L'Oreal • HIP Jelly Balm [DISCONTINUED] • Lip Gloss

rated 4.3(352 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 bittersweetjess on 10/3/2010 2:32:00 PM more reviews by bittersweetjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Picked this up in Succulent, and I couldn't be happier. On me, it shows up as a soft, natural pink (with maybe a hint of mauve.) It definitely falls into the famed "my lips but better" category for me. It is non-sticky and has a subtle, vanilla smell (nothing too perfume-y.) The little glass jar it comes in is cute, too. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleurdelys848 on 10/3/2010 7:02:00 AM more reviews by fleurdelys848

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am hooked! For life! I have the 420 Savory color which is a coral red in the little box and pretty bare on my lips!Which I like a lot! I never really liked lip balms to have a pigmentation.What I like with this jelly balm is the texture, not sticky and not gluey at all! It's legere and long lasting!
Taste wise it has none, just a vague creamy smell! Yet again another plus because I simply hate a strong scent in a lip balm/gloss/jelly. I nourishes also which is never a bad thing.Overall for the quasi in existent price I get only benefits! I simply can't name a single bad thing about this!
And considering that I ONLY use lip balms and lip glosses I am pretty satisfied with this and probably will last me for over one year!
I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michelleeheartsyouu on 9/26/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by michelleeheartsyouu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have so many great things to say about these lipglosses!! I own 3; succulent, plush, and delectable. I love that these are so smooth and glide on your lips so smoothly. The color payof is okay but these things are just amazing! I always find them on my lips and i won mac, lancome, stila, etc. I'm 13 and these are just amazing for me. And i really like the packaging because you can actually see how much you have left. Obviously, always make sure that you wash your hands first (: If you're a little bit hesitant about buying them don't be. These things are the best I've ever owned(:(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 locogurl907 on 9/25/2010 10:06:00 PM more reviews by locogurl907

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was extremely impressed with the jelly balm! I am pretty much a label whore for everything except mascara but I have been trying out some ds lip gloss/sticks and i got this off allcosmeticswholesale.com because I live in alaska and my walmart prices are a little more than the regular lower 48 prices so no way in hell would i buy ds makeup full price at like walmart/target ...but all in all this is a really great product and im going to order a back up of it i like it so much.. just the right amount of pigment not overly shiny no glitter and it feels reallllyy great on my lips very moisturizing i was pleasantly surprised and very impressed! MAC WORTHY PACKAGING.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 9/25/2010 5:53:00 AM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is... Perfect. It has a slight vanilla scent that I adore, and the packaging is black and glass and sleek. MAC comparable packaging. And the product itself... No. Shimmer. Whatsoever! Ugh, what a refreshing change from the glitter adorned glosses I see everywhere. It's really pigmented enough to color my lips really nicely but still sheer enough to make my lips look gorgeous, glossy, and moist. I don't mind the fact I have to dip my fingers to it, but I don't see the "balm" part of it except the feeling. It didn't moisturize my lips or anything but I apply balm before anyway. I have it in Ripe, a coral-red and Succulent, a gorgeous deep pink, and I love them both, either wearing alone or over any lipstick. Especially Ripe over a too-light accidental lipstick. It really gives it a special punch!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 9/18/2010 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Ever since I laid my eyes upon L'oreal jelly balms I knew I'd be smitten forever. I looked for them high and low, but I could literally never find them. So one day out of the blue, I just found them. Oh my god. First off, these jelly balms smell of yummy caramel sweetness. Then the packaging resembles the MAC paint pots with glass bottoms and a black top. It looks very luxe and expensive. Pigmentation of these are lacking, but honestly thats not what I was looking for in these balms. I have Plush and Ripe. Plush is a beautiful, glossy everyday pink that goes with pretty much every look. Ripe is a lush looking coral-red color. The consistency of these glosses are thick and not sticky, they apply to the lips like a dream(with a lip brush, please don't be nasty by using your finger :x). It really is the same quality of a product you'd get at Sephora or MAC. Your lips feel nice and soft after these wear off which usually takes 3-4 hours on me. I love these balms. The only cons are availability and having to use a lip brush. If you come across these pick one up cause they might be discontinued. I hope not though because I've fallen head over heels for L'oreal jelly balms :) <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Linlovesxo on 9/18/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Linlovesxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this :) I got in 'Delectable' 320 and it's a really pretty red/pink-ish tone.. so cute! It is a bit more expensive than all the d/s glosses but you get what you pay for. Not five lippies cause I COULD go without it... but I don't think I'll ever want to! Love love loveeeee it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 selkie67 on 9/11/2010 12:22:00 AM more reviews by selkie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

These are expensive for drugstore glosses, but I love them. They smell like vanilla cake and taste sweet. They're thick and moisturizing, but not in a slippery, greasy way. Plush is a light Malibu Barbie pink which doesn't show up very well, against fair skin anyway; Ripe is sort of a coral that's fun in summer; Delicious is a true blue-red; and Succulent is just like Clinique's Black Honey.

I'm a little worried L'Oreal may be discontinuing them, though; they've suddenly vanished from our local Wal-Mart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kipper8588 on 9/6/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Kipper8588

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this in succulent (red). First off, the balm is not too shabby for a DS item. BUT it lost 2 lippies for staying powder and having to put your finger or a brush in the pot to get it. (Ew!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cyberkaren on 9/6/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by cyberkaren

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love their new "HIP" line of products. These Jelly Balm lip glosses are excellent. The shade I bought is called "Lucious"...a gorgeous deep berry brown shade. It looks very dark in the pot, but It is very sheer when applied...not dark at all. This is the perfect shade for my very fair and ruddy skin tone, and I will purchase it again for sure. I gave this a rating of 4 instead of 5 because, like most lip gloss products, it does not stay on very long and needs to be re-applied often throughout the day. I do love the way it moisturizes your lips leaving them very soft and smooth. It also has a delicious caramel scent which I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lip Gloss products