Coconut Oil

4.5

182 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cocos Nucifera Oil.


on 6/23/2013 11:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I live off of this stuff. Coconut oil is my best friend. I use it for and on everything! My hair, my skin, cooking and as a makeup remover. It's an all purpose beauty product.

About a year ago I cut my hair into a bob for god knows what. I have wavy hair and the only way my bob would look good is if i straightened it or blow dryed it, leaving me to grow out unhealthy hair. Mainly the top portion is whats the most dry. I started using coconut oil about 3 months ago and i will never go without it. It does wonders for my hair that i'm determined to grow out healthy. I soak my hair in it once a week over night and wash it out in the morning (it takes two shampoos to get it all out). It always leaves my hair feeling super healthy, silky, shiny and less prone to frizz.

I wish i had known about the wonders of this stuff earlier because i can only imagine the condition my hair would be in now had i been using this since middle school.

One of the key things to coconut oil is consistency, your hair will improve after your first treatment but you need to stick with it and do it at least once a week to keep your hair on the path to health. It's a pain sometimes to be a grease head for a night but the benefits are worth it.

It's also amazing on your skin, it absorbs really well. I don't use lotions anymore, just some good ol' coconut oil mixed with almond oil and my skin is glowing and nourished. :) As a makeup remover, i just dip a qtip in it and use it to remove my eye makeup. Loves it! I will be using coconut oil for the rest of my life.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.



on 6/19/2013 4:09:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love extra virgin coconut oil for an overnight pre-shampoo treatment of my fine, plentiful curly hair. It has a creamier consistency than regular coconut oil. I comb a couple of generous finger scoops through my hair with my fingers, concentrating on the middle and ends, and do a little light detangling. Throw my hair up in a bun overnight, wash the next morning. Happy, healthy hair. I also use lighter oils while my hair is wet to seal in moisture--I think coconut oil is too heavy for a leave in (for me). I also wouldn't use it on my face. Might try it post leg-shaving. Hmmmmm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2013 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this a few times a week as a leave in conditioner for my dry overly damaged hair. Locks in moisture and makes my hair shine.


on 6/18/2013 9:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great moisturizer for face and body. I also use it as a conditioner!


on 6/8/2013 6:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use extra certified organic coconut oil because it's great stuff for dry lips.

Great for cuticles, softening the skin a pre-wash hair conditioner and I find adding a little smoothed onto my grey, curly hair leaves it soft and shiny.

I have no issue with using it on my skin including my face. Mixed with baking soda, it makes a great exfoliator.

I'm a sucker for trying new stuff but I keep coming back to coconut oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

It isn't the miracle product I had hoped for, but it works well as a deep conditioner and temporary end sealer. When I use it overnight and shower in the morning, my hair is nice and soft. Has it really permanently improved the condition of my hair? No, but it is a good product, especially for curly girls. Definitely one of the better oils for your hair.I wouldn't recommend it as a leave in though, unless your hair is super dry. I have curly, dry hair, but it still makes my hair look greasy and nasty if i use too much or don't rinse it out fully. Still, I like to use it on my ends, and it does help there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2013 7:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE COCONUT OIL. I use it on my face, body, and hair. It's a great hair mask, night treatment for the skin around my eyes, on my legs when I'm wearing shorts to give my legs a healthy low, etc. I could go on forever. BUY SOME!! Trader joes and nutivia make good ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2013 8:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

UNREFINED COLD- PRESSED COCONUT OIL IS GREAT FOR EZCEMA!!!!
My daughter suffers from ezcema, lip lickers dermatitis, and sensitive skin. Coconut oil is not only moisturizing but antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antiviral! My daughter has gotten staph infections from scratching her ezcema areas. So coconut oil prevents her skin from drying out. And if for some reason she does break out, coconut oil saves the day. It fight any bacteria she may have introduced into her skin from scratching and moisturizes her skin. I also use it for our hair. My younger daughter's hair has really thickened up since using it on her hair and scalp. As if coconut oil wasn't amazing enough, if you eat a teaspoon or so a day it staves off viruses and is supposed to help with weight loss. But it has to be the one the is unrefined and cold- pressed!!! That is the one that is "anti" everything. I hope this review helps:)


on 4/29/2013 7:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ive been using this coconut oil on my hair since my mother used to use it way back when I was a kid. We would often get a good head massage with this stuff & she would leave it in for a few hours to moisturise & then give it all a good wash.
By far the best scalp cleanser & moisturiser.
This stuff is so cheap it should be free! honestly. But it gives such amazing results - far better than alot of very expensive products.
My tub goes a long way & I only have to purchase this every other year.
When cold, the oil will go white in colour & will not be runny/oil. Run a very hot sink & put the container (unopened) into the water for a few minutes. If the oil is real coconut oil, you will slowly see it emulsify into a thin clear-ish oil - now its ready for use!
Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2013 1:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

It doesn't get any better or cheaper than this. My hairdresser recommended coconut oil since I get ombre color done regularly. My hair has been in good shape lately, or so I thought. Just a 30 minute leave-in treatment was enough to take away dandruff and leave my hair completely moisturized without being weighed down. I now use it once a week. My flakes are gone, the ends are softer and well-behaved, and my color seems brighter. I use refined organic coconut oil (the refining eliminates the scent for the most part. Didn't know that, I just was going for the cheapest jar!) Here's what I do:
1. Make sure hair is dry!
2. Saturate scalp through to the ends. Add extra to where to might need it. If you have dandruff (which I do if I drink.. think it's the dehydration), add extra to your scalp.
3. Leave on for as long as you like, and use any method for it to sink in. 20 minutes with a shower cap, overnight in a bun, one hour under a dryer, whatever. It all works. No, it will not be greasy because...
3. When you shampoo it out, do NOT wet hair before you put on the shampoo. Concentrate on the hairline, and you're good to go. I shampoo 3 times with a sulfate-free shampoo, and I don't have to wash again for 2-3 days (the usual for me.)
4. Bask in the complements!

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top