Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(485 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xevapaige on 3/24/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by xevapaige

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this mascara for years, love it! It lasts me around 6 months, and it holds a curl really well. As long as I wipe the wand once a week or so, I am guaranteed not to get clumps and my lashes look really long and separated. Everytime I try a new mascara I always end up coming back to this one. Would definitely recommend it to others, waterproof or non-waterproof

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kasabourin on 3/23/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by kasabourin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Its an OKAY mascara. Not the best volume. theres way better mascaras out there. Also, the brush tugs on my eyelashes for some reason and make it hard to apply it smoothly. I just like the bright yellow packaging :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CandyCrystals on 3/21/2013 6:18:00 AM more reviews by CandyCrystals

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MY HG MASCARA!! I always come back to this mascara because it's the only one that gives me the performance I desire. I have medium-length lashes that aren't really curled. After using a curler, I apply 2 coats of this mascara and it holds my curl in place ALL DAY. It thickens & volumizes my lashes to give me nice "Doll Eyes". It starts to get clumpy after 3-4 weeks of daily use, but it's pretty cheap at Walmart so I buy another tube when the clumps start to get ridiculous.

If only this mascara formula used the brush in The Rocket mascara by Maybelline, then I would have a perfect mascara to use for daytime & nighttime looks.

This mascara is VERY DIFFICULT to remove so I use Pond's Classic Cold Cream to dissolve it before I use another make-up remover for the rest of my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alicehanson on 3/20/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by alicehanson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

PRICE: In my country it costs what corresponds of 18,83$

FEATURES:
- Waterproof Mascara
- Up to 7x more volume instantly, in just one coat
- no clumps
- collagen enriched formula

APPLICATION: It has a really big, fluffy wand, and I usually get it all over my lids, but maybe I'm just retarded with this brush. It's easy to remove with a Q-tip, though.

RESULTS: My lashes are naturally pretty dark, medium length and thickness. I just want them to look volumized, long and darker. After I applied my lashes were hard, sticky and straight, spidery looking, and they were so unnatural looking! If I put a thin coat of another mascara underneath, which I usually do, it looks better though.(Atm I use Max Factors false lash effect - the gold, limited edition)

LASTING POWER: So I applied a thin layer of the Max Factor one, and after that I applied The Colossal. I went to school and went home again around 5-6 hours later, and it had smudged both underneath my eyes and on my upper lid - very noticeable (The weather here is cold and snowy at the moment, but it's not like crazy snowstorms). WATERPROOF?! Not really! Even when it doesn't snow, it smudges.

So here's the funny thing. Today I applied a thin coat of the False Lash (it works really well as a primer-thing, haha) and after that I applied my Max Factor 2000 calorie - none of them are waterproof. And when I got home from school, around 7 hours later, it looked like when I first applied it. That is a bit weird, when the colossal is waterproof!

REMOVAL: When using a waterproof makeup remover, no problem :)

VERDICT: On it's own, I really do NOT like the look this mascara gives me. My friend has it too, and her lashes are also sticky and unnatural looking. When I use the False lash, it works a lot better(!), but it smears on my lids, and that's a big no-go for me! I will definitely not repurchase (especially because of the prices in my country).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 l098899 on 3/9/2013 8:23:00 PM more reviews by l098899

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hate when mascara sticking my eyelash together like a bunch of fly legs,more worse, it smudges after a while. When I looked in the mirror, I found myself turned into a panda already.it doesn't happen to you guys???

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlwaysDouze on 3/6/2013 6:44:00 PM more reviews by AlwaysDouze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looking for a great mascara that gives your eyelashes volume? Then this is the product for you. Like most maybelline mascaras I've used, this doesn't clump my eyelashes but still gives it good volume. The wand is pretty big though, so it's hard to reach every eyelash. The formula lasts a couple of months too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 historismus on 3/4/2013 12:09:00 AM more reviews by historismus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my favourite mascaras at the moment. I will repurchase unless something pretty great comes along.


PROS
Defines and lengthens lashes
Holds curl
No smudging, clumping, or flaking
Lashes stay perky and separated the whole day

CONS
Brush makes it tricky to get corner and bottom lashes without mess
Difficult removal

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Azul27 on 3/2/2013 10:24:00 PM more reviews by Azul27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

No my favorite, I bought this product because I saw good reviews but I got somehow disappointed. I was expecting to be better than the Turbo Classic but no even close. I use it along the Turbo mascara and it makes my lashes longer, but alone is a flop . I am not sure if I will buy it again,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkfreud62 on 2/27/2013 10:16:00 AM more reviews by pinkfreud62

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great find! I've been using this mascara for over 3 years now and I ALWAYS get compliments! People ask me if they are my real lashes and what it is I use. I can't comment on the curling hold as I don't curl my lashes, but for length, volume and price you can't go wrong with this. I know it's not much of a review and more of an opinion, but I wanted to reinforce how good this mascara is at a very reasonable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heykerrieann on 1/30/2013 2:08:00 AM more reviews by heykerrieann

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love trying new mascara, but I guess we all do, right? Mascara is just my thing. I'm always searching for the next holy grail of all mascaras. I was using L'Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lash in Black Lacquer for a while. Then a week ago I found out my Grandma had passed away. I wanted to look nice and presentable at the funeral, and most of my other makeup is waterproof, so I went on a search for a great new waterproof mascara. Now that I look at that statement, it does sound rather vain, but would you want to look like Tammy Faye Bakker? No you would not!

Of course, as I always do with new purchases, I looked online. I really like Maybelline mascaras, so I looked on their site. They have eye diagrams that show you which mascara is good for which lash look. Being all about the eyes with my makeup, I wanted something that thickens - I already have long lashes. I found The Colossal and went out that night to purchase it. I got it home and did a trial run. It does go on light at first so you do have to work with it, but I was completely surprised at how well it worked! I used it to do a very basic makeup look for the wake and even through the tears my trusty Colossal stayed put. The next day at the funeral, I went heavier with the makeup and applied two coats. Stayed put and looked great with my waterproof eyeliner. I have to admit, the first night I took it off with my facial cleanser (I know, I know...) but tonight I removed it with makeup remover and although it took a little bit more work, it came right off. I love this mascara. Now usually I use two different mascaras, but I'm not sure how it would work out with this formula, and being waterproof, but I would be willing to try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products