Giorgio Armani Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup

4.1

238 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ETHYLEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINIUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL +/- MAY CONTAIN, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/ IRON OXIDES, CI 12085 / RED 36, CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE, MICA


on 8/7/2012 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As someone with freckles I love the light coverage this gives. It is a bit more that a tinted moisturizer but not heavy like a traditional foundation. It gives me the even skin tone without covering up my freckles!
Love, love, love this product!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/2/2012 7:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm going to give this product 4 stars, because even though I have repurchased and continue to use it, it's just not PERFECT.
All the reviews before me have pretty much said it all. This is a lightweight tinted primer that "blurs" and mattifies imperfections better than anything else I've tried. For that purpose, it's excellent. Personally, I was expecting a FOUNDATION. Don't be fooled- this product will give you VERY LITTLE coverage. I imagine that I have more damaged skin than most 30 year olds (uneven tone, acne scarring, large pores) and have tried everything on the market to cover it without looking heavy and made-up all the time. This product fits the bill as a PRIMER, not a foundation. I have fair skin and use #1. As other reviewers mentioned, if you have dry patches, this will magnify that (I made the mistake of wearing it after a chemical peel and it was a disaster) and it does not last all day. I noticed that when I wear it under a full face of makeup, that makeup wears off MUCH faster than if I wear said makeup without FF. I feel like the silicone just melts off in the summertime. Kind of an icky feeling, which I don't like.
Bottom line, for the price, I wish I did not have to still wear ALL of my regular makeup in addition to this product (foundation, concealer, powder.) For $50, I want this to be miraculous and do amazing things to my skin. While it's not a terrible product, it just doesn't live up to my hopes for it. But hey, I'm still using it, aren't I?


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

feels smooth like a primer, agree to previous comment this will diffuse any imperfection instead of hide them at all, matte Finish


on 5/20/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this product, but it wasn't the finish I was looking for. I tend to prefer slightly more dimensional looking finish, blurring imperfections rather than flattening them out. If you have oily or shiny skin and are hoping for a matte look, this should really deliver. I found it a bit flattening and dull looking -- like badly photoshopped skin. Oil breaks through, or oil production is encouraged, due to the high amounts of drying silicone. Am NC20/25 and used #2.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2012 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wear it as a tinted moisturizer and i love it. It's not really a foundation, so buy it if you just want to even out skin tones a little.


on 3/29/2012 2:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff! it is amazing! It is light and is easy to apply. This is not a product for people who need a lot of coverage. This is similar to a tinted moisturizer. It evens skin tone, without masking your skin.
Amazing Product!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2012 6:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This does even out skin tone and feels more like a primer than a typical foundation when first applied, but it only lasts 3-4 hours before completely wearing off. Also, it doesn't provide a solid base for blush, bronzer, shadows, etc. Those are pretty well gone after a few hours as well. I have pretty dry (to combination) skin, and this doesn't suck the moisture out of my face and create lines where I never knew I had any, like some foundations do. But, neither did it provide the moisturizing effect of other similarly very light foundations (both oil and water based), such as Bobbi Brown moisture rich or Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. If you're looking for a very light day time foundation, have normal combination skin, and don't need any staying power, then this is beautiful, for a minute. If you need a light day time foundation that will get you through the work day and add a little healthy glow to your face, I'd look elsewhere.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2012 6:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got through most of a tube of this before deciding to review it. At the beginning I absolutely fell in love with this product for two reasons: the first is that the color match was excellent on my fair skin, just a tiny bit darker than my shade in Lasting Silk Foundation (very "healthy" looking), and the second is the ease of application. Thanks to the silicones, this product takes me about 15 seconds to apply and blend. I got so used to the simplicity of it that if I switched back to one of my other foundations I would run out of time to finish the rest of my makeup! However, I recently returned to my old standby Lasting Silk. I did not like how Face Fabric looked on my skin in photographs, it seemed to wear off during the day, it was not covering redness very well (even with concealer) and when I returned to using Lasting Silk I realized that my days of getting away with a tinted moisturizer or really lightweight foundation are clearly over. I think 10 or 15 years ago this product would have been wonderful for me. One thing that I love about Lasting Silk is that it seems to meld into my skin during the day, while still providing good overall coverage (my skin is on the dry side, so the result is a very subtle dewy glow that I think works for me. I have always been somewhat surprised that Lasting Silk has this effect on my skin since it is more of a normal to oily skin foundation). I certainly recommend trying Face Fabric and I will continue to use it on low makeup days, but I have decided that it does not replace a full coverage makeup for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2012 5:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Applied with my fingers; don't really know what I think about this. Clearly you need a concealor with this. If you want something to simply smooth out your skin, this stuff is great and indeed doesn't feel like foundation. Probably great for those trying to even out skin texture. But I'm looking for more coverage in a foundation, especially if I'm forking. My primary concerns are covering redness around my nose and hyperpigmentation from sunspots and acne scars on my cheeks. Fills in my pores very nicely. So, for what it is, a light "second-skin" foundation, it's very nice; I'd have to agree with a previous reviewer when they say it's like a tinted primer. It's chock-full of silicones (or at least feels like it) which is another reason why it probably disagreed with my skin. Finish is great and unbelievably dreamy smooth, but silicones never agree with my skin. My skin actually felt like I was wearing something (probably because I'm not used to wearing primer in the first place). I also am not sure the MA matched me with the right shade. I'm about a MAC NC25, and I got #3, which while at first appears quite dark, is an alright match to my skin. Has enough yellow at least, but probably matched to NC30 at best. I am always dissatisfied with a lot of foundations because I have light-medium Asian skin and am constantly on a search for something that makes my skin look radiant instead of beige-tinted and dull. I just need something that feels more natural on my skin. This isn't for me, but I can't deny that for what it is, this product is probably one of the best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2012 1:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't imagine ever replacing this as my tinted moisturizer/light makeup option. I hope they don't discontinue it any time soon!

Light cover, my skin shows through but still covers a little and evens out my tone. It has an almost silicone feel to it so I don't prime when I use it. Perfect!

For those spots where I am have a bit of sunspots, I use the luminous foundation and it all blends well together.


a bit off topic: I have consistently had mediocre service from GA counters. I love their foundation but I cannot trust the employees to match my skin. The applications have been sloppy and not properly prepped. It's the oddest thing. I thought it was a fluke but this past week I went to 2 different counters to get color match and both times I had sloppy work and/or wrong color. This is on top of my 2 previous bad experiences. They were nice but poorly trained. Yes, this was their regular counter. I mention this because based on what I saw in the store, I would not have bought these products. If you are interested in buying this brand, I would suggest to be prepared to ask for moisturizer and primer and then blend and possibly remove some excess makeup. With the right application this is a great line.


Back to Top