Stila • one step makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Foundations

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jinajamm on 9/11/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by jinajamm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all... you SHOULD NOT apply this foundation with a brush or a sponge! I repeat you "SHOULD NOT" use a brush or a sponge when applying this foundation. For those who said it looked dry or cakey, if you used a brush or a sponge, that is probably why. The directions are on the packaging and it specifically states, "begin application at the center of your face and blend outward with fingertips" and that's exactly how this foundation should be applied in order for it to do what it says. Just for the heck of it, I wanted to see how it would look if I applied it with a brush or a sponge (although I already knew how it looked with a brush application because the SA at Sephora put it on me in the store using a brush, but I wanted to see how it looked when I did it myself, to see if it was just her, or the brush, and it was the brush!) I tried applying it with both sponge and brush and both times the foundation looked completely different than how it looked when I used my fingertips. It looked nothing like the flawless airbrushed look I achieved when I applied it with my fingers, so for those who think it looks bad, try it again using your fingers, it's a dramatic difference! As I mentioned, the SA at Sephora applied it (I went in with no makeup on) using a brush and when I turned and looked in the mirror I about jumped when I saw how awful it looked! I looked SCARY! ~ I looked like "whatever happened to baby Jane" like I was 70 years old trying to look like a teenager! I asked her, "why does it look like that? I can see brush stroke marks in the foundation, the brush made it streak" The SA insisted that she couldn't see it and swore that a brush was the proper way to apply it! then I picked up the box and started reading it and saw where it specifically instructed to use the fingertips to apply it. So I said to the SA, "really? then how come the instructions on the box say to use your fingertips? if a brush was the proper way to apply it in order to achieve the best results, wouldn't they have recommended using a brush and not the fingers?" she didn't really have an answer, and so I asked her/told her, "I'm gonna just see how it looks if I blend it with my fingers ok?" she said sure, go ahead and so i took my fingers and began blending what she had applied on my face and immediately the foundation blended right into my skin and the streak marks left by the brush vanished! My skin looked awesome! I was gonna use a little more to just even it out and go over what she had done but I didn't even need to, it looked perfect when I touched it up with my fingers! I couldn't believe it and even the SA was impressed with how much better it looked, even though she denied seeing anything wrong with the brush application. I think they try to upsale by pushing those foundation brushes are part of their pitch, but I didn't buy it! figuratively and literally! This foundation does everything it says if you apply it correctly. Even though I didn't really need to, I set it with Tarte's smooth operator setting powder just because I am used to using a powder and I felt kinda naked without, like I was missing something, and it just added a subtle finishing touch. I could've easily skipped that step and still looked just as good, but like I said, it was more of a preference and not really a necessity. I also like that the pump doesn't just glob a bunch onto your finger when you press down on it, it seems like it is measured to dispense just the right amount, and it always dispenses the same amount each time, just enough to cover half of my face, and 2 pumps covers my entire face. The consistency is quite similar to a mousse and is not thick or tug on your skin when blending. It glides across my skin with ease and isn't cakey or greasy feeling. It blends so well with my skin and covers exactly how I desire my foundation to do. I don't know if it's buildable because I don't apply more than the 2 pumps worth, and that amount sufficiently covers what I want to be covered (a few little freckles on my nose and a couple of little light brown sun spots under my ear/jawline)
I agree it is high priced, but if I went out and bought all 4 products; a concealer, a primer, foundation and powder , it would cost well over forty four bucks I spent on this foundation, so when I look at it that way, I don't have a problem forking out that kind of money, to me it is well worth it, so I will definitely buy this foundation again when I run out!!

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 x3gayle on 9/6/2010 3:07:00 AM more reviews by x3gayle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation's coverage! It isn't cakey and it looks natural in sunlight and pictures. To make it easier to spread, I take the two colors, pump it on the back of my hand, then take my other hand and swirl the colors together with my index finder. The heat of my finger makes the foundation easier to work with. To apply, I use a foundation brush all over, but I use my fingers to apply the product over the difficult imperfections. I will definitely buy this product again and again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 9/5/2010 5:56:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have very fair cool toned skin. I sampled this in the light color which is an ivory color with yellow undertones. It worked ok with my skin tone. I really like how this feels on my skin but it only provides light coverage I needed to use Clinique Almost Powder foundation over it to get the coverage I want. This did not break out my combo skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bowbat on 9/5/2010 5:47:00 PM more reviews by bowbat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I decided to try this product after I ran out of primer. I didn't have any illusions of grandeur -- I figured there was no way it could do the job of all four different products (primer, foundation, concealer, powder) -- but if it could at least server as primer & foundation, I'd consider it worth the money.

It passed that test with flying colors. In fact, it even does a pretty fair job in the concealer department. I still use a bit of concealer under my eyes and on spots, but I could go without and look just fine. It definitely does not replace powder -- at least for me. I have oily skin and live in Florida, so I have to have my MAC Blot Powder. I do find myself using it less with this, though.

One odd thing is the consistency, which was mousse-like when I first purchased it, but after a few uses became liquid. Not sure if that's how it's supposed to be or what, but it works fine either way.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xxkaykisses on 9/5/2010 5:24:00 PM more reviews by xxkaykisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this in a set at costco. i was super excited, especially because it's supposed to do EVERYTHING. Here's why I ended up hating it:
a. Medium, the shade I received, was yellow. Straight up yellow. I, being a neutral nc/nw25, was not expecting to look sickly and lemony from a foundation, but I did. I my face was super noticeably yellow.
b. It has a whipped texture, similar to Maybelline Dream Matte Mouse in a tube. I was expecting the medium-full coverage of Maybelline. WRONG. It only tinted my skin a gross, sickly yellow. there was minimal coverage, but a lot of yellow tint. you could still see all my redness, acne, etc, it was just tinted a yellow color. I tried to build it up, but it took 4-5 coats and then it looked CAKEY. I prefer TM's for light coverage, and this covers less that my LMTM, but deposits more (YELLOW) tint.
c. It looks unnatural and cakey on the skin, almost like you have a thin layer of chalk on your face.
d. It is very dry and hard to blend. I found fingers to be the best method, but even then it did not blend well or look natural. It looked DISGUSTING with a fntn brush, thick and heavy.
e. It sunk into my huge pores, making them look like someone had dug them with a shovel.
f. DID I MENTION THAT IT IS YELLOW?

The only thing that this did remotely well was control shine; I noticed I was a little less shine free than normal when I wore this. But all of the awful things about this foundation cant make me buy it for mediocre oil control.

To summarize, this is a horrid foundation. It does not prime (it stayed on the normal amount of time a fndtn does, not any longer), foundation (no coverage), conceal (it doesn't build well), or powder (it just had a dry texture). Save your money for something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 9/2/2010 2:21:00 AM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Got a sample tube of this in a stila kit I got at Costco. The shade, medium, did not match my skin tone but my concern was whether or not my skin would get along with the foundation. Sadly, and as I suspected it would, my skin did not get along with it since my face broke out in red spots. Today I ended up with healing red spots and new whiteheads. Very sad since the coverage was great and it looked smooth and slightly dewy. Also it applied amazingly well when I used my fingers though I had to use small amounts in sections and build up. I did have an acne mark that the foundation did not cover very well no matter how much foundation I applied to cover it. This covered pores very well and it settled into fine smile lines a little bit BUT oddly when I'd twist my mouth to the left or right the foundation would stretch and the foundation would even out and the fine line mark in the foundation would disappear which, I'm assuming, was due to the primer that's built into the foundation. The Stila One Step seems almost stretchy and it's amazing how it works. Hopefully that made sense. The foundation also caused my skin to get really dry and caused a dry red rash/patch on my cheeks and it's still healing up today. Still keeping this at a four lippy rating for how it looks applied and not what it did to my skin. Really great product just not for me. : (

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jengirl_714 on 8/31/2010 8:22:00 PM more reviews by jengirl_714

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh! I'm not crazy about this product, but for $44 I'm trying to make it work. First of all, the color. Normally, I wear Stila TM in bare and perfecting concealer in B, so naturally I thought that I'd wear One Step in Light. But it's a tad too dark, not even too dark but a little too yellow/orange on my skin. And it still doesn't cover my dark circles or the redness around my nose.


Then the foundation started breaking me out in little white heads all over my cheeks and nose. But with my dry, sensitive skin a lot of products do this to me. Sometimes I just need to wear the product a few times to get my skin used to it (I'm hoping that this is the case).


As much as I love Stila, I don't like this product, unfortunately. It just feels thick, heavy, and greasy on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeloveup on 8/23/2010 1:16:00 PM more reviews by makeloveup

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I'm talking from sample only. Amazing!! I have bad skin, wrinkles, scars, redness. I built this up and I was thrilled with how it went on. The texture is similar to other skin healing products, thick consistency, not like foundation. I don't know the color. It blended in wonderfully, a bit light. This covered a lot of pores on my nose. I put a ton on. IT LOOKS LIKE SKIN. IT FEELS LIKE SKIN. Can't stop looking in the mirror and running my hand accross my face.I'm definitely buying this. Thanx for the tips on where.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 8/22/2010 1:42:00 PM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was lucky enough to find this on ACW.com for half the price, 19.99 + shipping, which I thought was pretty good. I usually pay anywhere from $8 to $12 for drugstore foundation anyway, that wouldn't be a huge difference. I wanted this because xsparkage on YouTube had raved about how incredibly easy this was to use, and that's what I've been looking for. She was right, in my opinion.


The packaging is nice, simple, chic. I love the pump design, it doesn't over-eject the foundation, gives you just enough. It's pretty simple packaging, but it's functional and pleasant to have sitting out on your vanity or something.


I have this product in their lightest shade, Fair, and for NW20, it's perfect. I do find it's a bit yellow in undertone, but that counterbalances the pink shade in my skin perfectly and it ends up matching my neck. On to consistency, this is a very strange, light, fluffy mousse-like-gel, and I absolutely love it. It goes on easily and without fuss with fingers or a brush. It's great because a little goes a long way and it takes one easy pump to cover my face.


As far as usage, it goes on easily and goes matte/satin very quickly, as if you just put on a powder. The coverage is light to medium. It doesn't hide my freckles, but it fades them, which is what I like. Acne scarring and acne, itself, is going to need concealer, which is normal for me. But this claims to have a concealing effect which is not true in my opinion. But for a foundation, it does a great job.


It holds up in the Mississippi humidity and stays put perfectly for about 5 hours. I have combination skin, and after 5 hours or so, my oily areas become shiny, so blotting papers are needed sometimes, but I'm not blaming the foundation. I do like that they included a primer in the foundation itself, and I do feel like that is evident - this is one of the longest wearing foundations I have owned and I have owned many, haha.


A few cons: you can't build this up for more coverage, it tends to pill up on itself. Another, there are few shades, but in my opinion, if you blended just right, you could get one to match you nicely. Another con: the price. I purchased it for about 55% off retail, but others who aren't ordering from ACW.com will be paying I think $40+ and I don't know if I'd still love this foundation at that price.


Overall, I would repurchase this foundation just for the ease of use it offers and the coverage/wear is beautiful. I will be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kellypi07 on 8/22/2010 1:02:00 PM more reviews by kellypi07

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I went to Sephora one day, and I ended up splurging on a ton of stuff, one of them being the Stila One Step foundation. At first when the MA put it on me I thought it looked pretty good. She then put the Stila bronzing powder on me, which I thought looked okay too. But, when I got home and put it on the next day I saw the foundation settle into my pores and it looked like my forhead had cracks.. weird I know. I looked old... and I'm only 17. And the shade was kinda light for me.. but a shade darker was too dark on me. Kind of annoying. Then the bronzer looked orange on me! I looked like a cheeto. I mean, $42 is expensive, and I expected it to work better than it did. I did like that it had a pump, and it does go on quite smoothly.

It's supposed to be a primer, consealer, powder, and liquid all in one. I mean it's alright, but I wouldn't say it's an amazing consealer, because when I used it as a consealer it looked cakey.

PROS:
- Goes on smooth
- Comes with a pump

CONS:
- Sets into pores and fine lines.
- Not a great shade selection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products