Lancome • Dual Finish Versatile Powder Makeup • Powder

rated 3.9(395 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Taravolo on 3/4/2013 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Taravolo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. I have been using this for 5 years now after drugstore foundations no longer cut it for me. Your skin is so fun in your thirties...lol.. Anyway, this goes on like a matte finish. Does not cake and I feel like everything cakes on me. Does not sit in any of your fine lines. I feel like my skin is almost flawless. I have sensitive skin and I never break out from it. It also comes in a fragrance free which I usually get but I bought the fragranced one by mistake and I never had a problem.You can put it on wet or dry but I find when I have done the wet in the past the powder gets that shiny stuff on it and then eventually it starts breaking. The sponge applicator alone is to die for. I actually save all the ones from my previous compacts and wash them and save them for other stuff. Tip: Don't throw away the plastic cover thing that comes in it. Keep it to store your sponge so your compact doesn't get ruined from your dirty sponge. This is one thing in my makeup bag I cannot live without.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 algebra101 on 2/27/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by algebra101

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Very good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arenal on 2/27/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Arenal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this off and on for many years, and recently returned to it after receiving my color in a swap.

I am not sensitive to scent, so I've never noticed any particular fragrance in this product. I generally use mine as a setting powder, applying with an Eco-Tools powder brush. It gives a very natural and non-cakey appearance, and lasts all day. It gives me an airbrushed appearance.

Considering how long a compact lasts, the price is fairly reasonable. I think it's one of the best in the market.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MBROOKS425 on 2/20/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by MBROOKS425

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The texture of this powder was very nice, finely milled and felt good on the skin, but thats about it.. not worth the $32 price tag at all. I was not impressed with this powder, and returned it at Macy's. I was looking for a powder that had medium coverage, and this really didnt cover much at all. I also think I had the wrong color, a bit too orange-y, even though I was color matched at the counter. Overall, I felt like Maybelline Dream Matte powder covers just as much, and would set your foundation. Maybe not as finely milled, but a heck of a lot cheaper! If you are looking for an amazing HG powder, I recommend Jane Iredale pure pressed base powder with spf 20. That stuff is amazing, and my new holy grail. I dont even need foundation or hardly any concealer anymore- I just swirl that on top of my sunscreen (which I wear even though it has spf 20) and it makes your skin look airbrushed without looking like you have much on at all! The compact is expensive initially $55, but the refills are $40, or $33 on ebay.. and when it replaces your foundation, powder and cuts way back on concealer.. I feel like I save money that way! Check it out. Never breaks me out, and its just awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellyA77 on 12/28/2012 10:55:00 AM more reviews by KellyA77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG powder and I have been using it for years. I'm Matte Bisque II and in over five years have never had to change colors even though I go from moderately tan in the summer to quite pale in the winter. I have tried other powders such as Benefit's Hello Flawless!, MUFE, and Bare Minerals but always go back to Lancome (although if Lancome ever discontinues the Dual Finish, which I pray they don't, then the Hello Flawless! would be my next option).

The only thing I don't like about this product is the puffs they give you. I usually throw them out and just use a puff I get at the beauty supply store or use the Bare Mineral Handy Buki Brush to apply it.

Other than that I love this compact and will continue to use it as long as Lancome keeps selling it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zrwr00 on 12/28/2012 10:53:00 AM more reviews by zrwr00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product and use it daily. I have used it for a couple years now and it lasts a long time. If i could change one thing about the products packaging it would be the material the top lip is. It looks pretty but i find it scratches and looks junky really easily. I dont find the smell overwhelming as i have seen others report, or I'm used to it :P It is a good coverage for me as i have fair skin with few imperfections and it goes over really nicely on my Josie Maran foundation. deffinattley a re buy. It did seem expensive at first though, which is why i took off a lippie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElaineLuvsMakeup on 12/27/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by ElaineLuvsMakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is okay. I was looking for a replacement for my Rock and Republic powder which has been sadly depleted. I would like this product more if it didn't smell so much like an old lady. The powder didn't over or underwhelm me that much. The price is a bit more than a drugstore brand, but it hasn't done anything to really impress me. I will use this product up, but the old lady smell is preventing me from repurchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 seacolourr on 12/1/2012 5:11:00 PM more reviews by seacolourr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this powder. I was looking for a powder that would double as a setting and powder foundation if I wanted it to, this is it! My all time favorite is the Laura Mercier Pressed Mineral Powder, but the coverage in that is so full, if I use it to set my liquid foundation, my face looks really cakey. This powder eliminates that problem! I love it. It also keeps my combination/oily skin relatively matte all day, while still keeping my foundation in tact. Great great powder, with an amazing color selection, beautiful packaging, and versatile coverage.

The scent in this is SUPER strong, and really mature, but it usually goes away, and does not break me out like most Lancome face products do. I'd definitely recommend it if you're looking for a multipurpose face powder with a great color range!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mommala on 11/16/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by mommala

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Department stores are not carrying the fragrance free version of this anymore. I complained because I cannot stand the scent of the regular version and have used the fragrance free version for years, probably since it came out! The sales associate at a Major department store at the mall (can I not say which one?) ordered my fragrance free matte bisque II and it was sent to my home free of charge for the inconvenience. Love everything about it, the coverage, color, convenience and classy compact. Try it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 11/4/2012 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have it in Matte Porcelaine 1. It's a little bit light for my skin tone , but somehow it doesn't look chalky or ghostly. It gives light coverage, has matte velvet finish. Looks very natural on my skin. It lasted me for a year and I used it every single day. It's good for touch ups and shine control in summer.
I usually use it over my foundation. Sometimes when I don't have time I use it over my moisturizer , but only if I don't have breaks outs. It doesn't cake or crese.
I love the fragrance. I would say it smells like French powder( if you understand what I mean). Not overwheing, for me.
It comes with two sponges. One is a thin one for a sheer coverage, the other one is thicker for full coverage ( as I understood it). I use only the thin one, it's perfect for me.
The price may seem expensive (30 or 34), but it lasts long enough plus it's a good quality powder which delivers.
Overall I love it, but I like to experiment with make up that's is why I stopped using for the last two years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Powder products