John Frieda • Root Awakening Strength Restoring Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 veronaqueen on 6/29/2010 10:15:00 AM more reviews by veronaqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is fine and rather thin, but it's generally pretty hardy when it comes to withstanding product torture. This shampoo made my hair feel very weak and damaged, almost the same way it would feel if I dyed it and then used a stripper all in one day. I was constantly worried I was going to start losing my hair because of it. I didn't really notice any root lifting, either. At least I only paid $5 for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 6/1/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love mint scented shampoo and conditioners. I bought this at drugstore.com ~ they had a buy one shampoo and one conditioner and get $5.00 off. That was cheap enough for me to try this product, and pass it off on my DH if I didn't like it. I ended up liking the shampoo ~ the scent is GREAT.


The shampoo lathered well and rinsed out of my hair extensions quickly. I paid $4.50 on sale, and it's expensive at $6.50 retail based on the size of the product. My DH and I both have long hair and could easily go through this tube in a weeks' time. So, I may or may not purchase this product again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kalihi1976 on 5/28/2010 3:58:00 PM more reviews by kalihi1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like other reviews, I would purchase this product again for the fragrance. To me, it smells like chocolate mint.

Pros - fragrance & you don't have to use very much to get a good lather

Cons - doesn't make my hair feel really clean - it costs $5-$8 and the tube is small (it only lasted me a week, but my hair is really long) - the matching conditioner made my hair fall out A LOT

I'd purchase this shampoo again, but not the conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MsJuicyJ88 on 5/16/2010 9:38:00 PM more reviews by MsJuicyJ88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I didn't care much for the overwhelming Eucalyptus smell it gave off nor did i much like the product itself. I don't believe it did much for my hair but on the bright side it didn't do any harm either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Diamonds on 5/16/2010 9:17:00 PM more reviews by Diamonds

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Couple of things grab you right off the bat...

1) Root Awakening....sounds wonderful...gotta try! :0)
2) The smell...is AMAZING. Probably top two fragrances I've ever smelled in a shampoo/conditioner (and I have tried MANY) Spearmint type smell...very light and sugary/minty....if they made a fragrance, I would buy and buy and buy.

I have used this product several times. Do I think it works? The jury is out. I don't see a significant improvement over use (2 mos) The smell is heavenly though, so for a nice mediocre product with a great smell, I would repurchase for these reasons. Not a great endorsement, but most products aren't a holy grail and this one most likely won't be yours either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KiKiDisney on 5/16/2010 9:01:00 PM more reviews by KiKiDisney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this stuff on a whim because my hair was getting used to my old shampoo and conditioner and it was on sale so i bought it. I've been using this for like a month and i really like it. IT SMELLS SO GOOD!!!!!!! it smells like minty eucalyptus. It makes my roots really nice and it makes my hair feel nice and clean and fresh and organic. It made my hair really soft and just feel healthy. whenever i was my hair i get like a cooling and refreshing kind of feel to my hair and scalp. It's not the greatest if you have a lot of severe damage and breakage to your hair but if you have a little bit of damage and breakage then its fantastic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nykat on 5/2/2010 5:27:00 PM more reviews by nykat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for 2 weeks now (along with the conditioner) and I really like it. First because it smells wonderful and it actually "feels" like it's working b/c of the minty eucalyptus properties. It's a very light tingling sensation, not too strong or overwhelming. It lathers nice and rinses well. I noticed some of the other reviewers didn't like it b/c their hair didn't style as well. I only use the blow dryer to uh dry my hair;-) meaning not style with it, lol. Maybe that's the difference? I have lots of layers and don't use that much heat tools on my hair and this shampoo works great for me. Not 5 STAR worthy but definately will purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vanessacolen on 4/15/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by vanessacolen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this product too. But I don't. It wasn't cheap but $6 for shampoo was more than I would usually spend. It smells good..of light peppermint, and I love how it lathers but it doesn't clean well. Some shampoos I've used makes my hair soft and sometimes, I wouldn't need conditioner but you need one with this shampoo!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thebriggs on 4/11/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by thebriggs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this shampoo...I really did. John Frieda puts out a great anti-frizz line that I love.
I have difficult hair. It's fine and thin, but frizzy and curly. It's dry, damaged and overprocessed too. I thought this would help with the root lifting I wanted. I thought it would be a lightweight shampoo that wouldn't weigh my hair down. I thought wrong.

Pros:
It smells fantastic!
The packaging is handy and easy to use
It lathers well

Cons:
Dries my hair out
Doesn't seem to get my hair clean, so I lather, rinse and repeat...and repeat
There are no "root-awakening" properties (in fact it makes my hair lay flat on top of my head and move into the dreaded "triangle" towards my ends.
My hair is not stronger than before, its drier and breaks off more

I will go back to L'Oreal EverPure because it works so much better for my hair and it has NO sulfates like this product does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailuli on 4/1/2010 5:30:00 PM more reviews by bailuli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the Breakage Prone version of the Root Awakening shampoo (it has red/brown lettering near the bottom that says for Breakage Prone hair)

i have naturally very thin/fine asian black hair that tend to fall out like crazy. in the shower i would get a handful of hair fallout, and then even more as i come out of the shower and towel dry, and further shedding through the day. i've tried various different shampoo, including the expensive Nioxin. Nioxin worked well for me for about 5 months, at which point it's back to shedville. i nearly gave up.

until on a whim i picked up the John Frieda Root Awakening Strength Restoring Shampoo for Breakage Prone hair. It had a $1 off coupon attached so i grabbed both this and the conditioner. wasn't expecting much, but needed the cleaning anyway.

to my shock, this shampoo has not only helped me stop shedding every day, but even in shower (when my hair would fall out the most), fallout has completely slowed down! I apply the shampoo first, massage, and rinse. Then conditioner i only apply to the bottom half of my hair, rub/massage on, then rinse. hair still comes out, but not nearly as crazily as before. outside of the shower as well, shedding has slowed down a great deal. at one point i can lightly run my fingers through my hair, and at least 2 or 3 strands would come out. EVERY time i run my fingers through my hair. Now? Not any more! I could even tug on my hair a bit (as i'm detangling during the day at work and i'm bored), and it doesn't come out~

overall i'm incredibly amazed, especially since usually you can get this shampoo for $4-5. For places (like Safeway!) that still have the ones marked as "new" and comes with the$1 off coupon, i was able to nab this for only $4 ish. elsewhere the price ranges from 5-6, but that's nothign compared to $20 for a bottle of Nioxin.

I do go through the shampoo pretty quickly, but a single bottle of conditioner lasts me a long time. I go through them on a ratio of maybe 3-4 bottle of shampoo to a bottle of conditioner.

Overall i'm incredibly impressed and pleased with this particular series. for those who have major shedding issues, give this a try! I just hope it won't stop working for me (as most things tend to)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Shampoo products