Bobbi Brown • Skin Foundation SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.8(436 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 rc630 on 8/31/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by rc630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was a good color match for me (NC15-20) and had a lovely finish. However, I found this foundation to emphasize any flakes on my face, and not last very long, even with a setting powder. The liquid is quite thin and blends easily. It provides light coverage with a slightly dewy finish. I don't think this would be good for oily skin or dry skin however, it would be more suited to someone who wants to upgrade from a tinted moisturizer. The price is too high for my level of satisfaction, and I will not be repurchasing. I like that it has a pump, but it seems that the glass is either lined with a matching color or the foundation really sticks to it, because even when I was running out after about 6 months, the bottle looked completely full. I actually like to see where I am with a product so I know if I need to repurchase or start researching an alternative.

If you want light coverage with a natural finish and have normal skin, then this might be a good option for you. If you have skin issues, be it acne or dry skin, I would not recommend this foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 noriander on 8/27/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by noriander

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i am not sure why ladies are not saying anything about this foundation rubbing off on clothes.
i was so so embarassed while on a flight from JHB to Cape Town to realise that my white shirt, the color had changed colour to brown due this make up rubbing off on my clothes. its so expensive and i keep thinking they will change the formula somehow.
i am very disappointed with BB on this. i will not buy it again. dont get me wrong , the coverage is great and people have complemented me, only for the first two hours. after two hrs my skin looks so greasy.
i wish Bobbi actually takes these reviews into account.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 8/10/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I never really paid attention to this foundation because I always got the impression it was only for those who wanted the most natural look. Well, after looking through reviews, I realized that this did not necessarily mean the coverage couldn't be built up -- because it can. And then after trying the product, I realized that just because you can get adequate coverage doesn't mean you won't run into other problems -- because I did.

I'm NC20-25, very yellow. I picked up 2.5 warm sand. It is a good enough match. I feel like I've read that this shade is for NC25, but I'm lighter than NC25 and I can wear it fine. The only thing is that this shade is not yellow enough for me, but nothing ever is.

The consistency of this foundation is on the runny side and it blends very easily. While I did find it to be moisturizing, it definitely accentuated all my dry patches, which I did not expect. Also, the finish was rather disappointing. I'm not talking about whether it is dewy or matte (it is dewy), but in terms of how smooth and/or flawless my skin looked. Needless to say, it didn't look smooth or flawless. The foundation excelled at sinking into my pores and emphasizing all of my acne scars (the actual depressions, not hyperpigmentation). The latter issue was especially disappointing, as I've never really come across a foundation that was so unflattering when it came to my skin's textural issues. I even use a Beautyblender, which is pretty good when it comes to those problems.

In any case, though the product does not appear to be perfumed, I do notice a slight chemical-y scent.
As for coverage, you can go super sheer and natural, but also build for something close to medium (stubborn hyperpigmentation will require some concealer). I liked how this foundation looked very natural and skin-like in the beginnning, but the more you layer, the less natural the finish (like everything else). It was never cakey, which is nice, but the downside of layering, besides looking more made-up, is that you can look a bit fake. Especially with something like this, which I found to be a bit too moisturizing for me, building can make it feel like it is simply sitting on top of your skin. I am dehydrated oily and I think this foundation is just too much for my oilier side, as it felt a bit greasy and looked shiny. There's also the issue of making my acne scars look especially terrible.

I can't comment on oil control or lasting-power because I did take this off soon after I applied it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sari1212 on 8/8/2013 8:54:00 AM more reviews by sari1212

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. It's very light and build able. Like any foundation though... The better condition your skin is in, the nicer it will look. Exfoliate and moisturize prior to applying. I have acne scars that this doesn't completely cover, so I dab on a little concealer where needed. Looks so natural! I also use an FX foundation brush which I highly recommend. You'll only need one pump for your face and it applies gorgeously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 8/4/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After seeing that my local Sephora had started carrying Bobbi Brown products I couldn't help but want to try one of her foundations. I LOVE a natural, glowy finish so naturally I was attracted to the Skin foundation! And especially after hearing how much the pixiwoo sisters love it I just had to try it!

This foundation cost me $47 USD which is definitely pricey but I have been on the hunt for the perfect foundation and I was willing to spend the money to try a cult favorite.

The packaging is wonderful. It comes in a simple glass bottle with a pump that is easily controlled, which is good seeing as the product is so liquidy.

This is a VERY liquidy formula with no discernible scent to it. I usually used a dense flat top brush to apply it or my fingers if I was feeling lazy. The finish is very skin-like with just a bit of natural glow. I would say coverage-wise it is on the lighter side of medium coverage. It helped my acne scars appear less noticeable but it would not do for major flaws. I also found it didn't build very well, it tended to start looking greasy. But just one layer blended really well looked FABULOUS.

Unfortunately, that is where my love for this foundation ends. I have rather sensitive and acne-prone skin so I usually know by the end of the day if a foundation isn't going to work for me. I got home from wearing this after a short 5 hour shift and not only had it started to look patchy, but it had caused clusters of nasty breakouts to build on my forehead.

So, as beautiful a finish as this foundation gives my skin did NOT like it. So back to Sephora it went :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rina7 on 7/29/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Rina7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation for summer days when I just want to even out my skin tone and don't want to look like I'm wearing makeup. I have medium-light, Asian skin with yellow undertone and the Warm Beige is perfect. The sales rep at Sephora recommended just applying on places where I need to even out skin tone--on my cheeks and nose, mostly--and then blending it out. She was right; the finish is so natural that it's totally seamless.

Coverage is buildable from light to medium. The thin consistency makes it really easy to blend--and is surprising given the SPF content.

Be aware that it accentuates any dry/flaky patches, so exfoliation and proper moisturizing is key. It doesn't last all day, though primer and finishing powder help. But overall, a great product. I like this much better than MAC Face and Body, which has comparable coverage and texture but which rubs off/transfers like crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sydneythekidd on 7/25/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by sydneythekidd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Bobbi Brown's makeup for a plethora of reasons, and this foundation did not let me down, well, not for what it claims to do. Firstly, as with all of BB's shades, the color match is perfect. They tend to be yellow toned, which as Bobbi herself puts it looks more natural on everyone, cool, warm or neutral. I'd agree. For me, foundation should look like skin, just like this product promises and delivers. I have combination skin, that used to be dry. The older I've gotten the oilier I get throughout the day. If I want this foundation to really last the majority of the day (and I should clarify that imo, a foundation that only looks 'decent' at the end of the day has NOT lasted properly) I have to set it with a long-lasting powder, not just my NYX setting spray. Even then, it will show wear by the end of the day, especially if your day involves running around in a hot ass restaurant and sweating like swine. That being said, it wears away beautifully. Not splotchy which I loathe, but just fades naturally, making it looks even more natural and like skin. The packaging is stunning, and comes with a pump. I would recommend this to someone with dry-ish, normal, or *slightly* oily skin, unless you have a very low key day. Don't be scared to try this foundation. It's wonderful.
For reference, I have this in the color sand 2, though I haven't used it lately as I've been self-tanning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JAL1 on 7/23/2013 10:42:00 AM more reviews by JAL1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My favourite foundation, I keep going back to it. It's quite light, so probably not suitable for someone who wants/needs more coverage - it's quite sheer. I sometimes use a little extra concealer around my nose and to touch up during the day. But it's a foundation I'm very happy with, not too heavy, keeps my skin looking natural and fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Londongal33 on 6/28/2013 7:01:00 AM more reviews by Londongal33

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the worst make up I ever bought. It crumbles on the skin after application, with or without primer, the coverage is very low and uneven, and my acne prone skin breaks out 2-3 hours after application. I wish I could return it, but I bought in Sephora in NYC on a trip, but now back home in London.... :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mysticachai on 6/25/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by mysticachai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a light foundation that's between a tinted moisturizer and a moderate coverage foundation. I love it because it's goes on very natural and spreads evenly. I bought it as a cheap alternative to the Armani silk foundation, the texture of the two are very similar.
I mix it with my sunscreen as a part of my morning routine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Liquid products