Bourjois • Effet Liner Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.8(82 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmelodya on 4/6/2011 10:34:00 AM more reviews by missmelodya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

things i like about this mascara:

- it comes in brown, true brown.
- it really does give a liner effect and pulls certain eye looks together.
- it lengthens without getting clumpy (depending on how many layers you apply, of course)
- it looks fantastic and dries fast.
- the wand is really useful, wish more mascaras would follow suit with this particular design.

reasons why i don't like this mascara

- even the non waterproof formula is very difficult to remove. using eye-makeup remover doesn't help, if anything it pulls your lashes off. never experienced this with a mascara before.
- it's far more pricey than it deserves to be for what it does.

i'll probably buy this again as my max factor 2000 calorie is discontinued, but this will not remain a staple in my "essentials" by any means.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gracielet on 11/21/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by gracielet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! This mascara gives a beautiful look - I am very fair and the black is very dramatic, while the brown is beautiful and (to me) perfectly appropriate for daytime wear. I don't know where all those lashes came from. I am pretty uncoordinated but have not had any problem poking myself in the eye with the plastic brush - I actually love the brush because the hard plastic bristles really separate my lashes. I have not tried to get the "liner" effect although I do use the short side of the brush to coat my lashes first, then the long side to lengthen and separate. I think I'm getting a bit of the doe eyed look without "lining" my eyes just because all those lashes show up.
I did get some under eye smudging the first time I used it - maybe I didn't let it dry before closing my eyes, because since then no problems. I ordered the black in waterproof from ebay - it appears Bourjois will no longer be sold in the US????? I hope Bourjois will continue to make this mascara for a long long time. But they seem to discontinue things pretty quickly :-(

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovepigeon on 9/30/2010 7:31:00 AM more reviews by lovepigeon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara takes some work, when I first started using it I kept on poking myself in the eye and getting mascara on the inner rim of my eye but after about a week I got the hang of using the brush. Once you get the application technique right this look amazing and is totally worth the effort, it really does give a doe-eyed look and makes it look like you have loads of lashes. This is the most dramatic mascara I have ever found, it is not so much volumising but seems to define every lash and especially define the root of the lashes. It is really tricky to remove (but this also means it lasts well with no flaking / smudging) but I have found emur followed by oil cleanser does the job. For me this will be my going out mascara and I think I will even use it on my wedding day it looks that good. For everyday I use volume glamour ultra care as it is a lot gentler on my lashes and easy to remove. If you've had success with other bourjois mascaras give this one a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovechocolat on 8/9/2010 9:39:00 PM more reviews by ilovechocolat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought the waterproof version, so that's what the review is for. It's AMAZING. The most leghtening mascara i have ever tried, it's really dramatic. It's also extremely dark, very very black, and makes my eyelashes pop like no other. It's not exactly volumising, but separates eyelashes decently. Not only does it hold up a curl, it can actually curl your eyelashes. Oh yeah.
When it's comes to waterproof perfomance, once it dries it doesn't go anywhere until you remove it. I've worn it at the beach, been half an hour on the ocean and rubbed the water off my eyes several times, and it didn't smudge one bit.
The wand is a nice concept, however i sometimes poke myself in the eye with it and that had never happened with other mascaras.
Still, one of the best mascaras i have ever tried.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 starallen on 7/20/2010 8:32:00 AM more reviews by starallen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

At first I was intrigued by the dual brush concept, which in theory provides length and volume... when I tried it out at home I was not impressed. One side of the brush has tiny soft rubbery nubs, the other long and spiky bristles. The side with the little nubs was useless as the bristles were too small to be effective, basically like rubbing your lashes with smooth rubber coated in mascara. The side with the long bristles was incredibly poky, you couldn't apply the mascara without poking yourself many times in the eye and/or eyelid! Besides being painful, the bristles were spaced so far apart that it did pretty much nothing.

If the brush weren't bad enough, the formula was one of the worst I'd ever tried. Flakey, clumpy, smudges five minutes after you put it on and stung my eyes like a mother. I purchased this instead of my usual Lancome Fatale mascara because I was broke and hoping to save a buck. What a waste of money! Should have just stuck with what worked. Don't buy this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iLikeYourRonnie on 7/5/2010 2:08:00 PM more reviews by iLikeYourRonnie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

this product was average but i think that really depends what you are looking for.
>LENGTHENS! wow! it really will lengthen your lashes
>does provide ''liner''effect but only to a certain extent. i think the effect occurs because it doesnt volumise lashes, therefore creating a kind of line behind your lashes (does that make sense?). its not really noticable, though, so if that is specifically what you are looking for, you may be disapointed
>as stated above, it WILL NOT VOLUMISE
>the brush is really, really thin! this makes it kinda hard to apply but i think it helps to lengthen the lashes
>it dries kinda slowly (1-2 mins) but it doesnt smudge at all once dried (unless wet obv) so thats good i think
i am kinda undecided about this mascara. when i bought it i was really disapointed but i have decided to wear it with a volumising mascara, thus benefiting from the lengthening effects of this mascara aswell. i dont necessarily recommend this mascara because it only lengthens and doesnt volumise but if you are looking for a solely lengthening mascara, go for it. the liner effect is, as stated above, barely noticable but quite nice in a VERY subtle way. definitely try it on in the shop before buying to see how the thin applicator works for you and to see if you like the effect-its not for everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mdburcuyilmaz on 6/8/2010 9:16:00 PM more reviews by mdburcuyilmaz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Cheap and gives a clean definition and seperates lashes.Gives NO volume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pn0427 on 5/24/2010 10:02:00 AM more reviews by pn0427

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Here's the 411 on my lashes first:
They're extremely thick and pretty long (I'll upload pictures the next time I wear this mascara), so if I use Effet Liner, I skip curling them because then it's just unnecessary DRAMA! (Though some people absolutely adore the false lash effect--I'm not a fan).

Pros:
Effet Liner lives up to its name: my eyes look so much more defined and lined with just one coat of this stuff! Also, the formula is liquidy, yet it coats the lashes very thickly, owing to the strangely engineered brush.. but it's a HUGE plus for those with sparse lashes. As in, I think this might be the GO TO mascara if your lashes are not as thick as you'd like them to be (sometimes stress can thin them out temporarily..as well as poor nutrition etc). This mascara CURLS super dramatically, so if you have long lashes, SKIP the curler!! SERIOUSLY!! Or you'll look like you're wearing falsies (unless that's what you want in the first place)

Cons:
I don't wear this during the day because of the dramatic nature of this mascara. It is a heavyduty number, people!! SERIOUSLY!! It CURLS, THICKENS, LENGTHENS and DARKENS your lashes so intensely, I'd recommend this to mascara-lovers everywhere. I personally said I wouldn't buy it again ONLY because I just can't handle the heavyduty drama this mascara provides.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 piratefemme on 5/21/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by piratefemme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

rather heavy handed mascara... but the brush is "adustable" - you use the shorter side for thicker coat and the longer side for more natural lash (though far from natural looking, other products much better). I only use it when I go out clubbing as it goes on quite thick. Doesn't clump though, which is a nice attribute.

But there are other, better, mascaras out there.

Did like the packaging though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoomusicgrrrl on 5/9/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by zoomusicgrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hit and miss. Tried it and hated it. Tried it again and...no I didn't love it, but it looked okay.
Pros: very fluid texture so it doesn't clump; separates the lashes rather than squidging them together into spikes (so, good if you like a natural look); easy to find in UK (available in any Boots or Superdrug)
Cons: fluid texture means that it spatters on the lid - very messy; doesn't give me the dramatic look I go for.
I'm going to use this on 'no makeup days' to give a little definition to my blonde-tipped lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Mascara products