Maybelline • Lineworks Waterproof Liquid EyeLiner in Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(211 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 Amscee on 1/1/2010 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Amscee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this eyeliner quite a bit. The tapered felt tip was handy and made it easy to draw a precise line, thick or thin, over my lashlines. The colour was also a very rich black, not at all watered down, which I was afraid of. It stayed on without smudging throughout most of the day, but toward the end it started to smudge and flake a little bit around the edges -- nothing to serious though. I did find that once there was not that much product left in the conical little bottle, the remaining liquid eyeliner started to dry out very rapidly until it was just chunky and flaky and I had to replace it. Overall a good liquid eyeliner though =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 12/14/2009 5:12:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was good - but not waterproof by any means. Ever since moving to Washington there is much more moisture in the air (I'm from Dry, Southern California) & my eyes water quite frequently due to very mild allergies. At the first sign of SLIGHT watering - this smudges and immediately disappears :/ I also wore this on a VERY hot day, It was 103 (and it was VERY HUMID) and this completely crumbled and came off. Also, I wear this everyday because I ran out of my HG Wet & Wild eyeliner...and this wears off fairly quickly, I have to reapply the tip of my winged eyeliner at least once a day. It also doesn't layer very nicely and kind of cakes up, cracks, and falls off. The only thing I really like about this eyeliner is the applicator - which isn't what I payed for. Also, whenever I wear a SLIGHTLY shimmery eyeshadow with NO fallout - it somehow finds it's way onto my eyeliner and it fades horribly.

Not very impressed with this and will definitely not be wasting my money on this again - there are far better eyeliners out there for cheaper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joyousjoy88 on 12/10/2009 3:14:00 PM more reviews by joyousjoy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

[Update 2011]** I have recently seen this eyeliner being restocked at ShoppersDrugmart and Rexall in Canada. I spoke to a SA and I was told they are bringing this back for 2011.Ever since it has been discontinued sometime in 2010, I have been going crazy trying to find an exact dupe for this one! This is my HG and has been since 2003. I was horrified it was discontinued last year. So since I recently found it in stock again, I bought all the lineworks eyeliner I saw in stock. I cannot go without this again!**I have been using this eye liner for years now and the liquid itself is pretty good. For the whole day it stays, and I have watery eyes and it doesn't smear or run like other liners. I totally recommend it if you want a liquid liner that stays in place and doesn't run. However, I'm not too crazy about the brush, its a bit tricky for me to use so I use a much thinner brush and dip it into the liquid. As for price, because I've been using it for a really long time it use to be around 6-7 dollars now its around 8-10. which I don't really like... but regardless I still buy it for the liquid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mscc on 11/26/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by mscc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my HG of liquid eye liners. Granted, this was the first and only liquid eye liner I've ever used, but that's because it's worked so well for me. It lasted an entire night of sweaty dancing (plus my oily eyelids), so I feel confident wearing this to a club without having to constantly check it in a mirror. The black liquid adds definition and really stands out. It's easy to apply and remove. Plus, it's inexpensive, so what's there not to love?
=============================================
EDIT: I just bought a new bottle and am so disappointed! They must have changed the formula. (The last time I bought this was probably 4 years ago.) I wore it indoors to test it out and the oil from my eyelids just erased the line in the inner corner. Also, this time around, it came off with just the tiniest drop of water and barely any rubbing, so it's obviously not waterproof either. I will NOT buy this again. Based on MUA reviews, I'm going to try either L'Oreal Paris Extra-Intense Eyeliner or Revlon ColorStay liquid liner next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephisticated on 10/16/2009 9:43:00 PM more reviews by stephisticated

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

best liquid eyeliner i've ever used. first of all, it's felt tipped - which is a must have. liquid eyeliners that aren't felt tipped are much harder to work with, felt tipped eyeliners give you a lot more control and are easy to apply. second of all, it has amazing staying power. i wore it on prom last year and it stayed beautifully all night long and was still on in the morning :P. third of all, it's affordable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graciebaby28 on 10/8/2009 3:50:00 PM more reviews by graciebaby28

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    


I did not care for this liner at all. While it had some (ok, one) redeeming qualities, it lacked in every other area I expect an eyeliner to perform.


I'll start with the one good thing though, it's very liquidy, much more so than others I have used. This is good for tightlining in between the lashes because, well, it's so wet and inky that it just falls between the lashes. That is where the love ends though.


When using it to line the top of my lash line (above my lashes) it went on well. It was easily correctable if I messed up since it was so wet and I kept a q-tip handy. But once it dried it turned a weird shade of black. Matte and grayish, not a true black; It was as if you could look through it and needed another coat. I thought that was odd for an eyeliner. It just lacked that rich depth I have come to know with deep black liners.


Next, I lined under my lashes (still on the top lash line, not bottom lashes). I always tightline above them, between them and then hit the base of the top lashes to give a fuller lash effect. Well, this is where it fell really short. Within a few minutes of it drying, it starting 'cracking' for lack of a better word. Like it had dried and then proceeded to crack in different spots (picture dried mud--really dry and cracked). This surprised me because I have a cheapy N.Y.C. liner that I have used in that same place and it didn't do this.


Lastly, I want to comment on the 'felt' tip. Maybelline used to make an awesome felt tip pen liner. It came in a blue pen like tube. The felt tip was flexible and contoured to your eyelid but was still firm enough to draw a straight line with. It was a dream to use and I regret not buying backups of that as I have not ever come across it again. So when I saw this advertised as having a felt tip, I was thrilled. But after opening and using this...I would hesitate to call that a felt at all. It is hard and plastic like. Similar to the point on the end of a pointed sharpie is the best way to describe it. It does not contour or flex even in the slightest, it literally feels like hard plastic. It makes application odd since you are using a very runny liquid on a hard surface. Kind of like if your ink pen had sprung a leak and all the ink fell to the tip...and you have to gingerly figure out how to apply a straight line with it. It wasn't fun LOL:) I wouldn't recommend and I won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dahliakatz on 9/30/2009 10:26:00 AM more reviews by dahliakatz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I go back and forth about this product a lot. I like its staying power, its formulation -- even on my oily lids it seems to stay put rather well. I'm disappointed that it only comes in two colours (why is it so hard to find a brown-black colour these days?) and I bet there's a lot of product left inside that stupid packaging that can't be reached.

I also happen to prefer floppy paintbrush-style liner tips (I find them easier to control), and this one gets stuck between my lashes when I try to get a nice, thin, close line., skipping over the base of the hairs...

My favourite liner right now is Bare Escentuals liner (with an angled liner brush, wet) in Retro. Amazing/surprising staying power (though not waterproof) and a perfect dark brown. I might just stick with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meliiissaaa on 9/15/2009 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Meliiissaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to say, I really love this liquid liner. I have been buying it for years now, because I love the fact that the tip is firm enough and that the color last a very long time. A must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 apbunz on 9/14/2009 11:56:00 AM more reviews by apbunz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the applicator for this liner. It's a firm felt tip and it makes it very easy for me to create a thick line, but unfortunately not a thin one. The liner can apply a bit sheerly and if I go over it without enough product on the tip it starts to rub off. I experience a slight tingling sensation when I apply, but nothing distressing.


all in all it's not a particularly extraordinary product; not great, not terrible. I do like the applicator though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cereslyn on 8/30/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by cereslyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's not really 100% waterproof, when I make mistakes I can wipe it off easily with a bit of water and tissue. It might require more than one coat, the black color fades a bit. The felt tip stays pretty firm, but I notice the material is starting to loosen and strings are coming off of it. However, it does stay on all day for me, and it doesn't smudge. Overall, a good liquid eyeliner but I am still looking for something better, in the mean time I will stick with this one. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products