TheBalm Sexy Mama

4.2

94 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

mica, boron nitride, polyethylene (and) PTFE, zea mays (Corn) starch, silica, isoeicosane, zinc stearate, styrene/DVB copolymer, polyisobutene, dimethylimidinone rice starch, iron oxides CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, gossypium herbaceum (Cotton) powder, sodium dehydroacetate, dimethicone.


on 3/29/2013 12:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First, I got it from hautelook, so the price it gets even better. (it was less then 10$) I didnt have high hope for this powder and it does surprise me! its pigmented, its smooth, the staying power is awesome.

I use it to set my under eye concealer, love how the finish of my look after applying this powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/16/2013 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Beautiful, it's absolutely the right word for this product. It's so smooth, very pigmented, definitely translucent as it's advertised and doesn't look dry on skin. A light swipe on the powder is all I need for my entire face. I used to spend big $$$ on all kinds of HE powder products, and had no luck of finding my HG until now.

After buying their Mary-loumanizer and couldn't be happier with it, I decided to listen to the MUA reviewers once again and purchased the sexy mama. I have to say arn't all of you right? This is definitely another WOW product (no HE product I used before had ever wowed me). There are very simple ingredients in the product, and free from harsh chemicals. Good job Thebalm, I've found two of my HG products from you so far, and I hardly found one that I can stick to from any other brands.

Also an personal advise, a little goes a long way. DON'T overuse, overusing any powder can cause a caky face! Powder should be light weight like air, not heavy coverage, just make sure conceal any imperfection before you apply the powder over your face.


Update: I found that by putting a little powder under my eyes really helped to stop my eyeliner and shadow from smudging and fading. Even after a long hour at gym, there was no smudging. Another good surprise!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2013 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This powder is incredible. I have oily skin on my tzone & this keeps the oil at bay. It keeps my skin matte, but SO SOFT at the same time. I have tried all kinds of powders from bare minerals, elf, urban decay, MAC, NYX, etc. No other powder makes my skin feel this soft & look so great. It doesn't dry your face out & it does not have a white cast in photos. I got this on hautelook for the half the price, which is awesome. Would purchase again in a heartbeat!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2013 2:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this after getting the balm jovi palette as a gift and loved it. I read the reviews :) and decided to try this out. I stopped using powder because my skin is somewhat dry and it made my face look horrible. This isn't drying at all and sets my makeup perfectly. Also great if you prefer not to wear a face full of makeup daily and just want a finished, less shiny look. Totally recommend, it's definitely worth the few extras dollars.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2013 6:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Truly translucent, totally matte pressed powder. Fantastic for touchups for those who favor a matte look. It's the best matte translucent pressed powder I've tried at this price point. I have dry skin and it is not uncomfortable to wear, though it looks a little flat on me, which is my only reason not to repurchase.


on 2/9/2013 11:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really like this powder especially how well it controls oil with those oil control spheres. I find when I finish my makeup I use this with my Hello Kitty Kabuki and bam no shine and oil control for quite a while too.
I am combo skinned so my T-zone loves to get oily with this it really keeps my skin looking fresh. I'm an NW-20 so it's invisible on my skin and it doesn't cake on me or accentuate dry patches.
I love the packaging and think it's perfect for my bag. Best thing also is no talc in the formula which is nice to me. This is good stuff highly recommended and I will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2013 6:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've found this along with the bronzer and blush at TJ MAxx for $14 so the price really isn't bad. The powder goes on well, feels light, doesn't smell funny, and sets foundation well.


on 12/30/2012 8:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Thankfully I got this on sale for 10 USD (instead of the regular 21 USD), and at first I absolutely hated this, I thought it was chalky and non-transparent. I left it in the bottom of my makeup drawer for nearly a month, until I was re-organising and decided to give it another try.


I'm so glad I did! My first impressions were just way off. I have very dry skin, however I don't like my foundation to be dewy, so I'm always on the hunt for a powder that can work for dry skin types aswell.
The reason it didn't work very well was because I applied it with my Eco Tools Kabuki. Dense brushes don't really work well to apply this product, you really need a fan brush or a large powder brush, otherwise the product will just cake up and look awful.

The staying power is brilliant, it keeps my foundation semi-matte for however long I'm wearing makeup.

The colour is truly translucent, despite my first impressions.

The formulation is thin and the product can be built up if needed.

The regular retail price is a little steep for me, but then again I've been using this for months and it hardly looks like I've even used the product, so I imagine it will last a long time.
This is truly the best powder I've found that will work with even the driest skin types! Will definitely repurchase.


on 12/22/2012 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My nose usually gets oily in the afternoon but not with this products. This product does what it says and matches my skin perfectly. Also the packaging is so cute !


on 11/19/2012 7:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Favorite translucent powder! It actually does what it says: Controls oil and eliminates shine (uses mini oil-absorbing spheres), sets makeup without the powdery look, and provides a matte finish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated TheBalm Products

image

Mary-Lou Manizer

368 reviews
image

Frat Boy

52 reviews
image

Down Boy

64 reviews
image

Hot Mama

212 reviews
Back to Top