Rimmel • Lasting Finish Enriched w/ Minerals • Liquid

rated 3.8(442 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 acrobats on 11/5/2010 9:41:00 PM more reviews by acrobats

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep repurchasing this- the quality is great for the price!
It has good coverage -- but not too heavy. I apply it with a foundation brush and it looks great. Easy to build coverage where you need it (in my case, under my eyes). Great staying power.
My other HG foundation is Colorstay, and I feel that this is a bit less heavy and otherwise comparable in quality... but much less expensive!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluebirdie_ca on 11/3/2010 10:49:00 PM more reviews by bluebirdie_ca

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this liquid foundation for over a year. In the spring, I had to switch to covergirl clean&clear because my skin turned a bit leathery. But once the allergy season was over, my skin was back to normal. I tried all my foundations again and decided this looked best at the time.

I switch between the lightest two shades depending on my skin color. I have very oily T-zone. This foundation usually lasts a good half a day. It has never turned orange, and never disappeared. I use sponges to apply them so I use them up really fast so I stock up whenever they're on sale. The plastic tubes feel cheap, but I love the convenience of it (unlike my other glass bottled foundations which are a nightmare to pour out).

I used to purchase these at Walgreens but our local WG no longer carries these. I hope they bring these back, otherwise I will have to start looking for the next best thing.

EDIT: I've upgraded this Rimmel foundation to 5 because the longer I use it, the better my skin feels. I can even use it in the allergy season now so this foundation is what I mostly use nowadays.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tophuong on 10/19/2010 4:40:00 PM more reviews by tophuong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For the first two weeks I really loved this product. It covers everything and is really easy to blend. It does have a slightly tacky feel on your skin, which eases off when you put power on top.

However after the first couple of weeks, even beforehand I notice that I was slowly getting clogged pores and i think it even caused a spot to worsen quite a bit. Yes I know because its long lasting that you have to wash it off well and that I did. I would clean with DHC deep cleansing oil, wiping it off with a large cotton pad, followed by washing it with a daily facial and lastly wash it off with Origins never a dull moment. So I don't think it was a matter of not being able to properly wash this off my face. But the fact that your skin finds it really hard to breathe and by the end of the day so ultimately gets clogged up. My face would always feel sticky and so tacky by the end of the day that I'd rush home just to wash it off!

After a while the benefits of coverage quickly became outweighed by the fact that it was making my skin look bumpy, with those horrible under the skin bumps (very small, but still...). I think it will work for some skin type but when you notice any sort of unusual breakout however small, you should just stop using it.

I've just brought MAC pro long wear and it feels really wonderful on my skin, fingers crossed it'll be my HG!

EDIT: MAC pro-long sucks and I've momentarily gone back to this before I find a better solution. Despite what I said, the coverage is good and at least looks natural! I think I just need a better finishing powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jhwest on 10/14/2010 1:51:00 PM more reviews by jhwest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I'm pretty pale (usually I wear the palest or second most pale shade). This was quite a bit darker. I figured I'd try it anyway. It went on very mask-like. My face looked plastic-y in my rearview mirror. It also made my pores look bigger than normal. Definitely not a makeup to make you look fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 milkmilkmilk on 10/8/2010 9:04:00 PM more reviews by milkmilkmilk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

The foundation was too dark and orange for me! Also, the tube is very runny so I had to keep the bottle upside down.

The coverage is medium. It tones my face and covers discolorations. It doesn't have a dewy finish, nor matte finish. It does not cake, crease (unless you have a scab on your face).

I would not buy this product again, but I DO suggest it to people who can find it in their shade

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 risris89 on 10/7/2010 8:57:00 PM more reviews by risris89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation yesterday based off the good reviews and since I have tried many other Rimmel products in the past and I have loved them. This foundation was not a disappointment! It has held up really well throughout my busy day and it still looks good right now at 8 PM at night! It gives a great finish, and doesn't look cakey at all! It blends very well and it doesn't feel heavy on my skin either. It doesn't even feel like I am wearing any makeup at all on my face. Even when I was walking my long walk to class this morning in the hot and humid Alabama heat, yes, I was sweating, but it still has lasted throughout my entire day! Amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 noelletan on 9/19/2010 11:54:00 PM more reviews by noelletan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

On sale for $4.95, I got the wrong shade (my fault) but I would not buy this again. There's an undesirable smell, not nasty and bad, but not good (chemical parfum). The coverage was not as much as I wanted, except when I stippled. And the problem was it didn't stipple too well. Despite that, I found it runny and needed to store it upside down (a hassle as it doesn't stand). Blendable when used correctly, but I'm still returning it for a refund.

Also the ingredients list is frightful: http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/wordsearch_free.php?hq=rimmel+lasting+finish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ebyd82 on 9/19/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by ebyd82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for months and love it. I have purchased other, more expensive foundations in that time, but always come back to this one. Its great.. covers my redness and spots really well, and even though it is oil free, its still nice and moist on the skin, (good for dry skin) and blends well without drying too fast. I'd say it has a medium coverage, but can build up really well if you want a more fuller cov effect.
I use the Soft Beige (200) shade and it suits me perfectly. Have never found a foundation that suits me as well as this one.

For around $17 AU, its well priced, the tube lets you squeeze out as much or as little as you want. And with the added minerals - it was a winner for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jerrisc on 9/6/2010 12:50:00 PM more reviews by jerrisc

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the new 25 hr. one in 200 Soft Beige, but it was alittle too dark so I mixed in a little 100 Ivory and the color is perfect. I have a med/light complexion with blonde hair. I usually use Revlon Colorstay in the light makeup Sand Beige. I think this makeup does better when u set it with powder. I use the Colorstay light shade powder with it. I have rosacea & i need a foundation with a little yellow in it to offset the red from the rosacea. If I wear pink makeup I look like a pink glow ball. LOL.Love This makeup

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessicajiang on 9/1/2010 12:21:00 AM more reviews by jessicajiang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation because of all the good reviews. I just start using foundation, and people said i should start with drugstore foundation. Lasting finish is my first one, but its just not the one for me. the coverage is medium; the color is ok; the staying power is poor. it didnt make my pimples worse, or cause more break out, but my chin and eyes felt so dry(i have combo skin), and i have to keep using avene spring water spray. i still give it three stars because the price is cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Liquid products