Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 papercrane97 on 6/8/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by papercrane97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It isn't the miracle product I had hoped for, but it works well as a deep conditioner and temporary end sealer. When I use it overnight and shower in the morning, my hair is nice and soft. Has it really permanently improved the condition of my hair? No, but it is a good product, especially for curly girls. Definitely one of the better oils for your hair.I wouldn't recommend it as a leave in though, unless your hair is super dry. I have curly, dry hair, but it still makes my hair look greasy and nasty if i use too much or don't rinse it out fully. Still, I like to use it on my ends, and it does help there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maryso on 6/2/2013 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Maryso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE COCONUT OIL. I use it on my face, body, and hair. It's a great hair mask, night treatment for the skin around my eyes, on my legs when I'm wearing shorts to give my legs a healthy low, etc. I could go on forever. BUY SOME!! Trader joes and nutivia make good ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 denmel on 5/1/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by denmel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

UNREFINED COLD- PRESSED COCONUT OIL IS GREAT FOR EZCEMA!!!!
My daughter suffers from ezcema, lip lickers dermatitis, and sensitive skin. Coconut oil is not only moisturizing but antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antiviral! My daughter has gotten staph infections from scratching her ezcema areas. So coconut oil prevents her skin from drying out. And if for some reason she does break out, coconut oil saves the day. It fight any bacteria she may have introduced into her skin from scratching and moisturizes her skin. I also use it for our hair. My younger daughter's hair has really thickened up since using it on her hair and scalp. As if coconut oil wasn't amazing enough, if you eat a teaspoon or so a day it staves off viruses and is supposed to help with weight loss. But it has to be the one the is unrefined and cold- pressed!!! That is the one that is "anti" everything. I hope this review helps:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 4/29/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this coconut oil on my hair since my mother used to use it way back when I was a kid. We would often get a good head massage with this stuff & she would leave it in for a few hours to moisturise & then give it all a good wash.
By far the best scalp cleanser & moisturiser.
This stuff is so cheap it should be free! honestly. But it gives such amazing results - far better than alot of very expensive products.
My tub goes a long way & I only have to purchase this every other year.
When cold, the oil will go white in colour & will not be runny/oil. Run a very hot sink & put the container (unopened) into the water for a few minutes. If the oil is real coconut oil, you will slowly see it emulsify into a thin clear-ish oil - now its ready for use!
Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Remykat on 4/28/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Remykat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It doesn't get any better or cheaper than this. My hairdresser recommended coconut oil since I get ombre color done regularly. My hair has been in good shape lately, or so I thought. Just a 30 minute leave-in treatment was enough to take away dandruff and leave my hair completely moisturized without being weighed down. I now use it once a week. My flakes are gone, the ends are softer and well-behaved, and my color seems brighter. I use refined organic coconut oil (the refining eliminates the scent for the most part. Didn't know that, I just was going for the cheapest jar!) Here's what I do:
1. Make sure hair is dry!
2. Saturate scalp through to the ends. Add extra to where to might need it. If you have dandruff (which I do if I drink.. think it's the dehydration), add extra to your scalp.
3. Leave on for as long as you like, and use any method for it to sink in. 20 minutes with a shower cap, overnight in a bun, one hour under a dryer, whatever. It all works. No, it will not be greasy because...
3. When you shampoo it out, do NOT wet hair before you put on the shampoo. Concentrate on the hairline, and you're good to go. I shampoo 3 times with a sulfate-free shampoo, and I don't have to wash again for 2-3 days (the usual for me.)
4. Bask in the complements!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 1/15/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What can I say... this is amazing!!!

I have Keratosis Pilaris also known as chicken skin on my legs and my skin is all bumpy and rough. I did some research and read that KP can be partially caused due to dry skin and some articles/videos recommended using extra virgin coconut oil. At first I was a little reluctant because I felt that it would be too greasy and my skin wouldn't absorb it properly especially because I had bad experience with Palmer's Cocoa Butter just sitting on my skin and not doing anything but finally I decided I could give it a try and it's been about 4 days since using it and my skin has never felt so good and my chicken skin has not disappeared but it has gotten a lot better. My skin feels softer and looks healthier. I haven't used it on my face but I have also used it on my hair. I massaged it into my hair and scalp and left it in for 45min before shampooing and conditioning my hair. It left my hair shiny and soft.


Extra Virgin Cononut Oil is a wonderful versatile product and here are other ways of using it


1) as a body moisturiser


2) to soothe dry hands


3) as a shaving cream substitute


4) as a deep hair conditioner


5) to remove eye-make up


6) to clean and hydrate your face


Because coconut oil is naturally antibacterial, anti fungal, moisturizing and, according to research, great for atopic dermatitis, many women swear by its use as a nighttime moisturizer for their face, too. Try the double-cleansing method: Simply rub the oil in circular motions all over your face and neck, giving yourself a gentle massage as you go. When you’re done, wash off the residue with your favorite cleanser. (If you’re adult-acne prone, avoid this technique unless you know your skin tolerates coconut oil.)


Why use coconut oil? Because it's inexpensive and all natural!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyfielding on 1/15/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by sallyfielding

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I've been using pure coconut oil on my hair for about 3 weeks now, and the results have been AMAZING! Just fyi, I have medium length brown hair that I had balayaged last year, so the ends were extremely dry and frazzled. I used a blow dryer straightening iron on my hair everyday until I decided enough was enough. I'd read some reviews online about coconut oil as a hair treatment but honestly didn't believe the hype... Until I decided to buy a jar and try it out for myself.
The results were amazing! The way I used it was applying a liberal amount (enough to saturate the hair without it dripping, including roots) to dry hair and letting it soak in for 3 hours. I then washed it, twice with shampoo & once with conditioner (Tigi Resurrection which I think add to the success of making my hair healthy again), as well as a 5 minute leave in coconut treatment by Palmers (Coconut Oil Formula Conditioner). This might sound like a lot, but doing this once a week has literally transformed my hair, and I think the coconut oil is definitely whats helping it.
I've now changed my routine which believe is helping it more. I now apply liberally, the same as before, to damp hair and sleep on it, so that it's on the hair for 10-12 hours, then wash using the same steps as above. This is more of a deep clean as it is on the hair for longer, so only needs to be done every 1-2 weeks. The results speak for themselves though!
I now also regularly dip 3 or 4 fingers into the jar to get enough to coat the ends of my hair (without it being greasy) if my hair is going to be in a bun for the day.
Before genuinely caring about my hair, I never got regular trims and used ordinary, cheap supermarket shampoos. While these work for people with normal, healthy hair, I think that if you want to see lasting success with Coconut Oil, it is important to invest in a good shampoo - not necessarily expensive, but not cheap.
If you haven't tried coconut oil and you're stuck thinking nothing is ever going to make your hair look and feel healthy again, I seriously recommend you try Coconut Oil. It takes a little bit of trial and error to discover what works for you, but you'll be seriously thankful once you've used it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 12/22/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Here's what I did: I bought the extra virgin, organic stuff from Trader Joes, took half out of the jar and put it in a clean, empty, wide mouth jar in the bathroom for beauty uses, and kept the other half in the kitchen for cooking (great for Indian recipes, on toast, and supposedly helps to prevent Alzheimer's! Why not!? Tastes amazing.)

I use it as a carrier oil for hair treatments, along with jojoba and almond (I think the almond is way more moisturizing but love jojoba for face). I also put it directly into hair and while it's greasy at first, the next day it doesn't feel so much. Though I think pre-poo is prob best. I'm a little scared to use it on my skin because I clog easily, and most oils I can't put directly on my skin, but it's good for hair. I've used it many times now. I also use it as a pre-bleaching treatment to protect the hair. The bleach still works, but it protects the hair from over drying/becoming too brittle. I also use it when I have to do my hair in braids or styles that usually have little fly aways, never gel. And on the flip, when I'm soaking my hair before bleaching or just for a conditioning oil mask, I can wear the oil in my hair during the day if I do a cool braid style (since it's too oily and greasy to wear down.) It looks sleek and polished and no one knows. :) Def try it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magnifiquee on 12/19/2012 2:26:00 PM more reviews by magnifiquee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh coconut oil how I love you so.
A while back when I was about 16 or 17 years old I got a really bad haircut and I mean BAD. I also was stupid and constantly straightened my hair and blowdried it and used harsh products on it all the time. My hair was dead, lifeless, dull and would NOT grow. I swear in 3 years my hair probably grew 1.5 inches. It was REALLY REALLY bad and I didn't know what to do. I tried taking biotin, multivitamins, olive oil, expensive repair masks and they only did so much to my hair. I was looking up what would be really helpful and I saw coconut oil. I went to the supermarket and saw a giant jar of it for $5 which is amazing since most expensive hair masks are $20+.

I use coconut oil in so many ways, once a week I take the coconut oil, rub it between my hands and work it through my hair from the scalp to the ends and paying more attention to the ends because that's where most of the damage in your hair is. I leave it in for an hour or two and wash it out and then use normal shampoo and conditioner after. The first time I had tried it my hair was soo strong and bouncy feeling. I was hooked!!
Another way I use coconut oil is combined with olive oil, honey and an egg yolk as a protein mask and it has made my hair stronger than EVER before. My hair in this past year has grown probably around 6-7 inches compared to the 1.5 it was before. I am so in love with this product and how cheap and easy to use it is.
It has soo many benefits to the hair and really penetrates and moisturizes and helps repair. I would recommend this to anyone who is having trouble with their hair being dead and damaged, it really is holy grail status and I will use this forever.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonyym on 12/15/2012 3:49:00 AM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The only hair mask I like so sleep with. Love the smell :i

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products