Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 10/24/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous medium gray with a lavender undertone. This Is what I wanted essie's merino cool to be! This color is really pretty; not too dark for spring nor too bright for fall. Very chic color. Formula was buttery and amazing and all I needed was 2 coats to get my desired opaque look. Def would repurchase this color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ireneyy on 9/29/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by ireneyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can see why this Essie product is "award-winning". It's a beautiful gray, with purple undertones, that literally applies like butter. It's also opaque in 2 coats. I'm not sure about lasting power, since I only had this polish on for 2 days, but at least it didn't chip in those two days haha. The only negative thing I have to say about this polish is that it brought out all the redness on my yellow-toned Asian skin, which is why I would NOT buy this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 trinitycharm on 9/16/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by trinitycharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

On my naturally tan, olive-yellow Asian skin, this color looks fairly decent. In the bottle, compared to other grey/taupes, I thought it was a medium to light grey; but ON, it looks more like a medium to dark grey. On my skin, I don't see as much purple in it as I do in SH Greige Gardens; or as much taupey-brown as WnW Wet Cement; nor is it as light as Professional 10 (?) Moonlight---though more similar in tone to the latter. It's a lovely neutral that's office appropriate, but still edgy IMHO. The problem I have with this one is that my two bottles are both very runny. I used 2 coats, which isn't that bad compared to a few other nail polishes. If you're looking for a dupe, I believe the new L'Oreal np (called Eiffel For You), is pretty darn close...though I haven't actually done a side-by-side comparison.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boxyeongxan on 9/7/2012 10:54:00 AM more reviews by boxyeongxan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A nice color. But its very sheer. I had to use 3 coats to get the color thats in the bottle on my nails. It doesn't chip and doesn't streak. applies on smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suester on 9/7/2012 9:43:00 AM more reviews by Suester

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This polish rocks! I love it so much :) Perfect dark grey/taupe colour with a hint of purple and it just looks so awesome! Funnily I have swatched it on one nail a few times and decided against it, but when I did a full mani, I was wowed with how good it was and thrilled to get compliments on my nails.

Formula is pretty good, I'm not totally skilled at the art of DIY manicure but this went on pretty much perfectly, two easy coats and it lasted perfectly for 5 days with no chipping. I do use the computer a lot, so it was showing a bit of tipwear by then, but nothing that had me worried.

Very happy, will use this colour again and again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cafebizarre on 9/3/2012 8:29:00 AM more reviews by cafebizarre

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It is a pretty color, but initially it felt a little streaky and needed three coats for the color to really show through. It is a great all year color IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 9/1/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color - its such a pretty shade with my pale skin, and I actually have had strangers compliment me and ask what this is. Beautiful formula applies easily and not streaky. So chic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avazq8 on 9/1/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by avazq8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

If I ever finish a bottle of nail polish (I never have), I would certainly buy Essie Chinchilly again. A lot of women prefer to wear this color in the cooler months of fall and winter, but I've worn it year round and I still love it. Between this color and Allure, they are my two most worn Essie polishes. I also prefer Essie's square bottles; they are, in my opinion, a lot easier to store and line up neater (if you're anal about those things like I am and you prefer they stand flush next to one another, ha ha) than my China Glaze and OPI polishes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 periwinklebow on 8/3/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by periwinklebow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been an Essie fanatic for a long time, and I currently own over 30 colours of theirs. Chinchilly had been on my short list for ages, but I just recently purchased it. This has definitely become one of my favourite shades! The first coat is a little streaky, but the second coat made it completely opaque. It is a slate grey, with the slightest hue of lavender. The formula was not too thick, I had alot of control while applying it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 7/22/2012 7:01:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Chic, understated slate grey, with lavender undertones and fabulous shine finish. Medium consistency aids even, fool-proof application. One coat might suffice when you're on the run, but two will deliver a depth of pigment and enhanced finish that lasts for some days. Grown-up and demure.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products