Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mceja29 on 11/2/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by mceja29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

From the first time I used this product I completely fell in love with it. I have super oily skin and nothing ever helped combat that problem, until I tried this product. I love how it works under make-up; although I would start to see some shine after a couple hours, it was never to the extent that it would with other products. Because of its price I was using it only when I put on make-up, which is occasionally. HOWEVER, about a month ago I started using it on a daily basis. BAD IDEA!!! It clogged my pores and broke me out really bad on my cheeks and forehead. On top of visible red pimples, I started to get those tiny under-the-skin blemishes. WHICH I NEVER HAD! I was so frustrated beacuse not only were they visible even through my make-up, but my face felt so rough! It took me a while to figure out that it was this product because I had started using other new products around the same time. I started removing the products one by one from my skin regimen and nothing seemed to change. Finally, this week I decided to stop using this mattifier and my skin is finally starting to get a bit better. I am so disappointed because it does such a good job with my oiliness. But I'd rather have oily skin than bumps on my face!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliet7781 on 10/3/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by Juliet7781

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for about 4 months now. I don't really see any reduction in shine and still need to blot about the same number of times per day. I will not repurchase when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RedLipsCatEyes on 10/2/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by RedLipsCatEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This felt more like a regular moisturizer than a mattifyer. My skin ended up shinier than normal by mid day. I haven't experienced that oiliness since switching away from this product - even with the use of pure oils and heavier moisturizers. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alicia14787 on 9/19/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by alicia14787

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I was hopeful this would be the answer to my oily skin prayers.....unfortunately it wasn't. I got a sample of this from Sephora, it lasted me approx 5 days, so I feel that I gave this a good try. It's a mattifier, it should work right away, right? My face would be matte right away, however about 2 hours later I was an oily mess as I usually am about 2 hours after applying my makeup. Essentially it made no difference. For the price, this product should AT LEAST keep me matte for a few hours. I highly advise anyone to try a sample before buying, based on reviews it seems to work for some people but not all. So make sure you try it before spending the $40.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kachan13 on 9/8/2012 1:30:00 AM more reviews by kachan13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Based on the amount of good reviews here, I decided to get a tester of the product. I was really excited because not a lot of products here on MUA are available in-store in Asian countries. The smell wasn't a big issue for me, as the elmer's glue scent just made me laugh (reminded me of childhood). But as much as I wanted to love this product, it just didn't work for my super oily skin after 1 week of usage.
PROs:
-has tea tree
-has SPF
-did not break me out
CONs:
-almost no oil-control (after 1 hour, oil was coming through; after 2-3 hours, I was a greaseball)
-did not work at all as a primer. I tried it with a bb cream on top but after a few hours I looked like a cakey oily mess and had to wipe everything off. I resorted to just using it with oil-control powder, but still no luck.

I guess it was really more of a hit-or-miss--it works for many people, just not for me. In the end, I gave it 2 lippies because of the pros, but on my skin it really didn't do what it claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elena1981 on 8/21/2012 10:09:00 AM more reviews by Elena1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is one of the best mattifiers Iíve used. I live in Malta where the weather is very hot in summer. Moreover, the humidity is high here. So for me it was really difficult to find a mattifier that would work for at least a couple of hours. But now I found what I had been looking for so long time.
This mattifier has a rich consistency but it is quickly absorbed into the skin. It moisturizes very well and at the same time it keeps the breakouts under control (I believe it is because of willow bark extract).
Don't expect your skin will look mat like after applying powder or foundation with mat finish.This mattifier gives a healthy glow (don't mix it up with oily shining). It controls oil production for almost the whole day. And another benefit is UVA/UVB protection - SPF15. It costed me 38 euro (for 50ml.) and I believe it will last for around 4 months. I love this product and I believe it's worth to give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yvetteyh on 8/7/2012 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Yvetteyh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I tried many moisturizer but this keep me from greasy after few hours. Although the t-zone is still quite shiny, it keep me from over-producing oil and blackhead is under controlled.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hemigirl on 7/25/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by hemigirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this product and was anxious to try it out based on several positive reviews on You Tube. I have super oily skin and have been on the search for a good mattifier/moisturizer.

This is a great product! I gave it a perfect 5 because nothing will ever really COMPLETELY "cure" oily skin and the shininess those of us with oily skin experience everyday BUT it did the best job of any product I have tried before. Literally, I didn't have to use a blotting paper until 5pm after a long day at work. That has NEVER happened to me! I usually blot 4-5 times a day using 3-4 blotting papers each time - YIKES THAT'S OILY!!!

This is a great moisturizer and mattifier - really gives a great balance of moisture and shine/oil control all day.

It is pricey but for those that experience oily skin everyday - it is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 swtxdreams on 7/24/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by swtxdreams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Product is not that greasy after application. However, high price and low SPF --cannot justify repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 7/17/2012 1:46:00 PM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really really love this moisturizer and I miss using it :(! The reason why I say I miss it is because although I love the effect this has on my skin, SPF 15 in the summer time is just way too low. Don't get me wrong, I give kudos to Murad for even coming out with a product for acne-prone skin that has SPF. Most acne products do not even bother with SPF. This was fine in the winter but now I am trying to look for an SPF of 30 or higher for this summer, especially since the year 2012 seems to be scorching and the sun feels so hot. At the age of 31, I am becoming more conscoius of aging skin. I want my skin to be in tip top shape with no wrinkles for as long as possible, but as all you acne-prone folks are well aware of, finding an SPF moisturizer that doesn't aggravate oily, clog proned skin is almost impossible. My skin was pretty good when I was using this. This is the first moisturizer I would say that actually is matte and keeps my skin matte throughout the day. Not saying it's 100% matte all day but rather than my skin getting oily and gross, my skin just becomes dewy in a pretty way. I did love to add a couple drops of jojoba oil with this though, I know it sounds strange to add oil to a product that's suppose to combat oil but most SPF moisturizers make me oiler than if I didn't use anything at all. Since this one doesn't, I was able to mix jojoba oil with this and I really like the combination together. Also, this just seemed to keep break outs at bay and really keep my skin smooth. Now that I have switched to a higher SPF, I have been struggling with breakouts and some bumpy texture, even with regular exfoliation. I think my exfoliation just isn't enough to combat the problems that the other SPF moisturizers are causing. I am really close to caving in and just saying F--- it and buy this again. I love pretty much everything about this but I just want to point out a couple things for people thinking about buying this. First off, the texture/smell is a bit weird but don't be turned off by it. It is really thick but don't relate that to being comedogenic, it's not. It sinks into your skin and does not feel heavy. Also, I think mixing it with the jojoba oil like I did helped thin it out. Second, the smell is a little strange, it reminds me of elmer's glue! And since this is wihte and texture is a bit thick, it looks like it too! But it's not sticky, not at all so give it a try. Lastly, the price is high for such a tiny bottle that's not even 2oz. When I was using this, the bottle lasted me maybe 3 months with once a day morning use. Yes there are some downsides to this product but it's all about weighing the pros and cons and seeing what is important to you. FYI-I wanted to add that my nightly routine was the same, I just changed my SPF in the morning. UPDATE: Shortly after writing this review, I decided I could not take it anymore and went back to this product. My skin was not looking good, it looked dry but oily even though I was using an SPF moisturizer, and it looked bumpy. Something about this product makes my skin look really even textured/smooth and luminous and I'm not just talking about while wearing this product. Even after washing my face, I notice a clarity and smoothness to my skin that I just don't get with other products. I don't know how it works but it works. Maybe I will just add a thin layer of higher SPF on top to get the protection I need? All I know is I will definitely be sticking to this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products