Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Concealer

3.8

131 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Dimethicone, Hydroxystearic/Linolenic/Oleic Polyglycerides, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Sodium Chloride, Mica, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Glycerin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methylpropanediol, Glyceryl Caprylate, Pentylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, p-Anisic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Tromethamine, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Palmaria Palmata Extract, Spilanthes Acmella Flower Extract, Laureth-4, [CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides)].


on 10/11/2012 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the rare concealers which matches my skin tone exactly. (I'm Asian with medium-toned skin) I was excited to find a perfect match while trying it out at Sephora, but when I tried using it the next day, it caked up very easily. It's a bit pricey for the amount in the tube.

Tip: Use a fluffy blush and apply with a VERY light hand. It helps to mix it with a dab of eye primer to prevent caking.

I won't purchase it again, but will use till it's finished up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/5/2012 3:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Easy to apply and has decent staying power. Can be a bit drying under the eyes.

Pretty pricey for the amount of product you get, so probably will try to find a cheaper substitute.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent concealer for under eye area. Good coverage and staying power but still looking natural and lightweigh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2012 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is my second concealer. The first one is from Anna Sui and I didn't like it because it can't cover my acne. But this hd concealer do a better job than anna sui one but I still didn't like it. This concealer did not covered my acne beautifully! It goes on nicely at first and then after I put my bronzer/blush, this concealer just oxidize and you can see my acne clearly just like I did not put any concealer! So I have to put concealer again on my acne. I find this hard to blend nicely especially when you're using a concealer brush and I have to use my fingers to blend it. This is quite pricey and I won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have very pale porcelain skin, NW 10/15 for reference. My dark circles are not only hereditary, but they are also due to the fact that my skin is translucent.
I needed a new concealer under my eyes, and I went to Sephora. First off, they did not give me a makeup SA, they gave me a skincare SA. She was morbidly obese with facial hair and acne, might I add. I told her I needed a concealer and her response was "Oh, sorry. Sephora doesn't carry shades light enough for you." Um, WTF?! So I walked around, by myself, thank you very much, and was able to find multiple shades "light enough" for me. One of these was MUFE hd concealer. Yes, it matched my skin tone (which is apparently a huge feat) but it caked and creased so much. EW. Not natural looking at all. And I hate the brush. I'll go back to YSL touche eclat, even though it's more expensive.


on 7/25/2012 1:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This covered my acne marks/hyperpigmentation beautifully! It feels very light, blends well, does not look cakey and lasts all day. So glad I found a perfect color match for my skin. (#340) . The applicator stinks however but hopefully they will change it.
UPDATE NOV 26, now changed to #330 (mac c3) for winter. Nice neutral ligh-med color with yellow undertones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2012 1:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm going to start this out by telling you about my circles. Then I'm going to tell you the horrible story about how I bought this (and am 90% sure I'll return it).
My under eye area is darker than the rest of my face. That's it. There's no purple or blue undertone just darker. In the winter I am about a NC10 and summer I can get up to NC20 (which I'm at right now). I also have this line (that's between your nose & under eye area; it's where bags start on most people in the corner of the eye). I think it makes me look older than I am (25) but if I could correct it most people would probably assume I'd be somewhere around 20.
Now for my story about how I came across this. I had head out to Ulta to try to get a concealer first. I was one of, not even, 10 people in the store. Yet there was only two associates (out of 5-6) there wandering around and helping people. One was stuck at the Benefit counter while the other was helping a couple behind me. The moment I went to speak up for help she ignored me and walked away. I ended up buying a few things not on my list because the Ulta did not carry what I was looking for (should have known it; I always have issues with Ulta). After that ordeal was done I headed over to Sephora. I've always had pleasant MUAs but they usually have no idea what they're doing. This time was on par with that. All I wanted was a concealer to cover the above described issues and a good foundation (I was tired of buying drugstore items that don't work). First thing they did wrong, which I didn't know about until almost the very end, was that they had given me a SKINCARE CONSULTANT to do my make-up. WTF Sephora!? Which means she was 100% clueless as to what to put on me. I had mentioned that I didn't know where to start on foundations but had wanted to try the HD concealer. I was ignored. I should have left to go to the MAC & Bobbi Brown counters next door (in a Macy's). I sat through her caking on the MUFE HD foundation, caking on the NARS concealer stick, and finally coming around to this concealer. She applied the Laura Mercier TM & the HD concealer together. I looked flawless but the foundation color was way off and this concealer still didn't cover. It brightened nicely but it doesn't conceal. I'd say this is a nice HE alternative to Maybelline Dream Lumi touch concealer. That's it. The circles were still there but brightened. I was disappointed, pushed into buying something (when I only wanted samples), and almost bought the Laura Mercier TM (which also covered nothing). I can't afford to spend $30+ on a product that won't work and sit in my drawer. Sadly I'm going to have to spend another day traveling all the way back (yep closest Sephora is about 30 minutes away) and return this dang thing. I just need to suck it up, not be a push over, and deal with the Bobbi Brown counter (in the past I was ignored & treated like dirt for not wearing HE clothing & waving around money).


on 6/22/2012 4:28:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am super picky about under eye concealer, my requirement: Under $30 all-in-one product that: conceals, corrects, brightens without primer or setting powder, also non-drying or accentuate my fine lines, not cast white shadow in photo. The MUFHD concealer is 1 of the best that I've tried & met the above requirements. Other awesome (cheaper) ones are: Collection 2000 concealer and Maybelline Age rewind concealer. As always, MUF has wide color selection, I'm NC25 & use #325 in this concealer. Cons is the dispense mechanism is a bit awkward, just not very practical, doesn't enhance the product, another con is: very expansive! How itssy bittsy there is! If the price is lower I l's probably solely use this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2012 5:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I purchased this product after being dissatisfied with Laura Mercier's Secret Camouflage. I was looking for something that is non-drying for blemishes and lasting, which were two qualities that LM's cult favorite lacked. I first tried Cover FX but was unable to find a good match for my NC25-30 skin tone (go figure!). MUFE had a good range of colors for the SA to try out on my skin. I love the texture of this concealer. It's creamy and not drying. It doesn't settle into any lines on my skin, and lasts throughout a work day and gym. With LM it was gone by mid afternoon. The only gripe is the dreaded applicator. It just keeps on pooling products around the opening after the initial dispense. The applicator really confuses me but I would repurchase this because it really is a perfect match to my skin, non-drying, and long lasting. Icing on the cake is that it's fragrance free and paraben free.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2012 10:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm already a big fan of the HD foundation, but I've had a hard time finding a concealer that both concealed my under-eye circles, covered my blemishes adequately, and did NOT accentuate the fine lines under my eyes. An MA at Sephora recommended this concealer, and I'm very happy I took her suggestion. This evens out redness and helps cover my breakouts when I want full coverage, and when I buff it in using my MAC 217 brush it doesn't sink into the lines under my eyes. So far it seems to stay put and not contribute to any more breakouts (but I don't use it or the HD foundation every day, just when I go out at night.) The only thing I really don't like about it is the packaging. The applicator is just...weird...and hard to work with, and I feel like I wind up wasting product b/c of the click dispenser. But I've learned to adapt to it so that's not as much of a problem as it was. Will still re-purchase, as it's by far the best concealer I've found.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top