MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertwaya on 7/27/2011 10:27:00 PM more reviews by desertwaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color! I was afraid it was going to be orangey on me because of the reviews but oddly enough its red, just..red. But its a great shade of red (like the pic) & i'll deff buy more of this shade!
Edit: ok so im not so in love with it now. Its ok but theres other reds i like more than this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ninanina on 6/28/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have no idea what lipstick is on the lips in the above picture but it
is not the Lady Bug that I bought. Mine is a sheer mixture of tomato
and blue making it an almost perfect red for any skin tone. I am NW25
with a little tan and it really looks lovely for the summer. If I were a bit
more pale I'm sure it would look a little clownish. I would say the above pic is not at all like Lady Bug. JMO. I won't repurchase it because ideally I like a little more blue in my red l/s...something that MAC falls short on, at least in the lustre family
Edit: I'm stuck with this but I find I don't like it. Too brown, too orange, not enough blue. I'm not sure who this would look good on. It's a bit "matronly" something my aunt wore when I was a kid and I didn't like it then either. .

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugamonkey on 6/23/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by sugamonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful glossy slightly deep red-like a ripe tomato with no orange. Very wearable red that doesnt scream RED. I'm light to medium Asian w yellow undertones. Brightens up my face and whitens my teeth. Since it's a lustre formula, it goes on more sheer but you can build it up for more color. I think it would be great year round. I wouldn't repurchase because I don't wear red lips often and this will last me a long time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gemski107 on 5/14/2011 4:02:00 PM more reviews by gemski107

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

My favourite red lipstick :-)
I wear red lipstick a lot and this is by far my favourite...fantastic colour, the right amount of gloss and lasts all night. In fact it's staying power is so good that my lips can still be stained the next morning!!
The colour is a little less blue than other red Mac lipsticks, I'm blonde and NW30, but I can imagine that this colour would suit most people.
Amazing, couldn't recommend more highly!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gazelma on 5/2/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by gazelma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nice shade of red, not too blue-based like Ruby Woo or Russian Red. It's got an easy, applicable creamy formula. It's not too aggressive of a red either. Only downside is that it comes off easily and this is one of the first lipsticks to irritate my lips a bit. (Like a dry sensation?) But for colour payoff, absolutely beautiful.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misti_parrott on 4/18/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by misti_parrott

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely red lipstick, it's good if you want a red that gets you noticed but isn't quite as show stopping as lady danger.
You do have to build up the colour a little but definitely one of the best red's I've tried :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 contrariwhys on 4/2/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by contrariwhys

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wonderful soft classic red lipstick. I've tried many drugstore red lippies and they always either faded way too fast or didn't suit my skin tone. I have pale skin with a slight yellow undertone and this red works perfectly for me. The sheerness also keeps it from looking too harsh and makes it look more natural as it fades throughout the day.
I'm ashamed to say this as I'm a makeup junkie but this is my first MAC purchase. I will definitely be buying more from them.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MoonUnit91 on 3/20/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by MoonUnit91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my first true red lipstick: I bought it because I didn't want to begin wearing lipstick with a deep matte lippy in case I didn't like it! I have owned cheap pink lipsticks before, but not a nice red one :-)

The product: it's a really nice shade of red- it suits my skin perfectly. Personally I can't imagine it NOT suiting anyone as it is slightly sheer and you can build up the colour (everyone from my little sister, who's really tanned, to my palest friends liked it). It feels like a really smooth consistency and I have no problems applying it. The SA recommended it because it's a nice "beginners red" lipstick.
How I apply it: I use a lip brush (I can't say which brand in particular sorry as it's a cheapie) and swipe it on, keeping the borders neat. During the day this doesn't look too dramatic; the colour is bright but still slightly sheer. If I need to make it stand out a little more I will either use the brush and apply some more layers, or I will apply it straight from the tube. A thick coating of this does achieve a really nice dramatic red colour, without looking clownish or over the top. It does last quite a long time: my lips will stay red for hours but the intensity will fade quite rapidly- you do need to reapply quite frequently (every 1-2 hours) if you wish to maintain a bold colour.
Other things to note: I've had it for a little under a year now and there is still more than half the tube left - I've heard you should dispose of lipsticks every 6 months but there is absolutely nothing wrong with the product: it still looks fine, smells fine, and applies well. If you wore it every day, or used it heavily I could see it running out quicker.
Overall, I really love this lipstick because it is so versatile - I like wearing a really thin coat during the day, and if I wont have time to go home before a night out I carry it in my bag. I gave it a 5 because even though it doesn't last as long as other lipsticks it still wears amazingly, and since it's a little sheerer it's not meant to be long lasting anyway! When I run out I will repurchase, however I would like to try some really bold matter lipsticks in the future :-)

Also, this product is what made me fall in love with MAC!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rocksmom on 2/2/2011 5:05:00 PM more reviews by rocksmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this today along with See Shear (which I also wrote a review for). I applied it first from the tube and it went on pretty rich. That was a bit much for me since I'm used to wearing a gloss so I ended up applying it with a brush in a very sheer coat. The color looked much better against my fair, neutral skin than blue-based reds do. I actually like it, but it's definitely going to take some getting used. I know I'm going to be self conscious the first few times I wear it, BUT I do see myself wearing it. I've been wanting a red for some time and have tried another lipstick as well as a few glosses and none of them looked right at all. I'll definitely be sticking with Lady Bug.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gotlipstick on 1/25/2011 10:10:00 PM more reviews by gotlipstick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased Lady Bug today after my interest was sparked reading reviews on MA. I recently purchased Chili from years of being away from red lips, and I absolutely love Chili, finish, color and all. With that said, and loving a warm matte red, I do think there is a freshness about Lady Bug. Since it's a Lustre and not a lot of texture the sheen it has makes it amazing; if it was say an Amplied formula it just wouldn't be the same for me. I'd say as a rule; matte/full texture opaque & shiny/sheer texture works for reds.....that just IMO. It has a less serious look for day than Chili when you want that fresh look. I think going into spring this will be beautiful. I used Hover liner with it today at the counter which looked nice, as you definitelty need to line with this. The color has enough of a warm yellow undertone to flatter my NC25 complexion. Who would have ever thought I'd find the "need" for another red lippie.....I just love when our little indulgences are justified. Especially if a full texture matte red seems too much for you give this beautiful color a try, it's a safe way of easing into red this season. I think it would compliment most skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products