No Brand (DIY or homemade) • The Egg Bomb • Conditioner

rated 4.2(93 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 CynthiaAlana on 10/16/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by CynthiaAlana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just egg bombed my hair. Such a good decision. My hair is so shiny it's like it belongs to someone else! Just awesome. I did modify the concoction by adding 1 tablespoon of coconut oil as well. I just love coconut oil for anything and everything. Plus it makes you smell like the beach instead of breakfast.

As someone who uses oil (coconut, olive, almond) in my hair frequently, I was SO surprised at how effortless the egg bomb washed out. I used warm water--just warm enough so I didn't freeze in the shower. It didn't cook the egg. After I rinsed out the mask, I washed my hair with watered down aloe vera shampoo and finished with She Care deep conditioning conditioner (used to swear by it, but it's changed so don't bother).

I also used the egg white (about half) to infuse my hair with much needed protein. Should you choose not to include the egg white, might as well make yourself an egg white omelet while your hair mask sits.

This will be become a once a week ritual for sure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mymotherhadmetested on 9/11/2012 4:02:00 AM more reviews by mymotherhadmetested

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OK so my hair: long-ish (bra length!) and very, very thick.

I'm naturally blonde but had been dying my hair auburn for about 2 and a half years. I decided I wanted to try a nice light brown shade, and instead of using a box dye like I usually did, I decided to get it done professionally.
BIG MISTAKE. I walked out of the salon with jet black hair.

I hated it, and decided to correct it myself with store-bought bleaches over a period of about 12 weeks. It worked and my hair is back to being a beautiful blonde colour now... but it's a dry, knotted, frizzy mess.

I looked at buying lots of different protein treatments, but they were all so expensive. I decided to just use eggs!

My recipe is really quite simple: four or five eggs, including whites, beaten in a jug and just plastered all over my hair.
I leave it on for an hour or two, then rinse out with cool water. I always follow up with a good conditioner.

For those of you who are saying it doesn't make your hair feel soft: it won't. That's not what it's for. It's for re-constructing, NOT conditioning. Whenever you use a protein treatment, you should always follow up with conditioner.

It's also not a quick fix. If your hair really is damaged enough for you to consider putting eggs on it, you're going to need a few treatments! try it every three or four weeks or so.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meshmmesha772000 on 9/7/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by Meshmmesha772000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This hair mask is really the BOMB , I have used it for more than 14 years so far :) ,I have very long (past my waist ) , thick hair ..It is on the "straight" side but so dry and frizzy so it is a nightmare to manage with this length and thickness ..Yes, It must be used on dry ,unwashed hair , I put an old cheap plastic shower cap on and leave it for about 45 minutes , then wash, shampoo and condition as usual ..Don't be afraid of the smell , honestly it will disappear ..I don't add honey , just some olive oil and two eggs ..I use the whole egg though it makes it a bit runny but I can handle the mess ...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ALa12 on 8/21/2012 4:06:00 AM more reviews by ALa12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever review on Makeup Alley but the Egg Bomb was just so incredible I felt I had to spread the word. Basically Ė it really really worked!!

I have fine medium brown hair, and lots of it, that is naturally curly and frizzy. I have to blowdry it and/or straighten it every day itís so bad, which means I really damaged my hair over the years. I have tried everything in the past and spent a lot of money on it too, from Kerastase to Bumble and Bumble to Moroccan Hair Oil, to coconut or almond oils, and whilst itís all helped the situation nothing really made a dramatic difference. It unfortunately got so bad that my long hair grew so tangled and broken I could no longer get a brush through it, and I recently had to cut it to shoulder length. I now want to find a Ďprevention rather than cureí method to avoid every having that bad condition hair again, as my hair is already getting split ends and growing tangled and dry again. If anyone else is in this situation I would get over the weirdness of putting egg yolks in your hair, and try this...

I mixed 2 egg yolks with 1 tbsp of honey, then added to 2 tbsp of coconut oil and 2 tbsp of olive oil. I mixed it all up and applied the gunk to my hair with the help of a spoon, massaging it into my scalp and hair length. I made sure my ends were really coated. Itís quite messy and drippy, if you think itís too runny then add more honey as thatís what makes it stick to your hair. Then I tied it up (didnít have a shower cap but this probably would have been useful!) and left it in there for about an hour. My hair hardened and grew crispy, and I smelt like a coconutty egg..I grew a bit worried at this point. But then I washed it out with lukewarm water, and shampooed and conditioned as normal. I let it air-dry till it was 90% dry then finished it off with a quick blow dry and wow! My hair is the softest, shiniest and yet still volumised and bouncy I have EVER seen it. It was so shiny my hair was literally reflecting light, and so soft I can run my fingers through it with ease. I canít remember ever having hair like this.

The best thing is you know exactly what youíve put in your hair and itís so cheap to make. I would really recommend the coconut oil addition as it smells nice and kind of masks the eggy scent, which I have to admit is a bit strong. Iíve taken note not to apply this too often because of the excess protein, so will wait a few weeks till the next Ďbomb sessioní. I would also definitely do this before a big event if I wanted to have nice soft shiny hair. Thanks to the creators, my only wish is that Iíd tried this earlier!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aeriekah on 6/14/2012 2:55:00 AM more reviews by aeriekah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this yesterday for the first time. The ends of my hair I noticed are getting a little dry. I do straightened maybe once a week so the damage is from that. I have to say that it did make my hair feel softer. I noticed the difference more in the upper half of my hair but overall my hair did feel softer.

It was a little messy and difficult to apply. Wrapped my hair in a plastic bag for an hour since I didnt have a shower cap. Will probably continue this once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raisinbagels on 5/18/2012 1:46:00 PM more reviews by raisinbagels

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

THIS WORKS SO WELL! Made my hair feel really soft. I've tried just an olive oil pre-wash mask and it doesn't work half as well as this.

Background: I have fine hair, slightly wavy, generally dry but looks deceptively smooth still. However, it has been feeling quite dry and straw-like to the touch in recent years. I decided to try this recipe and it really makes my hair feel soft! However, it probably won't make your hair perfect and doesn't really seem to be helping with flyaways and slight frizzyness which I think is due to weather. I managed to wash all the residue off in just one wash, and my hair feels completely clean. However, there is an ever-so-slight smell of the egg still, not enough to notice unless you really sniff your hair. It will go back to normal when I wash it the next day.

I used one egg yolk, one tablespoon olive oil, and a chunk of honey, on my medium-long hair length. Was enough for a thin coat all over, then I tied it up and put it in a shower cap and left it in for about 1-2 hours.

Try it! You have nothing to lose. It's natural and chemical free, & cheap!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TooeleBeauty on 5/14/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by TooeleBeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I doubled for my hair (kind of thick, 3" below bra strap) and used 2 egg yolks (picking out the white parts), 1/4 cup EVOO, and about 1 Tbsp honey. There was enough to cover my hair generously. I put a plastic shower cap on my head and covered with a hot towel. I left the mixture on for about 1-1/2 hours while I made and ate breakfast and gave my kids a bath.

I washed it out with warm water (no problems) and used my regular conditioner. It took a while to work the conditioner in and comb out tangles. When I got out, my hair felt like silk! I *almost* didn't need to blow dry it. It didn't make a big difference in the appearance of my hair, but it felt so damaged before and feels so soft now that it is worth it! Maybe if I use it more often it will make my hair look better. I highly recommend at least trying it if your hair feels damaged!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sayakhansa on 3/10/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by sayakhansa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair just cannot do without this treatment. It's super-dry to the point moisturising masks give virtually no significant result and it's wavy, when treated with the wrong product, it'll expand like a lion's mane with a gazillion knots that breaks hair brushes. And my hair's not even long, it's only armpit-length. Oh, and I do not heat style my hair.

I very nearly bought Kerastase Masquintense because I was so fed up with my difficult hair but I was very reluctant. I once tried this treatment, but it didn't give an amazing result. I'm so glad I gave it another go!

This has transformed my difficult hair into a beautiful tangle-free and defined waves. It's ridiculously soft and silky, I couldn't believe my own hands. It doesn't rob my volume as well, it makes my hair look voluminous, bouncy and just overall awesome. The result lasts, I once tried a vigorous clarifying treatment to find out my natural texture, I clarified with shampoo mixed with baking soda and didn't follow with a conditioner. My hair air-dried amazingly! I use the original recipe and it's enough for my medium-length hair. I leave it on for 30-60 minutes, shampoo it out, condition and I haven't had a single bad hair day since I started this weekly treatment. I feel like at last, I no longer need expensive salon conditioner or shampoo because with this, anything will do. The fact that it's natural and cheap is just the icing on the cake :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lallen08 on 10/1/2011 10:02:00 AM more reviews by lallen08

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love homemade beauty concoctions but I'm lazy and don't want anything too complicated. This is right up my alley. I put this on my hair and put on a shower cap before I ride my stationary bike for thirty minutes. The shower cap ensures that it gets nice and warm up there. It leaves my thick, coarse hair nicely conditioned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 9/28/2011 6:28:00 PM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this as a conditioner. I have my own recipe (follows) and it's saved my hair. I recently went through a downsizing phase and began to make almost all of my own beauty products. My hair has completely changed since I started making my own products, and while I attribute my hair's new found shininess and cleanliness to my ACV rinse, I believe that it's new thickness and softness is due to the egg yolk conditioner. While I do my ACV rinse almost everyday, I only do my yolk conditioner every 2 days or so. This is my recipe:
2 Egg Yolks
1 tsp Citric Acid
Ĺ tsp Wheat Germ Oil
Ĺ tsp Emu Oil
2 drops Lavender Essential Oil
2 drops Peppermint Essential Oil
2 drops Sage Essential Oil
2 drops Ylang Ylang Essential Oil
2 drops Tea Tree Essential Oil
I put it on my hair after I rinse out my ACV and leave it to sit while I wash my hair and face. I then rinse with cold water (you don't want hot or you'll end up with scrambled eggs). If my hair is feeling a bit stiff and I can't brush through it completely, I just use a bit of wheat germ oil. I'm so happy with the way that it's turned out. Thick, healthy, and completely natural and cheap. I'm converted!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Conditioner products