Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(477 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 pinkfreud62 on 2/27/2013 10:16:00 AM more reviews by pinkfreud62

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great find! I've been using this mascara for over 3 years now and I ALWAYS get compliments! People ask me if they are my real lashes and what it is I use. I can't comment on the curling hold as I don't curl my lashes, but for length, volume and price you can't go wrong with this. I know it's not much of a review and more of an opinion, but I wanted to reinforce how good this mascara is at a very reasonable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heykerrieann on 1/30/2013 2:08:00 AM more reviews by heykerrieann

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love trying new mascara, but I guess we all do, right? Mascara is just my thing. I'm always searching for the next holy grail of all mascaras. I was using L'Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lash in Black Lacquer for a while. Then a week ago I found out my Grandma had passed away. I wanted to look nice and presentable at the funeral, and most of my other makeup is waterproof, so I went on a search for a great new waterproof mascara. Now that I look at that statement, it does sound rather vain, but would you want to look like Tammy Faye Bakker? No you would not!

Of course, as I always do with new purchases, I looked online. I really like Maybelline mascaras, so I looked on their site. They have eye diagrams that show you which mascara is good for which lash look. Being all about the eyes with my makeup, I wanted something that thickens - I already have long lashes. I found The Colossal and went out that night to purchase it. I got it home and did a trial run. It does go on light at first so you do have to work with it, but I was completely surprised at how well it worked! I used it to do a very basic makeup look for the wake and even through the tears my trusty Colossal stayed put. The next day at the funeral, I went heavier with the makeup and applied two coats. Stayed put and looked great with my waterproof eyeliner. I have to admit, the first night I took it off with my facial cleanser (I know, I know...) but tonight I removed it with makeup remover and although it took a little bit more work, it came right off. I love this mascara. Now usually I use two different mascaras, but I'm not sure how it would work out with this formula, and being waterproof, but I would be willing to try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HeyIAmSteph on 1/19/2013 7:29:00 AM more reviews by HeyIAmSteph

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This product is absolutely gorgeous. The waterproof mascara stays on all day. But do not wear this to the beach, even though its waterproof. Since I went into the ocean there was sea salt in my eye so I had to itch it. And it smudged onto the bottom of my eye where my skin is. Its not bad or anything, it looked okay since it looked like the shadow, but just a fair warning. I really like this product. I bought it from Woolworths for $14.63 AUD (generally around $20). It's a pretty okay price for a mascara since Australia's makeup is so pricey but I really liked it. It makes your lashes look big and fat. This mascara doesn't provide length much which is upsetting but it's all good! The smell is weird, but it doesn't affect me since I don't smell my mascara on a daily basis, ha. I love this product and I would buy it again and again.

EDIT: After A while using this product I started loosing lashes, and it starts to smudge badly for me. Aswell as that its such a wet formula, I wouldnt buy it again. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kodancerbabee on 1/6/2013 9:54:00 AM more reviews by kodancerbabee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This really has become my HG mascara! Originally, I had been using Maybelline falsies, but when that tube had run out, Harmon's did also. The cashier said there was a cheer competition and they had about 20 fifteen year old girls all buying it, so she steered me towards this product. At first, it was really heavy and felt like it never dried. But after about a week, the consistency evened out and it really held curl well-- something my eyelashes don't do on their own. With about three layers, my lashes are long, think, and perfectly curled. I would definitely repurchase this when my tube runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 van1llacupcak3 on 1/5/2013 4:27:00 PM more reviews by van1llacupcak3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this mascara it is DEFINETELY waterproof and it has an adorable packaging and i just love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 darlingvikki2 on 12/21/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by darlingvikki2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

good for like 5 min. my lashes dont hold curl very easily and unfortunately the curl was gone after 5 minutes. it also felt like the mascara never dried. anyway, i'll keep it in my purse for touching up i guess. i splurged on Diorshow Waterproof today so we will see how that goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CyborgAnnie on 12/10/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by CyborgAnnie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best mascara I have come across in some time, but at first I hated it! My usal for over a decade was L'Oreal Voluminous wp. I also like Maybelline Full & Soft wp & Neutrogena Healthy Volume wp. The Colossal dries faster so I have learned to do one eye at a time and comb through lashes with a metal eyelash comb. The wand is great, not the little plastic one but the actual wand
It's stiff and does a nice job w separation on it's on, with using a comb also I get perfectly separated lashes. The black is very black and this stuff lasts all day! Comes off easily w Pond's cold cream. This mascara is really tough, it stays on all day even though I wear a med/heavy lotion & hi spf. It gives very nice volume and length. I was really happy & surprised when I got into a routine with this. The best I've used and never leaves me with the racoonies! Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rope on 12/10/2012 8:29:00 AM more reviews by rope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'm twenty-six and have red hair; worn mascara all day, every day from age fourteen! Have tried pretty much every drug store mascara going, and a few high-end brands too. I go for waterproof every time because I swim and cry all the time, bahaha.

Anyway this is the best I've ever used. Pros:
1 - Biga$$ volume for that wide-eyed, just-been-slapped look.
2 - Super waterproof; I've been swimming in the sea, broken up with about twenty boyfriends in this gear and my eyes still look awesome throughout.
3 - Easy to find. It's bright yellow so even when my room looks like a bomb just went off, I can find my mascara.
4 - Readily stocked. Find it in any old drug store, sometimes even in supermarkets.
5 - Comes in brown. Lots of 'scaras forget about us pale girls and just bang out superblack shades. The brown edition is dark enough to satisfy my need for glamour without making me look like Michael Jackson.
6 - It's hella cheap. I'm in the UK, it's like 7 here when not on offer. Laaavvvllyy!!

Now the cons:
1 - Can't get this stuff off without really wanting to. I have to scrub my eyeball half off before showering every morning. I didn't mark down for this because it's a good trade-off for the mascara's durability.
2 - Have to keep it cool, because it will dry out and clump if it sits basking in the sun all day. I buy a new one every couple of months and that keeps the consistency fluid.
3 - Here is my least favourite thing about it - again the side-effect of a benefit. It dries pretty fast, and once it's dried you can't layer it, because it's too thick. So you're against the clock, gotta be swift. I'm fine with that as I've mastered my mascara technique over the years, but some may find it off-putting. However, if you do a bad application job you're screwed because as per con #1, it's hard to remove.

Another point I should make is that I can't confirm whether or not it curls your lashes. I have curly hair so my lashes are naturally pretty strongly curved.

I'd definitely recommend this product. Started using it about four years ago and have occasionally splurged on other mascaras, only to revert back to this one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DollyBoots on 12/7/2012 9:02:00 PM more reviews by DollyBoots

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have 2 bottles of this and a spare, I love it(: hehe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 12/7/2012 8:47:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Can't understand the good reviews for this product. For me, this holds no curl AND smudges like mad!
I have no problem with regular non-waterproof mascaras holding a curl, but this one just does not. Ten minutes in and my lashes are poker straight. Not the desired or expected effect from a waterproof mascara!
If that wasn't enough, it smudges, so that the first time I've used it, by the time I got to work, I had grey shadows under my eyes. I thought hey, maybe it was a one off, so tried it again a few more times - same result! Again, not what I'd expect from a waterproof mascara, especially since the only reason I use a waterproof one is because now that it's winter my eyes are a bit runny from the wind when I'm outside, so I don't want to end up with mascara under my eyes.
As for volume and length... it does give some volume, but it seems more natural to me, rather than full lashes, and I can't see much effect in terms of length. It also isn't as black as I'd like it.
Disappointing product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products