Bobbi Brown • Skin Foundation SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.8(440 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 selins on 12/2/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by selins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

HG HG HG!!! Love love this foundation it does look naturall. Just great. But this has really sheer coverage so if you're onto something provides more coverage, this is not for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/23/2013 4:45:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Bobbi Brown SA tried this on me when I was shopping and wow -I'm impressed. This looks beautiful. I wear this in "Beige" which matches me perfectly - my skin is NC25 in MAC, very very yellow/olive and I find Bobbi Brown foundations to be the best matches colour-wise for my skin (and of course, MAC as well!). She gave me a large sample and I ended up coming back 2 weeks later for the bottle.

I don't need much coverage since my skin has cleared (thank you BHA) and usually don't wear any foundation at all. But I do like a tinted moisturiser or something light for work and going out just to look more polished. This glides on, super silky and sets to a nice satin-matte natural finish. The coverage is light to medium and can be sheered out, or built up with no issues, and doesn't look caked on. I use a light dusting of Lancome or MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in medium to set. I have no problems with transfer or greasiness and apply this over my moisturiser and sometimes L'oreal Magic Lumi Light-Infusing Primer. But whether I use primer or not I love the finish and it doesn't dry out my skin (sometimes my skin feels drier in some spots as the day goes on, oilier in others). I apply this in the morning at about 7am before work and blot once in the late afternoon (2-3pm, but my skin is not very oily, if you have oily skin you may want a more matte foundation or use powder throughout the day). When I touch my skin with this stuff on, it just feels like normal skin, no stickiness or tacky feel.


Overall - love it. Very natural finish, perfect yellow undertones, silky, blendable, buildable and looks good on my skin all day. I think this is perfect for combo skin, it doesn't cling to drier areas or look greasy either. Highly recommend - as always, ask for a sample first to see if it's a fit for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatalieJ on 9/28/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by NatalieJ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bobbi's colors are the best, and this is the ONLY reason I'm giving this two stars. This is very thin and light, covers fine. However, it slips and slides all over the place, and will not stay put. My cell phone screen was coated in foundation and utterly disgusting. I returned this one. I was a die-hard BB foundation girl, but no more. Colors can't be beat, but current formulations are terrible. I'm using Revlon Colorstay now and couldn't be happier! (Revlon Sand Beige is nearly identical to BB Beige 3 AND stays on my face.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollyando on 9/12/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by hollyando

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've used MAC Mineralize Satinfinish since it came out (NC15) and got a tester of this in Alabaster. I absolutely loved it, goes on brilliantly. I'm a bit oily and need a primer, this doesn't work for me with benefit's 15 hour primer as it goes dry and caked on but with No7 airbrush away or without any primer it goes on perfectly and stays on. This is definitely the best bobbi brown if you have slightly oily skin and a perfect replacement for the MAC Mineralize. I wouldn't be able to say if it's better but it seems to leave my skin a lot nicer and the colour match is a lot closer, it's perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rc630 on 8/31/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by rc630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was a good color match for me (NC15-20) and had a lovely finish. However, I found this foundation to emphasize any flakes on my face, and not last very long, even with a setting powder. The liquid is quite thin and blends easily. It provides light coverage with a slightly dewy finish. I don't think this would be good for oily skin or dry skin however, it would be more suited to someone who wants to upgrade from a tinted moisturizer. The price is too high for my level of satisfaction, and I will not be repurchasing. I like that it has a pump, but it seems that the glass is either lined with a matching color or the foundation really sticks to it, because even when I was running out after about 6 months, the bottle looked completely full. I actually like to see where I am with a product so I know if I need to repurchase or start researching an alternative.

If you want light coverage with a natural finish and have normal skin, then this might be a good option for you. If you have skin issues, be it acne or dry skin, I would not recommend this foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 noriander on 8/27/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by noriander

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i am not sure why ladies are not saying anything about this foundation rubbing off on clothes.
i was so so embarassed while on a flight from JHB to Cape Town to realise that my white shirt, the color had changed colour to brown due this make up rubbing off on my clothes. its so expensive and i keep thinking they will change the formula somehow.
i am very disappointed with BB on this. i will not buy it again. dont get me wrong , the coverage is great and people have complemented me, only for the first two hours. after two hrs my skin looks so greasy.
i wish Bobbi actually takes these reviews into account.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 8/10/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I never really paid attention to this foundation because I always got the impression it was only for those who wanted the most natural look. Well, after looking through reviews, I realized that this did not necessarily mean the coverage couldn't be built up -- because it can. And then after trying the product, I realized that just because you can get adequate coverage doesn't mean you won't run into other problems -- because I did.

I'm NC20-25, very yellow. I picked up 2.5 warm sand. It is a good enough match. I feel like I've read that this shade is for NC25, but I'm lighter than NC25 and I can wear it fine. The only thing is that this shade is not yellow enough for me, but nothing ever is.

The consistency of this foundation is on the runny side and it blends very easily. While I did find it to be moisturizing, it definitely accentuated all my dry patches, which I did not expect. Also, the finish was rather disappointing. I'm not talking about whether it is dewy or matte (it is dewy), but in terms of how smooth and/or flawless my skin looked. Needless to say, it didn't look smooth or flawless. The foundation excelled at sinking into my pores and emphasizing all of my acne scars (the actual depressions, not hyperpigmentation). The latter issue was especially disappointing, as I've never really come across a foundation that was so unflattering when it came to my skin's textural issues. I even use a Beautyblender, which is pretty good when it comes to those problems.

In any case, though the product does not appear to be perfumed, I do notice a slight chemical-y scent.
As for coverage, you can go super sheer and natural, but also build for something close to medium (stubborn hyperpigmentation will require some concealer). I liked how this foundation looked very natural and skin-like in the beginnning, but the more you layer, the less natural the finish (like everything else). It was never cakey, which is nice, but the downside of layering, besides looking more made-up, is that you can look a bit fake. Especially with something like this, which I found to be a bit too moisturizing for me, building can make it feel like it is simply sitting on top of your skin. I am dehydrated oily and I think this foundation is just too much for my oilier side, as it felt a bit greasy and looked shiny. There's also the issue of making my acne scars look especially terrible.

I can't comment on oil control or lasting-power because I did take this off soon after I applied it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sari1212 on 8/8/2013 8:54:00 AM more reviews by sari1212

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. It's very light and build able. Like any foundation though... The better condition your skin is in, the nicer it will look. Exfoliate and moisturize prior to applying. I have acne scars that this doesn't completely cover, so I dab on a little concealer where needed. Looks so natural! I also use an FX foundation brush which I highly recommend. You'll only need one pump for your face and it applies gorgeously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 8/4/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After seeing that my local Sephora had started carrying Bobbi Brown products I couldn't help but want to try one of her foundations. I LOVE a natural, glowy finish so naturally I was attracted to the Skin foundation! And especially after hearing how much the pixiwoo sisters love it I just had to try it!

This foundation cost me $47 USD which is definitely pricey but I have been on the hunt for the perfect foundation and I was willing to spend the money to try a cult favorite.

The packaging is wonderful. It comes in a simple glass bottle with a pump that is easily controlled, which is good seeing as the product is so liquidy.

This is a VERY liquidy formula with no discernible scent to it. I usually used a dense flat top brush to apply it or my fingers if I was feeling lazy. The finish is very skin-like with just a bit of natural glow. I would say coverage-wise it is on the lighter side of medium coverage. It helped my acne scars appear less noticeable but it would not do for major flaws. I also found it didn't build very well, it tended to start looking greasy. But just one layer blended really well looked FABULOUS.

Unfortunately, that is where my love for this foundation ends. I have rather sensitive and acne-prone skin so I usually know by the end of the day if a foundation isn't going to work for me. I got home from wearing this after a short 5 hour shift and not only had it started to look patchy, but it had caused clusters of nasty breakouts to build on my forehead.

So, as beautiful a finish as this foundation gives my skin did NOT like it. So back to Sephora it went :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rina7 on 7/29/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Rina7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation for summer days when I just want to even out my skin tone and don't want to look like I'm wearing makeup. I have medium-light, Asian skin with yellow undertone and the Warm Beige is perfect. The sales rep at Sephora recommended just applying on places where I need to even out skin tone--on my cheeks and nose, mostly--and then blending it out. She was right; the finish is so natural that it's totally seamless.

Coverage is buildable from light to medium. The thin consistency makes it really easy to blend--and is surprising given the SPF content.

Be aware that it accentuates any dry/flaky patches, so exfoliation and proper moisturizing is key. It doesn't last all day, though primer and finishing powder help. But overall, a great product. I like this much better than MAC Face and Body, which has comparable coverage and texture but which rubs off/transfers like crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Liquid products