Maybelline Superstay

3.6

163 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/14/2012 3:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

They call this SuperStay Concealer 24 Hr. I don't normally like transfer resistant makeup products as I've said elsewhere here that transfer resistant (let's say) foundation tends to take on the texture of what is underneath. I.E. dry/flaky skin looks moreso, fine/to deep lined skin looks moreso, acne scar/pitted skin looks moreso w/a transfer resistant foundation. Now, I've also said there is a time and place for it: you have oil ladden skin and it is August w/99% humidity in South Florida or you have perfect/flawless skin where transfer resistant just makes it look more perfect/flawless, sometimes, depending on the Brand and Formula. Transfer Resistant pigments tend to be not as finely ground as a regular foundation. Now in the delicate eye area which at it's best has some light, fine laugh lines will look moreso w/transfer resistant concealer or so I thought. Concealer in general will accent lines. This was so inexpesive in Walmart I thought I'd give it a try. I LOVE this concealer. It does not over-texturize the under eye skin any more than a regular one plus it stays put and holds up all day. You can even use it as an eyeshadow base using it from lid to just beneath the brow to even skin tone around the eye and midday it will not have even creased on your eyelid. No need to use your finger to "roll" it's clumpiness on the lid or 'rolling' it out of some under eye lines. I LOVE THIS CONCEALER!!! I use it in medium beige and I am fair to medium toned. I think the biggest mistake people do with concealer is to use it in too light a shade. You should try to ge it in a shade which is closest to your skin tone (fairest to darkest.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/24/2012 6:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

How have I not written a review on this yet?!?! BEST FACE CONCEALER for ACNE-PRONE, OILY, SUPER SENSITIVE SKIN! I have broken out to nearly ever drugstore face product, and this is one thing that I have just recently gone back to and my face is healing back up! Everything else makes my face feel itchy and tingly throughout the day, but this feels SO comfortable, covers my blemishes amazingly, and lasts all day long! I wish the SuperStay foundation did not oxidize so horribly and turn orange on my face b/c the SuperStay line is even better than Revlon's ColorStay in my opinion,b/c SS doesn't have those potentially irritating natural extracts and crap. Love love love this and hope I can expand my makeup more to have formulas similar to this Maybelline line...

UPDATE: I guess I've been using this for too long because I have developed an allergy to some ingredient in it...everywhere I put this concealer, I get a flame-up/firm vesicle, and since I avoided using this, they finally dried up/went down, but otherwise they just sat there for weeks! Had to throw it out in the end, but still think it's still overall a good blemish concealer product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the worst concealer ever!
The color selection is not good, all the colors was orange.
It really drye out my skin especially under my eye.
The packaging is bad, you get to much concealer on the sponge and you can't really control it.
I will never buy this again.


on 1/16/2012 10:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This concealer isnt as great as maybelline's mineral concealer that was recently discontinued. I bought this because i read of pretty okay reviews about it. it seems as though when it comes to this product, how good it is is pretty sided. Some people would tell you that this concealer is their go too concealer for undereyes and blemishes, and Others will tell you that its horrible because it settles into fine lines and seems cakey. Well when i first tried it, i was doing my friend's makeup, she had deep undereye circles and using this helped her conceal her undereye circles a lot and looked great on her.

As i proceded to conceal her blemishes with this, i must say this concealer is just far too cakey on blemishes. I tried it on myself recently i just dont find that i like it too much. It seemed far too cakey on me and it dries on the skin too much.doesnt blend well either.. I wont be buying this again. And would only reccomend this to girls with very deep undereye circles and even then, just appling a little is the way to go cause with this alittle goes a long way. And if you have acne, dont bother with this concealer because it wont conceal blemishes naturally and wil make you look cakey and blotchy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2012 2:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this concealer. First of all, it's the first concealer I've ever used that's been light enough for my skin tone. I would buy it just for that alone. But, it just so happens that it's an awesome quality product as well. I have moderate-ish acne, and a LOT of acne scarring, and this covers everything. It dries really fast, so you have to work quickly, because once it dries it's not going anywhere (which is good). I don't have to worry about it "sinking in" after a while and having all my nasty skin being exposed. For such a thick concealer, it looks pretty natural on my face. It'll look cakey if you wear too much, but I think that goes for pretty much any concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2012 2:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this concealer because of the great reviews and the fact that its non comedogenic. But I really hate this! The packaging quality is horrible. Its impossible to blend and feels really dry on the skin, and considering that I have very oily skin thats really bad. But since I was determined to make it work I tried it in many different ways: under my foundation, over it, with powder, without powder, with eye cream under it... Nothing worked. , And on top of that it doesn´t even cover my under eye circles or my blemishes. I wouldn´t recommend this to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2011 9:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was just intended to tide me over for a week until I could to a MAC counter, but after one wear I knew there was no need to re-purchase my usual concealer, as Superstay is better in so many ways.

I have quite dark circles under my eyes, so finding a concealer that covers them while looking natural has been hard. Usually I just settle for "good enough". Superstay is a little harder to work with than my old concealer, but it's worth it because it really does stay put until you wash your face at the end of the day. It applies best with a brush, and it doesn't sit heavily or settle into fine lines if it's blended out nicely. Not much is needed for a decent result either, and it even works well over blotchy patches and spots without aggravating the problem. I used to use two seperate concealers, one for undereyes and one for any blemishes, but now I don't really need two. Best of all, in Australia, Superstay is less than half the price of Moisturecover.

If I could change anything, I'd love it to cover my undereye circles just a little more, but I'm a bit obsessed with this area. The coverage for a person without rings that could have them mistaken for a panda is probably more than adequate. While it's not a problem for me, the colour range is pretty dismal too. The lightest shade is very fair, which is really the only reason I chose it, since it was the only one that was pale enough for me available.

I will certainly repurchase this, and I've also told my sister and mum to buy this when they run out of their current concealers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2011 6:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is one darn good concealer! Its dryish consistency means that once you apply it to spot blemishes it stays on without budging even when you apply foundation over it. Brilliant. I tend to use it for covering red marks and acne rather than under the eye. It has a doe-foot type wand, and I just dab a bit on the back of my hand and dot it from there onto where i need with the tip of my finger, so the wand doesnt contact my face and get contaminated. I use this in Cream, which is slightly darker than Ivory and lighter than Deep Beige. Pity that it doesn't come in a bigger range of shades because the Cream is still on the fair side for me, but I can just get away with it when I even out the pale patches when I apply foundation on top. I also bought Deep Beige, thinking that a darker shade is what I need, but sadly Deep Beige is also heavy on pink tones which just look like I have put pink spots all over my yellow-toned asian skin. Cream appears neutral that is neither yellow nor pink-toned. But I had to give it 4 lippie only because of the limited shade range, otherwise this would be a perfect spot cover concealer.


on 12/9/2011 5:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hate this concealer! i regret buying it and the quality of it is so crappy. It doesnt go on seamlessly and its so hard to take off the product!!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really like this concealer--it doesn't last the 12hrs that the packaging claims but it does last way longer than my other concealers. the only downside to this concealer would be that this concealer can really emphasize dry patchy spots. so i usually moisturizer before using. but all in all i still really like it for covering up spots and etc.


Back to Top