No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Baking Soda • Other

rated 4.1(482 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 1/21/2014 6:18:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh HELL NOO...I'm going to try and put into words the horrendous effects this product had on my skin and it's hard for me to comprehend the good reviews, maybe others have more resilient skin than I do.

About a year-and-a-half ago, my skin was at its worst: enlarged pores, blemishes throughout, and terrible cystic acne concentrated on my jawline/chin area. I decided to go the natural route although topicals have always been the solution for my skin type. I washed my face then applied this on my moistened skin and rubbed in gentle, circular motions once per week with disastrous results. Every time I used Baking Soda, a breakout seemed to follow, it clogged my pores beyond belief, and turned my sensitive skin beet red and itchy.

The result was flaky, inflamed skin with more acne and I attempted to use BS as a spot-mask for a last ditch effort, and I didn't notice any improvement in the tone of my skin. Ladies and gents, if you suffer from sensitive, acne-prone skin please proceed with caution before trying this! Imo it's the equivelent of rubbing sandpaper across your face--abrasive, harsh, and damaging. Look elsewhere! If 0 stars were an option, this would garner that rating as there's nothing positive I can say even though I hate writing poor reviews. SIGH..

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Montanalpope on 1/18/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Montanalpope

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very sensitive skin and I get occasional breakouts, but I tend to get blackheads that I can never seem to get rid of. I used baking soda and Dickinson's witch hazel and mix them together until a paste forms and then I put it on in the shower for about 3 minutes and then use circular motions to exfoliate but being very gentle at the same time! My skin wasn't dry after or anything and later that night when I took my makeup off my skin felt even better! However the next morning I did it again and it burnt my skin. My skin was stinging and it looked like I was sunburnt everywhere else but my eyes! So I just drank lots of water and didn't mess with my skin and the redness went away. Thank gosh! I would definitely only use this once-twice a week but not back to back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 motovama on 1/17/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by motovama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this as a facial and body exfoliator durring an entire summer. I was amazed by all the positive reviews posted on MUA and loved the idea of using a natural household product as an exfoliator. It took me an entire summer to figure out why I was getting huge, painful systic acne on my chin and on my back? After eliminating all possible factors I realized that it was BAKING SODA that was ravaging my skin. Stoped using it and my skin cleared out in a few months. Took forever for the scar marks to fade. Wow! Just a note to everyone: "natural" does't always equate "beneficial" A word of caution to everyone.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bdiddy86 on 1/17/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by bdiddy86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm African American with extremely oily, extremely sensitive and acne prone skin. Every exfoliant that I've ever tried, chemical and natural, breaks me out. I decided to try baking soda as my last effort in exfoliating my skin. I made it into a paste with water and applied, and immediately my face felt like it was on fire. I made it about 60 seconds seconds and then rinsed. The whole rinsing process was even painful. I'm not even sure if this product will work for me or not because I can't take the burning. Five minutes after rinsing and my face is still burning. I guess exfoliating of any kind is just not for me. I'll just stick to my Shea Moisture black soap and use baking soda for household cleaning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fazli on 1/11/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by fazli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So used only once, did not notice any remarkable results. Put it as mask, and the rubbed to exfoliate...

no benefit to skin appearance, does not help for cleaning blackheads, but maybe one could use instead of normal skin cleansing milk, it does remove the oil (though I do not have particularly oily skin)

skin on a small acne got broken

seems it does not make anything worse either

I guess I still have some better products that I prefer over this, like dennis gross spot treatment

EDIT: I used it twice more and downgrade it further. So some blackheads are easier to squish out, but the skin is so damaged from the backing soda that it gets instantly damaged while trying to squeeze a blackhead. Also caused some new acne including on my nose, and I almost never get them on my nose.

Overall: While it does provide so cleansing, is too harsh and damaging for my sensitive skin. SKIN APPEARANCE DETERIORATES significantly.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pfinstir on 12/9/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by pfinstir

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been reading the posts here and felt the need to add my two cents. This is one of the most amazing, inexpensive means of keeping my skin blemish and dark spot free. I use baking soda as a facial cleanser daily. I have tried so many other products (and I do mean a lot, including retin A) and none were as effective as the baking soda. I have oily/combination skin and the baking soda removes at least 90% or more of the oil from my skin.

A great byproduct was the elimination of dark spots. If I get a blemish, which is so rare now, the baking soda eliminates the resulting dark spot, almost immediately. I allow the paste to dry and then rinse it off while showering. I keep the baking soda paste in a cute glass jar, and a box of baking soda nearby, so I can replenish my jar.

Moisturizing immediately after rinsing is a must. I use two or three drops of cosmetic grade Argan oil, Aveeno CLEAN COMPLEXION moisturizer and a sunblock. Even my husband commented on my beautiful skin. While battling the flu, I didn't follow my baking soda regime and the breakouts returned almost immediately. I, like a few other users, combine baking soda with my toothpaste. I love baking soda!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Donnadondonfair on 11/25/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by Donnadondonfair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I sensitive skin, but oiler in the t-zone and lots of blackheads and conjested skin...
if you mix baking soda with a little bit of water so that it is a paste texture and use as an exfoliator its amazing, your blackheads literally go away!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katiepoodle on 11/15/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by katiepoodle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Tried my first home remedy skin treatment this week! A total win. I had a really mean blemish that wasn't going away with my spot treatment stuff, so I made a baking soda mask with some water, wore it for 15 mins, and it dried up over night. I did not experience the intense burning as others have noted, just some tingling. As others have mentioned, be sure to slap lotion on right after since it definitely dried out my entire face. If you have dry skin, this is not for you - my skin is still a bit dry two days later.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rebecca753 on 11/9/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Rebecca753

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I dip my Olay Pro-X brush in baking soda, and it is a great gentle abrasive for exfoliation. It's cheap and seems to help dry out pimples. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ihaveahart on 11/8/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Ihaveahart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love baking' soda!!!! I use it to clean puke,dog pee (when my dog has accidents),brush my teeth,face exfoliating,to bake,to get rid of refrigerator odors ecg!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Other products