MAC • Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack • Eyeliner

rated 3.1(241 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 LenaOfDC on 5/8/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by LenaOfDC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This eyeliner is easy to put on but it doesn't have good staying power. I find it melts off on my top eyelid near the inner corner so that within an hour I only have eyeliner on the outer half of my upper eyelid and a mess on the inner corner of my lower eyelid.

The color isn't that dark unless you do a few coats.

I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brielouise on 5/8/2012 8:32:00 AM more reviews by brielouise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I usually love pen-style liquid liners, for their ease and pigmentation in creating the perfect line and cat flick (when needed). Despite this being the first one I tried, it isn't my favourite, and there are a lot better out there. This liner always seems really dry to me, unless it dried out REALLY quickly, and whenever I tried it, it faded after 2 hours maximum. I didn't find the colour that intense either, not a true deep black. As far as pen liners go, I much prefer the Napoleon Perdis Neo Noir and Chanel's Ecriture de Chanel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 maloneyxo on 5/8/2012 5:31:00 AM more reviews by maloneyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product dries up very quickly and the colour is nowhere near as intense as implied in the name

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zendejasl on 5/7/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by zendejasl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I loveeee this eyeliner, but it dries up super quick, I only used it about 10 times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elizabetel on 5/6/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by elizabetel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love liquid eyeliners in general, especially in pen form, so you can imagine my excitement when I saw that MAC - a brand I was familiar and usually satisfied with - had one. I bought it immediately and boy, oh, boy what a disappointment!

Upon first application it was fine but didn't seem ''Rapidblack'' or very intense at all. The application was quite easy sure, but definitely not worth the price. It smudged within 2 hours and was a nightmare to take off.

In my opinion, if you are going to lash out and get a pen liquid eyeliner, the essence one which is dirt cheap compared to the MAC one will do wonders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 4/24/2012 7:23:00 AM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I can understand the negative reviews of this product, but I really like it despite its limitations. It's very easy to use and makes a nice, defined, hassle-free cat eye that I love. I like the pen application much better than using a brush or other more liquid eyeliners. For me though the problem is that the color fades so quickly. It has a striking black color when first applied that fades throughout the day. I use this every day, but what I end up doing is making a precise cat eye and then smudging it a little with one of Urban Decay's liners (I have the anniversary edition set which I LOVE). That way I get a little color as well as some added staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 OpinonA on 4/20/2012 12:26:00 AM more reviews by OpinonA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The fist time I put it on I loved it! But it seemed to dry out way too fast, I had to put it on from the side instead of the tip and I just dont think it's worth the $

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anishayunus on 4/10/2012 9:16:00 AM more reviews by anishayunus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unbelievable. I've been using liquid liners for more than three years now, and while at the MAC store the salesperson introduced me to this. He recommended this, as it is easier to apply (precision felt tip) instead of the normal messiness a liquid liner would give, plus a tiny bit cheaper. I decided to give it a try, but regret it till this date. Giving SGD 31 for this is worthless in my opinion, as an SGD 6.90 eyeliner did the job better. It never was liquidy, and the colour never came out dark. It always faded in 2-3 hours (without sweating or anything). And now the tip is dried, the product will only come out for like half of an eye, so obviously I don't use it. It dried up within 1 month of irregular use (not everyday, just a maximum of thrice a week). I was extremely disappointed as it was my first MAC, and now I'm scared to use MAC products because they're pricey and I fear it will let me down just like this one. Definitely not recommending nor rebuying!! And people, DO NOT BUY THIS!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 urangel143zz on 2/20/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by urangel143zz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very easy to use, but the quality is disappointing. I need to apply it multiple times to get the dark color desired. Iíve used cheap eyeliners that do a much better job. Also the tip dries out too fast. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 2/11/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is Liquid Eyeliner for Dummies. I used to use Clinique's liquid eyeliner, which is gorgeous and also quite easy to use after some practice but I still always needed a quick swipe with a cotton bud to get rid of little irregularities in my 'line'. The penultimate liner is basically a felt tip pen, like the ones you used to use in preschool. You can't really mess this up. The felt tip isn't quite as hard/solid/rigid as the ones I used when I was 5 but still sturdy enough for a clean line.

I have had this for over 6 months and use it almost every day, and it's still working perfectly. I saw in some of the reviews that people were saying it was drying out or not coming out really black anymore after a while, but for me that hasn't been the case. Just out of curiosity I also purchased the Shiseido pen liner, but that is a bit harder to apply properly as it is more of a tiny brush than a felt tip and also didn't stay on as long. The MAC one I can wear all day and it will stay put, but the Shiseido one had more or less come off when I came home and looked in the mirror.

Anyway for people with a steady hand and a knack for this sort of thing I still think the Clinique one is very nice, as unfortunately the MAC one only comes in black and not in dark brown or other softer colours. I'm quite dark myself so I don' mind, but if you're very fair this might be too harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products