E.L.F. Mineral Booster

4.1

97 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

2/14/15 E.L.F. Website Ingredients: Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Talc, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Retinyl Palmitate (Va), Panthenol (Vb), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vc), Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Sodium Dehydroacetate May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate is a skin protectant with anti-inflammatory properties. Zinc Stearate has been found to help treat acne, eczema, and other skin diseases. Magnesium Stearate reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Silica helps to improve skins elasticity and slow down the aging process. Tocopheryl Acetate is a powerful vitamin E antioxidant, possessing the ability to increase the moisturization as well as help protect skin against ultraviolet damage. Retinyl Palmitate is a Vitamin A derivative that helps to reverse signs of aging. Palmitate is known to normalize skin. It will help to keep skin soft and plump. Clinical results have shown that vitamin A palmitate significantly increased skin composition to increase collagen, DNA, skin thickness, and elasticity. Panthenol is a B complex vitamin, aiding in skin moisturization. END for 2/14/15 Ingredient List


on 7/18/2011 10:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not gonna start my review by saying: OMG this is an amazing product. I just like it. I got it because it looked like a good setting powder. I'm using this every day and I don't have any problems with it. It gives a nice sheer coverage and isn't cakey. I don't know if it is completely sheer, but it doesn't show up on my medium skintone. It may show up if you have a very light or dark skintone. It doesn't last very long, but I don't really mind. Because when I apply it in the morning my face looks nice ant matt, and during the day it gets this nice dewy finish that I really like.



on 7/15/2011 5:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is great!

I have it in Sheer, which could be more sheer anyway, I was expecting a more translucent powder and this has a slight colour; but it works great. I have combination to oily skin and it tends to get very oily 1 or 2 hours after I apply make up. With Mineral Booster, my face gets oily only after 5-6 hours and this is a success. It doesn't look cakey, and I apply it again once my face becomes oily. It definitely makes my face look more complete and even, pores less visible. I have a few acne scars on my cheeks that the foundation is not able to cover, and Booster makes them less noticable and my overall look undoubtedly softer. And closer to a flawless finish.

I tried applying it with a powder brush but, of course, kabuki brush works the best.

I'll definitely buy it again -if I can ever see the bottom of the huge jar :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2011 5:56:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This review is for the original sheer Mineral Booster. It always disappoints me when I see positive reviews on this product because it makes me wonder why mine is different. When I used this product I started noticing how sunburned my face looked. I didn't use a lot just a light buffing of booster with my kabuki. But everytime I looked pinkish red. Finally I took a paper towel to wipe it off and noticed that even on the paper towel the color was a pinkish red. I then wiped just booster on the back of my hand and sure enough it was that same sunburned color. That color is not flattering when you are light in color. Besides the horrible color it does nothing to boost up your makeup or mattify your face. I found it to be an unnecessary step with an unnecessary color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2011 9:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've no idea what it really does for my appearance. Yes it has mattifying effect, but I've tried better stuff to keep me matte. No coverage and no 'boosting' that I notice. Simply put it works very well as finishing powder / setting powder on top of a good foundation. Can't use this on its own unless you have really, really good skin. Would I repurchase? Yes, I can't resist the price and the quantity. It's just I don't understand the difference between "mineral booster" and "normal loose powder".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2011 12:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Bought this as I needed something to 'set' my liquid foundation and it seems to do that job well but not much else.

It doesn't really give a sheen or finish other than to mattify my look which I'm not overly keen on as I have dry skin and don't want my foundation to look dry after I've spent so long searching for the perfect 'dewy'.

So still on the lookout for a good setting powder that's translucent and keeps the sheen of my foundation or actually improves the overall look of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2011 1:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

TOO SHIMMERY!

Put this on and looked like a bad impersonation of Edward Cullen.
Wah.
It went so nicely though!, but that's when the love for this product ended.
Will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2011 8:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in the large sheer. It is not quite as translucent as I expected. There is a definite slight pinkish tint but it works with my skin tone. The powder is finely milled with a light texture which blends easily over my skin. I've used it over mineral make up and liquid foundation to set my make-up with good results. I've even buffed it on just over primer to give my face a soft, finished look when I'm in a hurry. I use it nearly every day.

While the coverage is very light it does give a little 'boost' to my skin. I've tried several items in E.L.F.'s mineral line but this one is by far the best. The packaging is good and it fits the kabuki brush easily. Recently, I was told I'd been looking good lately, that my skin seemed to glow. I won't give the Mineral Booster all the credit but it definitely isn't hurting my look at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2011 3:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like this. I don't love it. It's good - nice for setting your makeup, it makes your skin feel baby smooth and mattens perfectly. I got it in Sheer, which is a light pink-white-ish colour that is almost translucent on the face. I say almost, because if I take a little too much it makes me look pale and weird. I bought it in the large size, and you get TONS of product for a good prize. I can't really think of anything really bad about this product, except that it might not be that good for people with darker skin tones, at least not in sheer. I have some problems with the packaging, with is a screw lid thing, and sometimes it's a little hard to get on and sometimes it's stuck and I can't get it off. Well, that's pretty much it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2011 10:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've got this in sheer and shimmer. These are nice setting powders, the sheer one is quite invisible (which is good), and the large container is very handy and matches ELF studio kabuki brush perfectly. I also like the shimmer one. It's by no means glittery, makes your skin glow. The container is a bit small fore my liking, I would prefer to pay a bit more and have more comfort applying the product. But I use the mini bamboo kabuki to apply it and it works fine.
The only complaint I have about these products is that they make my skin feel a bit dry, but I bought them with the intention of using them during summer months, when my skin becomes much more oily so I guess they'll control oil pretty well then.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2011 7:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Got this in shimmer and the huge sheer one and I really like them.
.
Shimmer review: I wouldn't really call it "shimmer" it's more of a pearlescent kind of glow. Not sure how to describe it but oh well. Basically, don't go expecting huge bits of shimmer, the shimmer is TINY and I can barely even notice it, I really need to stare at my face to see it. Keeps me matte which is a must, my skin's so oily - if I wash my face, an hour afterwards I will be completely oily. So you can see my dilemma with oily skin. This is good though. Won't repurchase the shimmery one because you can get a large one in sheer which is much better value and when reapplying, the shimmer won't build up. Very finely milled.

I have to apply this very regularly to keep the shine down. Once I do that, the shimmer does build up and become more noticable. However, I won't be knocking a lippie off for that because it's due to my extremely oily skin that I have to repeatedly apply and most people won't have to deal with that.
.
Sheer: much better. I can apply this over and over and won't have to worry about the shimmer build up. It absorbs oil without making me look orange and cakey. It's really good for setting concealer and foundation too. If you buy this, it would help if you only open a few of the holes to avoid mess!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top