TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

4.6

392 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Isoeicosane, Polyethylene, Boron Nitride, Polyisobutene, PTFE, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491.


on 4/6/2015 2:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you apply it with the right brush, this is the BEST highlighter!! I highly recommend bobbi brown eye sweep brush or any eyeshadow blending brush for its application. It gives a little bit shine which looks healthy. You can also use it as an eyeshadow. Don't ever use contour, blush or powder brush if your makeup is daily.



on 4/2/2015 12:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Although I said that I would repurchase, I truly believe that the repurchasing is going to be a long, long time from now...

The product is great, and I have a feeling it's going to last a really long time. It really does give the perfect lit from within glow without over doing it. The powder is pressed in the compact, but I feel like it goes onto a brush very finely. I happen to use a thick fan brush to apply this as a highlighter to my cheekbones, bridge of my nose, center of my forehead and center of my chin. I use a small amount on my finger on my cupid's bow. It truly does a wonderful job of a subtle highlighter...

Highlighters seem to be my obsession right now because as I was organizer my makeup collection I came across 6 of them. I know that this is totally unnecessary and was wondering why I have so many, but I do change it up a lot. Having a few that I like, Mary-Lou seems to be the one I reach for most often, and that is saying a lot about the product. It is not over the top, and if you are looking for an over shine or gleam look, this product is definitely not the one to grab. (MAC soft and gentle as well as Laura Gellar Portofino are very high gloss/shine highlighters.)

Definitely give this one a try (and keep a look out on Hautelook for the product as they frequently sell TheBalm products at discount prices. I have ordered TheBalm products from them on 3 separate occasions and I have always been happy with what was delivered.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2015 11:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you're looking for the perfect highlighter, look no further and stop spending on more pricey ones that end up disappointing you.

I am an Asian who is the face of combination skin (i.e. oily T-zone and dry cheeks). Since I mainly use highlighters on the apples of my cheeks, I steered away from powder products because as if the dry skin there isn't bad enough, now I want to pile on some dusty material on it??

I have tried and tested almost all the cult favourites out there and when none of them gave me the glory look, I decided to take a leap of faith with this TheBalm product. I have previously used products from the brand before and relatively liked it so I thought why not? And holy mother of highlighters. I was in love and impressed.

I'll be honest, I did realise that it was a tad bit cakey but I think that's just because my face has pretty obvious pores so it clings on just a little. But I would think that for any other people, this will be a flawless product. It gives off the most gorgeous champagne glow which gives your skin the lit-from-within glow with no sparkles.

If there is one criticism at all, it would be that it doesn't really last me the whole day. However, I think that's because I don't really prep my skin for full makeup (I don't use primer or foundation. Just one very light coat of BB cream).

I should stop raving about this product here and let you guys test it and rave about it yourself! x



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2015 1:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this highlighter when placed side by side with kevyn aucoin candlelight and becca opal, it's not just on the same calibre of pigmentation and smoothness.

this is a warm highlighter, nicely pigmented, no glitters but it is not finely milled. you can still see some product scattered in areas of the face where you dont want it to -- talk about fallout.

i dont get the rave reviews, really. urban decay's single shadow in x is a very close dupe, but it's more pigmented, finer, and has more sheen. to be fair, pricing is good given its generous size of 8g. not bad at all, but if you want to up your game with powder highlighters then look somewhere else. 3/5

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After trying out a whole heap of hughlighters what I always found was that in natural lighting they would look like a streak of gold on my cheekbones (Nars Albatross) I have also tried the Kevyn Aucoin candlelight highlighter but I just find that does not give as much glow as I would like its a very suttlw glow.
After seeing all the rave reviews for this highlighter on YouTube I decided to purchase it when I'd seen Amazon (UK) had it on for a bit cheper than elsewhere and it was prime next day free delivery so I couldnt walk away from that.
Upon first application I loved it as it didnt leave a gold streak but just a glow without the weird pigment colour, especially when I'd caught the glow from afar as I looked in the mirror it looked phenomenal (If I do say so myself) I would recommend it if you have the same problem as me with other highlighters and you only need very little of this for the impact. Will be repurchasing when I run out unless anything else can top this x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2015 9:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It is an amazing product. It gives a healthy glow to the skin but it doesnt have shimmery look its really natural looking and gorgeous


on 3/29/2015 6:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this highlighter after seeing that it was highly rated on makeup alley and also seeing Lisa Eldridge using it in some of her videos. I actually didn't even need a highlighter in the first place, cause I was using my Skin Food one which I bought from Korea. But after reading all the positive reviews about it, I definitely wanted to buy one and try it myself. The result is I am in love. You can use it as a highlighter, shimmer and eye shadow. I don't use highlighter in my daily makeup but I am making sure using it while going out at night. I mostly use this product in the corner of my eyes and on my brow bones, and it looks perfect. The pigmentation is nice, the shade is perfect and it is definitely very long lasting. I wanted to make sure that my opinion doesn't change and waited for a while before writing a review. Now I can say that, I am happy I bought it and definitely recommend to those who need a highlighter or a similar product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 5:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First powder highlighter I've bought and I absolutely love it! so so pretty!! in love!


on 3/23/2015 8:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

HG status highlighter for all types. Closest thing I've found to get that Hayden Panettiere cherub like glow she has going on. Pure iridescent, no glitter or residue colour. Love this so much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanna glow like J-Lo. I want to be dewy in the summer heat AND winter chill.

I want to be as luminous as Rihanna, I want to shine bright like a diamond amongst the spring flowers and autumn leaves.

With this highlighter I am at peace!




Top Rated TheBalm Products

image

Frat Boy

54 reviews
image

Mary-Lou Manizer

392 reviews
image

Down Boy

65 reviews
image

Hot Mama

213 reviews
Back to Top