Essie Chinchilly

4.6

134 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/6/2012 9:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Amazing neutral shade-a subtle yet dynamic gray. Worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/17/2012 1:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Essie's ChinChilly is the color that I always turn to, it is a quintessential medium gray that is flattering on all nail lengths and skin tones. It is fashion forward and edgy because it s not a traditional pink or red, but conservative enough to wear to a job interview - yes it is that perfect a shade!!
I am obsessed with well tended hands and nails. How one takes care of ones hands speaks volumes about who they are as a person. This color should be in every fashionable lady's rotation.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2012 2:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous medium gray with a lavender undertone. This Is what I wanted essie's merino cool to be! This color is really pretty; not too dark for spring nor too bright for fall. Very chic color. Formula was buttery and amazing and all I needed was 2 coats to get my desired opaque look. Def would repurchase this color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2012 7:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I can see why this Essie product is "award-winning". It's a beautiful gray, with purple undertones, that literally applies like butter. It's also opaque in 2 coats. I'm not sure about lasting power, since I only had this polish on for 2 days, but at least it didn't chip in those two days haha. The only negative thing I have to say about this polish is that it brought out all the redness on my yellow-toned Asian skin, which is why I would NOT buy this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2012 11:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

On my naturally tan, olive-yellow Asian skin, this color looks fairly decent. In the bottle, compared to other grey/taupes, I thought it was a medium to light grey; but ON, it looks more like a medium to dark grey. On my skin, I don't see as much purple in it as I do in SH Greige Gardens; or as much taupey-brown as WnW Wet Cement; nor is it as light as Professional 10 (?) Moonlight---though more similar in tone to the latter. It's a lovely neutral that's office appropriate, but still edgy IMHO. The problem I have with this one is that my two bottles are both very runny. I used 2 coats, which isn't that bad compared to a few other nail polishes. If you're looking for a dupe, I believe the new L'Oreal np (called Eiffel For You), is pretty darn close...though I haven't actually done a side-by-side comparison.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2012 10:54:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

A nice color. But its very sheer. I had to use 3 coats to get the color thats in the bottle on my nails. It doesn't chip and doesn't streak. applies on smoothly.


on 9/7/2012 9:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This polish rocks! I love it so much :) Perfect dark grey/taupe colour with a hint of purple and it just looks so awesome! Funnily I have swatched it on one nail a few times and decided against it, but when I did a full mani, I was wowed with how good it was and thrilled to get compliments on my nails.

Formula is pretty good, I'm not totally skilled at the art of DIY manicure but this went on pretty much perfectly, two easy coats and it lasted perfectly for 5 days with no chipping. I do use the computer a lot, so it was showing a bit of tipwear by then, but nothing that had me worried.

Very happy, will use this colour again and again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2012 8:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It is a pretty color, but initially it felt a little streaky and needed three coats for the color to really show through. It is a great all year color IMO.


on 9/1/2012 10:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this color - its such a pretty shade with my pale skin, and I actually have had strangers compliment me and ask what this is. Beautiful formula applies easily and not streaky. So chic!


on 9/1/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

If I ever finish a bottle of nail polish (I never have), I would certainly buy Essie Chinchilly again. A lot of women prefer to wear this color in the cooler months of fall and winter, but I've worn it year round and I still love it. Between this color and Allure, they are my two most worn Essie polishes. I also prefer Essie's square bottles; they are, in my opinion, a lot easier to store and line up neater (if you're anal about those things like I am and you prefer they stand flush next to one another, ha ha) than my China Glaze and OPI polishes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top