L'Oreal • HiP Metallic Duo - Gilded #806 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(79 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chocolatedippedstrawberri on 1/26/2010 2:34:00 AM more reviews by Chocolatedippedstrawberri

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my absolute FAVORITE e/s ever! I'm a total makeup snob, but decided to try Hip duos just while browsing CVS. I am SO glad I did! One side is a gorgeous true gold, and the other is a very dark olive- both are very pigmented! This blends amazingly and I can create such beautiful looks w/ this worn separately or together. The dark side is one of my favorite crease colors ever. I will definitely repurchase, but a little goes a long way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xomacgirl401 on 1/5/2010 8:51:00 PM more reviews by xomacgirl401

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently bought this e/s and I'm really impressed! I didn't have a problem blending it at all. I used a primer underneath, and this doesn't crease or budge. I didn't find the shimmer too much and I loved how the colors complimented my skin tone. The colors are so rich and stay put great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sleon on 11/29/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by sleon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I absolutely love the gold shadow in this duo. It has been my staple this summer and anytime I want a little glitz on the inside corner of my eyes. It works great as an eyeliner if you wet an angular shadow brush or eyeliner brush. It is like liquid gold. The dark shadow is OK, I use it to create a smokey smudge on the outside corners when I want more drama. I need to get another in case they discontinue the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 11/11/2009 7:25:00 PM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Colors are good for night time or day time if you are wearing a lot of black or going for that heavy edgy look. They are very intense and pigmented which I look for in shadows and I don't find the color combo tacky at all but that also depends on what you wear with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 11/9/2009 10:25:00 PM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gilded is for night time only as it is too metallic for me to wear during the day. The shadows work well with my coloring and look good on my eyes. However, these shadows are so hard to blend...It took me almost 30 minutes to balance the right amount of color between my right and left eye. I tried to tone down the metallics and blend the shadows with a sponge, and two different types of brushes. Nothing was working - I kept taking the product off and re-applying the shadows.


The packaging is cheap, cheap, cheap. Honestly, I couldn't figure out how to open the package without my glasses. And, what's up with the sole sponge applicator in the bottom of the package. For the money, there should have been a mirror included.


The gold is pretty and looks beautiful as a wet liner, but the other side leaves much to be desired. I tried it on my hand and it was black matte. I put it over the gold and the shadow turned a greenish color. I will try this duo again another time. If it doesn't work, I will figure out how to swap :D. I bought two other HIP metallics, and I am hoping that they are not like this one. I will not purchase this again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hamsley72 on 10/17/2009 8:03:00 AM more reviews by hamsley72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just love this duo. I have bought almost all of the doues. My daughter just loves the colors. I have to say I do as well. this is a metalic set of shadow. I love love the gold. I have never been a fan of gold eye shadow. This shadow is so soft and blends great. I wear tons of browns and light colors. Seeing how i'm 36 I tend to be a bit more understated. This is great for a night on the town. It will last as long as you will. lol Mine lasted longer. I went out for a date night with my sweety. Well I was tired when we arrived home. And I thought I took my make up off. lol When I woke up I was still wearing my eye MAKE UP. It lasted while I was sleeping. Lol nothing on my ivory colored pillow case. It looked just as it had when I put it on. lol I love the way the light hits it and it's more gold then it also has a dark tint to it if you turn your head. You can also use it as a liner with some mixing medium. It rocks.The green is a great green I use it as a crease color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AllThePaige on 10/11/2009 3:48:00 AM more reviews by AllThePaige

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe how many people love the gold part of this duo! It's what makes me hate this!
The gold part is terrible at blending due to the shimmer/glitter. I've tried to blend it with many other colors from different brands and no matter what I do the gold shimmer just comes through. It makes all of it just a gold mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chibiyumichan on 10/5/2009 12:43:00 AM more reviews by chibiyumichan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Another great Hip Duo!! The gold is excellent. Like always, they are well pigmented. I love to wear this duo in the evening. Totally recommended! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalalila on 9/24/2009 1:14:00 PM more reviews by lalalalila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely LOVE this duo. This was my first HIP eyeshadow purchase and I am very impressed. I love the antiqued gold and the brown with gold flecks in it...it looks very flattering on me. I'm normally hesitant to buy cheap drugstore eyeshadows since in the past, I've never had good luck with them. But for $8, this is a pretty good buy. As long as you use an eyeshadow primer, this won't crease. And it looks amazing over a gold cream eyeshadow (I used Revlon Illuminance in Precious Metals).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vianna on 9/14/2009 6:43:00 PM more reviews by vianna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a serious staple in my bag. I love the gold (I have used it up a long time ago). I don't understand the misgivings about the brown. Maybe it just goes only with certain skin tones. I found that it looks wonderful on me and the brown is very earthy and dark. I like how it brings out my green eyes. It's the best thing for a smoky-like eye without harsh black. I also use it during the day. They're great colors!

I'm kind of a neutral/warm beige skin tone (Make Up Forever Duo Mat Powder in 205--if that helps anyone at all).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products