Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Gloss (All Colors)

4.2

92 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

C18-36 ACID TRIGLYCERIDE, BIS-DIGLYCERYL POLYACYLADIPATE-2, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE, POLYBUTENE, TRIDECYL TRIMELLITATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, PENTYLENE GLYCOL, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, LIMONENE, ALUMINA, SILICA, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, ETHYL MENTHANE CARBOXAMIDE, TIN OXIDE, BENZYL ALCOHOL, MEL/HONEY, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE, CITRAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, HYDROXYPALMITOYL SPHINGANINE, LINALOOL, DIMETHICONE, <+/- MAY CONTAIN: MICA, CI 77891/TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492/IRON OXIDES, CI 15850/RED 7, CI 45410/RED 28 LAKE, CI 19140/YELLOW 5 LAKE, CI 15985/YELLOW 6 LAKE, CI 45380/RED 22 LAKE, CI 42090/BLUE 1 LAKE, CI 75470/CARMINE> FIL D36361/1


on 8/21/2011 3:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this tonight as a replacement for my BE Buxom gloss (I couldn't afford to replace that right now). I have to say that I am very pleased. I bought #055- Rasberry Sorbet.


The color payoff is wonderful - it's just slightly less coverage than a full lipstick. I was sort of wary of the sparkle/shimmer/pearly specks in the tube, but I was pretty suprised that they aren't noticeable once it's applied.


The formula, in my opinion is awesome. It is incredibly smooth and creamy and it doesn't feel like a traditional lipgloss. I first put in my dark car as soon as I bought it. I couldn't see well but when I felt the texture I was almost positive that there was no shine because it just felt too velvety. I was expecting to go home and find a matte color. I was super stoked to see that it actually did shine like a gloss too. Score!


As for the smell - it's a very light orange-y taste. It certainly isn't the worst I have encountered, but not awesome either. It wouldn't prevent me from buying it again, however. Unless you are really sensitive to smells and tastes, this won't be a problem for you.


I hate the packaging...it looks way cheap (but, it was, so you get what you pay for I suppose). There is no label on the outside body and it just looks very retro to me. Maybe I'm vain, but I'd rather spend extra money for a prettier package (think Dior glosses) to carry around in public.


This gloss was worth the $5.68 I paid for it and I'd buy it again for sure, but it won't be one that I carry with me mainly because the packaging is ugly. I'll keep it in my makeup drawer for use before going out and touch up with something else during the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/1/2011 9:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought Stellar Berry and Coffee Kiss.

Both products have silver shimmer which I was apprehensive about because usually silver shimmered lip gloss/highlighters are not recommend on dark skin (gold is). They both have a sweet orange (but not sickly) smell which I really love. The shimmer is very fine and not gritty. The colours are not overly glossy, both are pigmented and make the lips look absolutely gorgeous. Both these colours looks good on dark skin.

Stellar Berry has a medium plummy colour that is perfect for everyday wear or even a special occasion, very vibrant but not over powering.
Coffee Kiss is more a nude, it subtly enhances the lips making them look plumper.

The formulation is moisturising (not sticky at all) and lasts a long time. The price for these is usually a bit steep for me in the lip gloss department but I would purchase them again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2011 1:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is probably some of the smoothest lip gloss Ive tried yet and I have tried many many different lip glosses because i really like lip glosses. I have about 6 or 7 of these and would get more i like them that much. They are so smooth good color pay off and last a while. I have nothing bad to say about this lip gloss all the ones i have tried have been so so great and they come in a great range of colors.. If you have not tried this lip gloss i say give it try and see what you think but i bet you will not be dissappointed!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 2:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Mocha glaze from this line is my default lip color. It's an orangey sort of pinkish color that suits my complexion well. There's some shimmer, but not too much, so I don't feel like I'm using something too young for me. It feels good on the lips and shows up wonderfully. It does not last long on me, but that could be because I bite my lips when working--nothing ever lasts on me. I've rebought this several times and have never regretted doing so.

I also tried Touch of Toffee and didn't care for it, but that's just because it was too close of a match for my own lip color for my taste. The feel of the product is just as good as that of Mocha Glaze.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I recently bought this in Perfect Pink. The local Rexall was having a huge sale and all Maybelline products were 30%, therefore this gloss only ended up costing me $6. Really wish I had grabbed some more!

PROS:
nicely pigmented
doesn't feel sticky or tacky on the lips
great staying power for a gloss
excellent packaging (I prefer minimalist packaging)
very little taste or smell
great price for the quality

CONS:
none that I can think of

I am a very fair, cool toned, dark blonde with blue/green eyes and have been hunting for the perfect pink that wouldn't clash with my complexion or bring out the redness in my skin. This is perfect; slightly lighter than my natural lip colour and with no hint of gold. Will definitely repurchase in this colour and hoping to pick up a few more colours soon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this lip gloss! I've been using it for almost a year, and it's great. It stays on a long time when i wear it over my lipstick. I wear it in plum tastic, and the color is really pretty!


on 1/28/2011 10:51:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i love this lipgloss, i got mine in hooked on pink, its a rly pretty color, it has the perfect amount of pigmentation, its creamy, its not sticky, nd it looks nice on the lips. i lke the packaging, its nice and sleek, its not flashy nd overdoing it its classy nd simple. i would lke it to sat maybelline or the name on the tube instead of on a TINY sticker on the bottom


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have this gloss in the "Pink Perfection" shade. In the tube, it is a frosty, pearly pink. On lips, it adds a sheer pink flush with slight shimmer. It looks pretty on bare lips, and adds a touch of shine over lipsticks. It pairs nicely with Color Sensational lipsticks (especially Pink Quartz). This lip gloss is nice...not overly special or outstanding, but I like having it in my purse to swipe on without needing a mirror. It's good knowing it'll look nice without having to check. It feels smooth and not sticky on my lips. It does have a noticeable fragrance, it smells like orange Starburst candy to me. It's fine...although I personally tend to prefer vanilla or mint in my lip products. The packaging is sleek and sophisticated, not juvenile and not flashy either. However...why is there no logo sticker or anything on the tube? I find that kind of weird. But if you prefer minimal packaging, you'd probably appreciate the "brandless" tube. It was under $5 at Walmart. Overall, a pleasant lip gloss, and I'd buy it again in a different shade.


on 1/24/2011 2:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i got this in cashmere rose and ust threw it in the trash after 2 or 3 uses... it is seriously disgunting... the texture is gooey and the strong smell is just cheap. i usually don't mind the smell of makeup, but this is just ridiculously over the top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2011 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Selected shades: born with it (sheer beige pink), pink perfection (rosy pink), cranberry cocktail (brick red), lucious pink (sheer pale baby pink), high-tech plum (barbie pink)

Pros: moisturizing, not sticky, long-lasting, nice scent

Cons: none

Comments: These are great quality glosses, however the lighter shades are quite sheer. It does take a couple of layers to achieve full opacity, but it doesn't feel uncomfortable when wearing more. It's a very rich, creamy gloss without any stickiness. I only plan to re-purchase Lucious Pink and High-Tech Plum. Born With It was way too sheer, Cranberry Cocktail bled like crazy, and Pink Perfection just wasn't the pink I was looking for.

Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top