Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer SPF 15

3.8

346 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 4.20%, Titanium Dioxide 2.45%. Other Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polysilicone-11, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isosterate, Stearic Acid, Alumina


on 3/4/2015 10:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Glad I bought the travel size for $18 instead of wasting my money on the full size for 52 bucks! (Forget about wasting money on the jumbo size for $72!) I suggest trying a sample from Sephora first, if you even want to waste your time doing that.
I thought this product would be a great addition to my daily routine. I already use an SPF, so I figured I could get a primer with some added sun protection as a bonus.
The packaging is a thick frosted glass, which probably adds to the exorbitant price of this basic formula. One pump covered my face in a thin, even layer, but it was a watery mess to apply. As I was applying, my skin started to become flakey and dry. Clearly, my makeup did not apply well over these flakey patches. Titanium dioxide and zinc are drying anyway, and there isn't many moisturizing ingredients in this formula to make up for it. Stearic acid is present, but it can be clogging and irritating to many. Also, isododecane, which is meant to help liquidy formulas spread easily, is very drying and irritating on my skin. Isododecane is present in many silicone free moisturizers, primers, SPFs, and foundations. I can't use Skinceuticals Physical Fusion and Clinique DDMG because of it.
The white cast with this was too noticeable as well.
I recommend saving your money on this product. I'm sure there are great primers out there, but this is not one of them. It's disappointing too, since this is a silicone free primer that could have been helpful to those who avoid silicones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/4/2015 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Never thought I would love a primer as much as this primer... especially one that is so stupidly expensive. Really does make a significant difference to my makeup - gives a nice finish, foundation goes on smoother and wears noticeably better throughout a long workday. Loved it so much that I bought the jumbo version in the tube (83$ CAN for 2oz - seems like an outrageous price, but really is cheaper in the long run if you're dedicated to this primer, like me!)


on 3/2/2015 10:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this product from Sephora a long time ago and never tried it since I wasn't a primer girl then. I used this up so fast because it's amazing. I have dry skin and this smooths over my dry patches so foundation doesn't cling to them. It almost fills in my pores and lines too, making my foundation look less flat and one dimensional. Yes, it doesn't prolong foundation wear THAT much but this product is a life saver for us dry gals. It's WAY overpriced so I wouldn't spend the money on a new, full sized one. I will just admire from afar.


on 3/2/2015 5:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is nothing special. I don't really see what difference it makes. Prior to this I was using a more silicone based primer which made my foundation go on smoother with no streaks. This one has a watery texture and makes no difference to how your makeup applies which, for me, is the entire point of a primer. Not sure if it does anything for longevity either.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I received a sample of Hourglass' Veil Mineral Primer in my Mecca Cosmetica Beauty Loop box. I've never been one to use primers before, but this product may have just converted me.

Firstly, it has a satiny texture that glides over the skin to create a smooth canvas. The fluid itself is quite thin and a pearly translucent white colour. It has a slight mattifying effect, but also adds a hint of radiance. My makeup certainly looks smoother and I find that light reflects better over lumps and bumps - indeed like a veil. One lovely surprise was the fact that my highlighter and blush sit more beautifully on the skin after applying. These effects are not dramatic, rather, subtly noticeable.

I can only speak for the packaging of my sample, though I am very much considering buying a medium sized tube. It is a very small, transparent cylinder, with a little spatula applicator. Nothing remarkable, but hygienic and simple.

On Mecca cosmetica, the price of for 10 mls is $25, for 30 mls $69 and for 60 mls $96. Considering that a very small amout spreads easily all over my face, I think 30 mls is good value. A lovely buy especially for the warm summer months, if you find I suits your skin! I suggest asking for a sample first.


on 2/26/2015 6:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

A few months ago my skin became very oily, and as a result my makeup was splitting within a couple of hours (despite the formula or the use of setting powder). I choose this after the millions of rave reviews.

For the first few uses I was getting a split liquid, despite shaking the bottle until my arms fell off. Once it finally mixed itself, it is a silky white substance which goes on very easily. The problem is, it feels greasy to me. I have tried using my fingers, buffing it in with a brush...I just can't make it work. No matter how much I try it doesn't control oil. My make up still splits after a few hours, so whats the point?

USE: 1 full pump is definitely too much for me. It makes me look extremely matte, so I suggest you try half a pump first off.

PRICE: 54 GBP in the UK....for a 1oz primer. (Although I see Sephora have it priced at C$60.)

PACKAGING: A sleek glass bottle, although I have had it leak in a drawer once so I would say keep it stood upright. (It's too expensive to waste.)


on 2/26/2015 2:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Received a deluxe sample of this and it lasted me quite a while, actually. I did not like it. It left my skin feeling a bit greasy and really didn't differentiate itself from primers that cost much less.


on 2/26/2015 12:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Does nothing that you won't find in any other silicone primer. It didn't make my makeup last any longer than anything else I've used, but I will say I like the creamy texture this has. It feels more like a moisturizer than a primer.

It didn't help with my oily skin, and I don't think the SPF is high enough to do any real good.

For the price, it's definitely not worth it and I ended up having to return it after a couple of weeks. *sigh*

I would not repurchase.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've never really been the type of girl to spend loads of money on make up products, expensive face moisturizers etc but as I've gotten a tad older I've noticed my skin has changed a lot and it really does pay off to spend a bit more and try products until you get it right.. I've only ever used 1 primer and it was horrible so was put off I only used it for about 3 weeks and ditched the primer all together thinking that's what all primers did to your face, I had a change of heart recently and so I went on the hunt for some new primer and I told the SA that I wanted something that wasn't going to make my face shiny and greasy and she gave me a generous sample of this wonderful stuff!! It is so creamy and velvety and just delicious! The texture and the feel of the stuff is amazing but what it does for your face is even better, my make up stayed on all day and didn't turn greasy and shiny which it ALWAYS does, its made my foundation sit so much nicer on my face and this primer has made me feel like i'm barely even wearing make up because its so nice and light on your face.. I absolutely love this stuff and will definitely be re-purchasing and would recommend anyone or any skin type to try this stuff!


on 2/24/2015 1:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best foundation primer I have ever purchased or used. I have used/purchased primers by Bareminerals, Revlon, Laura Mercier, Clinique and Sally's. This one makes my skin look flawless. My pores all but disappear. It is very pricey. So, if you are thinking about buying, go to Sephora or another store and ask for a sample first. If after sampling it, you want to purchase it, opt for the largest bottle (tube). It is $72 but you get twice as much product as the 1 oz bottle that costs over $45. So, it makes more economic sense if you think you will continue to use the product. You will save almost $20 in the long run. IJS.


Back to Top