L'Oreal • HIP Jelly Balm [DISCONTINUED] • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(353 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kad9k on 10/7/2010 1:41:00 PM more reviews by kad9k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I can't quite articulate why, but this is my favorite lip balm to throw in my carry-on bag for airplane trips. I have tons of lip balms, lots of which would be more convenient for travel, but this is the one I like. I think because at the end of a long plane ride, it smells delicious, moisturizes my lips and also makes them look nice. Right now I like Savory, a peachy color, because it goes with whatever makeup I have on. But Plush, a pink, is nice, too.

I generally prefer lip balms that you don't have to stick your finger in to, but this packaging is elegant and makes the product seem more expensive than it is. I keep an eye out for when these are marked down and stock up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bittersweetjess on 10/3/2010 2:32:00 PM more reviews by bittersweetjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Picked this up in Succulent, and I couldn't be happier. On me, it shows up as a soft, natural pink (with maybe a hint of mauve.) It definitely falls into the famed "my lips but better" category for me. It is non-sticky and has a subtle, vanilla smell (nothing too perfume-y.) The little glass jar it comes in is cute, too. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleurdelys848 on 10/3/2010 7:02:00 AM more reviews by fleurdelys848

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am hooked! For life! I have the 420 Savory color which is a coral red in the little box and pretty bare on my lips!Which I like a lot! I never really liked lip balms to have a pigmentation.What I like with this jelly balm is the texture, not sticky and not gluey at all! It's legere and long lasting!
Taste wise it has none, just a vague creamy smell! Yet again another plus because I simply hate a strong scent in a lip balm/gloss/jelly. I nourishes also which is never a bad thing.Overall for the quasi in existent price I get only benefits! I simply can't name a single bad thing about this!
And considering that I ONLY use lip balms and lip glosses I am pretty satisfied with this and probably will last me for over one year!
I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michelleeheartsyouu on 9/26/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by michelleeheartsyouu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have so many great things to say about these lipglosses!! I own 3; succulent, plush, and delectable. I love that these are so smooth and glide on your lips so smoothly. The color payof is okay but these things are just amazing! I always find them on my lips and i won mac, lancome, stila, etc. I'm 13 and these are just amazing for me. And i really like the packaging because you can actually see how much you have left. Obviously, always make sure that you wash your hands first (: If you're a little bit hesitant about buying them don't be. These things are the best I've ever owned(:(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 locogurl907 on 9/25/2010 10:06:00 PM more reviews by locogurl907

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was extremely impressed with the jelly balm! I am pretty much a label whore for everything except mascara but I have been trying out some ds lip gloss/sticks and i got this off allcosmeticswholesale.com because I live in alaska and my walmart prices are a little more than the regular lower 48 prices so no way in hell would i buy ds makeup full price at like walmart/target ...but all in all this is a really great product and im going to order a back up of it i like it so much.. just the right amount of pigment not overly shiny no glitter and it feels reallllyy great on my lips very moisturizing i was pleasantly surprised and very impressed! MAC WORTHY PACKAGING.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 9/25/2010 5:53:00 AM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is... Perfect. It has a slight vanilla scent that I adore, and the packaging is black and glass and sleek. MAC comparable packaging. And the product itself... No. Shimmer. Whatsoever! Ugh, what a refreshing change from the glitter adorned glosses I see everywhere. It's really pigmented enough to color my lips really nicely but still sheer enough to make my lips look gorgeous, glossy, and moist. I don't mind the fact I have to dip my fingers to it, but I don't see the "balm" part of it except the feeling. It didn't moisturize my lips or anything but I apply balm before anyway. I have it in Ripe, a coral-red and Succulent, a gorgeous deep pink, and I love them both, either wearing alone or over any lipstick. Especially Ripe over a too-light accidental lipstick. It really gives it a special punch!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 9/18/2010 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Ever since I laid my eyes upon L'oreal jelly balms I knew I'd be smitten forever. I looked for them high and low, but I could literally never find them. So one day out of the blue, I just found them. Oh my god. First off, these jelly balms smell of yummy caramel sweetness. Then the packaging resembles the MAC paint pots with glass bottoms and a black top. It looks very luxe and expensive. Pigmentation of these are lacking, but honestly thats not what I was looking for in these balms. I have Plush and Ripe. Plush is a beautiful, glossy everyday pink that goes with pretty much every look. Ripe is a lush looking coral-red color. The consistency of these glosses are thick and not sticky, they apply to the lips like a dream(with a lip brush, please don't be nasty by using your finger :x). It really is the same quality of a product you'd get at Sephora or MAC. Your lips feel nice and soft after these wear off which usually takes 3-4 hours on me. I love these balms. The only cons are availability and having to use a lip brush. If you come across these pick one up cause they might be discontinued. I hope not though because I've fallen head over heels for L'oreal jelly balms :) <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Linlovesxo on 9/18/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Linlovesxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this :) I got in 'Delectable' 320 and it's a really pretty red/pink-ish tone.. so cute! It is a bit more expensive than all the d/s glosses but you get what you pay for. Not five lippies cause I COULD go without it... but I don't think I'll ever want to! Love love loveeeee it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 selkie67 on 9/11/2010 12:22:00 AM more reviews by selkie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

These are expensive for drugstore glosses, but I love them. They smell like vanilla cake and taste sweet. They're thick and moisturizing, but not in a slippery, greasy way. Plush is a light Malibu Barbie pink which doesn't show up very well, against fair skin anyway; Ripe is sort of a coral that's fun in summer; Delicious is a true blue-red; and Succulent is just like Clinique's Black Honey.

I'm a little worried L'Oreal may be discontinuing them, though; they've suddenly vanished from our local Wal-Mart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kipper8588 on 9/6/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Kipper8588

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this in succulent (red). First off, the balm is not too shabby for a DS item. BUT it lost 2 lippies for staying powder and having to put your finger or a brush in the pot to get it. (Ew!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lip Gloss products