Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Morganluvsmusicaltheater on 8/16/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by Morganluvsmusicaltheater

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I shaved tonight about an hour ago using the Venus Embrace razor and had the best experience I have EVER had with shaving! I randomly picked this razor at Sam's club because my razor was old and I needed a new one. They only had the Venus Embrace so I got that one. I never knew I would actually "fall in love," with a razor but, I DID!!!! I always used to get cuts on my legs from razors and bumps. I also never got a very close shave. The Venus Embrace razor gives you a close shave, no cuts, and smooth legs. The head also moves with all the nooks and crankies on your legs, feet, and armpits! I am finally doing my long legs justice with this razor! I will NEVER use another razor again! I am so pleased with this razor and I recommend it to everyone! For beginners in shaving to the most experienced shavers! The Venus Embrace is also affordable for an amazing razor! You can find it at any drugstore, but you can buy it cheaper in a store that sells items in bulk like Sam's club! I got a reusable razor, 10 razor heads, and a razor holder for the shower all for around $20!!! I am a 14 year old girl who just found the perfect razor and is never going back to any other one again!!! Thanks Venus! :D (my legs are smooth, hair free, and shiny!) PERFECT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rt7022 on 8/5/2011 8:01:00 PM more reviews by rt7022

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely refuse to use any other razor. I've been hooked on it since I was fourteen, and every other razor is crap compared to this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mdsnrey06 on 7/23/2011 6:32:00 PM more reviews by mdsnrey06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second time trying the Venus Embrace, because I was convinced that the first time I must have gotten a completely defective one. "There is no way that 5 blades could leave so much stubble," I said. Well, I was wrong again. This is absolutely the worst razor you can get at this price range. First of all, it irritates my legs like a single-blade disposable razor would. I use it with Gillette shaving cream, not soap or anything, and it still scraped the skin so that I got terrible irritation. It also left so much stubble that my legs were prickly right after shaving, so the pain wasn't even worth it. I'm going to stick to my Quattro, which actually removes the hair and doesn't scrape my leg off in the process. Venus has seriously disappointed me. Also, not that I really care, but the shower pod didn't stay closed on either of the Embraces that I've purchased. So if you like those things to hold your razor, don't count on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PeacefulHarm on 7/5/2011 8:58:00 PM more reviews by PeacefulHarm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I love this so much! I just purchased it today after using the Schick Intuition. I was in a bit of a hurry, so I just grabbed the cheapest non-disposable one, which was this. And I was impressed! It was only around $7, which is GREAT compared to other prices of different brands. I only gave it a 3 for packaging because it feels like a disposable razor in a way. It has that cheap-plastic sort of feel, yet it has a really nice comforting gel grip on it. I paired this with Satin Care shave gel, and I've never got such a close shave ever in my life!
I'm really glad I bought this. I'm not sure if it's the gel or the razor that's doing the trick, but I definitely will keep on purchasing both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoj3ss on 6/19/2011 4:34:00 PM more reviews by xoj3ss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this razor! At first I didn't really care what brand/feature my razor had, up until I came across this one. This razor has five blades and gives you the smoothest shave -- without cutting yourself. Highly recommended :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GeekyMcGee on 5/7/2011 11:35:00 PM more reviews by GeekyMcGee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't hate this razor, but I don't love it either. The head of this thing is huuuuge, a lot bigger than it needs to be. I used it on my armpits and it did crappy job [probably due to its size]. It was fine on my legs, but no better than my usual regular Venus blades. These definitely aren't worth the price for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessxsarah on 4/10/2011 11:11:00 AM more reviews by princessxsarah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this yesterday half price for just over 4 & got Satin Care shaving gel for senstive skin free with it.

I shaved my legs with it today without even using the gel coz i just wanted to see what it would be like and just did it when my legs were wet and it made them so smooth! :D the smoothest they've ever been lol! They feel so silky & beautiful & sexy :) I just want to keep touching them and they're so shiny which i love <3 it was fairly easy to shave my legs without the gel and i was very impressed & amazed by the smoothness & that it literally got every hair! It did take a while though and quite a bit of going over it but that might just be me and that I'm obsessed with shaving my legs and getting every teeny weeny little miniscule hair lol! And the fact that i was enjoying shaving my legs with it so much, i was going over them quite a bit, but it still didnt take that long & in my opinion it gets your legs smooth quickly & with no nicks or pain! :) & it's easy & very pleasant to shave your legs with. It makes shaving your legs very enjoyable, instead of a task & I'm actually looking forward to shaving them again for the first time lol! But next time i will use the gel to shave my legs coz i think it'll make it easier & make my legs even smoother & silkier.

I used the gel to shave my underarms & you only need a very small amount of gel, just press the top of the can lightly and that will be enough to rub onto your underarms, as a very small amount lathers up a lot & makes it so easy to shave your underarms! So i will definitely be using the gel on my legs next time just to make it even easier and more enjoyable to shave my legs :)

And the fact that you only need to use a tiny amount of course means that it is good value for money and will last a long time. It also has a very nice smell which a lot of reviews for the gel have said. It hasn't irritated my underarms at all which was what i was worried about coz i do have very sensitive skin.

I also tested the gel & razor on my bikini area and the gel didnt irrirate it & the razor didnt hurt :) i also love that the razor can get in every nook and cranny & you can manouvre it around very well in all directions which is especially needed for shaving underarms & the razor itself has very good grip :) the razor and gel havent made my skin itch or feel sore or irritated at all anywhere yet which I'm very impressed with coz i have such sensitive skin. The only nick i got was one on my underarm but that was probably my own fault coz i maybe pressed too hard, you need to use little or no pressure. And i moisturise afterwards with E45 lotion & like i said no irritation whatsoever :)

I cant comment on how long it lasts before the smoothness & silkiness feeling goes & the stubble comes back & you have to shave again yet, but I'm hoping it will be 2-3 days. And I'm also interested to see how long before i need to change the blades coz I'm definitely going to carry on using it :) apparently the blades last about 10 shaves & that is when you should change them. So I'll see if they last that long or longer & when i feel the need to change them. Overall I absolutely LOVE IT!!!! <3 its worth the money & if the blades last a long time, it'll be worth the money even more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zed on 3/28/2011 8:52:00 PM more reviews by zed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE THIS!!!!! I have dark, coarse hair on my legs and it works beautifully!!!!

pros:
- close shave (i find it works best after exfoliating)
- nice packaging
- great ability to manoeuvre (especially over knees)
- added moisture strips help
- shaver lasts a decent amount of time
- legs remain smooth for up to 24 hours or so, then i get a bit prickly, but the most i would shave is twice a week.
- cool in-shower holder
- have repurchased the refill razors twice (pack of 4)

cons:
- pricey (in Australia, about $20-$30 for a pack of 4)

overall, a great product, if you are willing to pay for it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dany06 on 1/27/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by dany06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is vastly overrated. To be honest a cheap pack of $2 bic disposable do far better than this expensive razor. So let me tell you about the pros and cons. The pros are the nifty litte cartridge holder/shower pod. You have storage for the cartridges and a place to hold your razor. This is what I like best about this product. The second pro is that you cant possibly cut yourself with this razor. The protective strips prevent the razor from getting anywhere near the skin. No wonder they recommend this one for first time shavers on their website. the last pro is that it glides over the skin effortlessly. the swivel/pivoting head makes it easily move over irregular or curved surfaces.

The cons. The prices suck. I usually dont spend more than 3 dollars for a pack of razors that I can use for weeks at a time. The biggest issue is that it doesnt give a clean shave. Not even close to one. I could still feel stuble after shaving with it.

I recently started back to shaving. I found some old unused bic disposible razors and I had could achieve sleek looking legs for 3 days. Even when stubble started to come back it was very very low. I then decided to try out the embrace after a few weeks of using up my bics. Well, the embrace couldnt cut down the hair at all. I shaved in the opposite direction of the hair growth and went over the areas about 4 times. This razor is probably meant for people with soft fine leg hair. I have thick coarse leg hair and lots of it. I thought going out and getting a more expensive(quality) one that tons of people raved about would make it even better. I guess not.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rita19 on 1/8/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Rita19

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely the best manual razor I have ever used!! This is my HG item. Rarely do I ever cut myself anymore. I get a nice close shave on my legs and underarms with no razor burn. I use either Skintimate or Gillette Satin Care Shave Gel along with this. I also like the original Venus too - works almost just as good. I highly recommend this product. A bit expensive for a razor but I almost always use coupons or stock up when I find them on sale/clearance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products