Coastal Scents • 88 eyeshadow palette • Palettes

rated 3.9(356 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mayanii on 1/5/2012 2:50:00 AM more reviews by mayanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I can't remember how much I bought this from but I have to say that this isn't anything special. Would be great if you're the type to experiment with colors but since I stick to my usuals, this product was a waste of space for me.

Pigmentation is poor. The dark colors are dark yet not enough to actually be dark. E.g. the black isn't black enough; same for the brown. I might just splurge on a better palette with colors that I'd actually use next time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buffydog15 on 12/30/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by buffydog15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ok, I wont lie--these colors ARE kind of chalky. BUT, if you use these shadows wet, it makes all the difference. Most people don't seem to notice this, but on the website, it does say they are able to be used wet. So, I would say to you, use these shadows wet for the best look. I think the shade range of this palette is great, it has so many crazy bright colors and also some neutrals, which is a good balance. I really do like this palette, even though some of the reviewers seem to hate this palette and coastal scents as a company. But I wouldn't repurchase because 1) I don't see myself ever running out of these shadows and 2) I don't really NEED 88 more eyeshadows. Good for beginners and those who love brights.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sshairprof on 12/30/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by sshairprof

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I have beige medium skin so some of the colors do not pop like i would necessarily like, although with the use of my NYx creme pencil it helps alot...which u should be using anyways...I love the blues and purples and yellows.. Also good colors for doing smokey eyes too. I really love this palette because it provides a wide variety of color. Not every color is going to work for every body because not everybody has the same skin tone. The use of a primer and white base is a must! And I have not had any colors fall out..although I am not tossing it around and upside down either :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kidlike on 12/24/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by Kidlike

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I really like this palate, it's a good starter one for those who like to experiment or try new looks every now and then.
to be honest not all the colours are matte, around 20% of the colours have either a soft shimmer or satin finish but the rest are matted.
also the colours are well pigmented, EASILY bendable and not chalky at all (but they do give a dusty appearance on the palate itself) so I usually wear them without a primer and they last all night. this is not as good as MAC or bobby brown so don't fool yourself but if you want alot of options, matte finish, good quality then get it.
I read in some reviews that you should just get them from Ebay but seriously the company has a sale every single week so you can get it for around $9 which is a bargain no matter how you think of it. also delivery is fast (I'm in Dubai and got it in three days!) and it comes with a refund in case something happens to it during delivery which reassures me more.
CONS
- if you live overseas then delivery is fast but expensive.
- most colours are basic ones, only 3 colours in the palate are really original.
- only three colours can be used as highlighters out of 88 so if you run out be sure to have a back-up
- the palate is MOSTLY colours, there is only one row for the classic smoky eye and one row of neutral colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Haruhi13 on 11/30/2011 2:59:00 PM more reviews by Haruhi13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered my palette off Amazon, and it arrived in perfect condition. It's a lot smaller than one might expect from the photos, but the sheer variety of colors makes up for that! The colors are pretty good quality, nothing extremely special, but you can't really expect it at that price. It's wonderful that it comes with a mirror and two applicators, as well as a plastic sheet to protect the shadows! There are plenty of colors- the only color that isn't really represented is orange, but you can easily achieve a specific shade of anything that isn't there by mixing some of the other colors. Overall, this is an excellent product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lesleeann74 on 11/20/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by lesleeann74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure why some people don't like this palette. I mean for the price and variety and pigment, it can't be beat! I think the pigment is great. I bought this specially for my Halloween makeup as Dia De Los Muertos. I loved using the bright colors for my sugar skull makeup. If you're wondering about this palette, go to YouTube and watch MissChevious. She uses this eyeshadow a lot in her makeup tutorials if you're wondering what you can do with all these colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 seiran on 10/21/2011 4:21:00 AM more reviews by seiran

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I received this with chunks of the eyeshadow broken off...about 5 of the colors had that happen which is not too bad. Anyways that wouldn't have mattered if the pigmentation wasn't so poor. I find some drugstore brands like Maybelline and L'Oreal offer better pigmented shadows. Having 88 of the shadows that really don't stay on well and a low color pay-off, even for how cheap it is, isn't worth it. Because I would rather spend more money on something that is richly pigmented, stays put, and lasts all day. I bought 3 palettes and gave them all away after a few tries to make it work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachaelSpiffy on 10/2/2011 5:24:00 PM more reviews by RachaelSpiffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was super excited for this palette when I ordered it and I thought I was going to use it all the time. Honestly I rarely touch it. I used it for about 2 weeks and then forgot about it. It is nothing special. Don't get me wrong it is a good palette but, I grab for my Urban Decays ones way more. Some of the colors in this palette are a bit chalky too and some colors irratate my eyes and make them water. It's a cool idea for a palette just I didn't need it as much as I thought I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaimemakeup on 10/2/2011 2:47:00 AM more reviews by jaimemakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Pigmentation - soft eyeshadows, but not great on my medium/tan skin

Price - they aren't actually that cheap in my opinion, considering the quality. their pigmentation is like $2 shop shadows, and several of those combined make up the quantity of one of these shadows. so it's not exactly an unheard of bargain

But sure there's a lot in quantity, it's probably an okay set for a teen or someone new to makeup, like myself (but lighter skinned) and that's willing to use eyeshadow base which I haven't used yet but will do, hoping it will improve the pigmentation?

Anyway, referring to the top few reviews and really bad reviews, perhaps they're thinking it's a rip off because everything is cheap in the US but I still don't think it's that terrible for $30 is it? I think some people may need to get off their pretentious high makeup horses. (Sorry didn't meant to offend any one) It's seriously at least 2 stars I think. And I got mine off the wholesalers on ebay :) For really cheap too, I got the like 128 colour one for like $10, and you may be wondering why I'm still rating it so low, well the MATTE colours, my god, were SO chalky and not pigmented AT ALL. EVEN with the swipe of my FINGER. They were so difficult to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mrsleonidas on 10/1/2011 5:43:00 PM more reviews by mrsleonidas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Most of the shadows/blushes, in any of type of these named/numbered finished palettes, are nicely pigmented.
Though, I find that if you don't flick off your brush and use a base, you will get more than average fallout.
So I recommend that you do your foundation last..... with any of these various named/numbered palettes.
Each one are great and have a variety of colors you can play with.



@Everyone: Please save your hard earned $ and just buy all the Coastal Scents, Bh Cosmetics, etc...etc...Palettes off of EBAY!!



They really ARE the SAME thing/colors!


Its just that they switch up the pans in different places sometimes!



I know some say that some are pigmented than other brands. But no they are not really!
Its just that some palettes are FRESHER therefore they will give you BETTER PAYOFF.


You can buy any variety for around $10.00 each on EBAY!
I actually bought the 10 Blush, Neutral, Concealer, Camouflage Palettes for under $8.00 each.... on EBAY!! Really!
Now I am a big believer for supporting American businesses. But we all now know where they get their stuff from....so I feel perfectly fine buying from overseas. ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coastal Scents products

More Palettes products