, fragrance-free, and wears reasonably well under makeup. It DOES have a slightly grainy finish and can pill, but it's nowhere near as bad as other mineral sunscreens. The most important thing is that it does NOT break me out, nor does it leave any kind of gray or white cast on my face.

I'll be repurchasing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mozart68 on 3/8/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Mozart68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have combo skin (oily t-zone in the summer), so I have a hard time finding an spf product that does not make my skin look metallic/shiny. This sunscreen is one of the better ones. EDIT: I prefer Clinique City SPF 25, because it is all physical sunscreen.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 2/21/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After my stash of HG and now dc'd Sheseido sunscreen ran out I was having a really tough time finding something comparable to replace it that wouldn't irritate my skin and eyes or cause breakouts. I actually ordered this for my daughter who plays sports, is acne prone and has similar issues with sunscreen. I gave it a try and love it. Its not cheap for sunscreen but how many of us have spent over $20 just for primer? This is a light lotion that has no sunscreen smell and dries to a matte finish. It doesn't irritate my eyes or skin but it provides some serious oil control so I sometimes add one drop of face oil to keep it from being too drying this also gives it a dewier finish. I get zero breakthrough shine when wearing this either alone or under makeup and my t-zone can get pretty oily. Because of this I don't use this with powder. That combination is way too drying and I haven't been able to skip powder since I was 15. This isnt for someone with dry skin issues but could be a big help for the oily and /or acne prone. Sun protection seems pretty good for day to day and this seems a bit easier to remove than some I've used. Glad I found it and even stocked up on a few bottles while it was on sale.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 1/23/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was lucky enough to receive a sample of this in a swap (I did google the product to find out the $$ for my rating) and have used 3x on my face now.


I did not read any of the reviews prior to using. The title "Clear" threw me for a loop as this stuff comes out white, but it completely disappears on my NC 15 skin (I'm sure due to the micronized ZO). It dries to matte finish and does not dry out my skin.


Here is my problem w/ it and why I won't purchase = it has a low PPD = 4.8 - 5.8 PPD depending if ZO in oil or water phase. As I have melasma, this ridiculously low PPD is as definite deal breaker for me. Too bad too cause I like this stuff....

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 1/12/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

After two weeks of daily use, I can definitely say I adore this sunscreen. It works wonderfully under makeup, leaves no white cast, doesn't smell like sunscreen, contains a significant percentage of skin-brightening niacinamide, does not irritate my eyes, does not ball up or streak, does not make my skin oily, and has a really impressive level of broad spectrum sun protection (9% transparent zinc oxide, 7.5% octinoxate, SPF 46). The airless pump is great, but it's hard to tell how much is left so I'll have to keep an extra on hand. I use it over an antioxidant serum (Paula's Choice Skin Balancing) for extra protection, and follow with whatever foundation strikes my fancy. So far, it has worked very well with liquid, cream, cream-to-powder, and powdered mineral foundations. I have been using (and really like) the Devita Solar Protection facial sunscreen, but the added niacinamide in the EltaMD is a really significant plus. I am very, very pleased with this sunscreen and will continue to purchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More EltaMD products

More Sunscreen products