MAC • Cremesheen - Shy Girl • Lipstick

rated 4.1(247 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 koreancutie on 12/8/2012 2:11:00 AM more reviews by koreancutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I recieved shy girl as my back to mac. When I first tried to use it I couldn't for the life of me get it to look right on my nc25-nc30 skin. It was this slightly orange nude mess, didn't look good at all. However my dior addict lipbalm if I go too heavy turns a very vibrant shade of pink and I've found layering shy girl over the dior addict lip balm turns into my perfect mlbb color. To up the ante even more I top with the dior lip maximizer and it's my favorite lip combo ever, full, glossy slightly pink lips. I said I'd purchase again, however I'm not an avid lipstick wearer so I don't see myself running out of this anytime soon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissmorleyx on 11/6/2012 4:48:00 PM more reviews by lissmorleyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this nude lipstick. Just so natural and creamy. A gorgeous texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melllm on 10/24/2012 8:45:00 PM more reviews by melllm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my favorites from MAC! Such a pretty pinky nude that looks appropriate in every setting. Pairs well with a variety of makeup looks too. Being a cremesheen, it does help to exfoliate your lips before application. Also, I find it looks better when applied with a brush (MAC's retractable 318 is my top pick). I do find myself reapplying after a few hours, but the chances of me finding a nude lippie to top this one are slim to none so I don't mind at all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 easturner on 10/18/2012 9:49:00 PM more reviews by easturner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'd describe this lipstick as a pinky nude, and for me, it is my perfect nude. I'm a fair/medium skin tone and most nudes wash me out and make me look dead. This is the closest shade to nude that I can get away with. It looks great with Florabundance lipglass over it too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/15/2012 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

Shy Girl looks like a light nude with a hint of peach on my very pigmented lips. It is a lighter shade, but not so light it needs a lip liner underneath, like Myth. It is still natural enough to wear during the day. One of the few nude lipsticks I have found that look natural without being too rose colored. I wish there was a lip liner in this color also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 10/11/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

shy girl was so sheer on my pigmented lips and had too much shimmer. it looked like i had on white shimmer lipstick. returned. for ref: NC42, asian, warm. 1 lippie for going on smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StrawberryCheeksForever on 10/9/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by StrawberryCheeksForever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick! I've been a lip gloss girl for like 15 years and this lipstick has single handedly brought me back to lipstick. It's a beautiful color on my NC-35 skin. I normally wear it with the Boldly Bare lip pencil and the mix makes my lips nude with a slightly pink tint. My lips are very pigmented so I do have to swipe 4-5 times for full coverage. Also, the wear is not very long - but for some reason nothing stays on my lips longer than a couple of hours. I got this in a bring back to MAC haul, but I will definitely re-buy this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElektraS on 8/16/2012 2:07:00 PM more reviews by ElektraS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this lipstick, the only problem I have is that it tends to wash me out a bit. (I am a NW15, BR10, mont blanc ). when my best friend that has a really dark olive skin tone tried it it looked SOOO beautiful on her, it just brought out her features and colours.
So, I think it is nice to wear when I have a self-tan on or maybe when I have a colouful purple eye but I think it will look even more amazing on you warme tone girls!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsEvaKumo on 7/31/2012 8:05:00 PM more reviews by MsEvaKumo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As a reference, I have light to medium skin with slightly yellow undertones. I'm an NC25 in MAC during the colder months and between NC25 and NC30 in the summer.


Shy Girl is one of my favorite nude lipsticks. It has muted peachy/coral undertones which suits my warm skin tone very well for everyday wear. This actually looks better on me than pinky-nude lipsticks, which tend to make me look corpse-like and washed out. The warmth in this lipstick shade isn't too overwhelming though and I think this would suit cool-toned skin types much better than other peachy toned nudes.


In terms of opaqueness, I find that this is not the most pigmented of the cremesheen lipsticks. However, the color still shows up on my naturally pigmented lips and it's a good lipstick for making my reddish lips appear toned down and more beige. I love wearing this underneath sheer lipglosses because it really does make the lipgloss color more apparent.


I know there is a lot of debate surrounding the cremesheen formula and I really do wish there was a more sanitary way of trying out lipsticks at the store before purchasing them. I personally like the cremesheen formula because I think they're easy to reapply and they feel moisturizing on my lips. I also love the finish; I much prefer its sexy, subtle sheen over the ridiculously shiny lipsticks that make me look like I'm drooling. =(


However, if you have not tried this formula, you might not enjoy this if you have wrinkled lips since the creaminess accentuates cracks and flakes. But if you don't have any deep set wrinkles in your lips, I think this formula is great at making the lips appear juicy and plump.


Application also isn't very even when I apply directly from the tube and I know some people complain about the formula's slipperiness. However, I personally don't have this problem when I use a lip brush. Also, I find that this formula works best over an EOS lip balm; from experience, I think the thick jelly-like lip balms like Rosebud Salve won't wear well underneath Shy Girl because they make creamy lipsticks slip more.


I'm giving this lipstick a 4 out of 5; while the formulation requires a tad bit more work and isn't universally liked, I really adore the color and I generally can work around the imperfect formula. I'm already on my 2nd tube and I am close to purchasing my 3rd, so there's no doubt that I love Shy Girl a lot!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu_atalltimes on 7/15/2012 9:02:00 PM more reviews by mu_atalltimes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I love this one to wear with a dark smokey eye look. Not overwhelming or too orange. Excellent shade of lipstick and a nice change from the nude pinks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products