St. Moriz Self Tanner Mousse

4.1

148 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Dihydroxyacetone, Propylene Glycol, Ethoxydiglycol, Polysorbate 20, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Parfun (Fragrance), Citric Acid, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1, 3-Diol, Coumarin, Citronellol, Alpha-isomethyl Ionone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Eugenol, CI 16035 (Red40), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1)


on 12/12/2013 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! I'm so so soooo pale naturally, literally like a ghost. I don't really tan religiously, I go through phases of wanting to be tan and then embracing my paleness. But when I do this is my go-to product. It's cheap as chips (around £2.99 in the UK I think, at least where I buy it from it is anyway!), it does have a 'fake tan' smell, but it's nothing that a load of perfume can't mask.

It does go very dark on me after i've applied it (i usually use the 'medium' version), but I think that's just because of how pale I am normally. I usually do this at night so that I can leave it a few hours to develop while I sleep, and then give it a good rinse off in the shower in the morning and it just takes away some of the darkness and leaves a lovely natural looking glow :)

Only downside is that it does stay slightly sticky for a while, and it does smell a LITTLE like biscuits...



on 12/8/2013 8:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this stuff is GREAT. ive previously tried the original st tropez (mousse and lotion formula), the dark st tropez mousse, sunlabs dark sunsation, nearly every loreal tanner, jergens... they all suck compared to this.
originally i was really happy with my st tropez dark, but was short on cash and sick of paying the hefty price tag, so i decided to give st moriz a shot, thank god i did, ill ever pay so much for a self tanner again.
i read a couple reviews saying its hard to blend or it comes off patchy or it doesnt last long but i never ran into these problems. the only problem i have with it is that the bottles can sometimes leak a bit, but its minor.

this tanner lasted longer than any of the other self tanners i tried, even though i never applied lotion between applications, and it smells great, like a fresh scented soap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 9:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. I have very pale Asian skin. I crave a healthy glow to my skin but as a girl who can't tan that's hard to achieve. I used to use some gradual self tanning lotion.. Those sucked. It's bad enough you can't see where you've applied them and you end up all splotchy but the scent could be whiffed from a mile away. St moriz gives a beautiful golden brown color and doesn't have a strong horrendous scent. I have this in medium and one application is enough to give me a natural glow. I literally used this all summer. Nobody can tell its fake!
So how I apply this is I moisturize my skin with cetaphil lotion first. You want to be moisturized or it will cling to dry patches and look patchy and scaley. Then you can let your moisturizer sink in a bit, I find you don't really have to though. And then I apply with a tanning mitt. This makes a huge difference. Save yourself the headache in trying to blend without the mitt. It will take ages. Get a mitt. It's like $5 and makes all the difference.
I have worn this during the day and it looked just fine and didn't rub off. I have tried other more expensive brands and products but this is by far the best one I have tried. I've already bought backups!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this tanner, as a tanning noob the fact I got a perfect result the first time speaks volumes I think! Even better when you consider the price is so good. I paid about $13 on ebay for it I think. I got it in medium and one 'coat' is enough for normal everyday not wanting to be pasty, but if I have an event I do two applications a couple of days apart in the lead up and it's perfect. Unless you have extremely pale skin I would say get the medium because the first application really isn't medium in my opinion, just a light tan, so I don't know if the light one would do much at all.

Goes on easy although you do need to make sure you rub in circular motions and blend it in well. Best used with a tanning mitt. Not orange at all. Definitely a good dupe for St Tropez for those on a budget! I will most likely repurchase.


on 9/24/2013 2:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used to love this fake tan and you can not say it isn't value for money, but as i have been fake tanning for a year now i have tried a variety of different brands and is no match for the majority of fake tan out there. The negatives to St Moriz are: the colour is more orangey than other tans, it's drying on the skin, it does not fade very well and soon becomes patchy on your inner arm and the ingredient are not great either. I strongly recommend you look at Vita Liberata mousse, it is quite expensive but it really is a high quality product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2013 12:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Was excited to use this as its been named the dupe for St. Tropez.
It's easy to apply but i found the medium actually looked quite dark on me.
Looked a little dodgy in areas like around my armpits, despite intense exfoliating and moisturising.
Worst problem: it will run and become streaky in the rain! And if you get drink spilled on you at a party you're screwed!
Stick to Sally Hansen Airbrush Lotion (water resistant) for a flawless tan that wont run and leave you embarrassed.


on 8/18/2013 3:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is OKAY. The color is a little orange if you apply too much, but other than that it is fine. The only thing that made me never want to repurchase it is how horribly it faded. I looked like a damn alligator!


on 8/15/2013 1:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Wow I was very impressed with this product, and I've only used it a couple times so far! I had heard of it from a YouTube beauty 'guru' and thought I'd look it up since the price seemed pretty decent. I saw the great reviews and that it was close to St. Tropez (which I've never tried but is obviously more expensive). So I purchased on Amazon the medium and dark to try both, I live in the States and it ships from the UK so it said it'd take about a month! But it actually got here within a week and a half so that was great.

I'm newer to self-tanners but I know there's three things I did not want: Orange, Smelling like Fake Tanner, and Streaking/Blotchy.

Well I'm happy to say this tanner really didn't do any of the above and really made me excited! I put it on after the usual shower, exfoliate, lotion dry areas and grabbed the medium color to try out before the dark just in case and the color was/is a beautiful brown! It seems so many fake tanners show up even a little orange on my skin (I'm fair but not like casper) and this does not at all. YAY!

It also had a different scent to it, did not smell like fake tanner at all, but almost like a floral bar of soap or perfume. Now I'm not big on floral scents, I like more vanilla/coconut, but it beat the fake tanning smell. (Maybe if going somewhere just wait a little for it to dye down.)

I would say it didn't get 5 lipsticks for me because it is difficult to apply in my opinion. You really have to rub it in to not get any streaks, I even use a mit and I really have to rub it in to get it even, and it somewhat dries fast I think to work with. I'm used to the sprays that are a little easier to use and faster.

Other than that I love it and will repurchase and am very excited to try the dark!

*UPDATE: I have tried the dark and it is an even better color! Especially if you are looking for color for an event or weekend etc. I have been using this for a couple weeks now and I will say that if you do not shower this off in the morning it will become extremely patchy and/or streaky! But once you do rinse off in the morning you are left with some great color without much streaking*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So impressed with this product. I hadn't fake tanned in years (used to use Boots' soltan mousse) so was a bit nervous I would muck up, but saw the glowing reviews and hey - it's only £2.99 so worth a go. Really happy with the outcome! Used a mitt and still managed to get some on my palms so would recomend using latex gloves underneath, but it did wash off leaving no marks. Was able to apply the tan smoothly and easily, and it dried within an hour. I rinsed off the indicator in the morning and was left with a lovely shade of brown. A couple of streaks on my feet but I'm rubbish when it comes to that area anyway. I decided I wanted my legs a bit darker so i applied another layer & just didnt rinse off the indicator there. Lovely product & definitely would buy again..... BARGAIN


on 8/9/2013 3:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I already have an olive summer tan and I bought this in DARK so just FYI. Even with the color that I started with, it looks fake and a little orange. I haven't found a self tanner yet that doesn't turn me orange (L' Oreal Sublime, St. Tropez original mousse, & Banana Boat Summer Color in deep dark). Plus it streaked really bad on my thigh. However, it didn't fade patchy like a I was expecting because of other reviews. It was 5 pounds on ebay, so that's not bad but I wouldn't buy it again or use it again... especially not if I was any lighter than I am now.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

St Moriz DARK Mousse Tan Review (Before & After) by MyMakeupPerspective



Back to Top