OPI You Don't Know Jacques!

4.4

299 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/29/2011 2:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is probably my number one color from OPI. It is just the perfect neutral shade IMO. I guess I could complain that OPI is pricey, but eh, all their stuff is and the bottle lasts ages if your a color changer so it's not really that bad a price point.



on 12/29/2011 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This color is on me, a mixture of gray and brown. It has winter written all over it. I get very good coverage on my nails with 2-3 coats. As others have mentioned, it can be a tad streaky upon initial application, but eventually the OPI good quality of the product comes through. Be sure to use a fantastically shiny top coat on this, otherwise, it may turn out looking a bit dreary and lifeless. I've taken into account that this is a majorly trendy wintery shade of nail polish and it wears very well, but I won't repurchase. I don't think this color is very sexy, nor is it all that feminine. It's chic, that's for certain, it simply isn't giving my fingers and toes that WOW factor I look for in my polishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2011 2:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this today and I absolutely LOVE it. I wanted to try something different that would be good for winter as most of my nail polishes are summery shades. This color is absolutely perfect for winter. It's a dark chocolate brown and with two coats it came out so pretty. It kind of reminds me of the color of chocolate colored UGG boots. It has such a smooth finish as well. Definitely one of my new favorites!


on 12/7/2011 2:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This color is so beautiful, and I fell in love with it instantly, but I wouldn't repurchase because there are a few dupes out there for a fraction of the price. For example Sally Hansen has one called "Slick Slate", and it cost so much more less than any OPI polish does. I love the color, but I found the same one, for a less expensive price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this colour. Got lots of compliments. I had tried to purchase Vintage Boutique by Avon but it is discontinued in Canada and opted for this colour after finding it at Trade Secrets. It is very streaky with 1st coat but colour is richer after 2 and 3 coats.Colour is relatively good at 5th day. Definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2011 12:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color! I went into ULTA looking for an OPI nail polish that was in the basic neutral colors. Like tannish brown. This one was perfect! I think it's lovely for the Fall/Winter time. And matches everything. Will definitley repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I fell into all the great reviews about this and with it being a cult favorite. I just applied for the very first time and I'm kinda neutral on this. The first coat was (as all others say) very, very streaky. I have several other OPI colors and none of them are this .... Thin in formula. However, after two-three thick coats later I was able to achieve an opaque color. I'm very conflicted on the color. In one light it does look like a light black, then dark brown, and then like dirty water. Almost "mud" color like the others have said. I'm hoping this color will turn into my liking. I would hate to regret this color. Not sure if I will repurchase at a later date at this time.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this color due to all the great reviews.
I'm extremely disappointed. The consistency was runny and extremely streaky. I have a few other OPI polishes and NONE of them are like that at all.
I needed three coats to become opaque. Even then, in some lighting, the streakyness was very noticeable. It was messy and took a full day to truly dry. I use top coat and waited over an hour to even touch anything and it kept smudging. The following day it still smudged with normal daily hand use.
After that it would chip and i don't even know how. I don't go around dragging my nails on brick walls or do any extreme activities.

the only positives I can say is that the color is dynamic. In some light it looks like a purple and darker purple, grey and then it can look very very muddy....which I'm not a fan of.
It's been four or so days and it's still very shiny.

Overall, I truly regret buying this. I wasted almost ten dollars on something that's worth maybe four.
I'm very confused as to how this gets such raving reviews.

I will NOT repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2011 4:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this color. Thats about where it stops though. I have a pretty extensive nail polish collection and lately this color has been getting a lot of hype on YouTube by the beauty gurus.

The first coat is streaky. But after the second coat it looks a lot better. Theres nothing that stands out to me thats actually 'wrong' with this nail polish. However, I also have Sinful Colors Nirvana and they are an exact dupe. No difference what so ever. Except for the fact that I think Nirvana applys much better than You Don't Know Jacques! Plus lets not forget Sinful Colors are typically $1.99 but they go on sale all the time for 99 cents. The staying power is the same for both on me as well.

So in theory.. $8 to $9.50 or... 99 cents - $1.99.

Your choice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2011 2:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm really late to the party on this one, but here are my thoughts. This color is OK. Just OK. It was super-trendy when it first came out, but now I find that it lacks the multi-dimensionally of shades that have come along since, like Essie Mink Muffs and Merino Cool. On me, this is just a deep chocolate brown that can look garnet in some light. It's a nice fall color, but I tend to go more for grays with a touch of lavender for this time of year. It has the great OPI quality, wear, and that fabulous brush that makes it so easy to apply, but I would not repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top