Murad Oil-Control Mattifier

4.0

165 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Ensulizole 1.0%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Zinc Oxide 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Corn Starch Modified, Butylene Glycol, Chitosan Ascorbate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone, Farnesyl Acetate, Panthenyl Triacetate, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Extract, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylancium Bark Extract, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Magnesium Carbonate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Dicaprylyl Ether, Niacinamide, Yeast Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chesnut) Seed Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Algae Extract, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Panthenol, Zinc Gluconate, Caffeine, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Biotin, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Propyl Gallate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin


on 2/1/2013 11:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ooh great product, works well on me to control the oilies. (disclaimer: I have normal skin that tends to oil up only towards the end of the day) However I do not think that this is a good standalone moisturiser. Even though the instructions seem to imply that this can be used as a moisturiser, I feel that it is more of a mattifier. It is very "dry" and has no slip. Therefore, I apply another moisturiser beneath it and put this mattifier on as the last step of my skincare routine.

Less is more for this. I use only a little for my entire face. If I over apply, my skin will peel around my nose. The smell doesn't bother me and I do not find it strong. It dissipates pretty quickly, in less than a minute.

I like this so much that I have ditched my primers. I use this as a primer now. My foundation can last for more than 12h and still look decently fresh. (not perfect, of course but ok without touchups) In fact, I used a primer over it the other day (Benefit's Pore-fessional) and I thought that my skin was worse off as it turned even oilier than usual towards the end of the day.

I like Murad's products and I am slowly switching over even though they are expensive (and way marked up in my country) I would totally buy this again but I'm guessing this tube I have will last me for about a year :D

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 12/17/2012 4:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this online, since it's not available in my country, without trying it first based on its great reviews. I've been using this over my regular moisturizer every morning for the past 8 months as a mattifier and I can't say I am impressed with the results.. Apart from the strong smell many reviewers have mentioned I find myself blotting after 3-4 hours after using this.. I even tried using this alone as a moisturizer and I find it not so moisturizing not even during summer!! I don't see the point in bying this product again, it's not working for me, it's not cheap and it smells weird.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 2:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Besides heavy duty sunscreen and milk of magnesia, this has been the only product that can somewhat control my VERY oily skin. When I blot my face, I see in visible reduction in oil in the first 1-2 hours compared to bare skin. However, after the 1-2 hours has elapsed, my skin is back to its original oiliness and I see no difference in oil production after that. For those with combo to oily skin, this product can do the trick. But for those with VERY oily skin such as myself, I'm looking elsewhere.


on 11/18/2012 3:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have very oily skin and even when I use primer, my skin will take on that oily sheen. I asked my dermatologist what she would recommend, because I was tired of my makeup always looking bad coming off (let's face it, makeup isn't cheap). She recommeded Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. I left her office and went to Sephora. There, I got enough samples to last me 2 weeks. For 2 weeks, I tried the product and watched as my makeup started looking better after the makeup having been on for a while. I purchased a tube of it and haven't looked back. I have been using it for almost 2 years now and it still continues to be a fantastic product for me. I will say that I have to exfoliate my skin 2 times a week and use a deep pore mask every 2 weeks. This is pretty normal for me, but since using Murad, I find that I get just a smidge more junk out of my pores, but not much.

I would definitely recommed this product to anyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2012 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

At first I hated this. It has a sticky glue-like consistency. But its fine once you get used to it. It's not super mattifying, that would be a stretch, but it also doesn't make me look all greasy and oily as other sunscreens. It works nicely as a primer too. Since its SPF 15 it is prefect for regular wear, but I prefer a higher SPF if I'm spending the entire day in the sun at the height of summer. So far, my favorite sunscreen, but I;m very tempted to try samples of other brands before I repurchase.


on 11/6/2012 11:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily/combo skin and this product didn't make a noticeable difference. It's thick and like a reviewer mentioned, has the consistency of Elmer's Glue. Neutrogena's shine-control primer works better for me.


on 11/2/2012 5:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

From the first time I used this product I completely fell in love with it. I have super oily skin and nothing ever helped combat that problem, until I tried this product. I love how it works under make-up; although I would start to see some shine after a couple hours, it was never to the extent that it would with other products. Because of its price I was using it only when I put on make-up, which is occasionally. HOWEVER, about a month ago I started using it on a daily basis. BAD IDEA!!! It clogged my pores and broke me out really bad on my cheeks and forehead. On top of visible red pimples, I started to get those tiny under-the-skin blemishes. WHICH I NEVER HAD! I was so frustrated beacuse not only were they visible even through my make-up, but my face felt so rough! It took me a while to figure out that it was this product because I had started using other new products around the same time. I started removing the products one by one from my skin regimen and nothing seemed to change. Finally, this week I decided to stop using this mattifier and my skin is finally starting to get a bit better. I am so disappointed because it does such a good job with my oiliness. But I'd rather have oily skin than bumps on my face!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2012 9:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I've used this for about 4 months now. I don't really see any reduction in shine and still need to blot about the same number of times per day. I will not repurchase when I run out.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This felt more like a regular moisturizer than a mattifyer. My skin ended up shinier than normal by mid day. I haven't experienced that oiliness since switching away from this product - even with the use of pure oils and heavier moisturizers. Will not repurchase.


on 9/19/2012 3:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was hopeful this would be the answer to my oily skin prayers.....unfortunately it wasn't. I got a sample of this from Sephora, it lasted me approx 5 days, so I feel that I gave this a good try. It's a mattifier, it should work right away, right? My face would be matte right away, however about 2 hours later I was an oily mess as I usually am about 2 hours after applying my makeup. Essentially it made no difference. For the price, this product should AT LEAST keep me matte for a few hours. I highly advise anyone to try a sample before buying, based on reviews it seems to work for some people but not all. So make sure you try it before spending the $40.


Back to Top