Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 boxyeongxan on 9/7/2012 10:54:00 AM more reviews by boxyeongxan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A nice color. But its very sheer. I had to use 3 coats to get the color thats in the bottle on my nails. It doesn't chip and doesn't streak. applies on smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suester on 9/7/2012 9:43:00 AM more reviews by Suester

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This polish rocks! I love it so much :) Perfect dark grey/taupe colour with a hint of purple and it just looks so awesome! Funnily I have swatched it on one nail a few times and decided against it, but when I did a full mani, I was wowed with how good it was and thrilled to get compliments on my nails.

Formula is pretty good, I'm not totally skilled at the art of DIY manicure but this went on pretty much perfectly, two easy coats and it lasted perfectly for 5 days with no chipping. I do use the computer a lot, so it was showing a bit of tipwear by then, but nothing that had me worried.

Very happy, will use this colour again and again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cafebizarre on 9/3/2012 8:29:00 AM more reviews by cafebizarre

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It is a pretty color, but initially it felt a little streaky and needed three coats for the color to really show through. It is a great all year color IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 9/1/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color - its such a pretty shade with my pale skin, and I actually have had strangers compliment me and ask what this is. Beautiful formula applies easily and not streaky. So chic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avazq8 on 9/1/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by avazq8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

If I ever finish a bottle of nail polish (I never have), I would certainly buy Essie Chinchilly again. A lot of women prefer to wear this color in the cooler months of fall and winter, but I've worn it year round and I still love it. Between this color and Allure, they are my two most worn Essie polishes. I also prefer Essie's square bottles; they are, in my opinion, a lot easier to store and line up neater (if you're anal about those things like I am and you prefer they stand flush next to one another, ha ha) than my China Glaze and OPI polishes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 periwinklebow on 8/3/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by periwinklebow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been an Essie fanatic for a long time, and I currently own over 30 colours of theirs. Chinchilly had been on my short list for ages, but I just recently purchased it. This has definitely become one of my favourite shades! The first coat is a little streaky, but the second coat made it completely opaque. It is a slate grey, with the slightest hue of lavender. The formula was not too thick, I had alot of control while applying it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 7/22/2012 7:01:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Chic, understated slate grey, with lavender undertones and fabulous shine finish. Medium consistency aids even, fool-proof application. One coat might suffice when you're on the run, but two will deliver a depth of pigment and enhanced finish that lasts for some days. Grown-up and demure.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyjoni on 7/18/2012 5:55:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this gray. In some lighting, it sort of has a lilac tinge to it, but otherwise it's a creamy, mousy gray that can be paired with almost anything clothing-wise. For me, it works all year round, but I suppose it's especially nice for the cold months. Like most of the Essie polishes I've tried, the formula is thin. In this case, three coats brings out the best look, but I find that it builds up nicely, smoothly, and it dries fairly quickly. I'm pleased with the quality and the color is fantastic, but if your budget is tight, I'm sure there's a similar shade for a cheaper price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 d1d1 on 7/17/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by d1d1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The taupe shade "Chinchilly" is one of my favorites shades for any occasion. It's modern, smart, and unexpected.

I had no trouble with application, it wasn't streaky at all and two coats were enough to achieve the opaque look. It was super easy to clean up any mess around my cuticles and the two coats dried quick. Applied on clean, treated nails it will last up to a week with mild wear.

Love at first sight!! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melli098 on 7/6/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Melli098

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favs from Essie!!! The perfect shade of gray for those with warmer complexions due to its slight lilac/purple undertone....LOVEEEE <3. I prefer pastel or bright colors on my nails but I always opt for this color regardless when I am doing my nails :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products