Murad Oil-Control Mattifier

4.0

162 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Ensulizole 1.0%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Zinc Oxide 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Corn Starch Modified, Butylene Glycol, Chitosan Ascorbate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone, Farnesyl Acetate, Panthenyl Triacetate, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Extract, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylancium Bark Extract, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Magnesium Carbonate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Dicaprylyl Ether, Niacinamide, Yeast Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chesnut) Seed Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Algae Extract, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Panthenol, Zinc Gluconate, Caffeine, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Biotin, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Propyl Gallate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin


on 11/18/2012 3:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have very oily skin and even when I use primer, my skin will take on that oily sheen. I asked my dermatologist what she would recommend, because I was tired of my makeup always looking bad coming off (let's face it, makeup isn't cheap). She recommeded Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. I left her office and went to Sephora. There, I got enough samples to last me 2 weeks. For 2 weeks, I tried the product and watched as my makeup started looking better after the makeup having been on for a while. I purchased a tube of it and haven't looked back. I have been using it for almost 2 years now and it still continues to be a fantastic product for me. I will say that I have to exfoliate my skin 2 times a week and use a deep pore mask every 2 weeks. This is pretty normal for me, but since using Murad, I find that I get just a smidge more junk out of my pores, but not much.

I would definitely recommed this product to anyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/17/2012 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

At first I hated this. It has a sticky glue-like consistency. But its fine once you get used to it. It's not super mattifying, that would be a stretch, but it also doesn't make me look all greasy and oily as other sunscreens. It works nicely as a primer too. Since its SPF 15 it is prefect for regular wear, but I prefer a higher SPF if I'm spending the entire day in the sun at the height of summer. So far, my favorite sunscreen, but I;m very tempted to try samples of other brands before I repurchase.


on 11/6/2012 11:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily/combo skin and this product didn't make a noticeable difference. It's thick and like a reviewer mentioned, has the consistency of Elmer's Glue. Neutrogena's shine-control primer works better for me.


on 11/2/2012 5:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

From the first time I used this product I completely fell in love with it. I have super oily skin and nothing ever helped combat that problem, until I tried this product. I love how it works under make-up; although I would start to see some shine after a couple hours, it was never to the extent that it would with other products. Because of its price I was using it only when I put on make-up, which is occasionally. HOWEVER, about a month ago I started using it on a daily basis. BAD IDEA!!! It clogged my pores and broke me out really bad on my cheeks and forehead. On top of visible red pimples, I started to get those tiny under-the-skin blemishes. WHICH I NEVER HAD! I was so frustrated beacuse not only were they visible even through my make-up, but my face felt so rough! It took me a while to figure out that it was this product because I had started using other new products around the same time. I started removing the products one by one from my skin regimen and nothing seemed to change. Finally, this week I decided to stop using this mattifier and my skin is finally starting to get a bit better. I am so disappointed because it does such a good job with my oiliness. But I'd rather have oily skin than bumps on my face!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2012 9:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I've used this for about 4 months now. I don't really see any reduction in shine and still need to blot about the same number of times per day. I will not repurchase when I run out.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This felt more like a regular moisturizer than a mattifyer. My skin ended up shinier than normal by mid day. I haven't experienced that oiliness since switching away from this product - even with the use of pure oils and heavier moisturizers. Will not repurchase.


on 9/19/2012 3:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was hopeful this would be the answer to my oily skin prayers.....unfortunately it wasn't. I got a sample of this from Sephora, it lasted me approx 5 days, so I feel that I gave this a good try. It's a mattifier, it should work right away, right? My face would be matte right away, however about 2 hours later I was an oily mess as I usually am about 2 hours after applying my makeup. Essentially it made no difference. For the price, this product should AT LEAST keep me matte for a few hours. I highly advise anyone to try a sample before buying, based on reviews it seems to work for some people but not all. So make sure you try it before spending the $40.


on 9/8/2012 1:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Based on the amount of good reviews here, I decided to get a tester of the product. I was really excited because not a lot of products here on MUA are available in-store in Asian countries. The smell wasn't a big issue for me, as the elmer's glue scent just made me laugh (reminded me of childhood). But as much as I wanted to love this product, it just didn't work for my super oily skin after 1 week of usage.
PROs:
-has tea tree
-has SPF
-did not break me out
CONs:
-almost no oil-control (after 1 hour, oil was coming through; after 2-3 hours, I was a greaseball)
-did not work at all as a primer. I tried it with a bb cream on top but after a few hours I looked like a cakey oily mess and had to wipe everything off. I resorted to just using it with oil-control powder, but still no luck.

I guess it was really more of a hit-or-miss--it works for many people, just not for me. In the end, I gave it 2 lippies because of the pros, but on my skin it really didn't do what it claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2012 10:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

It is one of the best mattifiers Iíve used. I live in Malta where the weather is very hot in summer. Moreover, the humidity is high here. So for me it was really difficult to find a mattifier that would work for at least a couple of hours. But now I found what I had been looking for so long time.
This mattifier has a rich consistency but it is quickly absorbed into the skin. It moisturizes very well and at the same time it keeps the breakouts under control (I believe it is because of willow bark extract).
Don't expect your skin will look mat like after applying powder or foundation with mat finish.This mattifier gives a healthy glow (don't mix it up with oily shining). It controls oil production for almost the whole day. And another benefit is UVA/UVB protection - SPF15. It costed me 38 euro (for 50ml.) and I believe it will last for around 4 months. I love this product and I believe it's worth to give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2012 9:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I tried many moisturizer but this keep me from greasy after few hours. Although the t-zone is still quite shiny, it keep me from over-producing oil and blackhead is under controlled.


Back to Top