St. Moriz Self Tanner Mousse

4.1

152 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Dihydroxyacetone, Propylene Glycol, Ethoxydiglycol, Polysorbate 20, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Parfun (Fragrance), Citric Acid, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1, 3-Diol, Coumarin, Citronellol, Alpha-isomethyl Ionone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Eugenol, CI 16035 (Red40), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1)


on 1/31/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just got this in the mail last night. As I live in Australia, I had to buy off eBay. I got a pack of three bottles in Medium for $30 including shipping. I was so eager to try it that I didn't even exfoliate or shave, I just applied it to see how it would turn out.
The packaging can be messy - every time you shake the bottle, some product will drip out the top and fall into the cap. Also, if you have the bottle standing too long, the contents will separate and you have to shake it again.
It was easy to apply and dried almost instantly. Some people complain about "stickiness" for hours after application, but mine was completely dry to the touch. I was a little worried after applying to my legs as it seemed to sink into the pores, but when I woke up everything was the same colour. When applying to my feet, I thought it was going to turn out verrrrrry patchy and uneven around the ankles, but it didn't. My upper arms turned out a little bit uneven, as always. The weird thing is that only the inside upper section of my right arm was the part that didn't really tan. My hands turned out great.
I don't mind the smell and it certainly isn't as offensive as other fake tans. I love the colour guide and even though it gives you instant colour, the tan will develop into something darker. Mine turned out very brown and natural looking. I did two applications on my legs, three on my stomach and just one on my arms, just in case.
When I tried out St Tropez, it didn't even show up on my skin and STANK like biscuits. It took forever to dry and was always patchy when I did enough applications for the tan to show up, which was ORANGE might I add. I've been using Palmer's gradual tanner for a while but it also takes a while to dry and has a strong chocolate scent which I don't mind but the people I'm living with do. It takes tree applications of it to get the kind of colour I want but the thing is that you can't do the applications straight after another since it takes 3 hours for one coat to dry. Still, three applications isn't as dark as St Moriz.
I'd have to say St Moriz is my new HG self tanner.


Edit: The tan almost completely washes off after a shower. That's fine with me, since it takes no time to reapply anyway.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/16/2014 5:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

After reading so many positive reviews, I decided to give this self tanner a go. I'm relatively pale so I opted for the medium version. I started by showering and exfoliating, and moisturising my dry bits of skin (elbows, knees, hands, etc.) then applied the foam from bottom up with a mitt. It was SO easy to apply! The only other fake tan products I've tried have been lotions (dove and garnier) and spray (fake bake 60 min tan) and this was by far the easiest to apply, it literally glided on. I was a bit sceptical whilst putting it on cos it was really dark with sort of orangey tones, but I took the risk and left it anyway and went to sleep. Woke up this morning and there are no stains on the cream bedding so that's a plus. However, I looked in the mirror and my heart raced, I was ridiculously orange, particularly on my hands, elbows, knees and face, despite having moisturised these areas! I rushed to the bathroom and quickly ran myself a bath and starting washing my face, which started to improve ever so slightly. After being in the bath for a while, I got out and discovered the colour was a bit more natural, still quite orange on my hands but not too bad. My face on the other hand, was really quite blotchy, so I put foundation on to even it out and it looks alright. There were parts of my skin that I managed to miss somehow even though the guide colour is really dark, but that's just from my carelessness in trying to apply it quickly. Anyway, in my opinion, this product is seriously good for the price (I got it in boots for £4.99) even if it's not perfect, it's so easy to use and I'll keep using it and hopefully be less careless next time I apply it so I don't have random white patches!

UPDATE: I've had a change of heart, I actually am really liking this product, it's not orangey, that was just the lighting in my room that made me think that! As soon as I looked in a different mirror elsewhere, it just looked naturally tanned :)


on 12/14/2013 6:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Words can't describe how much I love this product! It dries on the skin very quickly, doesn't stain your clothes and sheets, doesn't have this usual horrible self tanner smell and the most important- doesn't even have a slightest hint of orange, the undertone is olive green, which gives you this really natural golden tan. And you can't beat the price(4€ in Ireland). After reading the reviews I bought the tanner in Dark, I have medium olive skin and the tanner looks very natural on it and not too dark, so I wouldn't recommend to go lighter.


on 12/14/2013 8:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A total bargin! Gives a nice natural olive toned brown , easy to apply and relatively non-streaky if you apply it generously and blend well. Dries quickly and the smell isn't overly biscuit-y. I have occasionally seen it on sale in £1 stores, and you can pick it up in pound savers for about £3, so it's an absolute steal for the price! Only drawback is you need to blend well and quickly as it dries quite quickly and if you don't blend it in fast it can dry streaky. Though I have found this with pretty much all mouse based self tans.


on 12/12/2013 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! I'm so so soooo pale naturally, literally like a ghost. I don't really tan religiously, I go through phases of wanting to be tan and then embracing my paleness. But when I do this is my go-to product. It's cheap as chips (around £2.99 in the UK I think, at least where I buy it from it is anyway!), it does have a 'fake tan' smell, but it's nothing that a load of perfume can't mask.

It does go very dark on me after i've applied it (i usually use the 'medium' version), but I think that's just because of how pale I am normally. I usually do this at night so that I can leave it a few hours to develop while I sleep, and then give it a good rinse off in the shower in the morning and it just takes away some of the darkness and leaves a lovely natural looking glow :)

Only downside is that it does stay slightly sticky for a while, and it does smell a LITTLE like biscuits...


on 12/8/2013 8:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this stuff is GREAT. ive previously tried the original st tropez (mousse and lotion formula), the dark st tropez mousse, sunlabs dark sunsation, nearly every loreal tanner, jergens... they all suck compared to this.
originally i was really happy with my st tropez dark, but was short on cash and sick of paying the hefty price tag, so i decided to give st moriz a shot, thank god i did, ill ever pay so much for a self tanner again.
i read a couple reviews saying its hard to blend or it comes off patchy or it doesnt last long but i never ran into these problems. the only problem i have with it is that the bottles can sometimes leak a bit, but its minor.

this tanner lasted longer than any of the other self tanners i tried, even though i never applied lotion between applications, and it smells great, like a fresh scented soap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 9:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. I have very pale Asian skin. I crave a healthy glow to my skin but as a girl who can't tan that's hard to achieve. I used to use some gradual self tanning lotion.. Those sucked. It's bad enough you can't see where you've applied them and you end up all splotchy but the scent could be whiffed from a mile away. St moriz gives a beautiful golden brown color and doesn't have a strong horrendous scent. I have this in medium and one application is enough to give me a natural glow. I literally used this all summer. Nobody can tell its fake!
So how I apply this is I moisturize my skin with cetaphil lotion first. You want to be moisturized or it will cling to dry patches and look patchy and scaley. Then you can let your moisturizer sink in a bit, I find you don't really have to though. And then I apply with a tanning mitt. This makes a huge difference. Save yourself the headache in trying to blend without the mitt. It will take ages. Get a mitt. It's like $5 and makes all the difference.
I have worn this during the day and it looked just fine and didn't rub off. I have tried other more expensive brands and products but this is by far the best one I have tried. I've already bought backups!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this tanner, as a tanning noob the fact I got a perfect result the first time speaks volumes I think! Even better when you consider the price is so good. I paid about $13 on ebay for it I think. I got it in medium and one 'coat' is enough for normal everyday not wanting to be pasty, but if I have an event I do two applications a couple of days apart in the lead up and it's perfect. Unless you have extremely pale skin I would say get the medium because the first application really isn't medium in my opinion, just a light tan, so I don't know if the light one would do much at all.

Goes on easy although you do need to make sure you rub in circular motions and blend it in well. Best used with a tanning mitt. Not orange at all. Definitely a good dupe for St Tropez for those on a budget! I will most likely repurchase.


on 9/24/2013 2:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used to love this fake tan and you can not say it isn't value for money, but as i have been fake tanning for a year now i have tried a variety of different brands and is no match for the majority of fake tan out there. The negatives to St Moriz are: the colour is more orangey than other tans, it's drying on the skin, it does not fade very well and soon becomes patchy on your inner arm and the ingredient are not great either. I strongly recommend you look at Vita Liberata mousse, it is quite expensive but it really is a high quality product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2013 12:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Was excited to use this as its been named the dupe for St. Tropez.
It's easy to apply but i found the medium actually looked quite dark on me.
Looked a little dodgy in areas like around my armpits, despite intense exfoliating and moisturising.
Worst problem: it will run and become streaky in the rain! And if you get drink spilled on you at a party you're screwed!
Stick to Sally Hansen Airbrush Lotion (water resistant) for a flawless tan that wont run and leave you embarrassed.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

St Moriz DARK Mousse Tan Review (Before & After) by MyMakeupPerspective



Back to Top