E.L.F. • Mineral Eyeshadow Primer • Eye Primer

rated 4.1(321 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 theopenwindowmaniac on 3/28/2013 1:20:00 AM more reviews by theopenwindowmaniac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

As all other e.l.f. products, this primer is very budget friendly ($3). I actually really like this primer and it's great quality for the price. I did take off one lippie, however, because it does SLIGHTLY crease on me. But, it still makes a big difference versus no primer. I do have super oily lids though, so it could just be me. If you're new to primer, definitely try this out. Especially if you don't wear eyeshadow often. It doesn't make much sense to spend a lot of money on a product that won't be used very frequently.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sagiegens on 3/27/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by sagiegens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have not looked for many eye primers because elf's eye primer is so affordable and easy to find. Compared to without any primer, I do notice the diffrence of how much it doesn't crease though there is still minimal creasing through out the day. It does dry rather quickly and sometimes creates "patches" of dried skin. Not too attractive but is barely noticeable if makeup over it. Worth trying if you don't have much money or resources. Does what an eye primer is intended to do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamzdoll on 2/26/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by glamzdoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

$1.00. Works better than ANY eye primer i've tried including urban decay primer potion, smashbox, and drugstore brands. Eyeshadow doesn't crease, long lasting, enhances shadow color....love it. And the price is awesome as well. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizbethv on 2/19/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by lizbethv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have VERY oily eyelids, so I was in urgent need of an eye primer. I highly recommend this one. It gives a slight color and a base for the eyeshadow, and it definitely prevents it from creasing ALL DAY. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heinalicious on 2/19/2013 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Heinalicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this eyeshadow primer! It blends so well and gives the lid a light and even finish for you to get a "clean sheet" to work with. It is ridiculously cheap and works SO good with enhancing the colours and making the shadow stay perfect throughout the day/night - So, as we say in Norway: HIPP, HIPP, HURRA! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shio318 on 1/28/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by shio318

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good eye primer for the price. It is a primer that blends in pretty well to the eyelid, and I like that because I do not like when primers make your eyelid a whitish color. My eyeshadows do not crease until about 6-7 hours after I apply it, which I think is pretty good for a primer of this price. It is better for everyday use, but if you are going to wear a lot of eye makeup or you are going to a big event, I would buy a better primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristyc on 1/11/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by kristyc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've got oily eye lids and live in a humid tropical country. I've tried a few of those stick type of eyeshadow primers (body shop as well as the elf studio one) but nothing seemed to last the day. Forget about being creased, everything just melts off and all I'm left with is 2 or 3 thin lines of eyeshadow - which I'm sure you can imagine is NOT a good look.


So when I had a big event coming up, I "splurged" on one of those little trial tubes of UDPP and was ecstatic when my eyeshadow lasted for 6 hours without budging. For the first time in my life, my blending and smoking efforts was intact even when I reached back home. The downside was the price. I just couldn't bring myself to use it on regular days.


Then came the day when I was rummaging through my stash and came across a long forgotten, brand new tube of elf's mineral eyeshadow primer.


I didn't have much hope.. Actually, I had none.at.all. I tested it ONLY to see if it would at least help for 3 hours or so. So imagine my incredulity when my "oily lids" stayed crease proof for 6 hours (after which I had to sleep). I couldn't believe it. Figured it was a mistake. Bad lighting? too tired to see the creases?? But lo and behold, its the same thing the next day. This time, it was on for about 8 to 9 hours before it finally started creasing. Incredible.


The issues? I'm fine with the doe applicator.. Just wish the tube was transparent. Also, on my warm skin tone (Bobbi brown warm natural) its not sheer - more like an ashy cream. Same thing with UDPP but a little stronger. Maybe its because the doe foot is a little heavy on application? It gets covered up so i don't mind - but I might try the blush shade next. Do be sure to only dab a little and spread with your finger (as recommended by the other reviewer


Moral of the story: Is it right up there with UDPP? Not exactly - Because UDPP lasts longer. But is it worth it? Definitely. Repurchase? I'm gonna be stocking up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 juniebug008 on 1/8/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by juniebug008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love this product. I really wanted to fall in love with it and never have to find another eye primer for the rest of my days... but I really just find it to be mediocre. It keeps my eyeshadow on for a while. It really doesn't make my eyeshadows look any more vibrant, and YES, it does crease. My overall comment for this: Meh. I'd repurchase simply for something that wasn't mega-expensive and does a somewhat decent job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoangrl on 1/8/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by hoangrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic primer that does the job! ive tried UD and its very similar and i get the same results.

Ive had mine for ages.. it lasts that long and its dirt cheap. I live in Australia so i bought mine on Ebay for $6 which is still good. I like the doe foot applicator!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adeleseddie on 12/29/2012 3:00:00 PM more reviews by adeleseddie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

i wouldn't say this primer is the best but it does a good job. you can tell the diffrense emensly and for the simple price i wouldn't mind repurchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products