Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JLsunshine on 6/18/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by JLsunshine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this a few times a week as a leave in conditioner for my dry overly damaged hair. Locks in moisture and makes my hair shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aetinsley on 6/18/2013 9:25:00 PM more reviews by aetinsley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great moisturizer for face and body. I also use it as a conditioner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 corrineinwa on 6/8/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by corrineinwa

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I use extra certified organic coconut oil because it's great stuff for dry lips.

Great for cuticles, softening the skin a pre-wash hair conditioner and I find adding a little smoothed onto my grey, curly hair leaves it soft and shiny.

I have no issue with using it on my skin including my face. Mixed with baking soda, it makes a great exfoliator.

I'm a sucker for trying new stuff but I keep coming back to coconut oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 papercrane97 on 6/8/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by papercrane97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It isn't the miracle product I had hoped for, but it works well as a deep conditioner and temporary end sealer. When I use it overnight and shower in the morning, my hair is nice and soft. Has it really permanently improved the condition of my hair? No, but it is a good product, especially for curly girls. Definitely one of the better oils for your hair.I wouldn't recommend it as a leave in though, unless your hair is super dry. I have curly, dry hair, but it still makes my hair look greasy and nasty if i use too much or don't rinse it out fully. Still, I like to use it on my ends, and it does help there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maryso on 6/2/2013 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Maryso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE COCONUT OIL. I use it on my face, body, and hair. It's a great hair mask, night treatment for the skin around my eyes, on my legs when I'm wearing shorts to give my legs a healthy low, etc. I could go on forever. BUY SOME!! Trader joes and nutivia make good ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 denmel on 5/1/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by denmel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

UNREFINED COLD- PRESSED COCONUT OIL IS GREAT FOR EZCEMA!!!!
My daughter suffers from ezcema, lip lickers dermatitis, and sensitive skin. Coconut oil is not only moisturizing but antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antiviral! My daughter has gotten staph infections from scratching her ezcema areas. So coconut oil prevents her skin from drying out. And if for some reason she does break out, coconut oil saves the day. It fight any bacteria she may have introduced into her skin from scratching and moisturizes her skin. I also use it for our hair. My younger daughter's hair has really thickened up since using it on her hair and scalp. As if coconut oil wasn't amazing enough, if you eat a teaspoon or so a day it staves off viruses and is supposed to help with weight loss. But it has to be the one the is unrefined and cold- pressed!!! That is the one that is "anti" everything. I hope this review helps:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 4/29/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been using this coconut oil on my hair since my mother used to use it way back when I was a kid. We would often get a good head massage with this stuff & she would leave it in for a few hours to moisturise & then give it all a good wash.
By far the best scalp cleanser & moisturiser.
This stuff is so cheap it should be free! honestly. But it gives such amazing results - far better than alot of very expensive products.
My tub goes a long way & I only have to purchase this every other year.
When cold, the oil will go white in colour & will not be runny/oil. Run a very hot sink & put the container (unopened) into the water for a few minutes. If the oil is real coconut oil, you will slowly see it emulsify into a thin clear-ish oil - now its ready for use!
Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Remykat on 4/28/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Remykat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It doesn't get any better or cheaper than this. My hairdresser recommended coconut oil since I get ombre color done regularly. My hair has been in good shape lately, or so I thought. Just a 30 minute leave-in treatment was enough to take away dandruff and leave my hair completely moisturized without being weighed down. I now use it once a week. My flakes are gone, the ends are softer and well-behaved, and my color seems brighter. I use refined organic coconut oil (the refining eliminates the scent for the most part. Didn't know that, I just was going for the cheapest jar!) Here's what I do:
1. Make sure hair is dry!
2. Saturate scalp through to the ends. Add extra to where to might need it. If you have dandruff (which I do if I drink.. think it's the dehydration), add extra to your scalp.
3. Leave on for as long as you like, and use any method for it to sink in. 20 minutes with a shower cap, overnight in a bun, one hour under a dryer, whatever. It all works. No, it will not be greasy because...
3. When you shampoo it out, do NOT wet hair before you put on the shampoo. Concentrate on the hairline, and you're good to go. I shampoo 3 times with a sulfate-free shampoo, and I don't have to wash again for 2-3 days (the usual for me.)
4. Bask in the complements!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 1/15/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What can I say... this is amazing!!!

I have Keratosis Pilaris also known as chicken skin on my legs and my skin is all bumpy and rough. I did some research and read that KP can be partially caused due to dry skin and some articles/videos recommended using extra virgin coconut oil. At first I was a little reluctant because I felt that it would be too greasy and my skin wouldn't absorb it properly especially because I had bad experience with Palmer's Cocoa Butter just sitting on my skin and not doing anything but finally I decided I could give it a try and it's been about 4 days since using it and my skin has never felt so good and my chicken skin has not disappeared but it has gotten a lot better. My skin feels softer and looks healthier. I haven't used it on my face but I have also used it on my hair. I massaged it into my hair and scalp and left it in for 45min before shampooing and conditioning my hair. It left my hair shiny and soft.


Extra Virgin Cononut Oil is a wonderful versatile product and here are other ways of using it


1) as a body moisturiser


2) to soothe dry hands


3) as a shaving cream substitute


4) as a deep hair conditioner


5) to remove eye-make up


6) to clean and hydrate your face


Because coconut oil is naturally antibacterial, anti fungal, moisturizing and, according to research, great for atopic dermatitis, many women swear by its use as a nighttime moisturizer for their face, too. Try the double-cleansing method: Simply rub the oil in circular motions all over your face and neck, giving yourself a gentle massage as you go. When you’re done, wash off the residue with your favorite cleanser. (If you’re adult-acne prone, avoid this technique unless you know your skin tolerates coconut oil.)


Why use coconut oil? Because it's inexpensive and all natural!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyfielding on 1/15/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by sallyfielding

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I've been using pure coconut oil on my hair for about 3 weeks now, and the results have been AMAZING! Just fyi, I have medium length brown hair that I had balayaged last year, so the ends were extremely dry and frazzled. I used a blow dryer straightening iron on my hair everyday until I decided enough was enough. I'd read some reviews online about coconut oil as a hair treatment but honestly didn't believe the hype... Until I decided to buy a jar and try it out for myself.
The results were amazing! The way I used it was applying a liberal amount (enough to saturate the hair without it dripping, including roots) to dry hair and letting it soak in for 3 hours. I then washed it, twice with shampoo & once with conditioner (Tigi Resurrection which I think add to the success of making my hair healthy again), as well as a 5 minute leave in coconut treatment by Palmers (Coconut Oil Formula Conditioner). This might sound like a lot, but doing this once a week has literally transformed my hair, and I think the coconut oil is definitely whats helping it.
I've now changed my routine which believe is helping it more. I now apply liberally, the same as before, to damp hair and sleep on it, so that it's on the hair for 10-12 hours, then wash using the same steps as above. This is more of a deep clean as it is on the hair for longer, so only needs to be done every 1-2 weeks. The results speak for themselves though!
I now also regularly dip 3 or 4 fingers into the jar to get enough to coat the ends of my hair (without it being greasy) if my hair is going to be in a bun for the day.
Before genuinely caring about my hair, I never got regular trims and used ordinary, cheap supermarket shampoos. While these work for people with normal, healthy hair, I think that if you want to see lasting success with Coconut Oil, it is important to invest in a good shampoo - not necessarily expensive, but not cheap.
If you haven't tried coconut oil and you're stuck thinking nothing is ever going to make your hair look and feel healthy again, I seriously recommend you try Coconut Oil. It takes a little bit of trial and error to discover what works for you, but you'll be seriously thankful once you've used it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products