E.L.F. • Mineral Booster • Loose Powders

rated 4.1(96 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Leiara on 7/15/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by Leiara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great!

I have it in Sheer, which could be more sheer anyway, I was expecting a more translucent powder and this has a slight colour; but it works great. I have combination to oily skin and it tends to get very oily 1 or 2 hours after I apply make up. With Mineral Booster, my face gets oily only after 5-6 hours and this is a success. It doesn't look cakey, and I apply it again once my face becomes oily. It definitely makes my face look more complete and even, pores less visible. I have a few acne scars on my cheeks that the foundation is not able to cover, and Booster makes them less noticable and my overall look undoubtedly softer. And closer to a flawless finish.

I tried applying it with a powder brush but, of course, kabuki brush works the best.

I'll definitely buy it again -if I can ever see the bottom of the huge jar :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HazyDayz on 7/11/2011 5:56:00 PM more reviews by HazyDayz

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This review is for the original sheer Mineral Booster. It always disappoints me when I see positive reviews on this product because it makes me wonder why mine is different. When I used this product I started noticing how sunburned my face looked. I didn't use a lot just a light buffing of booster with my kabuki. But everytime I looked pinkish red. Finally I took a paper towel to wipe it off and noticed that even on the paper towel the color was a pinkish red. I then wiped just booster on the back of my hand and sure enough it was that same sunburned color. That color is not flattering when you are light in color. Besides the horrible color it does nothing to boost up your makeup or mattify your face. I found it to be an unnecessary step with an unnecessary color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blahblahh on 6/21/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by blahblahh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've no idea what it really does for my appearance. Yes it has mattifying effect, but I've tried better stuff to keep me matte. No coverage and no 'boosting' that I notice. Simply put it works very well as finishing powder / setting powder on top of a good foundation. Can't use this on its own unless you have really, really good skin. Would I repurchase? Yes, I can't resist the price and the quantity. It's just I don't understand the difference between "mineral booster" and "normal loose powder".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dvdfjojo on 5/29/2011 12:39:00 PM more reviews by dvdfjojo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bought this as I needed something to 'set' my liquid foundation and it seems to do that job well but not much else.

It doesn't really give a sheen or finish other than to mattify my look which I'm not overly keen on as I have dry skin and don't want my foundation to look dry after I've spent so long searching for the perfect 'dewy'.

So still on the lookout for a good setting powder that's translucent and keeps the sheen of my foundation or actually improves the overall look of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Paloma16 on 5/28/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Paloma16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

TOO SHIMMERY!

Put this on and looked like a bad impersonation of Edward Cullen.
Wah.
It went so nicely though!, but that's when the love for this product ended.
Will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sanzibar on 5/3/2011 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Sanzibar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in the large sheer. It is not quite as translucent as I expected. There is a definite slight pinkish tint but it works with my skin tone. The powder is finely milled with a light texture which blends easily over my skin. I've used it over mineral make up and liquid foundation to set my make-up with good results. I've even buffed it on just over primer to give my face a soft, finished look when I'm in a hurry. I use it nearly every day.

While the coverage is very light it does give a little 'boost' to my skin. I've tried several items in E.L.F.'s mineral line but this one is by far the best. The packaging is good and it fits the kabuki brush easily. Recently, I was told I'd been looking good lately, that my skin seemed to glow. I won't give the Mineral Booster all the credit but it definitely isn't hurting my look at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BarelyBitten on 4/17/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by BarelyBitten

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this. I don't love it. It's good - nice for setting your makeup, it makes your skin feel baby smooth and mattens perfectly. I got it in Sheer, which is a light pink-white-ish colour that is almost translucent on the face. I say almost, because if I take a little too much it makes me look pale and weird. I bought it in the large size, and you get TONS of product for a good prize. I can't really think of anything really bad about this product, except that it might not be that good for people with darker skin tones, at least not in sheer. I have some problems with the packaging, with is a screw lid thing, and sometimes it's a little hard to get on and sometimes it's stuck and I can't get it off. Well, that's pretty much it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladymoonlight on 3/24/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by ladymoonlight

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I've got this in sheer and shimmer. These are nice setting powders, the sheer one is quite invisible (which is good), and the large container is very handy and matches ELF studio kabuki brush perfectly. I also like the shimmer one. It's by no means glittery, makes your skin glow. The container is a bit small fore my liking, I would prefer to pay a bit more and have more comfort applying the product. But I use the mini bamboo kabuki to apply it and it works fine.
The only complaint I have about these products is that they make my skin feel a bit dry, but I bought them with the intention of using them during summer months, when my skin becomes much more oily so I guess they'll control oil pretty well then.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 2/19/2011 7:19:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in shimmer and the huge sheer one and I really like them.
.
Shimmer review: I wouldn't really call it "shimmer" it's more of a pearlescent kind of glow. Not sure how to describe it but oh well. Basically, don't go expecting huge bits of shimmer, the shimmer is TINY and I can barely even notice it, I really need to stare at my face to see it. Keeps me matte which is a must, my skin's so oily - if I wash my face, an hour afterwards I will be completely oily. So you can see my dilemma with oily skin. This is good though. Won't repurchase the shimmery one because you can get a large one in sheer which is much better value and when reapplying, the shimmer won't build up. Very finely milled.

I have to apply this very regularly to keep the shine down. Once I do that, the shimmer does build up and become more noticable. However, I won't be knocking a lippie off for that because it's due to my extremely oily skin that I have to repeatedly apply and most people won't have to deal with that.
.
Sheer: much better. I can apply this over and over and won't have to worry about the shimmer build up. It absorbs oil without making me look orange and cakey. It's really good for setting concealer and foundation too. If you buy this, it would help if you only open a few of the holes to avoid mess!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MzSiStarr on 2/15/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by MzSiStarr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this product but realistically I do not think I like it.

I do like that it makes my skin feel baby soft....

I like that you get a good amount of powder, it comes completely full whereas some loose powders seem like they come half empty.

I love the price

It doesn't sink into my fine lines under my eyes too badly but I've used better.

It controls my shine OK but then again I have dry skin, I'm not that oily to begin with.

...With that said the deal breaker for me is that I do not like the color of the powder. Its way too pink for my NC44 skin. Its weird cause yes it is translucent but I get a pink cast that totally brings the pink out of my foundation. Not Cute! I think I would like it a lot more if it were yellow-based, I've been hearing that the BMMV is yellow-based and I think I'm going to try that.

Overall I can only use this with a really light hand (to avoid looking like a piglet!) and I'm going to keep it because I use it on my mom who is a lot lighter than me. It works very well for her because she has natural pink undertones in her skin. But I won't repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Loose Powders products