Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(296 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Chidders on 4/30/2012 7:19:00 AM more reviews by Chidders

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Smudge, smudge, smudge.

I really didnt like this mascara at all. I found it tricky to apply, and by the end of the day, there was more under my eyes than what was on my lashes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CosmeticMadness on 4/19/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by CosmeticMadness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I really like this product, mainly because it seperates my eyelashes unlike most standard mascara brushes do. I love the packaging, because I think it looks really nice. It definitely won me over and I decided to try it out. I don't think that it's any different in comparison to other mascaras when it comes to lengthening and volumising, I just think it's really helpful for people who don't want to be walking around with clumps all over their eyelashes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madii1984 on 4/14/2012 4:13:00 AM more reviews by madii1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe this mascara has such low ratings! I am seriously thinking I've finally found my mascara HG. I was skeptical at first, because here in Poland it's pretty expensive, and it only has 6 grams of product which is not much compared to for example some other mascara which have 10 grams. But I read so many good things about it, and being a mascara junkie I gave it a go.

First I apply a coat of primer, I use Lancome's, it's called Cils Booster but it's not the vibrating one, just the standard one (I love it, can't imagine using mascara without it). Then I carefully apply the mascara to each and every lash. The effect is amazing. I couldn't believe my eyes the first time I used it. Yes, it does take a bit longer than when using your standard mascara brush, but it is so worth it. Every single lash is covered and totally lengthened. It even looks like you have more lashes than you really do! And one of the best things about it? It is SO easy to remove. Most mascaras you have to work a bit to get it off, but this is literally so easy to remove. I only need one cotton pad for both my eyes. Amazing. Also, I cannot believe some people are writing this mascara is clumpy. This is absolutely impossible, because the bottle has like a special stopper thing, you literally have to tug the wand a bit to get it out of the tube, which is fantastic because it removes excess product perfectly, there is the right amount of products left on the wand. It's very little product and it really is impossible for this to clump! I don't get people who say it does, because it's not possible!

This mascara is worth the splurge, I really, absolutely recommend it. You won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 4/13/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've been wanting to try this for a long time and once I was in Berlin I bought it and I loved it! It works really well for my lashes - but I mostly use it as the second layer and use Armani Eyes to Kill at first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jayd on 4/13/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by jayd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Bleck, what a horrible product. The "innovative" ball, was actually way more of a hindrance than a help. It was hard to apply, and when it was applied, it applied unevenly and clumpy. Maybe there's an art to this, but seriously...who has time?
It's going back to Sephora and I'm going to get something cheaper and easier to use!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mimiajaj on 4/6/2012 6:48:00 PM more reviews by mimiajaj

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this mascara, it creates a nice spider web effect to the lashes, it is however a bit of a hassle to apply it correctly, it's long-lasting and not the least bit clumpy, it's great for a night out but it's not really practical for everyday use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Akaia on 4/3/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Akaia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this one, but is so freaking expensive! $30 for a tube, in which you need every month probably. If you only wear mascara and no other makeup i can see how it would be worth buying every month, but still, I would not say it's worth $30.
The formula is definitely one of the best at sephora! don't let the brush throw you off. the way it works is you get the base and corners of your lashes with the small brush, which i love! It curls, volumizes, and lengthens. if you can afford it, buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heartsinwonderland on 3/27/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by heartsinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I never ever wear make-up, I only do skin care. I curl my lashes, but I don't wear mascara. But when I do, I use this. It's hands down THE best I've ever tried. I really do think it's the brush. It fans out my lashes, lengthens them, and makes this look great! And when I take it off, my lashes still feel healthy and light. This is the best, it's definitely expensive, but worth the splurge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elyse34 on 3/22/2012 3:13:00 PM more reviews by elyse34

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Clumpsville! I first bought the waterproof version and it was incredibly clumpy. I exchanged it for the non-waterproof formula and it was still clumpy! I'm continuing to experiment though and I am not convinced I'm applying it in the best manner--I like the idea of being able to reach all the little lashes but so far it hasn't been working out. If I figure out a way to apply that works I will amend this review but for now I'm not satisfied with this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellenmd on 2/14/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by ellenmd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this today. Never thought I would get a mascara this expensive or this unusual, but the SA at Sephora went right for it when I asked for a brown mascara that would go with my red hair. In response to all the reviewers who complained that this ran and smudged, she did insist I get the waterproof version. I usually reserve waterproof mascara for pool days because I heard it was not good for your lashes, but since I use a cream (Clinique Comforting Cream Cleanser) to remove all my make up, I knew removal would not be a problem. I was quite impressed with how she did my lashes. I also bought the Givenchy eyebrow pencil in blonde (she said it was best for my coloring), and she tried to sell me the new Mister Light concealer to highlight under the brow and under the eyes. I will wait on that expensive purchase. But I think the insistence on the waterproof version was because she knew the regular version had deficiencies. Hopefully I will avoid the problems with this mascara and only enjoy the benefits. I will keep this updated, but for those of you who loved the concept but had smearing problems, try the waterproof one!

Now getting the hang of using the ball/brush. This lasts pretty well and doesn't smudge. Once you master the application, I think this is a pretty impressive mascara. I never swayed from my Almay One Coat Thickening mascara for many, many years. And I still think it is phenomenal, one coat and full lashes. But lately most tubes I buy are already dried out before I've even used them. That's really poor quality control or a bad change in formula. Either way, I started an extensive search for a new mascara. I'd love to find a little less expensive one. I tried the Estee Lauder Sumptuous in Brown, but it seems to take many coats to get the results I'got with one coat of the Almay. The Givenchy gives good coverage if you swipe the ball over the tops of the top lashes and then try to coat them from bottom to top. Its great for the bottom lashes, just coat each individually or swish the ball across the whole bottom lash. Once you find the application technique that is best and fastest for you, I think the expensive mascara will be well worth it. I'm tempted to try the non-waterproof version, just as a comparison, I think the brown color is lighter in that version and may be better for my complexion. I'll keep you updated!!

Yes, the application cannot be done in a flash, and care is required, but long, fluttery lashes are the result. Definitely get the waterproof formula if smearing is a problem. That is the one I have and I have no smudging problems. May have to buy this one again. Now if I could only find that perfect brown color. This is brown, but a dark one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products