Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(155 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kachan13 on 9/8/2012 1:30:00 AM more reviews by kachan13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Based on the amount of good reviews here, I decided to get a tester of the product. I was really excited because not a lot of products here on MUA are available in-store in Asian countries. The smell wasn't a big issue for me, as the elmer's glue scent just made me laugh (reminded me of childhood). But as much as I wanted to love this product, it just didn't work for my super oily skin after 1 week of usage.
PROs:
-has tea tree
-has SPF
-did not break me out
CONs:
-almost no oil-control (after 1 hour, oil was coming through; after 2-3 hours, I was a greaseball)
-did not work at all as a primer. I tried it with a bb cream on top but after a few hours I looked like a cakey oily mess and had to wipe everything off. I resorted to just using it with oil-control powder, but still no luck.

I guess it was really more of a hit-or-miss--it works for many people, just not for me. In the end, I gave it 2 lippies because of the pros, but on my skin it really didn't do what it claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elena1981 on 8/21/2012 10:09:00 AM more reviews by Elena1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is one of the best mattifiers Iíve used. I live in Malta where the weather is very hot in summer. Moreover, the humidity is high here. So for me it was really difficult to find a mattifier that would work for at least a couple of hours. But now I found what I had been looking for so long time.
This mattifier has a rich consistency but it is quickly absorbed into the skin. It moisturizes very well and at the same time it keeps the breakouts under control (I believe it is because of willow bark extract).
Don't expect your skin will look mat like after applying powder or foundation with mat finish.This mattifier gives a healthy glow (don't mix it up with oily shining). It controls oil production for almost the whole day. And another benefit is UVA/UVB protection - SPF15. It costed me 38 euro (for 50ml.) and I believe it will last for around 4 months. I love this product and I believe it's worth to give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yvetteyh on 8/7/2012 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Yvetteyh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I tried many moisturizer but this keep me from greasy after few hours. Although the t-zone is still quite shiny, it keep me from over-producing oil and blackhead is under controlled.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hemigirl on 7/25/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by hemigirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this product and was anxious to try it out based on several positive reviews on You Tube. I have super oily skin and have been on the search for a good mattifier/moisturizer.

This is a great product! I gave it a perfect 5 because nothing will ever really COMPLETELY "cure" oily skin and the shininess those of us with oily skin experience everyday BUT it did the best job of any product I have tried before. Literally, I didn't have to use a blotting paper until 5pm after a long day at work. That has NEVER happened to me! I usually blot 4-5 times a day using 3-4 blotting papers each time - YIKES THAT'S OILY!!!

This is a great moisturizer and mattifier - really gives a great balance of moisture and shine/oil control all day.

It is pricey but for those that experience oily skin everyday - it is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 swtxdreams on 7/24/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by swtxdreams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Product is not that greasy after application. However, high price and low SPF --cannot justify repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 7/17/2012 1:46:00 PM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really really love this moisturizer and I miss using it :(! The reason why I say I miss it is because although I love the effect this has on my skin, SPF 15 in the summer time is just way too low. Don't get me wrong, I give kudos to Murad for even coming out with a product for acne-prone skin that has SPF. Most acne products do not even bother with SPF. This was fine in the winter but now I am trying to look for an SPF of 30 or higher for this summer, especially since the year 2012 seems to be scorching and the sun feels so hot. At the age of 31, I am becoming more conscoius of aging skin. I want my skin to be in tip top shape with no wrinkles for as long as possible, but as all you acne-prone folks are well aware of, finding an SPF moisturizer that doesn't aggravate oily, clog proned skin is almost impossible. My skin was pretty good when I was using this. This is the first moisturizer I would say that actually is matte and keeps my skin matte throughout the day. Not saying it's 100% matte all day but rather than my skin getting oily and gross, my skin just becomes dewy in a pretty way. I did love to add a couple drops of jojoba oil with this though, I know it sounds strange to add oil to a product that's suppose to combat oil but most SPF moisturizers make me oiler than if I didn't use anything at all. Since this one doesn't, I was able to mix jojoba oil with this and I really like the combination together. Also, this just seemed to keep break outs at bay and really keep my skin smooth. Now that I have switched to a higher SPF, I have been struggling with breakouts and some bumpy texture, even with regular exfoliation. I think my exfoliation just isn't enough to combat the problems that the other SPF moisturizers are causing. I am really close to caving in and just saying F--- it and buy this again. I love pretty much everything about this but I just want to point out a couple things for people thinking about buying this. First off, the texture/smell is a bit weird but don't be turned off by it. It is really thick but don't relate that to being comedogenic, it's not. It sinks into your skin and does not feel heavy. Also, I think mixing it with the jojoba oil like I did helped thin it out. Second, the smell is a little strange, it reminds me of elmer's glue! And since this is wihte and texture is a bit thick, it looks like it too! But it's not sticky, not at all so give it a try. Lastly, the price is high for such a tiny bottle that's not even 2oz. When I was using this, the bottle lasted me maybe 3 months with once a day morning use. Yes there are some downsides to this product but it's all about weighing the pros and cons and seeing what is important to you. FYI-I wanted to add that my nightly routine was the same, I just changed my SPF in the morning. UPDATE: Shortly after writing this review, I decided I could not take it anymore and went back to this product. My skin was not looking good, it looked dry but oily even though I was using an SPF moisturizer, and it looked bumpy. Something about this product makes my skin look really even textured/smooth and luminous and I'm not just talking about while wearing this product. Even after washing my face, I notice a clarity and smoothness to my skin that I just don't get with other products. I don't know how it works but it works. Maybe I will just add a thin layer of higher SPF on top to get the protection I need? All I know is I will definitely be sticking to this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nreed222 on 7/13/2012 10:01:00 AM more reviews by nreed222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

HG Summer Day Moisturizer! I am so happy to have found this product!!! My Mineral Foundation still looks great after 8 hours when I use this murad moisturizer. The product does have a thick consistency, and is not the easiest to put on, but the results are totally worth it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 7/4/2012 8:22:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: controls oil.
Cons: SMELL and price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SummerChanel on 7/1/2012 4:03:00 AM more reviews by SummerChanel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great with the oil control. Usually by midday, if I press my face to a sheet of normal paper it will become translucent. No kidding. Even blotting papers don't work for me, because the oil just goes right through. Anyways with this product my skin still gets a little oily around the nose, but my cheeks and forehead stay matte and it looks healthy, not greasy. I like the citrus smell and it goes on pretty thick, almost like a powdery white paste. However I do feel that by the end of the day there are these tiny little colourless bumps on my cheeks and forehead that look like they are going to break out (and I don't wear makeup), but after a deep cleanse with my clarisonic it all goes away. Sooo maybe a little pore clogging but still an awesome product and it is the only "oil control" skincare product that really works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DragonRhia on 6/23/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by DragonRhia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff works! I have tried almost every under make-up primer out there and they have all failed by making my make up look like a clown mask. This product allows everything to go on smoothly and naturally. I use this under tinted moisturizer, Obagi sunscreen, and foundation.

PROS: only need a small quantity to cover face,scent does not linger, moisturizer is light, mattifier works very well, no break-outs after initial (see CONS), mattifying properties make make-up look natural, helps make-up last longer, SPF 15, gentle on my sensitive skin (I easily break out in a rash if something is harsh).

CONS: price is high for quantity, scent is a tea tree type scent (which is often unpleasant for many - but fades immediately after application), is a light moisturizer (if you are looking for something heavier you won't find it here), slight blemish break-out in very beginning ONLY, but went away immediately (this could have been due to me adding a new product or my hormones too! but I've used this for a month now and have not broken out at all since).

I highly recommend you try some sample packs of this first as it is SO EXPENSIVE. I did have an initial break-out of 3 small blemishes (I rarely get blemishes at all) and I stuck with the product through those 3 and my face has not broken out since. My skin is T-zone oily and I don't blot. I should have before I used this product but now since I'm using it I have noticed that I don't need to.

If you have tried lots of primers (with high hopes) and not liked their effects - this product might be what you are looking for.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products